aggels

Okay, recently I've been reading heaps, which is funny, because for the past year I've had something of a "readers block" which meant I couldnt' concentrate on anything... But I've been reading a whole load of John Irving, which I'm really loving, but I think I could do with something else so...

what have you been reading?

Nothin recently, but I'm about to start Papillon. I've read it before but this is the unabridged version which I didn't read last time.

Oi Aggels, this is my job!! I was just about to start the 'What Have You Been Reading part 3' thread, but you beat me to it.

Anyway, I recently read 'Trinity' by Leon Uris and was mightily impressed.
I'm currently reading book 1, "Lord Foul's Bane" from 'The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant'. I'm looking forward to the next 5 books in the series.

ps. thanks to Asgardian for recommending this series to me.

As a matter of fact, i've just started reading a book entitled:

Saturday Afternoon Fever

Similar to the soccer book Fever Pitch

Its a bout a young boy finding a team and supporting them. Quite a good book so far, except for his choice of team... St Kilda ;)

Currently reading historian A.J.P. Taylor's "The Origins of the Second World War". I'm about a third of the way through it.

I'm making a conscious effort to start reading more, so I improve my study habits for the uni year which starts in 6 weeks.

Im actually a bit of a Fantasy fan. Ive just finished the Serpentwar Saga by Raymond E Feist.

Anyone recommend any good fantasy books?? I seem to be readin a fair few of them nowadays

Originally posted by Santos L Helper
Oi Aggels, this is my job!! I was just about to start the 'What Have You Been Reading part 3' thread, but you beat me to it.

Awww sorry. I was waiting and waiting and waiting for it but it never happened!

Anyway, I didn't really go into much detail, so my recent books are:

A prayer for owen meany - John Irving
The world according to garp - John Irving
Elli - Livia E. Bitton Jackson
How to be good - Nick Hornby
Just starting on Angela's Ashes.

Last memorable book that I read was "Rule No. 5: No Sex On The Bus" by Brian Thacker. This is the memoirs of a bloke who used to be a tour leader for an under-30s bus tour company. He's not the best wordsmith - Bryson could teach him a thing or two about travel writing - but nevertheless the book is a real hoot. Heavily recommended for anyone who wants something light and humourous.

Lately I picked up Albert Camus' "The Plague". I abandoned this about halfway through 6 months ago, but I've picked it up again at roughly the point I left off. It's a little slow moving, but I guess that's the point - it's about going through the motions of day-to-day life in a town which is stricken by the plague.

Oh, and bluecrow: year 12 English was bloody dull, I agree. Don't get me started on the crap they force you to read...

Iceman - didja ever read a Fighting Fantasy Gamebook?

Originally posted by iceman
Im actually a bit of a Fantasy fan. Ive just finished the Serpentwar Saga by Raymond E Feist.

Anyone recommend any good fantasy books?? I seem to be readin a fair few of them nowadays

Iceman, try anything by Clive Barker for fantasy stuff. I've read everything and he is a brilliant writer.

Aggels, no worries mate.

Originally posted by Uncle Steve

Iceman - didja ever read a Fighting Fantasy Gamebook?
Yeah, i have

used to absolutely love em, but i think theyve worn a bit thin since ive become older

still dont mind them though!!! ;)

Originally posted by Santos L Helper

Iceman, try anything by Clive Barker for fantasy stuff. I've read everything and he is a brilliant writer.

Will do mate, thanks

Some of the authors who seem to have caught my fancy at the moment are:

Raymond E Feist (Magician, Krondor Series)
David Edding (Belgariad Series)
Robert Jordan (Wheel of Time series)
Terry Goodkind (Sword of Truth series)

Theres prob more but these are the ones that come to mind

Originally posted by bluecrow
Medea - written in 330 BC. Oh yeah great.

Whilst its a **** story its really good for school. Its short and there are heaps of issues to write about. Used it for my leaving exam and did pretty well.

