Recent Events and Laurence Angwin

Oct 8, 2006
East Freo, Broncos, Kings
In light of recent events is it fair to say that Laurence Angwin was unfairly crucified. Not saying he isn’t an idiot for what he did, we all agree on that, but the fact that when he spoke out about the drug problem in football everyone dismissed what he said and labelled it the angry ramblings of a sacked footballer but it seems that he was not far off with some of the stuff he said. The drug problem is bigger then just him and his Carlton mate but no one wanted to admit it at the time. Maybe if things were taken more seriously at that time then we wouldn’t be where we are today with the issue??? Just my thoughts, don’t know what others think ????

Angwin had so many chances both in Adelaide and at Carlton that I think he sealed his own fate and at the time he was hard to take serious. He wasn't the brightest guy and that was probably his downfall, as we know plenty of guys take drugs and play AFL but are perhaps a bit smarter about how they go about it.

Agree but you've answered your own question, if he was a bit more established player or had done a bit of media training and came accross a bit better people would have listened.
Angwin had a problem no doubt but was a scapegoat too
James Hird is one who speaks crap but people listen thinking he's a bit smater or it's worth listening too.

I don't think the fact it was Angwin making the claims would have made any difference. Dale Lewis made similar allegations even earlier than the Angwin incident and was laughed at.

Good point about Lewis although he was considered a bit of a clown. Angwin (allegedly?) stole from team mates. Hard to place too much credibility on anything he said. I do think a lot of people were naive about drug taking among players though.

I don't think the fact it was Angwin making the claims would have made any difference. Dale Lewis made similar allegations even earlier than the Angwin incident and was laughed at.

Yeah I realised that too after I posted. I guess I could start another thread.....Who speaks crap but people listen. Mel Gibson not included.

Correct me if I'm wrong Carlton fans but wasn't the issue with Angwin not what he did but how he responded afterwards - for example continuing to deny everything.

I do not see a problem with a player taking social drugs, they arnt hurting anybody and its not like it makes them better at footy

Does anyone have any real info on this? Obvioulsy prolonged usage of narcotics would adversely effect your entire body but just as many players admitted to taking caffene tablets before games, does anyone know if any drugs (for example speed, coke or ice) could actually give you a short term advantage?
I'm not saying I think they would but I'd just be interested to hear from anyone who has some specific knowledge on the subject. Do we just assume that these drugs are bad for players?

Correct me if I'm wrong Carlton fans but wasn't the issue with Angwin not what he did but how he responded afterwards - for example continuing to deny everything.

I think he also missed training, got in trouble with the police, and was proving a negative influence on those around him. In his case, drug use was affecting his own performance and that of his team-mates around him. Thats why he was sacked.

I still think he was hard done by though, in some ways. He was really the first to be caught in a big way using recreational drugs and copped a lot of flak. Was a scapegoat for what was a league-wide problem, and his personal reputation suffered beyond what it should have - which is not to say he shouldn't have been sacked. We, as the football public, just didn't have any experience with that sort of issue at the time. Now its just par for the course

Hey AFL wakey wakey - Angwin being proved right

The AFL and the Eagles and the media who make their living from being "in the good books" with clubs have managed to grovel along and are dragging the game down to a new level, now we have Kerr in the news, who next?

Seems to be a fair bit of doublespeak going on about drug issues.Woosha waffled on and on in TFS the other night ( I reckon he just kept talking so they couldn't get any REAL questions in, in fact they wound him up in the end so it worked) and what I heard him say was a total circle J anyway.

The AFL and the Eagles need to understand that right now they seem to be sending out mixed messages on drugs, they need to stand up and show the kids who idolise these self destructive morons that there is no tolerance for drugs, one strike and you're out NO MATTER HOW GOOD YOU ARE.

IF the truth ( and I emphasis IF ) about Cousins and drugs is true then why hasn't he been sacked?, what game are the Eagles playing here?

Again IF everything is true then what about his Brownlow medal, did he win it fairly or did he have an unfair advantage?

Drug-taking rife in the AFL, claims sacked Blue

By Dan Oakes
May 18, 2005

Laurence Angwin reopens drugs issue.

Sacked Carlton ruckman Laurence Angwin has reopened the issue of recreational drug use by AFL players, claiming that the practice is rife within the league.

Angwin was booted out of the club in April last year after he and teammate Karl Norman turned up at a club recovery session under the influence of ecstasy. Norman was fined and suspended after he admitted taking the drug but Angwin paid a higher price because he initially lied to club officials.

In the an interview with The Bulletin magazine, Angwin also claimed that he took the drug with three "higher profile" Blues on the night in question, but that he did not "dob them in" when confronted by the club.

"No one at Carlton asked us if other players were involved because, I guess, they didn't want to hear the answer," Angwin said.

Angwin said he could name other players within the AFL who regularly used ecstasy because the physical effects were easier to conceal than those of alcohol.

"And it wasn't just Carlton where this was happening, it was just commonplace, especially amongst the younger blokes, because it only cost you $25 to $40, you didn't put on weight and you didn't feel sick at training," he said.

Carlton president Ian Collins said last night the club had no intention of investigating Angwin's claims about other Blues players, pointing out that the disgraced ruckman had a history of lying.

Re: Hey AFL wakey wakey - Angwin being proved right

Carlton president Ian Collins said last night the club had no intention of investigating Angwin's claims about other Blues players, pointing out that the disgraced ruckman had a history of lying.[/quote]

Pretty weak response from Ian Collins. :thumbsdown:

Angwin and Dale Lewis will be wanting to give a big "I TOLD YOU SO" in a couple of weeks.

That is a very convenient response from Collins, I'll grant you that.
Yes - and from the man who moved heaven & earth to rob Chris Grant of the brownlow in 97. What a strange set or priorities Ian Collins has.

Must be remembered that Angwin's dismissal was a culmination of events, not just based on the one event.

That's right, I heard there were a few "indiscretions" with teammates on top of the drugs. He was given more chances than anyone, Karl Norman was given another chance due to his lack of priors.

Recent Events and Laurence Angwin