RDFNL 2019 Season discussion

Hine Tweaked his Hammy three weeks ago but has been away on a hoilday overseas for a couple of weeks and had a light run against Broadford in the ones on the weekend.He is fine ready to go.

On his day a fit Hine rebounding off HB is as good as Anyone in the comp.
They would be making sure he is cherry ripe come finals time, damn good player.

I predict (off no basis) that two clubs will not be in the RDFNL next year. Whatever happens I hope those clubs make the right decisions for them and their communities and members, your right better off having a say than been force fed. Also hope that the league headquarters are active in ensuring a viable competitive competition remains. We will need I reckon 3 clubs to come in quickly. You don't see that too often do you and for it to happen you would think discussions would have to be occuring now. Wonder if kyneton are thinking this way.
Yeah agree, 1 team at least that won’t make the finals and hearing strong talk about a top six team that may be headed out as early as next year. No not Rupo before anyone gets any ideas.

I also feel Kyneton should be looking out of the BFNL which is very Bendigo centric and will struggle to pull players on the results they are currently posting, coupled with the $$$ problems. RDFL would be a good fit wouldn’t it?

Yeah agree, 1 team at least that won’t make the finals and hearing strong talk about a top six team that may be headed out as early as next year. No not Rupo before anyone gets any ideas.

I also feel Kyneton should be looking out of the BFNL which is very Bendigo centric and will struggle to pull players on the results they are currently posting, coupled with the $$$ problems. RDFL would be a good fit wouldn’t it?
Hopefully Kyneton are considering our league as an option, it would be a shame if we do lose teams because I still personally think the league can be great.

There has been a lot of stuff suggested on here this year about clubs moving and some of it makes sense to me but some of it I just don’t get. If this new league in the north gets going I could understand if Broadford and Lancefield saw that as a better option for them going forward, on paper it definitely makes sense. But the talk of Diggers/Rupo going to EDFL or Rockbank going to the WRFL just doesn’t add up to me. The RDFL get some serious shade thrown their way about one sided games and teams struggling but these leagues aren’t exempt from it, Jacana have folded mid season, Keilor Park went into recess and are now back but struggling. Manor Lakes have folded mid season in the WRFL and Glenorden have been in recess but are now back, and this is the area that would allegedly provide a larger pool of players for Rockbank to draw from.....yeah right.

Also the RDFL might have a rough history but I think across the board it is a fairly clean league these days and a lot of teams have built solid relationships and enjoy having a beer together post game. Over the course of the last few years you can read some fairly unsavoury stuff both on and off field in the EDFL and WRFL which we don’t seem to see much of in our comp.

To use a cliche ‘sometimes the grass isn’t always greener on the other side’

Hopefully it all works out for everyone involved, Bonnie seems to be doing a great job at Broadford and they have been more competitive this year, I’m sure Lancefield are working hard at improving and Gav and the people at Rockbank are doing the best to keep the club pushing in the right direction. While the Rams might not be my favourite club I have enjoyed seeing their team of the century and hall of fame stuff posted recently on social media, gives a great insight to the history of the club, from a recent point of view it was great to see what high regard Tom Mainey is held down at the Rams, super footballer and clearly as loyal as they come.

News of a top 6 club wanting to leave is disappointing and I hope it is no more than rumours.

Anyway, cue the people telling me I am naive and have my head in the sand!

Hopefully Kyneton are considering our league as an option, it would be a shame if we do lose teams because I still personally think the league can be great.

There has been a lot of stuff suggested on here this year about clubs moving and some of it makes sense to me but some of it I just don’t get. If this new league in the north gets going I could understand if Broadford and Lancefield saw that as a better option for them going forward, on paper it definitely makes sense. But the talk of Diggers/Rupo going to EDFL or Rockbank going to the WRFL just doesn’t add up to me. The RDFL get some serious shade thrown their way about one sided games and teams struggling but these leagues aren’t exempt from it, Jacana have folded mid season, Keilor Park went into recess and are now back but struggling. Manor Lakes have folded mid season in the WRFL and Glenorden have been in recess but are now back, and this is the area that would allegedly provide a larger pool of players for Rockbank to draw from.....yeah right.

