Roast Road trip earns concern

• Thread starter Thread starter Blu3_Boy

I fail to see how this fixture is worse than a WA team going to Tassie, Gold Coast or Canberra...

And which WA team has had to do that this year??

And which WA team are being made to do it 12 days out from round 1??

Little tip, stick to your own board and dream and boast about just what Freo could offer the competition....if they had a heart!!

Funny thing is the Eagles will be playing the Hawks at Visy park this weekend...this the AFL could have been smarter!! All the Derbys should have been played this week to avoid all teams travelling!!

And which WA team has had to do that this year??

And which WA team are being made to do it 12 days out from round 1??

Little tip, stick to your own board and dream and boast about just what Freo could offer the competition....if they had a heart!!

Funny thing is the Eagles will be playing the Hawks at Visy park this weekend...this the AFL could have been smarter!! All the Derbys should have been played this week to avoid all teams travelling!!
1. We have.

2. We've had to travel to tassie twice in the same season, let alone 12 days out from round 1. The Eagles from memory had an even worse draw one year with a gold coast fixture. Not really any different than playing at Geelong, in our terms.

3. We usually play derby's first up in the pre-season.

1. We have.

2. We've had to travel to tassie twice in the same season, let alone 12 days out from round 1. The Eagles from memory had an even worse draw one year with a gold coast fixture. Not really any different than playing at Geelong, in our terms.

3. We usually play derby's first up in the pre-season.

You had to go to tassie twice in the regular season??

Ratts is talking 12 days out from round one to a regional ground that still ahs cold showers half the time and a hotdog stand, no fence and no aduio so he'll have to coach fromt he back of a ute.

When this year did you go to tassie, Canberra or GOld Coast??

Point 3 is expected as you both never get past Rd 1

He completely missed the point.

The point is, the other grounds are AFL standards (Tassie, Canberra and Gold Coast).

Bunbury is not, it's a sub-standard ground with no facilities and you have to get a bus to the ground.

I wouldn't be bothered if we were playing at Subi, but it's not going to happen.

We'll just have to get over it, 12 days is still sufficient time to recover.

I'd leave Judd, Fev and Murphy out and bring the other guys back in.

Let Simmo and Gibbs play a half, give Robbo and Houla another game under their belts and give Waitey a run.

1. You had to go to tassie twice in the regular season??

2. Ratts is talking 12 days out from round one to a regional ground that still ahs cold showers half the time and a hotdog stand, no fence and no aduio so he'll have to coach fromt he back of a ute.

3. When this year did you go to tassie, Canberra or GOld Coast??
1. Correct. And like I said, I'm pretty sure the eagles had a bad draw with a GC game one year, so I'm not sure how you can complain about it really.

2. Victoria Park board. No different to being sent to Alice Springs or bum **** idaho or wherever. It's just the reward for staying in the comp. Suck it up.

3. Played North in Canberra last weekend.

He completely missed the point.

The point is, the other grounds are AFL standards (Tassie, Canberra and Gold Coast).

Bunbury is not, it's a sub-standard ground with no facilities and you have to get a bus to the ground.

I wouldn't be bothered if we were playing at Subi, but it's not going to happen.

We'll just have to get over it, 12 days is still sufficient time to recover.

I'd leave Judd, Fev and Murphy out and bring the other guys back in.

Let Simmo and Gibbs play a half, give Robbo and Houla another game under their belts and give Waitey a run.
Personally, I can't see why these games couldn't be played at Freo Oval for instance. You'd almost guarantee a crowd then as well.

1. Correct. And like I said, I'm pretty sure the eagles had a bad draw with a GC game one year, so I'm not sure how you can complain about it really.

2. Victoria Park board. No different to being sent to Alice Springs or bum **** idaho or wherever. It's just the reward for staying in the comp. Suck it up.

3. Played North in Canberra last weekend.

You played at AFL standard grounds though, there's a difference.

Your coaches can get a feel for the season in a coaches box, with the proper equipment.

At Bunbury, there wont be any chance for that, Ratts will be on the bench screaming out stuff, pretty shoddy if you ask me. :thumbsd:

A road trip during the season, most teams get them, nothing new there, but in the pre-season, to a craphole with no facilities... on a substandard ground... no good can come of it.

Like I said, playing on good grounds is the reward for staying in the Cup.

You face the same facilities and conditions that we do.

I think this is one of the most idiotic things said by Ratts to date. We knew a few weeks ago that if we lost we would be going to Bunbry, so whats the point in complaining now?. If he didn't want to travel to Bunbry then he should have thought about that before dropping all the stars pretty simple. I have no time for crap like this, it's not the AFL's fault but rather our own.

