- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Richmond
- Other Teams
- Everton FC
3 flags in 4 years. IDGAF what happens for the next 10.

LIVE: Carlton v Geelong - Rd 12 - 7:40PM Fri
Squiggle tips Cats at 69% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists » -- All Rd 12 Games
Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 12
SuperCoach Rd 12 SC Talk - Trade Talk - Capt/VC - 2026 Fight MND Comp ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 12 AFF Talk - AF Trades - Capt/VC
It is definitely ahead of where we should be (Bolton for example is one of the best young talents in the league) and the support cast is there (like Graham, Baker, CCJ if he stays, Ryan), but I feel like we still need to add players with a potential to be the next star key forward or mid or defender etc. These will the replace our star veterans in the long-term.There has be to be a cut off point. I could easily a make an argument that our guys like Graham and Baker stack up favourably against some of those guys. Wasn't long ago Baker and Graham went head to head with Taranto and Hopper and won the midfield battle on the day. Note - not saying our guys are better than those two.
While the players you have named are all at completely different levels of their development and have different ceilings. Maybe 5 or so you listed will be elite and while most compare to the young talent we have. Sydney Stack for example showed more in first year than half the players you've listed have shown in their careers to date.
I agree we need more young talent and the same applies to any club really but given where we are and where we have been the young talent we have is already years ahead of where it should be.
I think it’s because they keep bringing players in to replace retirees/losses. Or should I say, they seem to have so many decent players nominating to go to Geelong. We’ve only brought in Lynch in the trade/free agency period since about 2016. We didn’t really bring in anyone else tbh.How can the Old peoples home Geelong continually keep playing finals with an ageing list?
We have a younger list and have managed to fall off the cliff.
Our issue isn't age, it's work ethic and right now they aren't working hard enough and arrogance is showing on and off the field.
I also think Leppa is a huge loss, I would have liked to see a succession plan where he took over from Dimma.
Geelong's strategy can only be deemed a success if they win another flag. Otherwise it's just delaying the inevitable fall that the salary cap/draft system must bring.I think it’s because they keep bringing players in to replace retirees/losses. Or should I say, they seem to have so many decent players nominating to go to Geelong. We’ve only brought in Lynch in the trade/free agency period since about 2016. We didn’t really bring in anyone else tbh.
Yeah I agree. That’s how they stayed up, but it isn’t necessarily a good strategy. What’s the point of being contenders when you’re not being competitive when it matters? The likes of Brisbane, Bulldogs or Melbourne have more potential because they are sides that have built their core through the draft like we and Hawthorn didGeelong's strategy can only be deemed a success if they win another flag. Otherwise it's just delaying the inevitable fall that the salary cap/draft system must bring.
Even then, the only teams that have won multiple flags have all been built from the ground up by hitting the draft hard and picking and developing the right kids.
Yeah I agree. That’s how they stayed up, but it isn’t necessarily a good strategy. What’s the point of being contenders when you’re not being competitive when it matters? The likes of Brisbane, Bulldogs or Melbourne have more potential because they are sides that have built their core through the draft like we and Hawthorn did
Excel? Not that easy to use.... plus the calculations required after Balta and Broad go out, with no Bigoa either etc etc. More like a computer that can mine Bitcoin.Although it's complex, the salary and contract stuff is fairly straightforward. Easy enough to do in Excel for goodness sake!
That the Pies screwed that up shows how unprofessional they are.
The hard bit is the balancing of immediate versus long term, of paying enough to keep stars whilst encouraging youth whilst being able to get other players. Of ensuring your support staff are both good and well balanced in what they do. Clubs do it different ways, but you see the good clubs stay up and keep performing, some clubs have one off years (StK and Melbourne recently), others are always OK, and some are disastrous (Blues).
