MagpieGirl_13

Oct 23, 2007
Regional Queensland
ATW Eagles: 08 PREMIERS!!
Hey Pies people, I just thought I'd give you a bit of info about a little thing I'm doing with my school this year that I LOVE!

It's called the Rock Eisteddfod. It is basically an 8 minute dance production produced by a school with 100 dancers & 20 backstage crew. You can find out more info here http://www.rockchallenge.com.au/index.php.
Some people here may have done it before, or maybe your school has, let’s hear about it. :D

This year will be my second & final year doing it as our school only does it every second year (we last did it in 2006). It's awesome!!
In 2006 my school did ours about Hurricane Katrina that hit New Orleans called “The Spirit of New Orleans”, it was brilliant & we came 2nd in QLD. We were all SO proud & I had the best time!!!:thumbsu:

This year we are doing a production all about shoes called “If The Shoe Fits.” It’s a bit weird but it’s about the different types of shoes in society. Hopefully it will be as good as our past productions because as our principal told us “we have a reputation for being very good!” We are the only school from Bundaberg that is competing this year so we basically have the weight of the city on our shoulders & we have to do it for Bundy!!

We began in February with auditions. For me, the first one’s didn’t go so well because I must have been having a bad day & I just couldn’t do it but luckily we were given a second chance. I did much better then because I’d had time to practice & as a result I was chosen in the dancing team!! (I still don’t know how I got chosen because I really have no dancing capabilities at all, although, I’m not complaining!!). It was also good that my sister was chosen as well (she’ll probably read this so I should mention her :p).

We have been busily practicing for the last 5 months. Everyone was divided into different groups for the different sections i.e. Disco (that’s my section!!), Work (sister’s section), Country, Lawn Bowls and Stiletto. I think my section is the best, and it’s a really fun dance but everyone likes their own section I guess!

Along with practice, we have been fundraising; it’s not cheap to send us all to Brisbane & provide costumes & sets. We’ve also had parents & teachers coming in to help sewing all 100+ costumes & getting all the bits & pieces organized. As well as teachers & parents designing, building & painting sets. These people are the best!:thumbsu:

On the last Friday of term (27th June) we had an entire day for practicing & polishing the show because that night was our school’s cultural night & it was going to be the first public viewing. We opened the show, dancing in our black team shirts and black pants. While the rest of the show was going on we had that time to get into our costumes, get our makeup done and do our hair. I was so excited leading up till we went on stage in full costume; everyone looked really, really good. Whilst waiting backstage I wasn’t really nervous because I had been doing this dance all day but I had a mind blank backstage & I couldn’t remember my moves. Although, as soon as I got out there I was fine & I enjoyed myself SO much!!!
After our first performance in costume the crowd wanted an encore… So we happily obliged! Everyone I spoke to thought it looked really good so I’m slightly confident about the heats coming up.

On the 18th July our school team will travel by bus to Brisbane for the heats against all the other QLD schools. It’s going to be good to see what the other schools have come up with this year. If we impress the judges in the heats we will go through to the finals at the end of August *fingers crossed*.
If there’s anyone in Brisbane who wants to come along, it’s being held at the Brisbane Entertainment Center on the 18th July, 7pm contact Ticketek (or Ticketmaster) if you want tickets…. (Sorry, just had to do a little plug for it…. :p).
I’m going to keep this thread update with the ongoing events, it’ll give me something to do & remember my RE experience by, even if no one cares :p

I’m excited!!!:D

Haha, thanks for the reply swiftdog! :thumbsu:;)

Well, we've just had our final practice before we head to Brisbane....:eek: Practiced on Sunday for a little bit, then 5hrs on Monday & lastly this afternoon. I think we have done our dance to death. We've just practiced it over & over & over & over & over & over & over & over & over & over & over & yeah, you get the picture lol..... :p

We are travelling by bus to Brisbane on Friday. We have to leave at 4am..... so it's going to be a BIG day! Stop for breakfast then continue to Brisbane. We have a rehersal on the new stage down there.... make sure we fit...

