RDFL Thread

Bombers 2003 said:
I remember when the Kangaroos were the Rovers,when Donny Down was coaching the 2nds[and that's a while ago]the Umpires hardly ever gave either the 1sts or 2nds any respect.They had decent players like Darko Dubrovsic and Paul Noonan,yeah i know so a few wernt that good and were only there to make up the numbers.Well in most cases the Umpires didnt give 'em much respect,i think the Semmons Brothers did,even though they can both A/holes at times.
From what I see not much has changed... It is still taking a long time for the Kangas to get a bit of respect from the umpires, after giving them grief for so long you can understand why, but football is a changed climate.. Even in the RDFL now... All sides deserve a bit of a break.

Bombers 2003 said:
I remember when the Kangaroos were the Rovers,when Donny Down was coaching the 2nds[and that's a while ago]the Umpires hardly ever gave either the 1sts or 2nds any respect.They had decent players like Darko Dubrovsic and Paul Noonan,yeah i know so a few wernt that good and were only there to make up the numbers.Well in most cases the Umpires didnt give 'em much respect,i think the Semmons Brothers did,even though they can both A/holes at times.
Darko was a gun... Paul Noonan is still running around there, the clubs first ever best and fairest and has been involved in the running of the club.. A club legend in every sense.... Still played senior games this year. Hope to see him play on next year, but maybe as captain of the two's... Should go out playing good footy like he wants to, on his own terms...

roge_3 said:
Agree, did happen a couple of times this season, and its something that they are actively trying to stamp out.. Seen the attempts myself.. Although I have seen this happen elsewhere, do agree with you, they need to cut that stuff out. When they do, it will improve the image of the place. But the right steps are being taken, everything happening at the club is a positive move.. That is something I can say I have never seen before...
Strongly doubt they are trying all that hard to stamp it out.At two finals I went to this year I watched basically the entire Kangaroos side including some of there officials spend the entire day bagging an umpire and then when the reserves game was over and the kangaroos didn't have a team representing them in the finals they turned onto a couple of players from the senior game.Nothing wrong with being loud and supporting the game but when they singleing out one or two players for no apparent reason it doesn't look good for them.

blues12 said:
you are correct in saying that SOME spectators have fouled mouths but dont forget why anybody gets abusive. footy is a very emotional game i have been to the mcg and seen 50,000 people turn ugly because of constant inconcitency. you ask any umpire that umpired them in the first4 rounds when they were playing well and winning i heard they had good umpires and their were no abusive people bar the first round after a very ugly incident that the umpire did not control. Umpires need to judge the club on what it is not what it was when that happens i'm sure they will turn around. they are not the only club that gets a raw deal because of what they have been like in the past.
They are working extremely hard to get rid of and/or tame the d..kheads

Don't try and make the comparison that just because in your opinion an umpire missed a free kick here or there means they are fair game to cop abuse from these feral supporters.
How many mistakes does the umpire make compared to how many turn overs and skill errors the Sunbury Kangaroos make?
I reckon the ratio would be about 10-1

Dog Town said:
Strongly doubt they are trying all that hard to stamp it out.At two finals I went to this year I watched basically the entire Kangaroos side including some of there officials spend the entire day bagging an umpire and then when the reserves game was over and the kangaroos didn't have a team representing them in the finals they turned onto a couple of players from the senior game.Nothing wrong with being loud and supporting the game but when they singleing out one or two players for no apparent reason it doesn't look good for them.

Exactly right - clubs have to earn respect. You don't get it just because people are running around saying "things have changed"
After over 10 years of appalling behaviour both on and off the field they will need at least 2 maybe 3 seasons to show they are fair dinkum.

