Robbie Flower - Vale

R.I.P Robbie "Tulip" Flower. A household name in Victoria in the 80's.

Melbourne Captain 81-87.

Flower was the type of player that with ball in hands you knew it would be damaging to your (opposition) team.

I saw him play, and never forgot him.
Whenever I saw him, I can remember thinking "He's a champion."
Even if I wasn't going for his team, I'd appreciate how good he was.
RIP.

Three years ago I wrote this:

"Robert Flower
Robert-Flower-5635366.jpg

As a young fellow I remembered how good he was but I was wondering whether he was great player in a sheite team or a big fish in a small pond.

Gladly I can say my memory stays intact of Robbie.

Robbie played in 272 games for Melbourne between 1973 and 1987 and scored 315 goals.

Melbourne were however a sheite team and in his career Melbourne had 6 coaches( only one of whom had won a premiership ) and for most of the time had finished 8th or worse. He only made the finals once and he placed in 3 ten plus consecutive losing game streaks and he played in 84 wins for 184 losses including 36 wins away and 101 losses away. Melbourne were sheite.

Individually he was best and fairest once and club captain 7 times and also Victorian captain and led the goalscoring with sub 50 totals 3 times. He also played in less than 18 games in a season in only 3 of 15 seasons. He was never reported.

As a goalscorer he scored 4 or more goals in a game 14 times.

And so we get to his only finals series in 1987 when he won 2 out of 3 finals going out in the prelims.

That Melbourne got there was due to Robert Flower getting 5th position by 2 points. Robbie won 8 games straight up to and including the semi (his biggest winning streak ever) and scored 24 goals in those 8 in those games. In the finals he proved himself in the first two by winning and scoring 5 goals and 4 goals respectively - the mark of a big game player.

In the prelim which Melbourne lost by 2 points, he was injured and scored 0 goals 2 behinds - his worst game in terms of accuracy all year- as the highest goalscorer was Ricky Jackson with 3 goals. Oh what could have been."

Think about it- 9 goals in 3 finals of footy in his first finals series at age 32....

By the way his playing weight was about 75kgs which for a 183cm man was amazing.

When a campaigner of a bloke is sucking up all the media, the great Robbie Flower passes away.

Probably one of the greatest players of his time. Regular vic representative when melbourne was shit and state of origin was big.A sublimely talented bloke who I always have a mental image of him being 25.

If you never saw him play you missed out.

Just a ripper bloke and a brilliant player.
Shit I am getting old.
RIP to a legend of the game.
i saw bits of him, growing up he could play, his problem was that bor the best part of his playing career, he played for a basket case side, so will never get the recognition, that he would truly deserves.

RIP. Never saw him play, but he seems a legend. A shame the side he played for was so poor at the time.

It didn't matter mate. People went to games even though the demons were not good but many just went to see Robbie Flower play. He was a loyal club man & greatly respected by all his peers & supporters of all clubs. He is right up there with the likes of Robert Harvey & Glenn Archer for mind. Very glad I got to see him play, had beautiful skills, took many a wonderful mark & run like a whippet. A true great of our game.

Very sad news. I am old enough to have seen him play and he was one of the greats. Very loyal club man, I'm sure he could have gone to another club and won a premiership, but stuck with the Dees. My condolences to his family and friends.

He was the kind of player that was respected and well liked by all fans, no matter who they supported.
Simply one of the greatest players of all time. I always wondered how he didn't get into the team of the century.

Gone too soon. RIP Robbie :(

I will always remember his great battles with the Dipper.

RIP Robbie. :cry:

And I'll always remember his great battles with Dougie Hawkins.

Sublime skills and amazing courage…. remember that Robbie played in the 70's and 80's. There were some fair dinkum lunatics running around back then, but he never took a backward step against any of them. Perhaps they had too much respect for him to really ever want to take him out as well.

RIP Robbie. My sympathies to your family.

Vale a great man.

Top bloke, very loyal to his club, not many around today like Tulip.

R.I.P

Sad news. Met him many years ago and he was a top bloke.

R.I.P.
Was listening to SEN the other day when they were talking about his death. Some bloke phoned in and said that when he was about 15,he had gotten to know Flower and actually used to phone Flower after every game to give his point of view on how Flower played that week. He said Flower always answered the phone when he called and used to discuss the game with him every week.

What player would do that with a young fan these days ?

He does sound like he was a top bloke.

Robbie Flower - Vale