RDFL Thread

HJ32 said:
Are Kilmore chasing Brendan McEvoy from Colbinabbin? heard a whisper they're offering some good kanga. Any kilmorites want to shed light on this one?

Any link to Kilmore there H? The Blues generally miss out on a lot of guns, yet they drive through every Satdy to travel north for better $$$. The Blues do have more money in the bank for 2006 - maybe McEvoy and HJ32 package deal???

Doona2 said:
Any link to Kilmore there H? The Blues generally miss out on a lot of guns, yet they drive through every Satdy to travel north for better $$$. The Blues do have more money in the bank for 2006 - maybe McEvoy and HJ32 package deal???

yeah I dunno the link there mate, hence my post.
package deal - not sure - HJ32 comes with massive onfield liabilities!

I'd be surprised if McEvoy leaves the Hoppers, he's fitted in really we over the past few years, got 2 flags, and is hard to match up on... OOPS!!actually, he's an ordinary bloke, missed out on the two flags and can't kick over a jam tin! that should keep the kilmore recruiters at bay!!!

rightfoot_sloth said:
Roge_3 - Any Coaching updates that you have heard of i.e Macedon and Lancefield ?

I believe Macedon have approached an Ex AFL footballer to coach, not totally sure though, I have a feeling they may stick to what they know with Burgess.
As for Lancefield, not sure where they are headed for the next season, Be interesting to see what Jorgo does...
Sure the info wont be too far away... Maybe our Macedon contact can update us how the coaching situation is....

there seems to be alot of rumours flying around at the moment, kilmore look to be recruiting i heard woodend are looking at past players to come back from kyeton, romsey and diggers are under attack from edfl sides i haven't heard anything about sunbury they were big improvers last year but are a few players short of a good side are they looking at recruiting or just showing a little more faith in their youth.

blues12 said:
there seems to be alot of rumours flying around at the moment, kilmore look to be recruiting i heard woodend are looking at past players to come back from kyeton, romsey and diggers are under attack from edfl sides i haven't heard anything about sunbury they were big improvers last year but are a few players short of a good side are they looking at recruiting or just showing a little more faith in their youth.

Quiet and will remain that way until people have put pen to paper... Its tough being a small club in a town with pretty much 4 teams and attracting quality footballers only to have them go to the stronger clubs in town because of offers they cannot refuse. So we will work away quietly until will get what we are after. Ask about the Kangas in Feb-Mar...

vantheman32 said:
im not placing any pressure on Maddison... just putting an idea up in the air to stir the pot.. maddison will be concentrating on ACK football next year.. Hede will be 18 and too old for under 18s, would any clubs like a player like him that is (arrogant) and confident.

Nobody would want hede.
he wouldnt be able to handle the big boys, he cant even handle the little boys. lol.
nar actually, hede has a freakish class that kilmore could use, the club needs somethin anyway. youth would be a start

roge_3 said:
I believe Macedon have approached an Ex AFL footballer to coach, not totally sure though, I have a feeling they may stick to what they know with Burgess.... Maybe our Macedon contact can update us how the coaching situation is....

Wouldn't be Allan Thorpe? He has got Rumbalara to grand finals only to have them choke the past two years.....Still gets a kick no worries and has been there before hasnt he?

woodend are not chasing those players from kyneton, these players are just looking to re-locate to woodend due to kyneton having such a poor off-field environment.

oh yeah and i have heard a rumour which may be way out of context about the macedon job, so dont quote me on this but David Schwarze does have some connections to the Macedon Football Club and i have heard some of the U/18's saying this.

woodsmen said:
oh yeah and i have heard a rumour which may be way out of context about the macedon job, so dont quote me on this but David Schwarze does have some connections to the Macedon Football Club and i have heard some of the U/18's saying this.

Thought he was a Sunbury boy???

Doona2 said:
Thought he was a Sunbury boy???