The Kangaroos crowd at Melton Centrals during the Reserves final was woeful, and your right, there interchange bench was absolutely disgraceful. When that sort of stuff happens at a final when someone from every other club is there watching including the full RDFL Board, no matter how much people say things are changing, it looks like nothing has.

fair point you make there is never any place for abusive language, did you say in an earlier thread that you were an umpire if so i think it is disgusting that you are rating that club on a bunch of supporters those supporters are only a small portion of their members and for you to say that the whole club is feral you should first have a look at yourself and get out of this league because your opinion of the club will never change. there is no place in any sport for bias umpires

BrownDog2 said:
Exactly right - clubs have to earn respect. You don't get it just because people are running around saying "things have changed"
After over 10 years of appalling behaviour both on and off the field they will need at least 2 maybe 3 seasons to show they are fair dinkum.

The Kangaroos crowd at Melton Centrals during the Reserves final was woeful, and your right, there interchange bench was absolutely disgraceful. When that sort of stuff happens at a final when someone from every other club is there watching including the full RDFL Board, no matter how much people say things are changing, it looks like nothing has.
I remember there being 2 sides supporters in that game that were not behaving all that well... Its amazing how most only see the one side of the coin... As for the players, yes, they did do some silly things on the day... One was sent off for something he said to a teammate. One was sent off for "looking" at the umpire... Good reasons I suppose.. Before that, the game was pretty good, that happened in the last 10 mins of the game... So for you to state a disgrace, lets be sure were not poking fingers at one side of the coin....

i saw that game and the umpires were terrible it may not have affected the result but it can disturb alot of people i saw one bloke have his head ripped off his shoulders it was clear as day and no free kick who can respect an umpire after that. ask yourself that after that incident no one gave a crap about the umpires or anything for that matter.

Dog Town said:

May have to review your call there... Saw that, and there is more to the story than you know... So for no apparant reason??? Dont think so... Maybe you should check into the reasons...

blues12 said:
fair point you make there is never any place for abusive language, did you say in an earlier thread that you were an umpire if so i think it is disgusting that you are rating that club on a bunch of supporters those supporters are only a small portion of their members and for you to say that the whole club is feral you should first have a look at yourself and get out of this league because your opinion of the club will never change. there is no place in any sport for bias umpires

i am not an umpire.

fair enough my mistake you talk like maybe you should be one. it's not hard to support clubs like sunbury that are bustnem trying to improve dont always blame the majority for the minority. every club has idiots at least they do have supporters that watch them. give em a break

any news on clubs like lancefeild and rockbank are they hunting players i have heard that one of the walters will be coaching lancefeild next year

go kilmore 2006... lookin to build for 2007 n take the flag led by Robbo as the freak player young players to come to the fore

vantheman32 said:
go kilmore 2006... lookin to build for 2007 n take the flag led by Robbo as the freak player young players to come to the fore
Is Robbo guaranteed to stay at Kilmore next year?

roge_3 said:
May have to review your call there... Saw that, and there is more to the story than you know... So for no apparant reason??? Dont think so... Maybe you should check into the reasons...
I am talking about the non stop abuse of one or two Diggers Rest players.There were officials and players doing this and it was for no reason other than boredom/jealousy.Shaun Sims seemed to be the main target in both the semi and prelim.I reckon I am in a better position to judge whether they had a reason or not just quietly.Perhaps you should check into the reasons.What was the reason you were given?At any rate the mentality they carry on and off the field ensured that there reserves lost that semi as there entire side lost the plot.

As BrownDog2 said the behaviour of there players at some of those finals games showed that they still have a long way to go.I actually had Kangaroos boys coming up to me during the under/18s bragging about how ********ed they were and pretty much trying to make themselves out as heroes.

RDFLBoy said:
Garth Ploog is useless... Tell him to give up singing and footy

MATE THIS IS A TREAD FOR PEOPLE WHO LIKE TO TALK ABOUT FOOTY AND KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT TO SAY GARTH PLOOG 19 YEARS OLD 6'2 AND HOLDING DOWN CENTRE HALF FORWARD IN THE SENIOR IS USELESS MUST COME FROM SOMEBODY WHO SHOULD LEARN THE GAME 1ST BEFORE STATING WHAT I WOULD CALL ONE OF THE MOST LUDICROUS COMMENTS I HAVE READ ON THIS TREAD SO FAR, LEARN THE GAME!!!!!!.

