Toast Regional Roos Thread - Down on the farm Roos

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

How all our country cousins doing ? Very grin article on the ABC website.

We hope you are all o.k. Need to chat, chuck it in here. We're listening.
Our issues are to complete opposite to those up north. Simply hasnt had any notable rain since December and that was on the back of a very dry spring so much we didnt do any hay or silage. Were have a truck coming tomorrow to take some stock away or we will run out of feed. We were fortunate that we bought a load a little while back and that reducing the herd by 30 percent should hopefully see us through to spring . Theres pretty much no feed for sale now and if you can find some your paying big bucks.

Governments been pretty supportive however. They just put our fire levy up by 150 percent!

Meanwhile northern nsw got 300mm in a day and a lot have have had their livelihood washed away. I guess we are the "lucky" ones....

Our issues are to complete opposite to those up north. Simply hasnt had any notable rain since December and that was on the back of a very dry spring so much we didnt do any hay or silage. Were have a truck coming tomorrow to take some stock away or we will run out of feed. We were fortunate that we bought a load a little while back and that reducing the herd by 30 percent should hopefully see us through to spring . Theres pretty much no feed for sale now and if you can find some your paying big bucks.

Governments been pretty supportive however. They just put our fire levy up by 150 percent!

Meanwhile northern nsw got 300mm in a day and a lot have have had their livelihood washed away. I guess we are the "lucky" ones....
Its flooded up there every year for the last 15...

No rain in our area (Western Vic) of any consequence since mid last year, we are lucky in some ways as we had decided to lease most of our property out to a young local guy
We sold most of our stock & let the grass grow so he had 700 acres he cut for hay which he sold 1/2 of to buy stock for the place
We were well setup with quite a few small paddocks so he has been able to confine his stock & feed them in confined areas & he is now lambing down in them
Meanwhile we are touring this great country of ours in the van

No rain in our area (Western Vic) of any consequence since mid last year, we are lucky in some ways as we had decided to lease most of our property out to a young local guy
We sold most of our stock & let the grass grow so he had 700 acres he cut for hay which he sold 1/2 of to buy stock for the place
We were well setup with quite a few small paddocks so he has been able to confine his stock & feed them in confined areas & he is now lambing down in them
Meanwhile we are touring this great country of ours in the van
good management. early decisive decisions are best in the longer term,

just just yarded up and texted the stock transport and printed eNDVs.

1748226007502.png

Our baby Lindsay is hitching a ride as well, he isn't such a baby anymore probably pushing 750kg now!

Attachments

• 1748226215298.png
    1748226215298.png
    3.5 MB · Views: 5
Farmers get some rain ?
**** all. Bought 3 bulka bags of grain and wheeled the grain feeders out to compliment the hay feedouts as theres simply no hay for sale so need to make what we have last till spring.

And If we have another spring like last year the cattle truck will be coming again.

Still got bags of seed to sow but still no moisture in the ground, soil temp is bugger all now so may as well wait till September to sow then wont have feed till november and thats assuming we get rain.

**** all. Bought 3 bulka bags of grain and wheeled the grain feeders out to compliment the hay feedouts as theres simply no hay for sale so need to make what we have last till spring.

And If we have another spring like last year the cattle truck will be coming again.

Still got bags of seed to sow but still no moisture in the ground, soil temp is bugger all now so may as well wait till September to sow then wont have feed till november and thats assuming we get rain.

Wet mate ? 🤞

about 12mm in the last 2 days, not heaps but well needed. probobly missed any growth through autumn, 2 weeks from the shortest day then will see how it pans out leading into the aug/sept period which is traditionally the highest rainfall period, if we can get enough rain before the spring for the dam to spill that will be the best we can hope for.

been a pretty strange system, unusual to get rain here from the south east but hey you take all you can get.

about 12mm in the last 2 days, not heaps but well needed. probobly missed any growth through autumn, 2 weeks from the shortest day then will see how it pans out leading into the aug/sept period which is traditionally the highest rainfall period, if we can get enough rain before the spring for the dam to spill that will be the best we can hope for.

been a pretty strange system, unusual to get rain here from the south east but hey you take all you can get.
Did you get that yesterday?