Also the RDFL might have a rough history but I think across the board it is a fairly clean league these days and a lot of teams have built solid relationships and enjoy having a beer together post game. Over the course of the last few years you can read some fairly unsavoury stuff both on and off field in the EDFL and WRFL which we don’t seem to see much of in our comp.

To use a cliche ‘sometimes the grass isn’t always greener on the other side’

Hopefully it all works out for everyone involved, Bonnie seems to be doing a great job at Broadford and they have been more competitive this year, I’m sure Lancefield are working hard at improving and Gav and the people at Rockbank are doing the best to keep the club pushing in the right direction. While the Rams might not be my favourite club I have enjoyed seeing their team of the century and hall of fame stuff posted recently on social media, gives a great insight to the history of the club, from a recent point of view it was great to see what high regard Tom Mainey is held down at the Rams, super footballer and clearly as loyal as they come.

News of a top 6 club wanting to leave is disappointing and I hope it is no more than rumours.

Anyway, cue the people telling me I am naive and have my head in the sand!

Has anyone from the rdfl or afl goldfields come out and provided clubs with a vision or plan for how they intend the league to grow and how to fix some of the major issues the league has?

Not that I’m aware of and this seems to be a question that comes up often. But what is the answer people are hoping for, what is this elusive vision people are waiting for? Is the RDFL or Goldfields going to lay down a plan and then 3 years later all the clubs will be competitive??? Someone still has to finish last. I’m part of a club that aren’t in the top 6 and we are working our asses off to be better, that’s our responsibility. Can I ask what the vision is of the EDFL or WRFL? What are their plans going forward, why are they a more attractive option than the RDFL?

We have a competition where you could argue 6 teams were a genuine premiership contender a few weeks ago. That may have changed recently with Romsey losing arguably their best player and Wallan may be up against it with their injury list but in my mind that is exciting. Looking forward to my team being in the conversation in the not too distant future. Can we say this about the EDFL where everyone is almost conceded that it will be a Abers v Keilor Grand Final or in the WRFL who have had an untested Premier 6 years straight? But our league isn’t exciting............I must be missing something!

Actually didn’t get a chance to ask at work today.
Whatever happens with Broadford the league needs to get active and offer some clarity. Broadford at least has the options of staying, going north (country), to the northern league or some new league that been spoken of, but clubs like Macedon Romsey Riddell where could they go, if the league was to fall over?

Not that I’m aware of and this seems to be a question that comes up often. But what is the answer people are hoping for, what is this elusive vision people are waiting for? Is the RDFL or Goldfields going to lay down a plan and then 3 years later all the clubs will be competitive??? Someone still has to finish last. I’m part of a club that aren’t in the top 6 and we are working our asses off to be better, that’s our responsibility. Can I ask what the vision is of the EDFL or WRFL? What are their plans going forward, why are they a more attractive option than the RDFL?

We have a competition where you could argue 6 teams were a genuine premiership contender a few weeks ago. That may have changed recently with Romsey losing arguably their best player and Wallan may be up against it with their injury list but in my mind that is exciting. Looking forward to my team being in the conversation in the not too distant future. Can we say this about the EDFL where everyone is almost conceded that it will be a Abers v Keilor Grand Final or in the WRFL who have had an untested Premier 6 years straight? But our league isn’t exciting............I must be missing something!
3 teams getting pumped by 100+ plus points every week isn’t exciting, u/19 numbers probably the worst they’ve ever been, huge hidings in junior competitions across the league.
I would say the Edfl premier comp and wrfl are the closest they’ve been for a while. I think everyone just wants to know what plans (if any) the league and hub have for the league. It used to be a great little league but it’s been in decline ever since Kilmore moved on

3 teams getting pumped by 100+ plus points every week isn’t exciting, u/19 numbers probably the worst they’ve ever been, huge hidings in junior competitions across the league.
I would say the Edfl premier comp and wrfl are the closest they’ve been for a while. I think everyone just wants to know what plans (if any) the league and hub have for the league. It used to be a great little league but it’s been in decline ever since Kilmore moved on
I think sometimes we need to be careful not to focus so much on the negatives and maybe look at the positives in the league, maybe focus on the great games that are being played that week, every league has blowouts.

