Fitzroy
I am about to resign from my job, I don't really want to but the people I work for are unbearable. Anyways, I was wondering if anyone has any resignation stories, especially happy ones. lol

I've resigned once, from a pretty average child care centre where I was worked like a dog because they wouldn't employ enough staff. :mad: so yeah that was a relief. :D

So yeah, tell us about your experiences. :)

I was working for a pack of arseholes last year who had an "accident" happen

Anyway, they were under investigation from laying so many people off, so they had to be careful who they fired.

Instead they made life so unbearable, they were forcing people to resign.

They did this to me, and it got the point where i walked in and ask if they wanted my resignation, to which the answer was yes, so i scribbled on a piece of paper "i quit"

Told them some choice words and walked out, with everyone in earshot - i swear i don't get bitter ;)

Good luck with it Lioness. There is nothing worse than being at a centre where it is all left up to certain staff to do everything or even worse a centre which has about 2 staff members in charge of like 100 kids :mad: I was at a really good one on Thursday and there were like 4 or 5 of us per 20 kids and it was a really modern centre and everything ran smoothly (plus the kids had designer clothes...sweet :D) Maybe u should go with my agency they are finally getting busier now!

Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
oh yeh and Lioness there was a guy working there :eek: which was a treat in childcare lol have u worked with any? He was actually quite good, was just tryin to work out if he was gay or just being a flirt!

Wooooohoooooo a guy!!!!!! That'd be excellent, was he hot? :p Hehehehe. No I've never worked with a guy. Just chicks. I'd SO love to see a guy singin 'twinkle twinkle little star' or dancing to Bob The Builder!!!!!!!!! HAHAHAHA

Oh and thanks for the tip with your agency, I probably will register with them. :) The problem at my work isn't lack of staff, it's the treatment of the staff. If you ever get sent there as a temp don't worry coz you'll be fine, but permanent staff are treated pretty badly. After I resign, there will be 2 full time positions going, possibly could be as high as 5 tho. :eek: :D

I resigned from my job as a Cutomer Servive Officer in early 2000, because I was sick of the office politics and the favouring of certain employees above others. My boss was a f*cking cow and a bitch and I hated her guts. She made my life a living hell for 6 months, and I got sick of it so one Thursday morning I walked out. The minute I walked out the door (even though I was unempoled), I felt a surge of relief and happiness that I hadn't felt for 6 months.

Ended up going back to Uni, and going back to my old job as a storeman

I now realise money means sweet f*ck all. It doesn't matter how much you're getting paid - if you hate your job, it's not worth it.

Originally posted by Dan26

I now realise money means sweet f*ck all. It doesn't matter how much you're getting paid - if you hate your job, it's not worth it.

I totally understand that Dan. My job has really only soured in the last month or so, but it's been very severe. Including making up performance issues that NO ONE can explain. :confused:

And Thursday was an amazing day, they did the most shocking thing I have ever witnessed to another member of staff, so yeah that kinda made my mind up. I am gonna be leaving before I have another job but I don't care, I just wanna get out of there.

Originally posted by lioness22

I totally understand that Dan. My job has really only soured in the last month or so, but it's been very severe. Including making up performance issues that NO ONE can explain. :confused:

Ahhhh peformance issues.

My bitch of a boss had something against me (I have NO idea why, because I get on great with everyone I meet in real life.)

Anyway, she began supervising my work, and reprimanding me for every little error, no matter how pedantic. It ended up being ridiculous because the things I was doing were exactly the same as what everyone else was doing. For example I would put a comma in a sentence and she would put a red mark against me, by saying it shouldn't be there, when in actual fact it wouldn't matter if a comma was there or not - it would be correct either way. She was pedantically "looking" for mistakes.

If you look hard enough you will find something wrong with everyone. It was just stupid and I hated her guts for it.

