Universal Love Richmond's best statistic in 25 years.

Brothers of Destruction
Richmond's points against - aka, their defence.

Discuss amongst yourselves, the stats say it all though.

Points against.

2013 - 81.5 points per game.
2012 - 88.3 points per game.
2011 - 108.9 points per game.
2010 - 106.7 points per game.
2009 - 108.5 points per game.
2008 - 104.0 points per game.
2007 - 115.3 points per game.
2006 - 102.0 points per game.
2005 - 99.5 points per game.
2004 - 111.1 points per game.
2003 - 94.5 points per game.
2002 - 98.7 points per game.
2001 - 89.7 points per game.
2000 - 100.9 points per game.
1999 - 98.6 points per game.
1998 - 87.5 points per game.
1997 - 102.4 points per game.
1996 - 88.4 points per game
1995 - 88.3 points per game.
1994 - 98.5 points per game.
1993 - 112.7 points per game.
1992 - 133.5 points per game. <---- What.The.Hell.
1991 - 111.4 points per game.
1990 - 115 points per game.
1989 - 110.6 points per game.
1988 - 115.4 points per game.

Unbelievable to see how bad we were. Great to see how good we're going, I'm pretty certain this is our best defensive season since 1969.

Many stats are barely relevant but this really is the most significant - defence wins games and our defence will only get better!
Most impressed that we kept those arrogant Mayblooms to their lowest score of the year yesterday.

And to achieve that while having the lowest tackle numbers in the league shows how well our structures/game plan is working.

I read yesterday that Morris has only conceded scored 2 goals for the entire season. That is amazing when you think about it.

Great research but I guess you need to compare that with the league average as I am sure scores are a lot lower overall compared with years gone by
True, But I like the current trend that Dimma's sides are putting together - a 27 Point/Game drop in 2 seasons!! that's impressive. I think it also shows a truth of a any rebuild, Patience is required as the first couple of years will be ugly. But the rewards will come.

Funny thing is I believe that coaches still see a lot of upside (or downside re: this stat) to come.

Interesting to Note that 2005 was the best defensive year under Wallace. :(

Wallace's coaching stats show that he has never been a believer that a strong defensive unit is crucial. In his best season with the Bulldogs they finished 2nd and still conceded almost 92 points per game on average. Has never gone below 90 points per game average in his coaching career. Hence the tag that all his teams were downhill skiers.

Edit: A flog. ( sorry cant help myself.)

Fantastic stuff - just goes to show the improvement of the team but particularly the way we defend (Ross Smith, take a bow). Think Chaplin's inclusion has been massive - Blair Hartley is a genius.

Also shows that looking at our tackle numbers in isolation don't really paint the whole picture.

Great research but I guess you need to compare that with the league average as I am sure scores are a lot lower overall compared with years gone by

Buzzkill post of the year :eek::D:thumbsu:

Great thread. The fact that we don't rely on a superstar defender is also important. Talk about the 'back six' is what I like. If one of them is injured we may be able replace with like for like. I also how they work defensively together to get the job done. I still feel nervous when Rance gets the ball but my confidence is slowly building until he has another brain fade. :eek:

Also note that other clubs supporters do not rate our defence at all. Just goes to show that if you have a group of defenders that work together, no-one notices.

regards FFS

ok, so how about 3rd best defence in the comp, behind Freo and the Swans...who are and have been the bench marks in defensive stats over the last few years..

Great stat. Our defence has been playing great footy.

The point I’d like to add is that I reckon we play much more exciting footy than the Swans or Freo. Granted, the Swans are a LOT more watchable than they were 2 or 3 years ago, but I reckon most neutral fans would choose to watch a Tiger game over a Sydney or Freo one.

In the latest Richmond TT podcast they mention an interesting stat, least number of bounces allowed during a match. We're one of the top 4 in the league for this along with the Hawks, Sydney and Freo, the 3 best defensive sides in the league.

Interestingly those sides, and ourselves, don't have huge tackle stats.

The most interesting stat of the whole lot that basically is the stat that sorts out the top shelf from the also rans, is the amount of times, trainers go out with water bottles and the speed they get to a given player...if you look at it, we are up there with the best...;)

I read yesterday that Morris has only conceded scored 2 goals for the entire season. That is amazing when you think about it.

That's incredible. What a turn around for us. Small forwards were our Achilles heal pre Morris.