Autopsy 'Remember when...' - Volume I: 1994

• Thread starter Thread starter SJ

I thought we could start an off-season series looking back on seasons past and reminiscing over some fond and not-so-fond memories.

I wanted to start off with 1994, a very memorable season for Geelong supporters up to, and including, all of September (October 1 was a different story).

Ablett's mark over Pert and bag of 14 a week later, Hocking polling Brownlow votes in 11 matches to finish third, Brownless' kick after the siren to bury the Dogs, the magnificent victory a week later against Carlton when the entire Geelong engine room withdrew before the game, and of course Ablett's one-handed mark and goal after the siren against North to put us into the grand final - 1994 had it all (almost).

Code:
Rnd**	T**	Opponent**	Scoring**		F**	Scoring**		A**	R**	Venue**		Crowd**	Date**
R1	A	Melbourne	3.3 8.8 12.10 16.13 	109	6.3 12.8 17.14 26.18 	174	L	M.C.G.		39741	27-Mar-94
R2	H	Footscray	7.5 11.7 15.13 22.20 	152	3.1 5.7 8.10 8.16 	64	W	Kardinia Park	24019	4-Apr-94
R3	A	Carlton		2.4 5.6 6.7 10.10 	70	3.1 9.6 13.12 14.15 	99	L	Princes Park	28496	10-Apr-94
R4	A	Adelaide	2.3 3.6 9.11 11.11 	77	3.2 5.10 8.10 15.14 	104	L	Football Park	45638	17-Apr-94
R5	H	North Melbourne	4.6 9.9 15.13 17.18 	120	3.2 7.8 8.10 15.15 	105	W	Kardinia Park	23490	23-Apr-94
R7	H	Collingwood	7.3 13.9 15.12 18.16 	124	0.1 4.10 12.14 13.18 	96	W	M.C.G.		52342	8-May-94
R8	A	Sydney		5.5 13.9 17.12 25.15 	165	2.6 5.13 8.15 9.17 	71	W	S.C.G.		11142	15-May-94
R9	H	Richmond	7.2 11.6 17.11 21.16 	142	2.2 7.4 9.7 11.12 	78	W	Kardinia Park	22777	21-May-94
R10	A	Essendon	4.0 11.5 12.7 15.11 	101	3.4 6.8 13.13 16.16 	112	L	M.C.G.		75129	28-May-94
R11	H	Brisbane Bears	4.0 7.5 11.9 15.11 	101	3.3 7.6 12.10 19.12 	126	L	Kardinia Park	18599	4-Jun-94
R12	H	St Kilda	7.4 10.6 10.9 17.11 	113	4.2 7.6 14.11 16.14 	110	W	Kardinia Park	23696	11-Jun-94
R14	H	West Coast	4.2 6.6 8.9 10.15 	75	4.3 9.5 12.7 14.9 	93	L	Kardinia Park	21939	25-Jun-94
R15	A	Hawthorn	4.3 7.6 9.10 11.13 	79	5.5 6.8 11.13 16.19 	115	L	Waverley Park	35267	2-Jul-94
R16	H	Melbourne	6.4 11.4 13.7 22.13 	145	5.3 8.8 14.9 17.13 	115	W	Kardinia Park	23687	9-Jul-94
R17	A	Footscray	3.3 10.3 11.4 13.7 	85	5.1 9.4 11.5 17.11 	113	L	Western Oval	23953	16-Jul-94
R18	H	Carlton		7.6 9.9 11.11 13.12 	90	2.1 2.2 5.4 8.6 	54	W	Waverley Park	42930	24-Jul-94
R19	H	Adelaide	2.5 4.8 8.11 13.13 	91	0.1 1.3 2.7 5.8 	38	W	Kardinia Park	15383	31-Jul-94
R20	A	North Melbourne	5.5 6.9 8.11 10.18 	78	3.1 6.3 8.7 11.11 	77	W	Princes Park	26014	6-Aug-94
R21	A	Fitzroy		3.4 6.10 9.17 13.22 	100	2.3 6.6 8.10 8.11 	59	W	Princes Park	11388	13-Aug-94
R22	A	Collingwood	4.1 8.5 13.5 16.8 	104	4.5 9.7 12.12 15.17 	107	L	M.C.G.		66555	20-Aug-94
R23	H	Sydney		3.2 6.4 14.9 16.15 	111	2.4 9.7 10.8 15.9 	99	W	Kardinia Park	22208	27-Aug-94
R24	A	Richmond	7.1 13.4 18.5 27.9 	171	3.6 7.10 10.16 13.17 	95	W	Princes Park	25112	3-Sep-94
QF	F	Footscray	8.3 10.6 12.9 15.16 	106	3.3 8.5 12.7 15.11 	101	W	M.C.G.		61182	10-Sep-94
SF	F	Carlton		4.4 9.7 14.9 15.15 	105	2.1 5.3 10.7 10.12 	72	W	Waverley Park	53160	17-Sep-94
PF	F	North Melbourne	3.3 10.7 15.9 16.13 	109	5.9 5.13 11.15 14.19 	103	W	M.C.G.		80121	24-Sep-94
GF	F	West Coast	4.4 5.7 7.12 8.15 	63	4.3 8.12 12.18 20.23 	143	L	M.C.G.		93860	1-Oct-94

