Across Half Back, Floating Through Packs With
No Inhibitions Or Expectation Of Going Back To
Kick The Goal. This Would Also Allow Shulz Up
Forward As The Focal Point And We All Know How
That Can Play Out.
Ive Been Saying This For 10 Years, Only To Be Laughed
At. But I Think The Time Is Right Both For Matthew, And
For The Tigers.
Please Bring On Your Suggestion, Thoughts Or Objections.

yeah... not to sure bout this one. he has spent pretty much all of his career in the forward line. itd be very hard for him to get used to it. but i honestly think TW may give him a crack down there in the preseason to see how he goes.?? we'll see what happens aye? but i think he will see himself in the forward line most of the season.
cheers :D

paulmac21 said:
Att Terry Wallace:
Why Hasnt Mattew Richardson Ever Been
Trialled In The Key Defensive Position.
Quick, Strong And A Long Kick. He Has All The
Attributes As A Key Backman. I Think This Could
Be A Revelation. Imagine Richo Filling The Hole
Across Half Back, Floating Through Packs With
No Inhibitions Or Expectation Of Going Back To
Kick The Goal. This Would Also Allow Shulz Up
Forward As The Focal Point And We All Know How
That Can Play Out.
Ive Been Saying This For 10 Years, Only To Be Laughed
At. But I Think The Time Is Right Both For Matthew, And
For The Tigers.
Please Bring On Your Suggestion, Thoughts Or Objections.
maybe
it would have been ok a few years ago but he's getting a on bit now and he's lost that yard of pace he had,plus he's stacked on some pounds which he had
to do in order to compete with stronger fullbacks in the goal square.just get
him some kicking practice i like him up forward.

Richo might be able to play at CHB, but he's a far far better option in the forward line, there is no point sacrificing what he offers up forward for the chance that he might do well at CHB. Personally I would be concerned about his discipline with sticking to his man, he doesn't offer much in terms of defensive work inside our attacking 50.

i am laughing at you, richo is born to run free to kick the mighty goals to run like a lebo from the israeli bombs nah richo will always be a fwd player

have to disagree with you on one point weaver, i think richos field kicking is above average. whenever i have seen him played across half back or kicking the ball forward, he has nearly every time i have seen him, hit his target. i can think of a few instances where it has directly resulted in a goal. normally a few would not be many i know, but he rarely is sighted beyond the centre line in his whole career. for what its worth i think it may be worth a trial, but i dont think he should be taken outside the 50. it has been tried (wing, centre, half back) and failed. i remember one time against the saints we put him in the middle and they put reiwoldt on him and we got slaughtered. cant see him shutting his opponent down to be honest.

Having Richo in the forward line takes away the oppositions two best defenders automatically, it's tactically a better move to have him in attack.

Weaver said:
Richo has the turning circle of an oil tanker. His field kicking is terrible, and he has little or no commitment to team-oriented things like chasing and tackling.

In regards to his chasing and tackling, that's a load of crap Weaver. Every game Richo does his best to contain the ball in the 50, whether it's chasing his full back opponent or chasing after a spoiled mark at a contest.

Richo will have most value as a roaming CHF for us, we have options for FF in Schulz, Stafford and Simmonds so he is free to move around a bit more now. We need to ensure he is not left double teamed all the time, making use of his mobility is the best way to do this, very few defenders out there have the strength and speed to match him.

It is my opinion that richo should stay in the goal square where he doesn't have to run as much therfore cutting the chances of him doing another hamstring. Richmond finally kept him in the goal square this year and he had average of about 4 goals a game. Kicking 60 + goals. I would tell richo to do nothing all summer except pump iron and continue to build his already enormous strength. Shulz can still play along side him with Brown also.

Simmonds/ Weller/ K moore are all options for CHF

Colonel Matrix said:
In regards to his chasing and tackling, that's a load of crap Weaver. Every game Richo does his best to contain the ball in the 50, whether it's chasing his full back opponent or chasing after a spoiled mark at a contest.

It is a world of difference between what is required of a CHB and a FF. Richo lowered the bar so far that people now have little fits of joy when he even jogs after someone and it is rapturous applause if he lays a tackle.

He is a forward. Everything about him is a forward.

Not denying that he's a forward at all mate, just think that he definitely, and consistently puts in the second efforts in the forward line

Colonel Matrix said:

Yep. Sure he does. Here are the tackling stats from the top full forwards in the comp in 2004:

Matthew Lloyd - 33
Kent Kingsley - 32
Barry Hall - 27
Warren Tredrea - 25
David Neitz - 19
Sav Rocca! - 17
Fraser Gehrig - 16
Brendan Fevola!! - 16
Matthew Richardson - 10
Alastair Lynch - 2

Well, I guess he chases his man harder than a 38 year old bloke with dodgy hamstrings. :)

Of course, he did take a few more marks and kick a few more goals than some of the blokes on the list, so he's got some redeeming features. Let's not get carried away though.

Colonel Matrix said:
Not denying that he's a forward at all mate, just think that he definitely, and consistently puts in the second efforts in the forward line
Richo putting in second efforts ? LMAO !

You`ve got to be kidding me .

Richo`s secong efforts consist of giving filthy looks and hurling abuse and expletives at his team mates when the pill is not delivered lace out , which unfortunately is 90% of the time .

Richo does not have the football brain to play up the ground , on the rare occasion he has had a foray up the ground he has looked like a chook with it`s head cut off

There was nothing more disheartening than Richo looking lost and forlorn taking an uncontested mark 90 metres from goal when Spud had him down the ground. Will only ever be a forward, he knows nothing about any other part of the ground.

IDGAF said:
Richo putting in second efforts ? LMAO !

You`ve got to be kidding me .

Richo`s secong efforts consist of giving filthy looks and hurling abuse and expletives at his team mates when the pill is not delivered lace out , which unfortunately is 90% of the time .

Richo does not have the football brain to play up the ground , on the rare occasion he has had a foray up the ground he has looked like a chook with it`s head cut off

IMO I think you're wrong, but we're all entitled to our opinions...

Agree with the objections to Richo at CHB.

The main problem with playing Richo at CHB is his slow mental cognition. He takes forever just to decide what he's going to do, let alone having to track what his opponent is going to do. He will be left for dead.

How many times does he get caught holding the ball? Heaps. Would hate to see it in the backline where it in effect gives the forward a shot at goal.

I reckon he does give some second efforts, but they are usually done like everything else he does, in an unco-ordinated fashion. He would end up giving away heaps of free kicks in the backline through sloppy tackles, attempts to spoil etc.

Not to mention his dicey kicking.....

He's best left in the forward line. I don't think we'll ever win a flag relying on him with his crap kicking in the forward line, but by the time we are ready to challenge for one, hopefully he won't be the prime target up forward.

To be a good backman u need to have discipline.

Richo has very little if any.

oxx said:
To be a good backman u need to have discipline.

Richo has very little if any.
true i think terry won't stand any dummy

spits next year,he's got to start playing for the team and not for himself.

Richo To Chb