You'd have to be working 2 - 3 years ahead in recruitment and team/player development. We've really gone crazy for rucks recently. Which is paying off now with injury. But that is presumably a structured plan for where we think key playing roles are/ will be and where we can get advantage. I can only guess that means we reckon we'll be bale to trade out one or two for good picks/players, and we reckon rucks are vital for winning premierships. Following what Tiger71 has to say we look a year or two ahead and aim to get specific players. Typically it doesn't work, but sometimes it does and we get a gem for a good price. That's where your spreadsheet works overtime. How many $ do we have when? And what picks do we have when? that allows us to do these things. In this structured, but flexible, plan.
Last night drove home for me that we really need to build through the draft. Going after a mature inside accumulator could keep us going for a few years, but I don't see enough green shoots at the moment for us to win a flag post 2022. Think next year is our last crack, though I'm unconvinced we can compete properly with the Brisbane's of the league, and a lot of things are going to have to go right.
I personally think we really need to go hard at this draft. It's a deep draft and I'd be moving on deadwood like Garthwaite and retiring a few of our current crop. Realistically this is the time where the picks we used on blokes like Conca, Ellis and Vickery have really cost us the opportunity to keep going. Get two of those picks right and we have a much deeper depth in spots like the midfield.
Chol played his one good game a year. CJ is a better footballer. Definitely be keeping him. CJ stays ahead of Chol. CJ isn't great in the ruck (yet)He looks like a star compared to Chol.
Chol played his one good game a year. CJ is a better footballer. Definitely be keeping him. CJ stays ahead of Chol. CJ isn't great in the ruck (yet)
How can the Old peoples home Geelong continually keep playing finals with an ageing list?
Our issue isn't age, it's work ethic and right now they aren't working hard enough and arrogance is showing on and off the field.
I also think Leppa is a huge loss, I would have liked to see a succession plan where he took over from Dimma.
There is no problem mate we are trying to shoot fish in the ocean after a lossEvery time you reply, you feed the monkey mate. just remember that.
My belief is, the comment is fair.How much they knew about it before the end of the season last year is still a bit of a mystery - however, having 12 months to reflect on it outside of the chaos of the hub life - none of us know just how exactly it affected the group. There has been a serious lack of system, cohesion & team culture to our club this year, after 4 years of exactly those points being our biggest strength. When the news broke i said that this could possibly break the back of the group. If what we are seeing is that, i don't know - but it certainly makes the comment "fair".
What ol mate said is going to be exactly what a lot of people are going to start thinking - Dimma made that problem himself, no running from it now.
Not many coaches from memory survive very long after they divorce. If anyone has examples of times they were able to, that would be interesting - none really comes to mind tho
How can the Old peoples home Geelong continually keep playing finals with an ageing list?
Add to that great salary cap management from them to be able to recruit a Cameron. It’s now or never for them and while it’s been year after year, this is definitely the last year with Hawkins, Smith, Higgins, Selwood, Dangerfield, Henderson, etc all hitting the cliff edge from the top of my mind, you can’t just replace that.And they dont win flags , They always just fall short with patch up players
We have an opportunity in this coming draft to replenish our list with some fantastic young talent with 4 picks inside 30(with late pick trades)
Geelong have not seen this many young talented players for 15 years.
Take our beans to the draft and pick the players we need and come back in 2 years for a real crack t a premiership not just make finals
Really glad that I'm not the only one who feels this way about the impact of losing Leppa. I've been saying this to my wife all year, even though there are obviously other factors affecting our performance as well.I also think Leppa is a huge loss, I would have liked to see a succession plan where he took over from Dimma.
And they dont win flags , They always just fall short with patch up players
We have an opportunity in this coming draft to replenish our list with some fantastic young talent with 4 picks inside 30(with late pick trades)
Geelong have not seen this many young talented players for 15 years.
Take our beans to the draft and pick the players we need and come back in 2 years for a real crack t a premiership not just make finals
Excel? Not that easy to use.... plus the calculations required after Balta and Broad go out, with no Bigoa either etc etc. More like a computer that can mine Bitcoin.