What are your memories from season 1994?

. WC were probably always going to be too good anyway.

Dam straight they were always going to be... we didnt have a chance in hell that day. :(. But the other finals were an awesome ride while it lasted- with our outs in the semi, i thought that was when our year would end but they proved me wrong (also a combination of Carlton choking i guess ;)). Wasnt at that one tho- mum would drive out to Waverly lol :rolleyes:, but was at the other two finals.

Amazing matches. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

I thought we could start an off-season series looking back on seasons past and reminiscing over some fond and not-so-fond memories.

I wanted to start off with 1994, a very memorable season for Geelong supporters up to, and including, all of September (October 1 was a different story).

Ablett's mark over Pert and bag of 14 a week later, Hocking polling Brownlow votes in 11 matches to finish third, Brownless' kick after the siren to bury the Dogs, the magnificent victory a week later against Carlton when the entire Geelong engine room withdrew before the game, and of course Ablett's one-handed mark and goal after the siren against North to put us into the grand final - 1994 had it all (almost).

A few vivid memories I can recall:

- Round 5 against North - an Ablett masterclass. Wasn't just the fact he kicked 7, but it included some amazing tricks as well. Tim McGrath thrashed Carey too which made the day even more fun.

- Round 6 against Collingwood - I was only about 5-6 rows from the fence, behind the goals at the Punt Road end. So Ablett's mark over Pert in the last quarter was right in front of us. Plus we won a terrific match made it better.

- Round 7 against Sydney - Travelled up to Sydney for this one. Not only did Ablett kick a mere 14 goals, he kicked 11 up our end which made it beyond enjoyable.

- Elimination Final against Footscray - Very up and down match, Ablett blitzed early kicking I think 5 in the first quarter. After that, went through all the emotions until Brownless won the game for us after the siren. Celebrated by heading to the Espy and seeing the Powder Monkeys tear the house down. Great night.

Didn't see the wins over Carlton and North after that as I had to work. Although some North fans still whinge about the result we played them three times that year and won them all. We must have matched up against them well at that time.

A few vivid memories I can recall:

One I remember- round 22 against Richmond at Optus Oval (Princes Park back then) and Ablett missing the game, Brownless moved to FF and he kicks 8? :)

Not that Richmond was much opposition- still a fun game to watch.

- Round 6 against Collingwood - I was only about 5-6 rows from the fence, behind the goals at the Punt Road end. So Ablett's mark over Pert in the last quarter was right in front of us. Plus we won a terrific match made it better.
The first match I ever went to at the MCG, was sitting on the flank on level 1 in the old Olympic Stand (smokers section?) with my family.

I actually bought this game from Name A Game a couple of weeks ago and watched it the other day, you're right it was a cracker. Even though Ablett missed the goal, it was the spark we needed and Hocking goaled twice shortly after to seal it.

