fishman

GEELONG
I think its been said before but how much does this knob hate Geelong? My gods all he seemed to do last night is rip on Geelong. Went rather quiet toward the end though.

Re: Robert Walls`

Did you know that last year Steve Johnson and Cam Mooney had a competition to see who could get the most goal assists? And that Tom Harley takes more marks inside defensive 50 off opposition kicks than any other player?

He is an idiot. He hops on and off teams in the matter of moments.

"Did you know that last year Steve Johnson and Cam Mooney had a competition to see who could get the most goal assists? And that Tom Harley takes more marks inside defensive 50 off opposition kicks than any other player?"

He also annoys me when he goes on about how Taylor is the weak link in the backline. He seems to find fault with him every time he sees him play and never credits him with his good play!

Does he hate Harry because Harry carved up golden boy Revolt in last years finals ?

30 seconds into last night he says "the bigger body will worry Taylor,who is the weak link in the backline".
Just before 1/4 time Porpleaseya marks and Throbbie says "the smaller body will worry Taylor"

When Harry did some good work it was the other commentators who mentioned it.Throbbie said nothing,which he should do more of.

and yes he keeps banging on about the supposed bet between Moons & Dog,which I think they said was just a joke.

Re: Robert Walls

Does he hate Harry because Harry carved up golden boy Revolt in last years finals ?

30 seconds into last night he says "the bigger body will worry Taylor,who is the weak link in the backline".
Just before 1/4 time Porpleaseya marks and Throbbie says "the smaller body will worry Taylor"

When Harry did some good work it was the other commentators who mentioned it.Throbbie said nothing,which he should do more of.

and yes he keeps banging on about the supposed bet between Moons & Dog,which I think they said was just a joke.

I don't know where that came from. All of a sudden they decided last year that Taylor was bad and that was the end of it. He makes one mistake a game and it wipes out all the good stuff he does.

"Did you know that last year Steve Johnson and Cam Mooney had a competition to see who could get the most goal assists? And that Tom Harley takes more marks inside defensive 50 off opposition kicks than any other player?"

Haha, he says these things, I cannot believe how often he goes to those two things for his "special" comments.

I'm convinced the reason he hates Geelong is because he was coaching Brisbane when we kicked the record score against them. IIRC, he instructed Merrett to run through Handley at the first bounce in that game too, but Merrett injured himself instead. He probably instructed his players to go the knuckle in the return encounter at Geelong too. Don't know if anyone can remember that game at all, but as soon as the opening siren sounded, all the Brisbane players around the centre square started wrestling with their opponents. It was so obvious it was an orchestrated move to try and get Geelong off their game, but Geelong proceeded to thrash them by 15 goals. Then there's the Shane Strempel incident that was highlighted in the Passion to Play doco. Dud coach, and even worse special comments man.

Anyone hear him say Milburn's past it and Scarlett's on his last legs last night, then 5 minutes later someone else said Scarlett had only conceded 4 goals for the entire season? What a knob.

I remember hearing that & thinking, Milburn was proble our best-a-field player 2 weeks ago. Seriously no idea.

& what he said about darcy sitting in the forward line is RUBBISH. That really did piss me off just because he's pretty much saying players like SJ, Chappy & Moon dog are no good. He's a total flog!

My theory is that Walls has never recovered from Brisbane's record loss against Geelong in 1991 (was it '91?).

I thought the comments abaout Mumford were unwarranted too. His first game in almost 12 months, and I thought he showed enough to persevere with him.

Didn't catch the end of the match, who did Walls give the man of the match. Bet it wasn't Gaz. :cool:

It's fair to say that he has a raging hatred for Harry Taylor.

Seriously, has a second year defender ever copped so much for so little?

Robert Walls is so passed it that it is embarrassing to listen to him drivel on. It is about time he was relegated to radio commentary only. That competition crap was something he made up and was denied by both Dog and Moons as rubbish. But he still trots it out every Geelong game and all his other crap which has been stated above.