An example of this might be not exaggerating reality, you’ve stated an issue in our league of 3 teams getting beaten by 100+ points every week? We are 14 rounds into our season and this has occurred 3 times

I think sometimes we need to be careful not to focus so much on the negatives and maybe look at the positives in the league, maybe focus on the great games that are being played that week, every league has blowouts.

An example of this might be not exaggerating reality, you’ve stated an issue in our league of 3 teams getting beaten by 100+ points every week? We are 14 rounds into our season and this has occurred 3 times

I agree with your top point wow unfortunately i don’t see a lot of positives at the moment for the league, there are blowouts every week in every league but they have consistently got worse in the rdfl over the past 5 years and Yes there are a couple of great games every week but IMO the rdfl just isn’t interesting anymore which is sad because I enjoy being apart of the comp.

Whatever happens with Broadford the league needs to get active and offer some clarity. Broadford at least has the options of staying, going north (country), to the northern league or some new league that been spoken of, but clubs like Macedon Romsey Riddell where could they go, if the league was to fall over?

Those three clubs really are reliant on the RDFNL.

The closest geographic alternatives - Bendigo, Central Highlands, Essendon District, Heathcote District, Maryborough Castlemaine, Northern and Outer East - are all unattractive because of excessive travel and/or strength of competitions.

It shows how important it is for this league to survive and thrive, not just because the league has been around for more than a century.

I agree with your top point wow unfortunately i don’t see a lot of positives at the moment for the league, there are blowouts every week in every league but they have consistently got worse in the rdfl over the past 5 years and Yes there are a couple of great games every week but IMO the rdfl just isn’t interesting anymore which is sad because I enjoy being apart of the comp.

I hope the Riddel league clubs stay however I think there should be a 2 tier competition as it brings more excitement and competitive footy. Hold the clubs you have and had some others like a Melton Sth etc. Even try and get Burnside maybe.Castlemaine and Kyneton maybe. However it does mean more travel however it’s only a few times a year..

Rename the competition is even an option maybe..

While the Under 19.5s football isn't generating good numbers.. there is still five or six teams that can play finals and it's a top 4.. aside from Rupo (who lost once to Woodend/Hesket).. any five or six teams can beat the other .. the race for the top 4 will go down to the wire.

If you assess all competitions at Senior level ..four teams are fighting for one spot in the A Grade netball.. likewise with C Grade netball..four teams fighting for two spots in B Grade .. 19s netball will have its top six determined on the final round .. Seniors football has its top six locked in but it's a top six where anyone can beat the other on any given day.. and Reserves football will have its top six determined in the final round ..

In terms of competition, the Senior level is exciting.. and juniors will be exciting too with most grades across football and netball to have its finals sorted on Sunday.. the final round..

I hope the Riddel league clubs stay however I think there should be a 2 tier competition as it brings more excitement and competitive footy. Hold the clubs you have and had some others like a Melton Sth etc. Even try and get Burnside maybe.Castlemaine and Kyneton maybe. However it does mean more travel however it’s only a few times a year..

Melton South and Kyneton would be good gets.

I hope the Riddel league clubs stay however I think there should be a 2 tier competition as it brings more excitement and competitive footy. Hold the clubs you have and had some others like a Melton Sth etc. Even try and get Burnside maybe.Castlemaine pand Kyneton maybe. However it does mean more travel however it’s only a few times a year..

Like your thinking Turbs. If you are going after Burnside maybe Caroline Springs could be another target ? They would be a super competitive team with the top 4-5 sides in the competition.

Cheers rightfoot, my thinking was around the 3 neighboring clubs each playing in a different competition. EDFL, WRFL and RDFL. Just think Caroline Springs are in the top grade WRFL with plenty of juniors so be difficult to move. However Burnside are in div3 EDFL so might be interested in a move. Couldn’t hurt to get in touch with them. However I guess it doesn’t help Rockbank who would be there closet club. But must do something as from the outside the RDFL comp need some change imo.

Has anyone considered Ballan? Never seen their name crop up in conversation before but I have seen Trentham mentioned in dispatches and they aren't too far apart from each other.

Ballan is easily accessible and they wouldn't be travelling more if they transferred leagues - Ballan to Beaufort is virtually the same distance as Ballan to Lancefield.

I reckon they would be competitive and would be a good fit for the RDFNL.

Has anyone considered Ballan? Never seen their name crop up in conversation before but I have seen Trentham mentioned in dispatches and they aren't too far apart from each other.