Often that mark is shown as a three-second clip with no context. The ten minute period leading up to it was so hectic and physical, real crash-and-bash stuff. The mark came from nowhere and is even more legendary given the play and point in the game.

I was front row. :cool:

Hahaha those days you could get there early, EVERYWHERE was General Admission. Yeah iirc, I was nearish to the 50M line, still had a great view of the mark.

I remember everyone standing up after it and the sounds of the seats banging.... and also myself screaming "it was a mark!!!!" scared the umpire wasnt going to pay it.. :D

I vividly remember going to Arctic Park to see the Carlton final, and how flat we were when it was announced the whole engine room was out injured. Apparently Blight gave the world's best ever pre-game address, and unknowns like Aaron Lord came out and starred as a mid. Think he got dropped by the GF.

All that finals series, I recall non Cat supporters saying "we had the SPIRIT" and it was our year. Until we had to play a complete interstate team from WA. It was Geelong, VFL'S best team of the year, against a very strong WA interstate team, and IIRC, it was Ablett's birthday on the GF day itself. He had a poor game against Brennan, and Brownless took a couple of great grabs in front of us. It was alsothe game where our clear best player, BUDDHA, was set up with a first/4 cork by Woosha, and was effectively gone 5 minutes in.

The NM Prelim the week before was seriously a game that could easily have promoted heart attacks in those susceptible. It seemed to be a battle of Carey vs Buddha, who could dominate most for their team. The famous hand of God mark by Ablett resulted in us just beating a gallant NM, who felt robbed. Could be the game that promoted Carey grabbing a female piece of anatomy, but memories are getting a little blurred.

I think Buddha was B& F that year and always played well against NM.Hope I haven't mixed up memories there. I do recall also speaking to Couchy years later at a non footy function, and he remarked that 1993 was the one that got away. We had a really poor start, then came home with a blast, and probably would have beaten Essendon in a GF.

Brownless' kick after the siren to bury the Dogs,

Top memory -
Billy kicking that winning goal was made even more special as the little niggler "Libba" was in his ear the entire time he was lining up with - "you miss and you lose, you miss and you lose".

My living room erupted when it went through.

Bottom memory -
Also remember getting kicked out of a pub in Perth after the GF as a group of about 20 local, boozed up, West Coast, hot headed yocals wanted to go me and 2 mates in the car park to 'celebrate' their win.

The publican judged it as our fault (we being the only Cats supporters) for being there so we had to go.

I think his words were something to the tune of; "The rest of you blokes calm down and drink your beers, and you bloody Vic w***ers piss off back to where you came from!!!"

The pack of tough guys even followed us out, un-hindered, beers in hand hurling abuse and taunts as we left.

Flogs... :thumbsd:

But all in all, a great year.
Even if I was in Perf...

Top memory -
Billy kicking that winning goal was made even more special as the little niggler "Libba" was in his ear the entire time he was lining up with - "you miss and you lose, you miss and you lose".

Werent we only a point down?? Hence a miss (assuming he didnt mean OOTF) would have meant extra time, not a loss. ;)

Memories.

Bulldogs final - Went to pirates of Penzance so missed it.
Carlton final - went fishing down at lakes entrance so missed it.
North final - was in NSW - watched it.
GF - Got an invite on the morning of the GF to go out that day with a hot chick I had been chasing for years. I passed it up and stayed home to watch the game on my own. I have never seen her again. I am a complete idiot.

Werent we only a point down?? Hence a miss (assuming he didnt mean OOTF) would have meant extra time, not a loss. ;)

Yes but the Dogs came storming home with a truck load of momentum.
Extra time would have been their moment.
Hence Libba's threats. ;)

Yes but the Dogs came storming home with a truck load of momentum.
Extra time would have been their moment.
Hence Libba's threats. ;)

Yeah true... but you never know, you cant say 100% certain the Bulldogs would have gone onto win.

Having said that, VERY glad he kicked the goal tho. ;)

GF - Got an invite on the morning of the GF to go out that day with a hot chick I had been chasing for years. I passed it up and stayed home to watch the game on my own. I have never seen her again. I am a complete idiot.