The best thing "On The Couch" ever did was dump him. Hird is a breathe of fresh air on that show. Now all we need is Channel 10 to dump him from it's TV special comments and get someone more relevant to the game.

Walls = Complete tool

I love the way that Harry was outmarked possibly twice for the match, but took a number of contested marks, used the ball beautifully and made some excellent points (including saving what was a certain mark to Johncock) - yet Walls only saw the outmarking.

Exactly how much does he get paid for his wonderful insights?

It really annoys me how virtually all commetators cheer against us. We were always in control last night, and were three goals up at three quarter time - when's the last time we lost from being in that position? Yet apparently the Crows had 'a real sniff' at three quarter time and we were set for an 'absorbing' final quarter. I know they need to keep viewers interested but geez, why not sit back and enjoy our play instead?

I watched The Hawks vs Port game & then the Cats vs Crows match with my mate yesterday. We generally watch all the weekend games with a few brews & said to him, how LUCKY we were to 1st listen to Melcom Blights special comments (in the 1st game), followed by the many insightfull comments of Robert Walls (in the 2nd). :p

We had a little bagging session after that & he did point out something that was a plus to this. He said "Just thank god we don't have them both in the SAME game, tv sets will be exploding across the state"... lol

It's true though. Channel 10 need new special comments men. Darcy is the only decent one.

I dont know why u guys so sensitive about what journalists do. Let them have their say and dont worry about them.

What matters is what the players and coach's think of a player.

I do think some jorunalists are incredibly harsh to players but dont worry about it.

We know that Taylor is an improtnat player dont worry about Wallsy or anyone

Personally i dont mind Walls, i do think he is harsh at times. But i do enjoy his analysis of the game

Did you know that last year Steve Johnson and Cam Mooney had a competition to see who could get the most goal assists? And that Tom Harley takes more marks inside defensive 50 off opposition kicks than any other player?

I could've sworn that last year (before the GF) the 'bet' between Johnson and Mooney was a good thing according to Walls, yet last night he was critical of it. As someone else has pointed out, he's on and off teams and individual players (hi Harry Taylor) far too quickly.

You only have to listen to someone like Nathan Buckley and his special comments to realise how special Walls' comments aren't.

I don't know where that came from. All of a sudden they decided last year that Taylor was bad and that was the end of it. He makes one mistake a game and it wipes out all the good stuff he does.

I reckon his bagging of Harry goes back to the North game where Hale kicked 8 at SS.If Throbbie bothered to look he'd notice only 2 of those goals were kicked on Harry and 1 should've been a free to him.It was Scarlett who had a bag kicked on him that day [4 or 5].

Didn't Milburn start on Hale that game, and Hale scored two goals when Milburn went kick chasing and Hale was all by himself inside 50 when the ball was turned over?

Correct.One was kicked on Milburn,then the 2nd was kicked on Mackie but Milburn was actually the player suppose to be on Hale.Taylor then had 2 kicked on him in the 2nd qtr before Scarlo had 4 kicked on him.

"People say to me that Steve had my measure, a lot of people have. But Stephen never played on me until I was 32 and over. If he had played on me when I was in my prime on a forward flank they would have had to put a miner's light on him because he would have still been out there looking for me at 10 o'clock that night." - Gary Ablett snr on SOS.

hahahaha

top work winty

Walls is an idiot. Apparently we have only won so many games because of our great midfield. Our forward line is terrible and our defence is our weaklink.

Did you know that last year Steve Johnson and Cam Mooney had a competition to see who could get the most goal assists?

Haha

He's been on that hobby horse for a good 8-9 months, although initially he would call it a 'bet', now just a 'competition'.

He is an idiot. He hops on and off teams in the matter of moments.

He's not an idiot (and is actually a really cool, nice bloke), but he does change his opinions as regularly as he does his underwear.

Last week he said the 'cracks were showing' in our team, today on 3AW pre-match he talked us up.