Toast Respect

magpielicious

Many of you are probably hurting but I just wanted to show some respect to Geelong for being an awesome team and club over the past 5 years ! Cheers

Maybe its the cool light of day or whatever but at the game last night there was little respect paid by your comrades. Collingwood supporters can be hard to like and Id say a fair percentage of them needs to learn how to be good winners.

Thanks for your post anyway. The best side won the PF and looking at your age you have a good period coming.

Many of you are probably hurting but I just wanted to show some respect to Geelong for being an awesome team and club over the past 5 years ! Cheers

mate your team is awesome

but some of your supporters are too hard
i would have hated to be near them if you lost
they were raving lunatics

Maybe its the cool light of day or whatever but at the game last night there was little respect paid by your comrades. Collingwood supporters can be hard to like and Id say a fair percentage of them needs to learn how to be good winners.

Thanks for your post anyway. The best side won the PF and looking at your age you have a good period coming.

I agree with the other poster about how great you guys have been and as a football lover I have loved watching your side over the past 5 year but with respect I have spoken to countless cats supporters over the past week who thought we would crumble and that we are an inferior side. There has not been alot of respect shown towards our club.

We were excited by our teams performance and while like all clubs we have some moronic supporters most of what I witnessed after the game was a group of very excited(and rightfully) so supporters. The main reason for this is how much respect we have for how good your side is. When you play like that in such and important game against a great side you have a right to celebrate. Read some of the comments of yur supporters on this board leading up to the game and then let me know what you think.

I agree with the other poster about how great you guys have been and as a football lover I have loved watching your side over the past 5 year but with respect I have spoken to countless cats supporters over the past week who thought we would crumble and that we are an inferior side. There has not been alot of respect shown towards our club.

We were excited by our teams performance and while like all clubs we have some moronic supporters most of what I witnessed after the game was a group of very excited(and rightfully) so supporters. The main reason for this is how much respect we have for how good your side is. When you play like that in such and important game against a great side you have a right to celebrate. Read some of the comments of yur supporters on this board leading up to the game and then let me know what you think.

Every club , including ours have their idiotic fringe. The sheer numbers of Collingwood make yours , more in number. To be excited to be a strong chance after many years of no Flag , is something I'm familiar with. Lets just see what what the Pies are like after 2 Flags in 3 years. I dread the thought of what some your group will be like after that.

mate your team is awesome

but some of your supporters are too hard
i would have hated to be near them if you lost
they were raving lunatics

Can be the same the other way too mate

Geelong have been an amazing team over 4 seasons now - with I think an 83-17 win loss record! Sensational!

As we reflect on this achievement even the great Brissie dont come close to this impressive record with 75.5 wins in 101 games.

Flags are the yard stick - but for sustained excellence week in week out one would be hard pressed to find a better four year record since we became the AFL.

Geelong have been an amazing team over 4 seasons now - with I think an 83-17 win loss record! Sensational!

As we reflect on this achievement even the great Brissie dont come close to this impressive record with 75.5 wins in 101 games.

Flags are the yard stick - but for sustained excellence week in week out one would be hard pressed to find a better four year record since we became the AFL.

Whilst i can never ever barrrack for Collingwood .... i do wish you all the best for next week. The simple truth is that you were better than us and deserve to be up there next week.

In a way it is refreshing in that we will need to adapt to a new gamestyle and play our young brigade. It will be exciting times, and I for one am looking forward to shouting out the names Menzel, Brown, Christensen and Hunt. Plenty to look forward to....hopefully Gary see's it that way too!

I would like to echo these sentiments. You have been fortunate enough to witness a great era for your club over the last 6 years, and the Geelong side from this period of time stacks up well against any other great sides I have had the pleasure to witness playing.

Your club could well have played in 4 grand finals in a 6 year period if not for one late Nick Davis kick, and that is a truly tremendous effort.

Unfortunately, these things must come to an end (as I personally found out in 2000) and if you're feeling sorry for yourself today then just spare a thought for Melbourne and StKilda supporters in order to appreciate just how fortunate you have been.

I'm sure your club will bounce back soon.:thumbsu:

Well done Geelong unfortunately years of excellence come to an end for every team.
If we can be as successful as you over the next few years I will be very happy.

Also I wish to apologise for some of our ******** supporters.

Lol, thanks. :thumbsu:

I myself was not bothered at all by any Collingwood people. Was in a Geelong bay full of members (anyone in M3?!?! How good were the unoffical Cheer squad in the standing room section?!?! So glad i stayed till the final siren)... so yeah no Pies supporters. + the walk home didnt run into any ****wits, so it was all good.

Good *cough* luck for next week.

Been very, very dissapointed with some of the reaction to Geelong after the loss. I put some of it down to nervous energy, with a few of our number trying to convince themselves that it's real... maybe

There is little doubt that they were the benchmark for the best part of 4 years, and served as a prototype for where the Pies are iaming to be in the coming years.