Then, I'd ask a question. Now, if you don't know, or are unsure of something you ask a question, right? I'd ask, and she have a go at me saying I should already know. Yet if I didn't ask the question how could I complete the task? Damned if I did, damned if I didn't. What kind of boss discourages their employees from being open and asking questions?

I was going to take legal action against her, because she was the reason I quit, but I was sick of the place, and just wanted to move on.

My bitch of a boss had something against me (I have NO idea why, because I get on great with everyone I meet in real life.)

Maybe she reads BigFooty?....;) :D

Ahhhh peformance issues.

Anyway, she began supervising my work, and reprimanding me for every little error, no matter how pedantic. It ended up being ridiculous because the things I was doing were exactly the same as what everyone else was doing. For example I would put a comma in a sentence and she would put a red mark against me, by saying it shouldn't be there, when in actual fact it wouldn't matter if a comma was there or not - it would be correct either way. She was pedantically "looking" for mistakes.

If you look hard enough you will find something wrong with everyone. It was just stupid and I hated her guts for it.

Then, I'd ask a question. Now, if you don't know, or are unsure of something you ask a question, right? I'd ask, and she have a go at me saying I should already know. Yet if I didn't ask the question how could I complete the task? Damned if I did, damned if I didn't. What kind of boss discourages their employees from being open and asking questions?

I was going to take legal action against her, because she was the reason I quit, but I was sick of the place, and just wanted to move on.

Geez that sucks. I also have a case against my employer (or so I have been told) but I'd really rather just leave. It's gonna be messy for them anyways with one other staff member resigning yesterday, me on Monday, possibly another on Tuesday, then another goin on hols in a week.......right on top of Parent Night. :D Oops. :D

Good work Jacs; I quit my job in Feb and haven't looked back, although admittedly I had this one lined up.

Much less money; much happier.

I've resigned from 2 jobs and it was an evil experience both times.

I had those 2 jobs at the same time, one was part time. Got a better offer so it was an easy decision to make.

With the part time job, I was working Sat mornings at a servo, I tried to phone the boss to speak to him but he was no where to be found. I told they other bloke I worked with that I was going to leave but apart from him no one knew. I rang on the Monday and finally found him, next thing I knew was a torrent of abuse, wouldn't let me get a word in edgeways, reckoned there was a note on his desk from someone else and that it was a gutless way to quit and that I had 'f---ed him around'. What a tosser.

The other job I quit the day I found out I had the new one, I only had the first job for 3 weeks and I told the boss I was leaving, he got shirty at me and said "but we've trained you".. yeah right, how long does it take to train someone to press a button and look bored. Refused to pay me the previous 2 weeks I had worked because I hadn't given notice. I was a bit pissed off at the time, but within 3 months I was earing double anyways :) A couple of years later I found out a bloke I was working with used to work at the same place I did and someone had had enough of this bosses attitude and broke his jaw!

Originally posted by Fat Red
Good work Jacs; I quit my job in Feb and haven't looked back, although admittedly I had this one lined up.

Much less money; much happier.

Thanks Fat Red, I like hearing the good stories. :D lol. This job is currently destroying me, so I HAVE to go, but yeah. Guess I'll feel better once it's actually done. :)

Originally posted by lioness22
Wooooohoooooo a guy!!!!!! That'd be excellent, was he hot? :p Hehehehe. No I've never worked with a guy. Just chicks. I'd SO love to see a guy singin 'twinkle twinkle little star' or dancing to Bob The Builder!!!!!!!!! HAHAHAHA
:D

my god i knoooo...he sang twinkle twinkle to them hehe and he was really good with them coz there was this massive sheet that they were playin under so he made a train outta it and ran round the whole yard with it then he put it over the playground to make a cubby house and as the kids went down the slide they slid through the sheet. Then when he acted as the big bad wolf u shoulda heard them screamin with laughter. Hmm it is quite odd workin with guys in childcare tho coz u gotta watch ya butt when u bend down to the kids so its kinda distractin and yeh he was a bit flirty throwin the sheets at me :mad: then he goes i'll watch your back if u watch mine and i'm like WTF lol but nah good for the kids to have males and females round definately!!!