Shwarze played juniors with diggersrest before going to sunbury lions then to melbourne
the same rumour went around last year that he would be playing at macedon sorry for the guys there but i think they would need 18 david shwarze's to take a step forward. If burgess stays they will lose players if he goes the club would lose a big cheque

blues12 said:
Shwarze played juniors with diggersrest before going to sunbury lions then to melbourne
the same rumour went around last year that he would be playing at macedon sorry for the guys there but i think they would need 18 david shwarze's to take a step forward. If burgess stays they will lose players if he goes the club would lose a big cheque

Agree, they will lose alot of money if they lose Burgess. But on the other hand you dont want to see a club held to ransom with that... Schwartz has been linked with Macedon for the past 3 years, dont think it will happen, but then again, who knows...

roge_3 said:
Agree, they will lose alot of money if they lose Burgess. But on the other hand you dont want to see a club held to ransom with that... Schwartz has been linked with Macedon for the past 3 years, dont think it will happen, but then again, who knows...

yeah it would be sad if that is the case, it would be so healthy for the league if clubs like macedon and rockbank are able to lift there club into a stronger position for the future. Next year seems as if it is gonna be an extremely closely fought premiereship with the power clubs losing players and the weaker clubs improving,,,,GEEZ i cant wait...

Which players in the RDFL leaving their club to go someone better. Are their any high profile players coming into the league?

---tagger--- said:
Which players in the RDFL leaving their club to go someone better. Are their any high profile players coming into the league?

well from woodend's point of view the only players i know that are deffently coming to our club is Andrew Young and Mark Darby from Kyneton, both were young fella's playing reserves for kyneton but we truly believe with a pre-season they will be quite good RDFL senior players.

As for leaving Woodend the only certainty is Robert Martin, a.k.a Disco. Red headed fella who played centre half back for the woodend seniors. He's off to Ireland.

Well Tagger, as in earlier threads, Lee James is almost certain to be leaving, as is Brydon Morgan.. Not sure whether there is any confimation on the others though...

RDFLBoy said:
What about Meldrum?
Keilor are after both Meldrum & Morgan however the blues are yet to announce their new coach. The candidates include this years Coburg coach, David Flood. The two are pretty good mates so i think it would be a case of both going/staying, not one or the other. If Romsey had of won the GF i think they would be harder to hold onto but the fact they didn't may spur them on to stay...

I dont know about that, Morgan has had his time at Romsey, I would be very surprised to see him go around again, especially with the higher quality football he has been offered. Meldrum will also leave, but he wont go just because Morgan goes, he will go of his own accord, if he remains in the RDFL it will be with Macedon.

woodsmen said:
well from woodend's point of view the only players i know that are deffently coming to our club is Andrew Young and Mark Darby from Kyneton, both were young fella's playing reserves for kyneton but we truly believe with a pre-season they will be quite good RDFL senior players.

As for leaving Woodend the only certainty is Robert Martin, a.k.a Disco. Red headed fella who played centre half back for the woodend seniors. He's off to Ireland.

Bit of a loss for the Hawks, Disco had a pretty good season didnt he... What I saw he is not a bad player..
How do the people at Woodend rate Josh Hegarty? He is the best of the kids up there IMO

yeah josh is rated quite highly, he is the type of kid who just does the amount of training to get him a game.Would be really exciting if he fully applied himself. But yeah to answer your question Josh is rated extremely high at woodend, seems to be woodends best game breaker in the side.Yeah disco had a great year this year will be missed alot i believe.

Saw him individually win a game this year with an awesome run down the wing from the back pocket to half forward. Kid has some real talent...

A snippet from a story in today's Shepp News - seems this whole whole country footy shake-up will effect more clubs in the next year or two!!!

"So, where to from here?

The five leagues in the region are all impacted in some way or another: the Murray Football League has appealed against the inclusion of Rumbalara, the Picola District Football League are appealing against the restructure resolution, the Kyabram District Football League has voted to accept Violet Town but voted against the inclusion of Alexandra, Thornton-Eildon and Yea, the Goulburn Valley Football League awaits the outcomes patiently, and the CGFL is to be disbanded.

The WorkSafe VCFL has also identified possible future movement in the Coreen Football League that could impact on the Picola District Football League, some initial progress with the emergence of a new league in the Echuca region that could impact on neighbouring leagues, and possible future needs for a southern league that may incorporate clubs such as Broadford and Kilmore that could impact on the KDFL."