Then hopfully we'll be ready for the evening. We don't find out what time we'll be performing until that afternoon so hopefully we'll get a good time slot.

We won't be getting hom untill about 4am the next morning..... Don't think I'll be able to sleep well on the buss so I think I'm going to be very, very tired on Saturday....:thumbsdown:
We find out that night if we make it into the Finals..... I really hope so!

Only bad part.... I miss the Pies game!!!!!!!:(
There's no was I'm going to be able to watch/listen to it as I'm going to be busy all night. Oh well, such is life.

Uncontrolably excited atm!!!! Can't wait!!!! :D

Don't mind me..... *whistles*

Good luck MG hope you win.

dotn worry about the sleep just heaps of red bull, and water annd you'll be kicking until the wee hours of saturday easily.

:thumbsdown: The teachers specifically told us NOT to drink red bull..... Said we'd be flying for the first few hours then be stuffed for the preformance....

I'll stick to the Starburst lollies.....:D:D:thumbsu: Get high on sugar! :p

you've been hanging around snag too much.
always used the wee hours of the morning, its a good way of getting the parents off the trail of a 5am return to bed lol

:thumbsdown: The teachers specifically told us NOT to drink red bull..... Said we'd be flying for the first few hours then be stuffed for the preformance....

I'll stick to the Starburst lollies.....:D:D:thumbsu: Get high on sugar! :p
No sugar wouldmt work with me, after a few jimmie it 2am and m getting a bit slow down a red bull and im back again, and ready for the last hurah before the 4-5am run home.

I dont think star burst would have the same kick, but there was this caffeine/gurana thing i got from the 7/11 in the city that tasted like shit but **** did it get me back up in a hurry only like 50ml?

Your teacher is right though after the caffeine gives way, you do hit the floor in a hurry

No sugar wouldmt work with me, after a few jimmie it 2am and m getting a bit slow down a red bull and im back again, and ready for the last hurah before the 4-5am run home.

I dont think star burst would have the same kick, but there was this caffeine/gurana thing i got from the 7/11 in the city that tasted like shit but **** did it get me back up in a hurry only like 50ml?

Your teacher is right though after the caffeine gives way, you do hit the floor in a hurry

lol, you mean't that literally, didn't you?:D:p

Trying to get out of your jeans at 5 in the morning qhen you are quite tanked yes i mean it literally. Not that it has happened that often lol.

Once a year max twice is quite enough

:D
YAY!!!!!
Before I continue, I would just like to say a HUGE congratualtions to my school team! I am so very proud of all of us as we made it into the finals this year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

As I said in the previous posts, on Friday, the 18th was our heats in Brisbane.
I was up at 2:30am to get ready on Friday morning to be at the bus by 3:30am. Once at school we had to get stamped & our name marked off. We packed stuff on the bus & boarded, leaving at 4am.
I wasn’t really tired, more pumped! We were all told to be quiet for the 1st 2hrs until we stop for breakfast... Our bus was full of Gr 11’s and some of the back stage crew. Do you know how hard it is to keep a bus load of 16 year olds quiet at 4 in the morning...? It’s not easy! I don’t think many people slept, I tried to but failed miserably lol.:p

We got to Brisbane about 9am (or so). We got this tiny dressing room, it was awful! It was about as big as my lounge room & had to fit 130 people in there plus bags, some props, costumes & make up sections. The walls were sheets ffs! But we survived.

For the first hour or more we got to watch some of the other schools practice. It was good to see what everyone was come up with this year, some were really good... Other’s had be baffled & I didn’t like it lol. They had these production meetings which were really fun! The guy just ran through some basic stuff then put on a heap of music & we just danced in this mosh pit kinda thing!! It was heaps of fun!

Before lunch we had to have our practice. Something stuffed up in all three of our run throughs but we were told that we were really good! So we were a bit more confident about the performance that night.