Yes yes I definitely think there should be more males in child care. :D MAY get a little distracting for the female staff but hey, we're all professionals. ;) HAHAHAHAHA no seriously, I do reckon it'd be a good balance, give the kids some more male role models, particularly those from single parent families. I mean, some of the kids I work with spend more time there than I do. So yeah. It's good for everyone. :) lol

I got in pretty well with my old boss but the place was incredibly badly run. My boss was (and still is) a good bloke so I almost felt guilty when I handed in my resignation. He was a bit shocked and started asking other people why I quit. A friend of mine laid it straight to him: I was moving to a job with a permanent contract, $15,000 more a year, better working conditions and more interesting work.

The best part of moving on was that all the other staff came to me and said how they wish it was them who was moving on and that I had made the right decision. Plus they gave me a petanque set as a going-away present!

I almost wished I could have resigned last week. I put in for 3 and a half weeks leave for next month and had a feeling they wouldn't like it. I was dying for them to say no. I would have said "OK. Well it's 4 weeks away. Here's my 4 weeks notice".

Dammit they said yes. :mad:

I guess as an employer I'm going to be seen as the bad guy again here, but here's my opinion.

There are a number of failures in the employment system that causes grief for thousands in Australia every day.
Of those factors the prime one is incompetence by management at interview stage. In reality the employer has decided upon a profile of a prospective employee for a specific position. This may be considered to look like a key. The ideal candidate will match that key profile. Interviewing skills are so very important but it appears to me that little or poor training is taken up by most management and recruitment companies don't stand a chance as they have no real idea of the profile required.
The situatiopn is often aggravated by the candidate only answering questions and not asking them. The word 'interview; means 'sharing of views'. It is often a one sided affair because the intervewie sees themselves as selling themselves and giving the answers the employer wants to hear. Not a good situation, but a skilful interviewer will open things up.

You see, if you get a job you're not suited for then you can't expect to be happy. If you're not happy then you're performance is likeley to be not as good as it may be. If your performance is not so good then the employer gets annoyed and thinks they made a bad decision in employing you....and so it's all a recipe for disaster. So......my advice is that if the employer cannot create an interview situation where you can speak freely and openly then you must take the initiative and ask polite questions to find out if ther job is right for you.

The thing that is never on a CV is whether or not you will fit into the team, and that is so very important. It helps to be able to meet the team at interview time, or ask for a second interview 'even if the job has been offered to you' and meet the team and see the environment. You can then quickly make a basic judgement about if things are going to work out.

Unfortunateley the AIRC stands as a major obstacle to employers with it's probibitive costs, regulations and political bias so where an employer can they will normally avoid AIRC involvement. If you are not a fit then redundancy is the easiest solution, giving verbal and written warnings the second (before sacking) and making life miserable for the employee the third choice and by far the worst because it impinges on others in the workplace. What is better IMO is a simple chat saying things haven't worked out and having a parting of the ways straight a way. In fact if there had been regular chats about how things were going then the situation may not have gotten that far.

In my case, on the few occassions someone has had to go I have had the chat and let the person go with a reasonable payout (eg a two year employee given 3 months pay). The reason I do that is firstly because I failed them at interview stage and secondly because the payment is above that which the AIRC would deem reasonable. In every case the employee has agreed to resign rather than be terminated, much better on a CV.
But my method is uncommon in my experience. I read the post about someone not getting paid two weeks wages because they didn't give notice. If they worked the 2 weeks they are entitled to that payment and any leave entitlement. Such rogue employers are a disgrace, but alas quite common.

What I am sure of is that the intent when employing someone is that the employment should be rewarding, the environment condusive to good performance and that the employee is competent and can work with the team well. So the genesis is actually very sound.