Just finished reading "World of Chickens" by Nick Earls - his stuff is great for a light read. Also have Soul Stories by ummmmm Gary someone Zukof??????? Oprah apparantly has him on hew show quite a bit - quite an interesting work which pushes you to explore who you are and why you are and nudges you along the path of developing your soul

Generally on the odd occassion I have time to read which isnt work or study related - I prefer something light - which is where Nick Earls steps in :)

well actually at the moment i am reading a 40c book my sister got for me (isn't she generous:rolleyes: )
lol...it's a home and away book!!!
funniest thing i ever read!!!
but even better coz i knew jst how bad the actors are aswell:D

'California Girl' by Pamela Richmond. :D

It's been rejected by every publisher in LA, it's gonna be a best seller!!!!!!!! :D

I also just finally finished reading Pam's first book, 'Good Night Sweet Prince'. :) Very nice indeed.

Pam just happens to be co-founder of the Denny Snobs. :cool: ;)

recently finished reading 'Choke' by Chuck Palahniuk (Fight Club).. great weird stuff !!

at the moment, i've just started reading 'Fletch: The man who'... by Gregory McDonald... this series of Fletch books that later was portrayed by Chevy Chase in the Fletch movies... got into these, in anticipation for hopefully a new Fletch movie...

i'm trying to look for the set of these books... think theres about 10 or so Fletch novels... all published in the 80's...
amazon/barnesnoble will be selling a republished set in the latter half this year...

i managed to find this copy in my new favourite shop... a mega huge-ass 2nd hand bookshop in newtown (sydney)... opens from 8am-midnite ~~~~

Got a few books for Christmas. Finished Warwick Todd (same old jokes, but a few giggles to be had) and The Onion (sick, sick stuff, laughed me bloody head off). Half way through How To Be Good by Nick Hornby. Good as usual, but I'm waiting for the strings to be pulled together.

Halfway through 'Endless Highway' David Carradines autobiography. Quite the opinionated bugger of his own talent at times but a even if a tad over indulgent is a good read. More so if your a 'Kung-fu' fan.

Prior to that finally read 'Hannibal' major disappoinment after 'Silence of the Lambs' and even more so after 'Red Dragon'.

Will head on to Tommy Billingtons life story next thanks to Rusty Brookes (already looking forward to it).

Part way into 'How to be Good', and reading bits of 'Lewie Lewie the Chris Lewis story' :D and the 2001 AFL yearbook..... Have Saturday Afternoon Fever on order, couldn't get it anywhere in Perth :( Can't wait for it anyway :)

Just read my two year 12 texts in two days.

Both good, but one outshines the other greatly.

One True Thing by Anna Quindlen. Great book, albeit sad. It makes you think about your own life and scenario's, and "what if...?"

Not looking forward to the technical analysis, it seems a hard book to breakdown, but a great book to relax and read.

The Divine Wind by Garry Disher. A short book, which I flew through in two hours. You seem to be able to relate to some bits well, and while not as good as One True Thing, it's a half decent book.

Have a look at borrowing if not buying both. And Emily, we did Macbeth last year - I didn't even read the text and passed. ;) You don't wanna change schools because of texts. :p

The Hitman

I'm reading Down Under a travelogue by Bill Bryson about his travels in Australia in the mid nineties.

I like Bill Brysons writing, such wit and easy, seemingly effortless wordplay, and such sharp observations too.

Its great to read a book about Australia written by somebody who is a foreigner and only visiting - and he doesn't pull any punches !

Also reading Nip and Tuck a very funny comedy by Kathy Lette about a middle class Sydney chic who turns 40 and her life falls apart.

Very funny and sad at the same time, Lettes' style is frenetic with razor sharp satire and plenty of bitchy one-liners

good stuff, but I think women would get more out of it than men.

cheers

How to be Good is pretty popular at the moment:) Not my favourite Hornby, less funny than About a Boy, but good value.

I am reading The Constant Gardener by John Le Carre. Crap title, but a great read from the spy writing master.

BSAS, how about the cricket commentary in Down Under. That is one of the funniest things I've read, sitting on the tram, embarassingly laughing out loud funny.