Speaking from someone who is in the kangaroos and knows the goings on I would agree with a lot of the comments posted about the supporters. But like someone said the Roos are a young club and from where they were 5 years ago to now, there have been big improvements,
The players for one, who use to be a rabble, now play football, so it does take time but the club is going in the right direction with the current committee. There will be hic ups along the way and that is all they were this year and for any body to say different (tell me the club you follow and I can tell you problems that they have had in the past 2 years). But I know the current committee is trying hard to fix this.
What is good to read is people talking positively about the club and players.
Remember the RDFL needs Macedon, Rockbank, Kangaroos, and Kilmore etc to improve to make this a good comp again.

sunbkangas said:
Speaking from someone who is in the kangaroos and knows the goings on I would agree with a lot of the comments posted about the supporters. But like someone said the Roos are a young club and from where they were 5 years ago to now, there have been big improvements,
The players for one, who use to be a rabble, now play football, so it does take time but the club is going in the right direction with the current committee. There will be hic ups along the way and that is all they were this year and for any body to say different (tell me the club you follow and I can tell you problems that they have had in the past 2 years). But I know the current committee is trying hard to fix this.
What is good to read is people talking positively about the club and players.
Remember the RDFL needs Macedon, Rockbank, Kangaroos, and Kilmore etc to improve to make this a good comp again.
Here Here... Well said....

Dog Town said:
I am talking about the non stop abuse of one or two Diggers Rest players.There were officials and players doing this and it was for no reason other than boredom/jealousy.Shaun Sims seemed to be the main target in both the semi and prelim.I reckon I am in a better position to judge whether they had a reason or not just quietly.Perhaps you should check into the reasons.What was the reason you were given?At any rate the mentality they carry on and off the field ensured that there reserves lost that semi as there entire side lost the plot.

As BrownDog2 said the behaviour of there players at some of those finals games showed that they still have a long way to go.I actually had Kangaroos boys coming up to me during the under/18s bragging about how ********ed they were and pretty much trying to make themselves out as heroes.
So what makes you in a better position than me? I can tell you that the main reason during the reserves that any of the supporters of the Kangaroos were becoming restless was the abuse of the Diggers Rest supporters near the coaches box... Then to whinge when it comes back at them...Gee, seems a little hypocritical to me... But how would I know.

Dog Town said:
for no reason other than boredom/jealousy.Shaun Sims seemed to be the main target in both the semi and prelim.I reckon I am in a better position to judge whether they had a reason or not just quietly.Perhaps you should check into the reasons..

WRONG.... Try again....

i believe a number of roo players are mates with some diggers boys and also have constant disputes with others down the local if you cant hang it on a mate that wont play in your team who can you hang it on. enemies are enemies where ever you are. but it still doesn't make vulger language ok

coaching applications have closed at macedon, lancefeild and riddell, does anybody know of any applicants or positions that have been filled.

sunbkangas said:
I havnt been involved with the Kangaroos since they were the Rovers.But they were never a rabble,it's just that some players lacked application.I agree with what Roge3 said about Paul Noonan,who was at the club in my day.And yes Darko was a gun player :thumbsu: .

Well Kanga's might of once been a rabble, but from all my time watching and following the RDFL i've never seen the quality of kids in the Roos team before.I agree that other clubs do have better kids then that of the Roos but its the first season that the future has looked bright for the club. Overall i believe the RDFL is in excellent shape for the future with the quality of kids everyteam contains.

Woodend- Matt Stacey, Josh Hegarty etc.Sunbury- Matt Welsh, Cam McIntyre,Macedon-Adam Gould, Jae Wilton,Rockbank-Jason Welfare, HillBilly(not sure of actual name),Romsey-Ben Crowyn, Cam Dawson,Lancefield-Steven Burlak, Sam Graham,Riddel- Murray Mcdougal, Jeremy Edwards, Barker Boys. Not too sure about Kilmore and Centrals because of the fact we haven't seen the U/18's in those clubs for a few years.