In my career I have resigned three times. I have always gone by one single criterion. " If you get up in the morning regularly feeling bad about going to work then it's time to quit' Sure, I have found other positions first with two of the resignations, finance usually dictates that, especially if you're raising a family and have a mortgage. The third was a case of absolute dishonesty by a CEO I worked for and once it came out I found it impossible to work with him a moment loger and resigned on the spot.

I hope this helps people understand from a different angle.

ps A tip. Despite the law saying you don't have to.......always put your dob on your CV. I know so many employers that consign CV's to the bin without dob's on them. I can explain why on another post if anyone is interested.

Originally posted by Frodo

ps A tip. Despite the law saying you don't have to.......always put your dob on your CV. I know so many employers that consign CV's to the bin without dob's on them. I can explain why on another post if anyone is interested.

Interesting post Mr.Baggins.

I do as a matter of habit put my DOB in applications/CVs, but wasn't aware that it was such a big deal to some employers.

Why is that?

Frodo, that was a great post!!! Very thought-provoking and actually refreshing to read. :)

However, doesn't apply in my case. It's not a matter here of them employing the wrong person for the job - this is because I got sick at an inconvenient time for them. Less than a week before that, I was their golden girl, being told how great and dedicated and reliable I was. We've had many many staff changes this year, for various reasons, and I feel extremely bad for the parents and children I am leaving behind (one parent actually asked me what time I will be starting tomorrow so they can bring their child in then because she doesn't feel comfortable with the other carers yet), but the key to working in child care is that you have to enjoy your job in every way, and just with the attitude the staff get, I am not enjoying it. And it's not just me, 80% of the staff feel exactly the same way. Which, as one girl commented, is actually pretty sad.

Anyways, to the DOB thing, I always add it on my CV. But I am also wondering, why is it so important?? Curious. :)

Frodo, does having your DOB prove important to many employers because it gives an indication that you're honest and upfront about things or is it something else?

I'd have thought the reason for the DOB was obvious....then the boss can take the stats of all the interviewees to a professional astrologer, and -they- can pick the best candidate for you. :cool:

Originally posted by Porthos
I'd have thought the reason for the DOB was obvious....then the boss can take the stats of all the interviewees to a professional astrologer, and -they- can pick the best candidate for you. :cool:

Hehehehehe probably not far off the mark. :p

Originally posted by lioness22 We've had many many staff changes this year, for various reasons, and I feel extremely bad for the parents and children I am leaving behind (one parent actually asked me what time I will be starting tomorrow so they can bring their child in then because she doesn't feel comfortable with the other carers yet),

:eek: naughty naughty lioness don't u know that in childcare we are not allowed to get attached to particular children ;) so hard not to but hehe! :p

The whole childcare system seems slightly rooted to me because it seems a lot of centres have temps in almost every day. It's ok for me being a temp but the parents often look quite shocked to see new faces in all the time especially when part of the centres duty is to develop a special trust with the famillies. Not to mention the rest of the staff who have to constantly be explaining the whole routine every day.

:eek: naughty naughty lioness don't u know that in childcare we are not allowed to get attached to particular children ;) so hard not to but hehe! :p

The whole childcare system seems slightly rooted to me because it seems a lot of centres have temps in almost every day. It's ok for me being a temp but the parents often look quite shocked to see new faces in all the time especially when part of the centres duty is to develop a special trust with the famillies. Not to mention the rest of the staff who have to constantly be explaining the whole routine every day.

Hehehe no spides, the parents wanna make sure I'm there to drop their kids off with me coz I'm the most familiar, it's not playing faves. :) I like ALL our kids. :) And I'm gonna miss them. :(

I've been the ONLY constant in our room this year, its only been the last few weeks that I've been able to stop explaining the routine!!!!!!! FRUSTRATING!!!!! :mad: lol But yeah you're right, the parents want to know their kids can come to familiar carers, be comfortable with them and whatever. We've had some sensational temps, it's just that they aren't familiar faces, although if possible we try and choose people who have been in a lot. In some cases the temps have been better than the staff around me :eek: and you WANT them to stay lol.