There was an all boys school competing as well... They were a real hit with the girls from all the schools. :p At one stage during their practice I was sitting in front of some Gr 9 girls from my school.... They were constantly screaming & went ballistic when one of the guy’s shirts came up to reveal abs… I turned around & told them to calm down… it was as though they had never seen a boy in their life lol.:rolleyes:

After we were all changed & made up we went & sat in the auditorium to watch the start of the show. It was good to see the other schools in costume. A bus load of supporters from Bundy came down as well to cheer us on. They were the best cheer squad ever! Didn’t stop cheering all night for us!

After the interval we went back to our change rooms & got a rev up from all the teachers and everyone! We were all SO PUMPED!!!! Waiting backstage I was really nervous but also very excited.
I didn’t wipe the smile off my face for the whole time I was out there, my cheeks were sore afterwards! We were brilliant! Everyone I spoke to loved it!!!

After getting changed we all went back out into the auditorium for the awards presentation. Before they started I got to see my best friend from Brisbane who had come along to watch as well! All the schools were going chants, it was SO awesome!! Everyone was so loud & excited!

They handed out the awards & our school absolutely cleaned up! We got 11 awards!!! It was the most of any other school there. Every time they called out our name everyone stood up & screamed their lungs out! I had no voice left by the end of the night! But it was SO good!!! Here is the list of awards that we got, we’re Bundaberg North SHS http://www.rockchallenge.com.au/modules.php?op=modload&name=PagEd&file=index&topic_id=12&page_id=145 (NB: we weren’t the only school that won each award.)

After packing up we went to Maccas on the way home at about midnight, it was there that we were told that we had made it into the finals! We all just started cheering!!!!
Only had about an hour’s sleep on the way home (surprisingly the bus was quite on the way home :eek: ) & got back to school at 4am, Saturday morning. I was pooped & really tired but it was SOOOOO much fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5hrs on bus + lots of dancing + another 5hrs on bus = very sore me!!!:thumbsdown:

Hopefully some pictures will be up on the website soon, when they are, I’ll either post them or put up a link if anyone wants to see. Or maybe a video will be available on the website or something lol

Finals on the 29th of August…. I’m SO excited!!!!

REALLY sorry that was so long, I tried shortening it a bit but it was a bit hard (I could have gone on for a lot longer lol). You’ll have to put up with more of these posts until after the finals. Hehehehe.......

Well...............
!!!!!!!!WE CAME 2ND!!!!!!!!!
I'm so proud of my school group to have achieved what we did, it was amazing!

Last Friday night (29th) was the Brisbane Grand Final.
I think I was up at about 2:30am. We packed the bus at school & were ready to leave by 4am. However, we were running a bit late because one girl was running late & we had to wait for her. We ended up leaving around 4:15/4:30am.
I was so excited, this was the last time I was ever going to be able to do this & I was going to make it one of the best ever! I didn't really sleep for the first 2 hours, occasionally dosing but didn't really sleep properly.
When we got to Brisbane, it was great to get out of the bus after spending the last 5hrs or so in it.

This time we scored probably one of the best dressing rooms in the entire entertainment center. It was HUGE! There were showers & room for sitting + bags & our own basins & mirror and a separate room for having out make up done. & it was just next to the toilets so that was a bonus. Only problem, it was a bit of a walk to the auditorium & stage area. But we survived.

We had our morning production meeting & a mosh pit thingo again. We were just singing really loud & getting right into it.
After that we were just hanging around, getting a heap of free promotional stuff, having some fun & watching the other schools practice. We thought we had some serious competition.....

We had lunch out in the car park & were joined by another school who we'd become friends with during our school's times in Rock Eisteddfod. It was pretty good to mingle with them & we ended up playing with a footy (NRL), just throwing it around.

After lunch we went back into the dressing rooms & a few people started getting make up on, but not many were finished. We then had to go have our practice at about 3pm. We had 2 run through, neither of them really went to plan. The main girl in my group split her pants (hehehehe, it was funny!!!:D) & another girl ripped her dress.

After our practice we were told to start getting ready & get make up on. Most people were all ready by 4pm & we weren't performing until about 8pm. We went and had our final production meeting then back to the rooms.

