RDFL Thread

roge_3 said:
Just wondering what peoples predictions for next season are "as it stands" then we can throw in another round of predictions just before the start of the season.

Mine would be
Ladder

Diggers
Riddell
Romsey
Woodend
Centrals
Kilmore
Kangaroos
Lancefield
Macedon
Rockbank

Think you are very close to the mark. A lot depends on what Riddell's money situation is like and if they can afford to keep all their players. I would say

Riddell
Diggers
Romsey
Woodend
Centrals
Lancefield
Sunbury
Kilmore
Macedon
Rockbank

i believe you guys could be close to the mark i would pull riddell down a couple of spots i cant see lancefield improving and centrals are losing a couple of sponsors so they may drop a peg or 2 dont forget kilmore and sunbury were not far away this year, if they hang on to all players and recruit they could both surprise

Diggers
Romsey
Woodend
Riddell
Kilmore
Kangaroos
Centrals
Lancefeild
Rockbank

Macedon

I heard on the weekend that young Barton is a chance to return to Kilmore after spending a season at Seymour in the GVFL.

vantheman32 said:
someone has been posting stuff aboutme under my username sorry guys... guessing it was one of my school mates

Possibly the same school mates that pump each others tyres up on the school footy threads!!!
There is still a lot of talk on young Maddison, and a lot of boys comparing there under age feats.
Like Ive said before there have been many a dominant junior who couldnt cut the mustard in the open age. Kids grow at different stages thru juniors and to judge them just aint always fair.

Another on the school footy thread say Trav Hede might be heading to Coburg, shed us some light on that rumour mate please. Would be great for his development - even if he only lasted the pre-season Kilmore would benefit from the experience.

Doona2 said:
Possibly the same school mates that pump each others tyres up on the school footy threads!!!
There is still a lot of talk on young Maddison, and a lot of boys comparing there under age feats.
Like Ive said before there have been many a dominant junior who couldnt cut the mustard in the open age. Kids grow at different stages thru juniors and to judge them just aint always fair.

Another on the school footy thread say Trav Hede might be heading to Coburg, shed us some light on that rumour mate please. Would be great for his development - even if he only lasted the pre-season Kilmore would benefit from the experience.

van the man, no one was using his name, it was himself trying to pump himself up, just coz people were talkin about hardiman,
yeah trav is goin down to coburg for the pre season, it should do heaps for him.
the school footy sites r just pay out sessions, or who is better & everyone just spins s**t

bigboy05 said:
Could not agree more roge

You seem to know a bit about Woodend, what do you and woodsman think of this as a lineup for next year

B: Stevens, Fisher, Stevens
HB: Manser, Else, Goodyear (J)
C: Fennell, Downing, Hegarty
HF: Forrest, Digger, Bowen (Sam)
F: Taylor (J),O’Meara, Patterson (tacker)
R: Stacey, Johnstone, Germaine
IB: Rocko, Goodyear (M), Arnold, Eastley

That is with a couple of possibles, but leaves out another couple like Runnells, how good would he be.
Did I leave anyone out, thoughts?

Gee, its a good little lineup isnt it.. Rated Jack Germaine's first season of Senior footy, hope he can back it up this year.
As long as they can get good levels of service from the younger guys they are a huge shot this year, I think the league will level out with several teams in the running again... But also think it may be a bit tighter at the top, which will allow for a very entertaining year.

blues12 said:
i believe you guys could be close to the mark i would pull riddell down a couple of spots i cant see lancefield improving and centrals are losing a couple of sponsors so they may drop a peg or 2 dont forget kilmore and sunbury were not far away this year, if they hang on to all players and recruit they could both surprise

Diggers
Romsey
Woodend
Riddell
Kilmore
Kangaroos
Centrals
Lancefeild
Rockbank

Macedon

Do you think Centrals and Lancefield will drop this far...? Could probably see Lancefield dropping off a bit, but Centrals?? Have a couple of key quality players that should have them around the mark again. If they can hold on to Battye and Newton then they will be well and truly in the mix.

Ok, opinions on standout players in the comp?

Last season to me the standouts were
Robertson - Kilmore
Heritage - Diggers
James - Riddell
Peatling - Riddell
Newton - Centrals

Guys that dominated games I saw.

roge_3 said:
Do you think Centrals and Lancefield will drop this far...? Could probably see Lancefield dropping off a bit, but Centrals?? Have a couple of key quality players that should have them around the mark again. If they can hold on to Battye and Newton then they will be well and truly in the mix.

like you said roge it will be tight at the top we have heard of players coming to make the middle sides stronger,providing they dont lose key players and strong sides maybe losing a few key players eg. james, bellville, gadsden,meldrum,morgan and possibly a carrol just to name a few.
I know of a couple of sponsors at centrals that weren't happy with their returns while there are also players that dont enjoy playing there, if geddes is gone and the funds start to dry up who knows what may happen. lets just wait and see.

Any more news on coaches yet, are woodend chasing anybody, are the kangaroos not happy with jarrod they have advertised for all 3 positions
who will coach lancefeild, macedon,centrals and riddell. have romsey reappointed their senior coach

ok people's live from the news desk.

Romsey have re-appointed fitzy
Meldrum said at b&f night he is staying at Romsey (will be bringing 2 players from Macedon)
Luke Carroll is talking to Sunbury could be moving there. Romsey to talk to him in the next 2 days
Riddell appointed Darren Roswell (asst from last year) so much for Holland
Burgess looks like Coaching Macedon Again as I have heard he is trying to get sponsors as of last week.
As for The Kangaroos Not sure who they are going to appoint. I suppose it's up to Trevor & Company. Have to wait and see what direction they want to take. I would reappoint Dixon.
Rockbank was hoping for Luke Walker "but no Luck"
Heard "not sure if true" Grey, Walker have Retired from Diggers.
Lancefield Struggling For u18's 70% will not have them next year & think Waters will coach.

bigboy05 said:

You seem to know a bit about Woodend, what do you and woodsman think of this as a lineup for next year

That is with a couple of possibles, but leaves out another couple like Runnells, how good would he be.

yeah mate that looks excellent, all i would want to add is David Hudson to either the backline or sitting on the bench, he is a top class young defender who gives wazza a break down back.

BigBoy, who do u think out of those youngsters will take the next step this year and really lift woodend up a notch, also can you see any club champions in the making in any of these kids. If i had some money geez i would jump on the Hawks bandwagon at the moment and become a sponsor.

sunbkangas said:

Meldrum said at b&f night he is staying at Romsey (will be bringing 2 players from Macedon)
Luke Carroll is talking to Sunbury could be moving there. Romsey to talk to him in the next 2 days
Burgess looks like Coaching Macedon Again as I have heard he is trying to get sponsors as of last week.
As for The Kangaroos Not sure who they are going to appoint. I suppose it's up to Trevor & Company. Have to wait and see what direction they want to take. I would reappoint Dixon.
Lancefield Struggling For u18's 70% will not have them next year & think Waters will coach.
Hasn't Waters already been appointed?

roge_3 said:
Hasn't Waters already been appointed?

Jorgo was definitly not doing it robbie waters was moving into the position but now doesn't want it.
rockbank have appointed a bloke from the western magpies not sure of his name
spot on with riddell as they have appointed the assistant from this year
Centrals are still looking at geddes but tossing between him and searle
macedon is very unlikely to re appoint burgess doesn't matter how much sponsorship he gives

blues12 said:
Jorgo was definitly not doing it robbie waters was moving into the position but now doesn't want it.
rockbank have appointed a bloke from the western magpies not sure of his name
spot on with riddell as they have appointed the assistant from this year
Centrals are still looking at geddes but tossing between him and searle
macedon is very unlikely to re appoint burgess doesn't matter how much sponsorship he gives
If that is the case somebody better had inform Burgess of the fact.. He is chasing player sponsors quite aggressively for next season...

roge_3 said:
If that is the case somebody better had inform Burgess of the fact.. He is chasing player sponsors quite aggressively for next season...

i have a very good source at macedon and i believe he know's he is not the man

woodsmen said:
yeah mate that looks excellent, all i would want to add is David Hudson to either the backline or sitting on the bench, he is a top class young defender who gives wazza a break down back.

Geez Woodsman & BigBoy dont you think your getting a bit carried away. Some of these kids are good but its a big step from u/18 to seniors. From what ive seen only Bowen & Downing are genuine stars to be. Others have potential but will find it a lot harder as regular seniors.
Hudson for example would get chewed up against smarter, stronger forwards.

bigboy05 said:

BigBoy do you follow Woodsy cause if you do tell me M Goodyear wouldnt walk into the senior side. I know you rate those kids highly but unless he's really blown out he would be still one of first picked. As a former opponent of his i rate him pretty highly.

Dont write off the Tiges (L'field) they might have lost Jorgo & Waters but still have talented list and a gun Ess League footballer has just moved into town and is considering playing locally for much less than he has been getting in town

footyhead18 said:
Dont write off the Tiges (L'field) they might have lost Jorgo & Waters but still have talented list and a gun Ess League footballer has just moved into town and is considering playing locally for much less than he has been getting in town
And who is this gun EDFL footballer? Does he have a name?

sunbkangas said:

I've heard Riddell havent appointed a senior coach and Croft[and we know who is his brother-in- law is] is still coaching the 2s.

footyhead18 said:
BigBoy do you follow Woodsy cause if you do tell me M Goodyear wouldnt walk into the senior side. I know you rate those kids highly but unless he's really blown out he would be still one of first picked. As a former opponent of his i rate him pretty highly.

Yes he is a good footballer, and me having him on the bench doesn't mean that i think he would struggle to make our side. It's just the last year he played he probably started playing more as a flanker than on the ball as he is probably past his best (while still a very good footballer) so i think that maybe he could be used as a backup midfielder for those young blokes, and to put out spotfires around the ground rather than have a set position.

Also i forgot to mention tex morton and teddy whitton in my team who are both handy footballers if their heads are on the job.

footyhead18 said:
Geez Woodsman & BigBoy dont you think your getting a bit carried away. Some of these kids are good but its a big step from u/18 to seniors. From what ive seen only Bowen & Downing are genuine stars to be. Others have potential but will find it a lot harder as regular seniors.
Hudson for example would get chewed up against smarter, stronger forwards.

If you look at my team Hudson wasn't,probably needs more experience and to develop his body more in it for one, and two if you look at my ladder i only had them fourth only two places higher than they finished last year. I think you can add Josh Hegarty to the future stars and players like Wazza Else (full-back/centre-halfback/runner up B&F) and Matt Stacey (#1 ruck at club and still with one year left eligible for 18's might not be stars but will be 10 year very high quality players.