Ballan is easily accessible and they wouldn't be travelling more if they transferred leagues - Ballan to Beaufort is virtually the same distance as Ballan to Lancefield.

I reckon they would be competitive and would be a good fit for the RDFNL.
I know Rockbank back in 60’s and 70’s played against Ballan. Could work and I think these left field options deserve airtime for the future discussions around footy within the region.

The more views that are aired, the better for everyone.

If people commit their thoughts to word in this forum or by having a chat with their committee members or holding the meetings we have seen in Broadford and Lancefield recently, then there is a better chance that we will develop a decent plan can be implemented for the future.

The committee will listen to what you say, people will take in what you write and they will either agree or suggest alternatives. A combination of all these views should ensure that the league is on the right path.

100% agree. More ideas the better, they can atleast be investigated. I respect your opinion WOW and Yeend, but this league as it is is not sustainable. I am sure even you agree. I do not like the WRFL, and have mixed views on the EDFl especially div 2 and 3 but atleast those leagues have openly stated their vision and are actively seeking clubs to achieve it. The league is dying and the rate has quickened in the last 24 months with the implementation of the points system and then the move to under 19's. It has not worked for this comp and has put it on its knees. I said a few weeks ago the importance of this league to the big 4 or 5 as they have very little ability to adapt to another comp or region so they need the comp strong also. Lancefield are a heartland club, I hope they can have a resurgence. Any club in the immediate area, especially those country ones should be priority. Melton South a no brainer, interested how that affects centrals though, kyneton, castlemaine, Ballan. I think thinking of gisborne, Melton Darley craigeburn returning is an extreme long shot as they seem to have had success in their respective leagues and not sure the attraction for them to return.

I think there was an overlap of a year or two between Melton Central joining the league and Melton and Melton South joining the BFL.

That said, the three clubs have co-existed all these years in the one town so there shouldn't be any issue with both South and Centrals being in the same league again.

Not sure about Castlemaine - I can only see them as a Bendigo league club. I could be wrong and they may feel that change would be a good thing but they would have a 112km each way trip from Castlemaine to Rockbank and trips to Melton also crack the ton.

I can see the league expand by a net figure of two clubs by 2022, with the league consisting of:

Ballan, Diggers Rest, Kyneton, Lancefield, Macedon, Melton Central, Melton South, Riddell, Rockbank, Romsey, Rupertswood, Wallan and Woodend-Hesket.

IN: Ballan, Kyneton, Melton South.
OUT: Broadford.

Ballan is a logical fit as their travel would reduce, they would be competitive and I reckon they would be able to recruit better if they weren't trying to convince people to travel beyond Ballarat to play.

Kyneton would be a better fit in the Riddell if their recruiting focus is directed at Melbourne. They also need to spend a fair bit of coin to compete against more attractive BFNL clubs at the moment and once again a big selling point is not having to travel to Bendigo every second week to play. If they recruit more from surrounding districts and/or Bendigo, they'd be more likely to stay. The biggest plus would be the lure of regular finals football if they consistently had a good playing group.

To me it seems that it would be the right time for Melton South to stop heading west to play. Also, it's a little bit warmer here than on the fields of Ballarat LOL. The downside is that they might have to wage a serious battle to get out of the BFNL - Daylesford took a few years but eventually was granted their wish to play in the CHFL and I think Maryborough had to work very hard (almost a decade if I am not mistaken) to get a clearance to Bendigo. IIRC Sebastopol have tried in the past without success.

No disrespect towards Broadford but I see them exiting within the next two years as there is a better fit with Heathcote football or else the proposed Seymour league. I am not too sure about them playing in the Kyabram league due to travel.

If we got the three in's then we might not have the rumblings that some clubs are looking eastwards.

The staff at AFL Victoria, AFL Goldfields (and the other hubs for that matter) better not count on having too much leave in the next six months as they are going to be - or should currently be - hard at work developing the future path for our regions and leagues.

Anyone get a chance to see the Local footy show on channel 31, WOW on $$$$$ from ozkick, team regos, and players rego, WOW. If not seen please have a look at this episode. Gives a real indication of why AFL and AFL Vic are so keen on hubs and running football in Victoria their way.

Really interesting piece wasn’t it, love watching that show