All this talk of the end of an era is premature. I would be very, very surprised if we weren't locking horns with Geelong as one of the top 4 sides again next year. To much talent, class and heart in that side for them not to bounce back

I've said it in another thread, but if we do go on this year and get some silverware, it will mean more to have beaten the best team along the way. hats off to Geeelong. Great team, great club, and one of my favourite rivals.... it's based on onfield performance without a hint of bitterness. The way great rivalries should be

I would like to echo these sentiments. You have been fortunate enough to witness a great era for your club over the last 6 years, and the Geelong side from this period of time stacks up well against any other great sides I have had the pleasure to witness playing.

Your club could well have played in 4 grand finals in a 6 year period if not for one late Nick Davis kick, and that is a truly tremendous effort.

Unfortunately, these things must come to an end (as I personally found out in 2000) and if you're feeling sorry for yourself today then just spare a thought for Melbourne and StKilda supporters in order to appreciate just how fortunate you have been.

I'm sure your club will bounce back soon.:thumbsu:

I can't speak for others but I certainly haven't forgotten the pain wasted years from he 60's , 80's and especially the 90' when our side went so close , so often so believe me I will be be eternally grateful to our great side for this era. Thank God my kids will not have to wait till they are old and decrepit to see us win a Flag. I don't feel sorry for myself at all but it was a bit of new experience for my girls who have rarely felt the other end of a defeat like that.

One one hand , I feel we have probably underachieved a tad with a bit of luck we could have been in GF's as early as 04.On the other hand I certainly feel for the Saints, Dogs supporters. These clubs had multiple era's like our 90's , sometimes not even getting to the GF. I fear the Saints & the Dogs are going to fall short yet again. The Pies look to be ready for a period like we have just experienced , their next 3 years should be one hell of a ride.

If anything , I think we now must look at the Pies and look how they have quickly rebuilt. 02,03 GF then back to PF by 07 and GF by 2010. This should be our mindset , to carefully train the new kids we have and will get . To back to where all Cats supporters believe we should be , on top , as quick as possible.

Unfortunatley I think Geelong will start to fall down for a few years because ironically its very, very hard to be a top 4 side every year. But my goodness what an awesome team they were over the last almost 4 years. Every team goes through the good and the bad. But at least Geelong took their chances, if you don't you miss out for a long time.

With so many supporters (not being arrogant, it's just a fact) we unfortunately also have an equally large percentage of ******** supporters to make us all look bad. The two guys in front of me at the game spent the whole time screaming "HANDBAGGERS!" and "YOU'RE SHIT GEELONG" and the even more laughable "HAND BACK THE PREMIERSHIPS" (which had me cringing, as it doesn't even make sense) at Geelong supporters far off to the right.

Seriously, the game was won. I don't mind some screaming when it's back and forth, but there was no need for it when we were 80 points up.

Although it wouldn't have been so bad if we were playing Carlton... :D

Anyway, apologies from me also for the nuffers in the crowd.

Love the way Geelong has gone about their football over the past 4 years. Great to watch as a fan of the game and very refreshing to watch.

Even if Ablett goes I think Geelong have enough quality young players (Duncan, Menzel, Vardy amongst others) to still remain a top 8 team, possibly still top 4 team. Just don't see this team doing a Carlton/ Melbourne any time soon.

If you ignore all the morons out there (from all clubs) and look to the genuine posts of admiration for footy on this thread, you can clearly see why we all LOVE the greatest game on earth !!!!:thumbsu:

Most of the Collingwood supporters I know from around work and home are much like Cat supporters 4 years ago. Excited but keeping a lid on it just in case it goes bottoms up. If you want to see arrogant loud mouthed complete a...holes of supporters, then a trip down to Hawthorn training leading up to the Freo game was where you would find them. All they could talk about was who they would have to beat in week 2..Geel or StKilda before taking on Collingwood who by the way they knew they could beat because they did so in round 22. The flag was theirs for the taking. The players must have thought likewise as they forgot to turn up for week 1. Ha! Ha!

A bit like their coach. What have they done since '08, a big fat NOTHING !!!

RESPECT from me too.

I cheered for Geelong in the 1989, 1992, 1994, 1995, 2007, 2008 and 2009 Grand Finals - I had my reasons.

I hope you guys can find it within yourselves to get behind us for a day.

Thanks for the memories over the last four years, I am sure you will still be powerful for a while yet.

Been very, very dissapointed with some of the reaction to Geelong after the loss. I put some of it down to nervous energy, with a few of our number trying to convince themselves that it's real... maybe

There is little doubt that they were the benchmark for the best part of 4 years, and served as a prototype for where the Pies are iaming to be in the coming years.

All this talk of the end of an era is premature. I would be very, very surprised if we weren't locking horns with Geelong as one of the top 4 sides again next year. To much talent, class and heart in that side for them not to bounce back

I've said it in another thread, but if we do go on this year and get some silverware, it will mean more to have beaten the best team along the way. hats off to Geeelong. Great team, great club, and one of my favourite rivals.... it's based on onfield performance without a hint of bitterness. The way great rivalries should be

Nice

Bloody grateful for the past three years. After '06 i never thought i would see us even come top 4 ever again, yet we won 2 flags. I own the DVDs and will never take them for granted. Even if we do a bit of rebuilding i don't mind, i know we have the young boys who can push for a flag in 5 years time.