Revised number crunching...

• Thread starter Thread starter Sera

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Revised number crunching...

Originally posted by Mead
Then IP is an arsemonkey.

I stand by what I said. If I didn't think we could win, I wouldn't go to the footy. Having said that, I think I've missed two games at subiaco in the entire last 5 years (and I was in hospital for a month during 2000, so I think that gets me off)

Without going into the general trolling statements about the literacy levels or lack thereof of fremantle fans, the point I was making was that the day I don't believe we're a chance to win is the day I don't go to the footy. But it hasn't happened yet.

There hasn't been a game in the last decade which I haven't thought (ok, hoped, at least) that we could win- i was there hoping for a miracle the whole way through the Judge era. I was there last week when we would have needed a miracle to tip Adelaide.

If Woosha ever comes out before a game and says 'look, we're buggered, don't bother showing up,' then maybe I wouldn't be there. If Fremantle fans would be prepared to accept such a line from their club, well more fool you.
Fair enough. As I have tried to explain ad nauseum, I wasn't having a dig at anything anyone said...

Remind me not to post around here when everyone is so wound up...

I believe that WCE should be favourites and should win the derby.

Why,

1) Home advantage
2) The Geelong game was encouraging with Fletch back and glimpses of the old Judd.
3) Gardy will be back for the Dees Game, I think Embley will be given an extra week for his injury to heal.But both will be back for the Derby.
4) WCE wont have travelled the week before the derby
5) Freo will come off a hard fought game against the Bombers
6) We have players coming back into form and players proving themselves, an improvement on early season. EG Collica, Chambers. Eg Braun, Glass playing best games of the year. Green and Wooden sensational in WAFL.
7) Freo are our Bunnies
8) Milli got thru the game okay

We will have a selection dilemma once again. We will have the Gardy/Cox combo. It makes a difference.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Revised number crunching...

Originally posted by Scal
Fair enough. As I have tried to explain ad nauseum, I wasn't having a dig at anything anyone said...

Remind me not to post around here when everyone is so wound up...

I guess we're not a happy lot atm.
Sorry if I was a bit curt in that last post- came home from a night on the **** and found someone questioning my footy supporting integrity. Cue for me to have a a bit of a sook.

Anyway, the derby should be a cracker. If it were played today, Fremantle would go in with a significant advantage, but I guess I'm hoping that with the return of Gardiner and Embley, we can hit some good form next week. The travel break will also help us, although we came off a trip to Adelaide before the first derby and got away with the win.

Regardless of the result, I reckon its sort of cool how the derbies between the current new look Eagles and Dockers are shaping. This is the only derby ever where the result is going to mean something, and it should be played with a heap of heart and passion.

If the first derby was any indication, there's a fair few matchups which we might see turn into classic rivalries over the next few years- Bell v Fletcher, Carr v Cousins, Green v Medhurst, Hayden v Matera, Embley v Headland, Gardiner v Simmonds, Chick v Pavlich etc etc.

With so many quality players on the top of their game at their home ground, it should come down to who wins the most of those individual contests- Whatever the case,I get the impression in a few years time we'll be talking about some of the above matchups the way eagles fans currently rabbit on about Jakovich-Carey.

It's going to be a tough week for Freo. Aside from the fact that Sheedy is furiously pumping his blokes up like basketballs, the surface at Docklands is notoriously hard and leaves players with a lot of leg soreness in the following week. We drew with the Dogs the week after playing Essendon there, and although Richmond rolled over and assumed the position the week after we beat Collingwood at Docklands, they did lead at quarter time. Coincidence?

Simmonds injured an ankle yesterday, and apparently Hasleby has injured his knee as well.

If we continue to get our best blokes back from injury, we could be a better chance in R22 than we think.

Geezz I sure started something here... yes it was meant as a little harmless JOKE / STIR / whatever....
Thank you Scal for pointing that out while I was busy getting a good night's sleep (not requested from Scal, mind you, but thanks all the same).
And kenny - nice to know the good guys around here stand up when one of their own is in trouble from a little harmless... dare I say it... trolling....:o
I recognise that the joke / stir / whatever was being chucked back just as thick and fast as from Eagles > Freo as it was from Freo > eagles.
It's all in jest, and no Mead I'm not an arse-monkey.:D

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Revised number crunching...

Originally posted by Mead
I guess we're not a happy lot atm.
Sorry if I was a bit curt in that last post- came home from a night on the **** and found someone questioning my footy supporting integrity. Cue for me to have a a bit of a sook.
Fair enough. No problem, been there, done that...

I reckon the derby is 50/50 at the moment as well, a lot will depend on who is available for both teams...