Banter RDT CXCII - TDDS

Mate go to wikipedia and type in Myspace
This is once more, as we’ve discovered now about many things in this thread, before my time. I hate to make any of you think that FaceBook is my version of MySpace, but it’s something I’ve only heard of via pop culture

I get it, what i'm saying is there is always an upgrade of a concept that renders the previous iteration obsolete.

Pre myspace there were online forums and message boards kinda like bigfooty where people interacted, along came myspace, myspace was eaten by facebook, instagram has eaten away at facebook and so on and so forth. Some kind of interactive AI driven platform will dominate insta and tiktok ect in the coming years.

Wait until you hear about the rotary phone!

I get it, what i'm saying is there is always an upgrade of a concept that renders the previous iteration obsolete.

Pre myspace there were online forums and message boards kinda like bigfooty where people interacted, along came myspace, myspace was eaten by facebook, instagram has eaten away at facebook and so on and so forth. Some kind of interactive AI driven platform will dominate insta and tiktok ect in the coming years.
Asl?

I wonder how the covid-era toilet paper hoarders are going?

Feels like yesterday there were reports of some virus doing its thing in China, nek minnut the footy season was put on ice. That shit was 5 years ago now 👀
I remember being at work and hearing the NBA stopped and I thought hang on, this might be a little serious

A week or so later we’re WFH then I got made redundant

I remember being at work and hearing the NBA stopped and I thought hang on, this might be a little serious

A week or so later we’re WFH then I got made redundant
I had jury duty booked in for that Monday.

Took the train in to the city, weird vibe. Walked to the Court and all the others were hanging around not knowing what to do.
Court dude finally comes out and says it's been shut down for the indefinite future, so you can all go back to work.

Got my letter of notice service completion a couple weeks later in the post.

I had jury duty booked in for that Monday.

Took the train in to the city, weird vibe. Walked to the Court and all the others were hanging around not knowing what to do.
Court dude finally comes out and says it's been shut down for the indefinite future, so you can all go back to work.

Got my letter of notice service completion a couple weeks later in the post.
That's a massive win.

I remember the initial buying panic.
Standing in a queue halfway around the supermarket, thinking...why have these campaigners got 6 packs of dunny rolls in their trolley and wtf is going on.

Took me a couple of hours to get a few things for dinner. No TP was acquired.

We were trying to plan a wedding for April in 2020.

Probably the biggest stress of my life deciding to go ahead with it or not as we had elderly guests and didn't want to risk people's health.

Wasn't until I spoke to my cousin who was working as a doctor in London at the time, and she said yeah this is looking pretty grim that we made the call to postpone. Full lock downs happened a week or two later.

It really was a weird time and it has changed the world for the worse imo

I don’t want to go all tin foil hat but governments realised how easily they could seize control and lot of the emergency powers they implemented are still lurking in the background

And in hindsight, it was all a bit of an overreaction

Some aspects of it were yes, but others were the correct decision. If we let it run rampant like it had gotten in other parts of the world, our hospital system would have collapsed. The horrors that places like New York, Italy, India etc went through at the worst of the disease makes you realise just how lucky we were by comparison

Australia's isolation from the world was it's best protection.

Some aspects of it were yes, but others were the correct decision. If we let it run rampant like it had gotten in other parts of the world, our hospital system would have collapsed. The horrors that places like New York, Italy, India etc went through at the worst of the disease makes you realise just how lucky we were by comparison

Australia's isolation from the world was it's best protection.

This sort of shit will be with me forever:

New York you had doctors over worked and over whelmed, people left to die in hospital corridors who would have otherwise had a better chance of making it, refrigeration trucks used for the body overflow, mass graves for the dead.

Said the anecdote before, but my friends cousin in India they had funeral pires set up in their local park to keep up with the bodies that were stacking up.

Then compare it to here where people here were complaining their biggest gripe was they had to get someone else to buy their beer from the bottle shop.

People don't realise how good they had it

New York you had doctors over worked and over whelmed, people left to die in hospital corridors who would have otherwise had a better chance of making it, refrigeration trucks used for the body overflow, mass graves for the dead.

Said the anecdote before, but my friends cousin in India they had funeral pires set up in their local park to keep up with the bodies that were stacking up.

Then compare it to here where people here were complaining their biggest gripe was they had to get someone else to buy their beer from the bottle shop.

People don't realise how good they had it
We were largely insulated from it here, we lived life fairly normally compared to most of the world

Very easy to say there was an over-reaction in hindsight. We're fortunate that we didn't suffer the worst of it.

It's still surprising to me that there are dickheads like Adam Creighton from The Australian newspaper that are still hung up on it and seems to pervade their every waking moment. Vulnerable people were spared an unnecessary death, get on with life already.

Very easy to say there was an over-reaction in hindsight. We're fortunate that we didn't suffer the worst of it.

It's still surprising to me that there are dickheads like Adam Creighton from The Australian newspaper that are still hung up on it and seems to pervade their every waking moment. Vulnerable people were spared an unnecessary death, get on with life already.
I had to block a couple of people on Facebook a few weeks ago, literally every day they are making posts about it all being a scam. And then a bunch of other people would comment on it agreeing. They don't seem to realise the rest of the world has moved on and barely mentions it anymore

We were largely insulated from it here, we lived life fairly normally compared to most of the world
Especially in WA compared to over east.

Biggest thing that changed for me was our local footy season got cancelled and we weren't allowed to sit next to each other on the bus going to work. Otherwise life was pretty normal for me outside of wearing a mask.

WA would've been one of, if not the least affected area in the world.

Easier to say as a student than a worker, but it was pretty casual for me. Had to do the whole mask and social distancing thing, but only missed like a month in the middle of 10th grade and the rest was just sanitizer on the way into class and people missing the occasional 10 days with Covid

One positive change from COVID has been the shift in office culture.

Before it was 5 days in the office, except if it was in extraordinary circumstances.

Now people can work from home a few days from home a week and get a better work life balance.

Shit you guys really want Georgie in this thread eh.

The World GIF

Actually what got me thinking about it was the kid posting here made me think of the guys I work with who were born after 9/11. And that made me realise covid was 5 6 years ago now which blew my mind a little.

It'll probably be taught in my sons' (7 and 3) history classes 😩