Talking to the guy leasing our property & had over 60ml there
He’s now trying to get the sheep onto the dryer parts of the farm as he’s lambing too & they were in containment paddocks which are now a quagmire

Had rain from the SE yesterday, still coming in SE Tassie apparently. Wind is still from the SE.

Its weird - the roaring 40s are 10km away.
I dont have any specific rain direction data however it generally comes in with the prevailing winds and as indicated below 👇 👇 south easterlies are virtually none existent round here.
1000054557.png

New (for me) firewood saw

View attachment 2349071
Hhhmmm did I tell you about my grandfather, trimmed all his fingers off his right hand using a saw bench that looked like that 1
We have a 3 point linkage 1 & they can be dangerous so take care
Our number 1 rule (that my wife bought in) was I was never to use it by myself
Good luck

Hhhmmm did I tell you about my grandfather, trimmed all his fingers off his right hand using a saw bench that looked like that 1
We have a 3 point linkage 1 & they can be dangerous so take care
Our number 1 rule (that my wife bought in) was I was never to use it by myself
Good luck
thank you,

definitely wont be using it in a complacent matter,

it does look more dangerous than it is but thats not saying its completely safe by any stretch of the imagination,

some good points about it are,

-far less fatiguing to handle than the chainsaw.
  • it actually rotates pretty slowly, which is fine i dont mind it takes a little longer to saw through and it doesnt heat up the blade and dull the tips as much.
  • the belt is adjusted a little on the loose side so if it grabs, ( and it did once yesterday) it just slips on the belt rather than bucking.

i lengthened the handle a little bit now its easier to operate and allows you to operate it back from the blade a bit. i actually felt pretty good yesterday evening after cutting up about a square meter. but once i get through that big pile of redgum sleepers i will probobly flog it off, cant see a lot of use for it here going forward after that.

i bought a 9 1/4 " electric saw that kicks like a mule off a bloke whom which it claimed one of his fingers, it pretty much lives in a triton saw frame other than when i needed to use it for a diamond blade to cut masonary. all stuff that requires a degree of awareness when operating.

thank you,

definitely wont be using it in a complacent matter,

it does look more dangerous than it is but thats not saying its completely safe by any stretch of the imagination,

some good points about it are,

-far less fatiguing to handle than the chainsaw.
  • it actually rotates pretty slowly, which is fine i dont mind it takes a little longer to saw through and it doesnt heat up the blade and dull the tips as much.
  • the belt is adjusted a little on the loose side so if it grabs, ( and it did once yesterday) it just slips on the belt rather than bucking.

i lengthened the handle a little bit now its easier to operate and allows you to operate it back from the blade a bit. i actually felt pretty good yesterday evening after cutting up about a square meter. but once i get through that big pile of redgum sleepers i will probobly flog it off, cant see a lot of use for it here going forward after that.

i bought a 9 1/4 " electric saw that kicks like a mule off a bloke whom which it claimed one of his fingers, it pretty much lives in a triton saw frame other than when i needed to use it for a diamond blade to cut masonary. all stuff that requires a degree of awareness when operating.
Will never forget when the grandfather cut his fingers off as I can still see a chook running off with 1 of them 🥴🥴

Do you have a tungsten blade on it, they are great as we only had ours sharpened once a year

Yeah a friend of ours knocked his fingers off with an electric saw 3 years ago, he swears he can still feel his fingers even though 😆😆

Will never forget when the grandfather cut his fingers off as I can still see a chook running off with 1 of them 🥴🥴

Do you have a tungsten blade on it, they are great as we only had ours sharpened once a year

Yeah a friend of ours knocked his fingers off with an electric saw 3 years ago, he swears he can still feel his fingers even though 😆😆
Nah just a regular hss blade. Which is ok by me as i can touch it up myself.