I passed up the op to go to an awesome rollercoaster park in America, to stay back and watch that knob Phillipousis play (and get thrashed) in the Wimbeldon final, 2003. -facepalm-

Lol you story is funnier tho. :D:p

nearly as bad as my mate that had met a girl when he'd been out drinking and walked her home and she asked him up for coffee. his response was "i dont drink coffee this late".

George Costanza?

ha ha ha.
I was living with a mate at the time of the GF incident.
He was going out with a girl. She had a girlfriend and we all went out to a bar one night.
I remember the GF saying 'ooohhh dans going to get lucky'

We got home and this girl cornered me in the kitchen and said "so you live in the bungalow huh" (ie hint hint)

I just said 'yep', grabbed a beer, and went back into the lounge. *faceplam*

94 was a bad bad year :)

I once took this blonde chick in my car down to a nice secluded area.
I said to her "do you want to hop in the back?"

She said "no, I want to stay in the front with you"

I remember the leed up to the Calton final, the no Couch no Geelong statment and up steps Aaron Lord.

Some one will know for sure, I think it was the year we had heaps of rain over nite and morning of the Grand Final ,and I was cracking the shits they were
using helicopters and supersoppers to dry the MCG.
It's a winter sport for Christ sake our only chance was to play them on a mud heap.
As you can see I hold resentments for quite some time.

Great thread SJ.

'94 was the year I moved to Sydney. I'd been to just about every game for the previous 4 years or so, but living in Sydney meant pretty much the only way I could watch any Cats games was for my family to video tape them off channel 7 and send them up by post.

I drove to Canberra with my girlfriend (she was a good find) and stayed in a cheap motel to watch the final against the Dogs. That was genius - 'The monkey's off the back Billy!"

Think I heard the Carton game on the radio. Still can;t believe we won that one. As good a team as we were, we weren't known for fighting against the odds back then - I thought that may have been a turning point for us.

Watched the North final in a bedroom at some party in Manly - everyone else was outside while this idiot from Melbourne was stuck inside by himself, screaming in front of a tiny telly.

The GF. I still don't want to talk about that.:mad:

Ahhh, memories. When Billy kicked it after the siren against the Doggies I was at home listening on the radio jumping around like an absolute madman! The monkey's off the back Billy!

I remember when I saw the team for the Carlton final run out and being utterly confused. Where's Couchy? Where's Buddha? Where's Bairstow? Then I looked up at the scoreboard and saw that they were all out and thought "We are stuffed now." Utterly incredible win, that one. Never really looked like losing.

A few years ago, I went to a Geelong v Swans night game at the SCG when Leigh Tudor was on the coaching panel. Walking around to one of the gates, I saw Leigh outside the ground about to enter. Having had a few pre-game drinks I yelled out "Hey Leigh!" He turned around expectantly, probably thinking he was going to see an old friend. I then followed with "Kick it to Gary!" and he looked away disgustedly.

We got pumped that night at the SCG and then me and my mates got kicked out of a pub for hassling Cam Mooney for being out getting pissed after the match. Good times.

To the GF. I was sure we were going to win when the parachutist with the Geelong flag landed dead centre in the G and the West Coast parachutist missed the ground entirely. Was all down hill from there. Micky Mansfield was the only one who could hold his head up high that day IIRC. Same in 95.

Dang. I'm old.

29153.jpg

George Costanza?

did george do that?

nah, real life incident.

ha ha ha.
I was living with a mate at the time of the GF incident.
He was going out with a girl. She had a girlfriend and we all went out to a bar one night.
I remember the GF saying 'ooohhh dans going to get lucky'

We got home and this girl cornered me in the kitchen and said "so you live in the bungalow huh" (ie hint hint)

I just said 'yep', grabbed a beer, and went back into the lounge. *faceplam*

94 was a bad bad year :)

I once took this blonde chick in my car down to a nice secluded area.
I said to her "do you want to hop in the back?"

She said "no, I want to stay in the front with you"

vc, you make me look clued up.:thumbsu: