RDFL Thread

Halffullonfence said:
TS give us your top 5. Earlier post I think you were talking about Wilton?

1 - Dale Cuinik (If Eligible)
2 - Jae Wilton (Really rated this kid, will he be back?)
3 - Jackson Baddeley (Talented ball winner)
4 - Matt Stacey (Under age player having most impact at senior level)
5 - Warren Else (Impressive backman)

marbles_r_red_2 said:
well halffullonfence i have it on good authority that the legend of the game is holding his son back as he wants the boy to add to his already impressive trophy cabinet. seems to me this man is living off just how good his son could be!

Hope James sticks around the league... Awesome talent in my books.. If I was picking an Under 18's side, along with P.Robertson and T.Hede, would be the first 3 picked... IMO.... :thumbsu:

Thats_Special said:
Hope James sticks around the league... Awesome talent in my books.. If I was picking an Under 18's side, along with P.Robertson and T.Hede, would be the first 3 picked... IMO.... :thumbsu:
i agree thats special he has all the potential in the world but why wouldnt step up and take a regular spot in the senoirs ? clearly good enough to , you have blokes like james wright from macedon who is still able toplay under 18,s next week playing in the ones every week as im sure there are others at other clubs doing so as well , so why wont climas take the next step ?

marbles_r_red_2 said:
i agree thats special he has all the potential in the world but why wouldnt step up and take a regular spot in the senoirs ? clearly good enough to , you have blokes like james wright from macedon who is still able toplay under 18,s next week playing in the ones every week as im sure there are others at other clubs doing so as well , so why wont climas take the next step ?

I have heard a rumour that the kids at riddell were unhappy when they stepped up earlier in the year and believed that the senior players did not look after them. when the going got rough. It is a shame if this is true as talent is wasted in our under 18 comp, Senior players must protect the kids and offer all the encouragement and physical support possible. that is my opinion.

marbles_r_red_2 said:

Probably a question you would have to ask James I guess... To be honest, he is too good for the Under 18's comp... As is P.Robertson.. Just up to the players I guess.
The 18's comp is a foregone conclusion really, Riddell will win easily, thought these boys might actually take up the challenge in the one's this year.. See if they can win a flag that they have to fight to get... :thumbsu:

blues12 said:
I have heard a rumour that the kids at riddell were unhappy when they stepped up earlier in the year and believed that the senior players did not look after them. when the going got rough. It is a shame if this is true as talent is wasted in our under 18 comp, Senior players must protect the kids and offer all the encouragement and physical support possible. that is my opinion.

Heard on grapevine Riddell 18s had set themselves for premier and champions again this year, rough treatment a smoke screan by people living in their (the players) glory.
Unfortunately is becoming a trend to take easy way out in the under 18s at the moment (Romsey boys doing the same as Riddell) not many now playing seniors, seems personal goals are more important than a clubs success.
IMO senior finals far outway goal kicking and club B&F trophys.

Congrats to Woodend, Sunbury Kangas, Macedon who put players development at senior level above short term glory.Hopefully these clubs will reap the rewards af careful development of good up and coming footballers.

Also interesting to see these 3 clubs have also played Under 16s at 18s level a further indication of some clubs looking to the future.

Thats_Special said:
1 - Dale Cuinik (If Eligible)
2 - Jae Wilton (Really rated this kid, will he be back?)
3 - Jackson Baddeley (Talented ball winner)
4 - Matt Stacey (Under age player having most impact at senior level)
5 - Warren Else (Impressive backman)

Seems fair TS any woodsmen about can give us Cuiniks birth year ?

Wilton ? Word from the hills is doubtful to play again but hopefully never say never he could have become anything. If last years interleague game was anything to go by.

Have we missed any one obvious.

If you were at S/K 18s game how did the 16s playing go?

Halffullonfence said:
Heard on grapevine Riddell 18s had set themselves for premier and champions again this year, rough treatment a smoke screan by people living in their (the players) glory.
Unfortunately is becoming a trend to take easy way out in the under 18s at the moment (Romsey boys doing the same as Riddell) not many now playing seniors, seems personal goals are more important than a clubs success.
IMO senior finals far outway goal kicking and club B&F trophys.

Congrats to Woodend, Sunbury Kangas, Macedon who put players development at senior level above short term glory.Hopefully these clubs will reap the rewards af careful development of good up and coming footballers.

Also interesting to see these 3 clubs have also played Under 16s at 18s level a further indication of some clubs looking to the future.

Agree HF... Players such as Climas, Robertson, Dawson, Burgess etc are able to cut it at a senior level but not willing to give up that personal glory... I can see alot more personal glory at a senior level, if you are good enough to do it (Mr Dawson)....
Hopefully we will se some more of this in this comp, these players might stick around then, rather than booting off all the time for more "glory"

Halffullonfence said:
Seems fair TS any woodsmen about can give us Cuiniks birth year ?

Wilton ? Word from the hills is doubtful to play again but hopefully never say never he could have become anything. If last years interleague game was anything to go by.

Have we missed any one obvious.

If you were at S/K 18s game how did the 16s playing go?

Really well HF, 2 of the 3 were arguably the best, one played on Tad and did a fantastic job. The other played across half forward and the midfield and kicked 4.. Really good signs, hopefully we can hold on to kids like them. They are the future of our football club.

