Recruits 2006

Mar 29, 2005
Lets cut to the chase and forget all the rumours circulating and open discussion on who could join us next year. I think Luke Power would be okay but 600 thousand is big dollars, many people think Fevola is an option also. I just hope we do things properly look after the young talent we have and add some experience to the group. James Kelly keeps popping up but when everything is said and done not many players leave for another club, to get one big catch would be very satisfying.

wont get any good players....probably 2 or 3 washed up hacks.

Power, Mitchell, Williams are not stupid and will definitely not go to collingwood. The pies seem to make attempts on players half way during a season, what do u think their response will be?

Brown said no, and ur not goin to get anyone....maybe some slow players, u got caracella....hes goin ok atm but hes not young....u need to rebuild cos ur chance of a premiership ended when u lost those 2 grand finals.

look at the hawks, doggies, tigers.....all rebuilding and goin ok...at least showing something and for future years. u guys arent either way....tryin to blood youngsters, but wanting a shot at a premiership. i think u shold start all over again and make some harsh calls at seasons end and get sum young quick midfielders... ur midfield is simply too slow. bucks, burns, licuria, o bree....it seems ok...but is veri slow....and bucks is nearly finished anyways.

I know hawthorn arent awesome atm, but at least we are showing something, and even thou we lost to u guys, we still showed half our worth. we played half a game of footy.

Lewis, Franklin, Roughead, Thurgood, Miller, Taylor...these guys are all better than the pies young players....egan, rusling, fanning, but travis cloke will be a handy player for ya.
our midfield is one of best in afl, we have the best young guns, hodge is showing why he was number 1 pick, and just wait til our forward line develops and our backline settles down and plays consistent footy. unstoppable.

Bennycoff said:
our midfield is one of best in afl, we have the best young guns, hodge is showing why he was number 1 pick, and just wait til our forward line develops and our backline settles down and plays consistent footy. unstoppable.

and if you plant seeds in the ground over night it will grow into a bean stalk. If you think you are that close to a top side you are away with the fairies.
Man, you cant compare Collingwood to Hawthorn till they trade away a couple of kid to a gulluable club for a #1 pick, then take a dive in another year to get a priority pick.
I'll give you one point the kids that you have picked up are what you have based your future on, as it almost is for everyone. The days of pulling in the established guns to solve stuff overnight is gone. The thing is with the Pies resources I cant understand why you havent based your self on a "grow your own" model. Kelly, mentioned earlier, was a pick 17, Bartel p pick 8, Nick Stevens was pick 25 odd. Your future stars are just waiting for you to pick them

Hawthorn have a top midfield!!! LOL :) I'll give you Mitchell, but Spider is 31 and Crawford 32, that's your midfield. Hodge goes in for center bounces then plays loose across halfback. One of the reasons you lost was you have no second tier midfielders, NONE! That's why the Hawks blew up, no rotations. Wait till Spider gives it away then you'll have to break in a new ruckman, never a pretty sight, or be stuck with Taylor and Campbell, YIKES! The Hawks I'm afraid to say have a long way to go especially with a forward structure that consists of one midget. Conversely we only need a couple of midfielders and we'll be all set. Nope, I'd much rather be the Pies thankyou.

As for recruiting this year I say keep the early picks which we will anyway. If a big name is to be had get him through the preseason draft. Front load the contract to scare the Blues or any other club that finishes below us off, and get the player that way. Richie Cole might have some currency aswell, he might be able to nab us a good player.

Pie 4 Life said:
I'd go for Bartel if I were Mick. ;)
Why would we want him for?? He aint quick. We need a quick midfielder or a CHB.

Who ever said we wanted Mitchell?

Would much rather a player who can get 20 possesions and have some impact on the scoreboard than statmongers like they have down at Hawthorn

Lewis, Franklin, Roughead, Thurgood, Miller, Taylor...these guys are all better than the pies young players

Dont count your chickens yet mate, grew up with Roughhead and know that he was an extreme suprise at no.2 and has done very little this year.....franklin has played 2 or 3 ok games and the rest are yet to make an impact....dont get too cocky yet

pocketrocket#24 said:
Lewis, Franklin, Roughead, Thurgood, Miller, Taylor...these guys are all better than the pies young players

Dont count your chickens yet mate, grew up with Roughhead and know that he was an extreme suprise at no.2 and has done very little this year.....franklin has played 2 or 3 ok games and the rest are yet to make an impact....dont get too cocky yet
Ummm, no they're not. I'll pay Roughead and Franklin as for the rest I'll give a Nando's voucher for them. Simon Taylor BAH! Back up ruckman at best. What happens when Spider and Crawf give it away?

brilliant pies said:
Why would we want him for?? He aint quick. We need a quick midfielder or a CHB.
You don't need to run fast if you kick the ball like Bartel does.

A kicked ball is faster than anybody can run.

Do you even know how fast Buckley is? Not really, because he finds space and then uses the ball well.

Besides, between Rhyce Shaw, Julian Rowe, Chris Egan, Adam Iacobucci and Ben Davies, we've got some players with pace that we can use through the midfield. Bigger concern would be a guy that can get the ball a lot and use it with the skills Bartel's got.

Guys like Licuria, O'Bree and Lockyer that are slow and their skills aren't even great are dead weight. If we're going to have an inside midfielder, it might as well be one like Bartel who's actually at least skillful.

pieman1 said:
Ummm, no they're not. I'll pay Roughead and Franklin as for the rest I'll give a Nando's voucher for them. Simon Taylor BAH! Back up ruckman at best. What happens when Spider and Crawf give it away?
Hey! Nando's is delicious, I'll hear no more bagging of Nando's!!!

As for the players:

Lewis - I'd rather have Egan, fits a need much better

Franklin - Granted, he's a gun, and unlike anything we've got.

Roughead - Rather have Travis Cloke. His mobility is overrated, was outrun by Wakes multiple times on the weekend, and to get the necessary strength to hold down a KP, he'll get even slower.

Thurgood - Nick Maxwell over him any day. Both came off rookie lists, but Maxwell's a more intelligent player, with neat skills.

Miller - There is no shortage of young players at Collingwood I'd take over him, including Iacobucci and Rowe

Taylor - Isn't David Fanning just about the same thing? A huge, raw ruckman? I've never seen Flaps try and bounce the ball and leave it behind him...

trav over buddy - good call but be careful

trav is lucky in that he has come into a side with 2 bros and a more mature structure without the public perception of pretty boys or party animals

buddy is going to be anything! absolutely anything! but i feel that he will be coached differently and probably not as well as c3 will be. i hope he doesnt end up the next t croad though

great topic but one is a angry, powerful man (C3) and the other has the potential to be as angry but even more powerful. time will tell i cant make a call given ive seen the big bud up close over an extended period

Simon Taylor a quality youngster?

Couldnt even have an impact when he SOMETIMES played for the Tassie Devils!

Will drift off into obscurity where he will no doubt cross paths with Simon Crawshay!

Recruits 2006