Duskfire

Its probably a bit early to be discussing this, but eh I miss footy already.

Who will play on Matty Richo? granted if he was playing a forward role it would be the usual, but he has bene working himself up the ground lately on the wing, getting alot of touches, running around heaps like a crazed rabid mongoose, etc etc.

Is it crazy to suggest Mackie?

I reckon it should be Harry & Milburn rotating. Richo has a massive engine which individually would probably be too much for them but between them I think they could have him covered. From what I have heard of Taylor he is capable of playing on a wing and Milburn has also spent time there. Both are capable of nullify him somewhat in the air when he pushes forward too.

I would be horrified seeing Mackie on Richo. I reckon Richo would push forward and kick 6+ on him. Richo is possibly the best contested mark in the league while Mackie is a bit soft and is their to attack more than defend.

I'd go the big body of Enright i recokon

If he pushes out across half forward and onto the wing I honestly wouldn't be surprised to see Milburn go with him.

Taylor though mine. Cats would have to be weary though when he pushes back close to goal, Pav cut Harry up doing it, so the possible rotations with Scarlo have to be smoother.

Mind you I think Taylor's body is much, much better suited to manning Richo.

Deep forward and Scarlett owns him.

Up the ground and I'd say Enright and Harry. I want Harry to play a half on every gun forward we play against this year, if Egan comes back we need to use this time to see what Harry can really offer, if Egan doesn't make it back then the time invested in Harry and potentially a couple of goals kicked against him now has to be better for his development.

I think if he goes to the wing, it would be a good challenge for Rooke. He has the aerobic capacity to go with him. May struggle in the air. However if Richo goes forward to rest Scarlo would pick him up.

If he plays on the wing, you could try and exploit his lack of speed by putting Wojcinski on him and back our boys in? Wojcinski would have a field day. If Richo moved forward where he would obviously cause Wojac problems, move Scarlo on to him.

Lack of speed? Richo's pace for a big man is pretty awesome. Not in Wojcinski's league, but he is pretty nimble. Why would Richmond play him on the wing if he just plods along?

Back on topic, I'd put Milburn on him. I remember Milburn playing on Riewoldt when he played a similar role for the Saints a few years ago, and Milburn more than held his own.

you would think if Richmond are to challenge us Richardson must play a great game and kick 5+,l really don't see there young forward line kicking a winning score against our more experienced defense l would guess Richardson to play forward of the center and dropping back to deep forward,harry to pick him up and scarlo to play on him when he going deep forward,with help from milburn

Richardson on the wing is a bit of a phurphy.
IMO He actually has been playing deep in defense " in the hole" and then moving forward when he feels its the time to do so. He has also spent time up forward "resting".
The defensive part of his game is not that effective. We move the ball too quickly and use small goal kickers too much for him to be effective in defence. The more time he spends there the better.

However he is getting forward without the regular defender attention that has caused him such frustration up to now. Without the shackles he has been exciting to say the least.

I would expect the up ground duties ( if Richardson goes back) to go to a dangerous mid size player who will need to be watched. What about Kelly? He is playing great footy and has the motor. Richo will need to keep his eye on him.

If Richo goes forward Harry or Scarlett must go to him.

Its the transition bit where Richo moves back and forward thats difficult to manage, but our boys are the best at thinking on their feet in the comp. Harley will use the slide rule he carries in his back pocket.

Hahaha, lack of speed?? He'd outrun any bloke his size in the league and a lot of them smaller than him!! Open your other eye, Richo would kick 10 on Wojac, you'd have to kick it in the air near Richo and he's mark it over Wojac.

Haven't really watched him this year but I'd suspect he probably has been given licence to roam, starting off half back.

He is probably someone who Geelong will need to match up on rather than allow to run loose and I agree with most posters here in suggesting that Taylor probably is the guy to go with him.

However, if he is coming off the wing I'd actually go for someone out of left field.

Joel Corey.

Corey is a good body size, pretty good in the air and good in a contest. Has the engine to go with Richardson around the ground and has a pretty good defensive side to his game (has played off half back when rotated out of the midfield).

If Richardson plays off him Corey could also hurt him going forward.

If we were going to play a midfielder on him... Enright, otherwise mackie or scarlett if he pushes closer to goal. Shame egan is out cause I reckon that would be the match up of this year with the way Richo is playing

I love this thread.......

It clearly shows how arrogant some of your supporters are.... Your not even considering Axel, Simmo, whitety, Delideo..... Which for me is great...

I love the fact the ottens is going to be back this week, No game time to speak of against Simmo who tore it up last week..... Ottens is a great ruckman but needs game time and blake is just not readfy to take on the likes of Simmo...... We get first use 3 out of every 5 balls.......

As a unit you are a better more drilled side but i urge you all not to think this is a walk over you like the other sides before you will be very supprised......

My tip. Richmond by under 10.

I love this thread.......

It clearly shows how arrogant some of your supporters are.... Your not even considering Axel, Simmo, whitety, Delideo..... Which for me is great...

I love the fact the ottens is going to be back this week, No game time to speak of against Simmo who tore it up last week..... Ottens is a great ruckman but needs game time and blake is just not readfy to take on the likes of Simmo...... We get first use 3 out of every 5 balls.......

As a unit you are a better more drilled side but i urge you all not to think this is a walk over you like the other sides before you will be very supprised......

My tip. Richmond by under 10.

Richardson is the hardest match up.

You don't have to be Einstein to work out the other match-ups, not really worth discussing or at least not as important as who will line up on your best player.

Ling will take "Axel" and tear him up. Ottens and Blake will beat Simmo who is suspect with his disposal, and who is your second ruckman (Polak?).
I dont know who whitey is but im sure that Rooke will sort him out if he creates problems and Delideo, if he plays forward will probably get Enright or Harley.

It's good to see your confident though. I think this game will be a ripper. I love watching Richo so that adds another dimension to this game for me.

Cats by 25