Riewoldt, is he going to be elite?

Could it be that the plan is to use Polak as the true key forward simply to demand an opponent?

Seems a bit like back in the day when we had Stuart Edwards plonked in the forward line to enable Richo to run amok. If the opposition decide to double team Riewoldt, Polly is always there to mark it 30m out.

Not a bad plan until our developing key forwards can earn their stripes. Might be worth drafting Polak into my super coach team as a cheap forward.

:)Ahhh, Stuey Edwards. Loved him as a footballer ... and a ripper bloke!!!

I remember Weaver's review of JR, smart mid in the body of a KP, and when he runs he has more sideways movement than a dingy.

So he was right, JR is a very smart footballers with good skills, but isn't fast. But I reckon Weaver underated smarts and overrated athleticism.

JR will have problems if he is the number one forward for his career because he isn't big enough (weight not height), or fast enough to get an advantage on the best defenders. But, if we can get a monster out there (please God make Griffiths as good as his potential) then matching up on Jack will be a nightmare. A defence cannot put multiple defenders on him, or their best guy, which allows his smarts to get him to the right spot. He can be very damaging because he is a genuine KPF size and so much smarter than most, as long as he isn't swamped.

So, my answer to the OP; Not an elite dominant KPF, but Yes maybe an elite forward acting in a second/thrid tall role.

If we can get him into the right structure I would hate to be the defensive coach trying to work out how to stop him. Sort of a taller, slower Dr Pink. And yes I do think he can be that good!

Re: Pick 13 - Jack Reiwoldt

who did he actually play on against the catters? have watched him play a bit last year and was unsure of his progress seemed to go missing a bit. after watching his nab last week and the challenge this week, i think a bit differenty, seemed to show some good leadership, had good direction and some strong skills!

dont think he will ever be elite but will be a very solid career player developing over the next few years! my only concern he may disappear for half a game here and there

Re: Pick 13 - Jack Reiwoldt

who did he actually play on against the catters? have watched him play a bit last year and was unsure of his progress seemed to go missing a bit. after watching his nab last week and the challenge this week, i think a bit differenty, seemed to show some good leadership, had good direction and some strong skills!

dont think he will ever be elite but will be a very solid career player developing over the next few years! my only concern he may disappear for half a game here and there

yep and when he doesnt dissappear, here and there for half a game, I am only concerned with him winning the game for us, in a matchwinning burst. He aint ever going to be a 4 qtr player, he just has to turn it on for 2 and job done. ;)

Jack is a good example of how important a burning desire to succeed is in a kids football development. Lots more talented guys than Jack have failed because they dont share his drive and commitment to make it in AFL. He sometimes blurs the line between lotsa confidence and arrogance but still he backs himself and works hard which cant be bad. It was obvious to everyone that knew him well that he was going to cut it in AFL but as for elite only time will tell and while we are on it, FFS I hate that word! Meaningless shit term bandied by pseudo football analysts.

He is a classic "footballer" without many of the silky athletic bits, just has that sense of where to be, where to go and what to do with the pigskin. It will be great when he gets some other tall targets to share the forward line with. I remember Weav and a few others serving it up to me because I backed Jack and we shouldnt have overlooked Sellar and Hansen and missed on Gumbleton. Hindsight is great but we did better than OK. Oh yeah, yes I'm biased lmao

Jack is a good example of how important a burning desire to succeed is in a kids football development. Lots more talented guys than Jack have failed because they dont share his drive and commitment to make it in AFL. He sometimes blurs the line between lotsa confidence and arrogance but still he backs himself and works hard which cant be bad. It was obvious to everyone that knew him well that he was going to cut it in AFL but as for elite only time will tell and while we are on it, FFS I hate that word! Meaningless shit term bandied by pseudo football analysts.

He is a classic "footballer" without many of the silky athletic bits, just has that sense of where to be, where to go and what to do with the pigskin. It will be great when he gets some other tall targets to share the forward line with. I remember Weav and a few others serving it up to me because I backed Jack and we shouldnt have overlooked Sellar and Hansen and missed on Gumbleton. Hindsight is great but we did better than OK. Oh yeah, yes I'm biased lmao
Hansen & Gumby were well gone by our pick.

Mianly Lonergan and Enright from what I could see.

The problem is more that the football tends to goes missing in his half of the ground ;)

Agree with this Thy :thumbsu:

Give him quick entries inside 50, with the likes of Lids, Cotch & Martin putting the ball to his advantage, and not on top of his head... he will be a tough match-up. Another effective tall option and it will only get better for him.

Which is no where near Nick's ability to play that style of footy.

The reality is that Jack is a poor man's Nick, however it's fortunate that a poor man's nick does mean he can be a good player andis the ability to be a solid to good CHF. :thumbsu:

Jack at 21 is 6 year younger than Nick.

Bit unfair to call him the poor mans cousin at this stage

Jack at 21 is 6 year younger than Nick.

Bit unfair to call him the poor mans cousin at this stage

Fair bump.

Get the ball into the F50 quickly and he'll be fantastic for us... as a 1st, 2nd or 3rd forward. Has great footy smarts, and is a very good mark. But he'll only ever be as good as our ability to get the ball in there.

Told ya so :p