Not sure what you are getting at here A1?

The club (physios/medicos/fitness/coaching staff) decided how best to manage the players, the AFL decided to fixture in Bunbury last week of the nab challenge.

Ratts has every right to complain about the short-sighted logistics of this blunder. And there would be absolutely no point complaining before the match against the cats :rolleyes:. As for thinking about it prior to dropping all the 'stars', this player management agenda was decided well before last Sat nt!!!

It is Ratts and co. responsibility to get the squad ready for round 1 and the regular season, not to try and manipulate the fixtures of the nab cup.

Apart from having to travel to bunbury the preparation has been fantastic.

I love how so many people in this thread just assume that if we had played a couple of our 'stars' we would have unquestioningly got over Geelong :D

Like hello? This is Geelong we are talking about here.

I love how so many people in this thread just assume that if we had played a couple of our 'stars' we would have unquestioningly got over Geelong :D

Like hello? This is Geelong we are talking about here.

so many opposition supporters saying only if fev played we would of won ..... i honestly think we could of won the game with a few off our stars. and rested them in the grandfinal ;) but hey why do this logical ?? lets take them to bunbury then sook about it .....

Your forgetting the overall plan in player management there Murph.

The last practice match is where the team does a 'full dress rehearsal' so there is no way we would rest the players next week.

I also dont think that Ratts is sooking about it, he is just pointing the nonsense of scheduling this game in the last week of the nab challenge. A point that is very well made too!!

There are so many unknowns and what ifs about the geelong match that there is no point saying we should have played such and such etc..

For example, if fev had played maybe Scarlett wouldnt have been subbed out. In the end you have to control what you can and in this case the AFL have made a scheduling blunder...........Oh well, we move on.

Your forgetting the overall plan in player management there Murph.

The last practice match is where the team does a 'full dress rehearsal' so there is no way we would rest the players next week.

I also dont think that Ratts is sooking about it, he is just pointing the nonsense of scheduling this game in the last week of the nab challenge. A point that is very well made too!!

There are so many unknowns and what ifs about the geelong match that there is no point saying we should have played such and such etc..

For example, if fev had played maybe Scarlett wouldnt have been subbed out. In the end you have to control what you can and in this case the AFL have made a scheduling blunder...........Oh well, we move on.

you bring a good point about the overall picture , but i stand by my logic 2 weeks are better than 1 . I still fully support what the club is doing :thumbsu: they are the pros after all ( i wouldn't be surprised to see some players miss this week as well)

They won't as that was always the plan. They knew they were likely to play in bunbury but still stuck to their plan.

Kicking 9.13 certainly didn't help, but we certainly did have a sniff. Wiggins missed 2 easy ones, and Cloke & Garlett also missed shots that should have been kicked.

Will be very interesting to see who Ratts picks this week, and whether he gives anymore of our stars a week off this weekend. Or maybe, just give them a half each.

Kicking 9.13 certainly didn't help, but we certainly did have a sniff. Wiggins missed 2 easy ones, and Cloke & Garlett also missed shots that should have been kicked.

Will be very interesting to see who Ratts picks this week, and whether he gives anymore of our stars a week off this weekend. Or maybe, just give them a half each.

i think he might give a few a week off this week , and play the likes of judd for only 70 % of the game

Your right on HBF,

We had our chances to get in front thats for sure.

Such a good result for the club, young, enthusiatic, confident players can really lift a team and given their efforts on sat nt we should be very excited.

I too think that the full team will only play a half or so just to get the structures right. Once there is a bit of flow in the team systems, the stars will no doubt be slowly eased out to let the 'youngns' have a go.

Dont have to worry about the ground surface guys.

Hands Oval is the best ground in the south west in terms of how it is looked after - Good facility and you certainly shouldnt have to worry about guys getting injured on the surface.

Well in the 2007 NAB Cup, Brisbane didn't even have one game at Carrara (which is our pre season home ground as the Gabba is unavailable due to Cricket). We had to travel to Cairns and to the Telstra Dome three times. That was being hard done by, unlike what is happening to you guys this weekend.

You haven't even left the Telstra Dome thus far during the NAB Cup, until now. The Lions have gone to Melbourne and then had to go to Cairns last week - two matches on the road and would have played twice at Carrara in the pre season. In addition to this, Brisbane will travel the most out of any AFL side during the Home and Away season with 11 trips interstate. Ratten can shut up.