I really hope Wilton gets back, he was superb in the 18's last year and has been superb in the seniors this year... It would be a shame to see talent lost to injury.

Halffullonfence said:
How about Krul, Nicholson has improved, Graham L/Field, and the big smokey Sam Bowen 1 game.

Krully has been great... Watched Paul Newton outplay him hands down though... Graham is a good call, had a good season...

Sam aint a smoky, but we haven't seen enough this year I reckon.

Wright would have to be my pick he has great balance, never goes to ground and makes a big impact when playing seniors. i know he has another year in 18's but i would reward him now.

i dont think that wright has had that big an influence on seniors hes been a good player but he hasnt really dominated a match n he hasnt kicked goals consistently. peter robertson for me when he plays seniors presents in the hardest position of CHF and kicks goals and really presents beautifully! also outta the under 18s players none of them play on ball week in week out! which is a key position. because this is a hypothetical award... surely then Hede would be a favourite out of the under 18s but he has hardly been mentioned... he has played on ball kicked goals also floats back n helps the defense.

vantheman32 said:
i dont think that wright has had that big an influence on seniors hes been a good player but he hasnt really dominated a match n he hasnt kicked goals consistently. peter robertson for me when he plays seniors presents in the hardest position of CHF and kicks goals and really presents beautifully! also outta the under 18s players none of them play on ball week in week out! which is a key position. because this is a hypothetical award... surely then Hede would be a favourite out of the under 18s but he has hardly been mentioned... he has played on ball kicked goals also floats back n helps the defense.

Hede has not played in the Under 18 competition at any stage... Thats why he hasn't been mentioned yet... But if you look back, I did actually mention Hede in an earlier post.. The problem for Hede is that since the interleague game has really not had huge input in the games that he has played... Sorry Trav, but thats just how I see it.

vantheman32 said:

Stats from RDFL website
Hede 15 games in seniors best 7 times 18 goals no morning game
Wright 15 games in seniors and 13 under 18 games plays 2 games most weeks in best 7 times 8 goals must be hard being an onballer in the morning then play wing in the arvo.
Robertson 4 games in seniors and also plays in the morning in ruck 8 goals in best 2 times at CHF.
Could Hede do this ?????

Hard to compare oranges with apples!!

Halffullonfence said:
Stats from RDFL website
Hede 15 games in seniors best 7 times 18 goals no morning game
Wright 15 games in seniors and 13 under 18 games plays 2 games most weeks in best 7 times 8 goals must be hard being an onballer in the morning then play wing in the arvo.
Robertson 4 games in seniors and also plays in the morning in ruck 8 goals in best 2 times at CHF.
Could Hede do this ?????

Hard to compare oranges with apples!!

Agree :thumbsu:

is the round up for this weeks round correct is A. james still out i thought he only got 1 week for striking.. can anyone associate with the kangas confirm this

billylid said:
is the round up for this weeks round correct is A. james still out i thought he only got 1 week for striking.. can anyone associate with the kangas confirm this

Definately misses. He was offered a one-week ban against us after striking Wazza Kairns, and because he has been suspended once before this season it doubles. If he had been suspended twice it would have been tripled, and so forth.

thepurplepassion said:
Definately misses. He was offered a one-week ban against us after striking Wazza Kairns, and because he has been suspended once before this season it doubles. If he had been suspended twice it would have been tripled, and so forth.

so if he gets suspended again after next week he is literally screwed.. Thats sounds ridiciolou, why wouldnt every seperate event be judged on there own merits

billylid said:
so if he gets suspended again after next week he is literally screwed.. Thats sounds ridiciolou, why wouldnt every seperate event be judged on there own merits

Agree billy... To me, you are taking the power out of the hands of the umpires in this instance, if say you are reported twice in the season and then get reported for say, shaking a goal post, you get 3 weeks, 1 for shaking the post and multiplied by the amount of times you have been reported for the season... Its a joke...

Understandable if it was a "same incident" type thing, but geez, you would be stiff getting done for 3 seperate incidents, and everyone knows what the tribunal is like, its easier just to cop set penalties than visit them... Yet you would have to challenge if you got done for 3 weeks for something like shaking a goal post, or a minor strike.

Thats_Special said:
Agree HF... Players such as Climas, Robertson, Dawson, Burgess etc are able to cut it at a senior level but not willing to give up that personal glory... I can see alot more personal glory at a senior level, if you are good enough to do it (Mr Dawson)....
Hopefully we will se some more of this in this comp, these players might stick around then, rather than booting off all the time for more "glory"

Thats easy to say TS but how do you know these types of boys are just wanting personal glory?
Maybe they just want to play footy with their good mates as once they are finished age grouped competition they can play seniors for the next 20 years.
This very situation happened with myself a few years back with senior coach wanting me and a few other boys to play seniors but we all chose to play one last year together with all our friends. it had nothing to do with personal glory (as there was none) we just wanted to have fun playing with mates

Don't forget you don't have to accept their penalty.

You still have the option of taking it to the tribunal. If he was to get three weeks from a one week suspension of shaking the goal post, it's likely he would get just the one at the tribunal. If his previous two suspensions were for the same incident, he would likely keep the three.

I think it's a good rule, there is still an incentive to take the set penalty, but you have the option of fighting it. I don't think the league is likely to put an extra week on your charge for fighting and losing the case - like the AFL do occasionally.