Our school wasn't without it's drama though, we had to get an ambulance called in 2hrs (or so) before the show started. One of the girls who has a major part in her section had eaten calamari & had an allergic reaction to it. They took her away in an ambulance & we were all worried that she wouldn't make it back before we went on stage. But because we were on 7th, just before the interval, she arrived back just before we were getting ready to go on stage. It was such a relief :thumbsu:

We had photo time before we went on stage, I love photo time!

I was so excited waiting back stage, we all knew what we needed to do, there were hi-5s all around & we were just so PUMPED!!! :D
I'll be honest, we were AWESOME!!!! I had an absolutely fantastic time on stage!!!!

After changing we went out into the auditorium to see our parents & friends then took our seats for the rest of the show. To be honest, none of the other schools in the 2nd half of the show were very exciting... most of them were very dramatized. & of course there was the all boys school.... One of the main guys had no shirt on & was flirting with all the girls whilst on stage.... tbh, his body wasn’t that good, I’ve seen better :p

Anyway, our school spent the last part of the show & the final interval (while the judges decided on the placings) mainly sleeping or relaxing because we were all so tired!

Then all the awards were announced, this time the different awards were only presented to one school. We were awarded 6 awards, as well as a participation award. It was so awesome!!! Every time they said our name we just went ballistic!
However, we were a bit disappointed with coming 2nd..... Because we came 2nd to the all boys school. They really weren’t that good, but they probably got extra points because they were boys.... The top two was between the all boys school & us, it was pretty nerve racking when they got to the top 2. We went nuts when they said we’d come 2nd.... but that stopped after a moment when we realized that the Boys were going to win. When they announced the boys as winners we were so... flat :cool:. (no wonder I’m a bloody Collingwood supporter, always the bridesmaid, never the bloody bride... :rolleyes: then to add salt to the wound the Pies lost...)
So, we were all a little bit pissed off with 2nd & to make matters worse they were such an arrogant bunch of f*cks about it. Felt like they were Rubbing it in. We weren’t happy:mad:. But we amused ourselves with making fun of the boys & bagging them out on the way home.

Everyone was dead pretty much at dinner (about 1am lol). & most people (except me & a few friends) slept all the way home. I was awake for 24hrs straight.... then finally died about 2hrs from Bundy lol.

We arrived home at 6am the next morning.... Very, very tired.....

Here are the placings & stuff from the night (we’re north Bundy & the all boys school was St Marys) http://www.rockchallenge.com.au/modules.php?op=modload&name=PagEd&file=index&topic_id=12&page_id=163 & there are pics from the night on the same site... http://www.rockchallenge.com.au/index.php?module=mGallery2&g2_itemId=11303 ß--- heats & http://www.rockchallenge.com.au/index.php?module=mGallery2&g2_itemId=11304 ß--- finals.

(Sorry this is about a month late.... I had most of it typed up on the computer already. Just got really busy with school & have only been able to finish it until now)
Oh, yeah, sorry it's so long... sometimes I babble waaaayyyy too much

Well done Maggie. To other posters, I can confirm that Mags looked lovely in a rainbow-coloured Arabian-nights costume, and her lovely blonde hair flying. Wait 'til you're at the Brownlow, Mags.......God forbid.

Grace Darling's Rock Eisteddfod was held at Vodafone Arena -right opposite the Lexus Centre. Her bus arrived at the same time as Paul Medhurst and Paul Licuria. I don't think her mind was on her performance.:p

However, we were a bit disappointed with coming 2nd..... Because we came 2nd to the all boys school. They really weren’t that good, but they probably got extra points because they were boys.... The top two was between the all boys school & us, it was pretty nerve racking when they got to the top 2. We went nuts when they said we’d come 2nd.... but that stopped after a moment when we realized that the Boys were going to win. When they announced the boys as winners we were so... flat :cool:. (no wonder I’m a bloody Collingwood supporter, always the bridesmaid, never the bloody bride... :rolleyes: then to add salt to the wound the Pies lost...)
So, we were all a little bit pissed off with 2nd & to make matters worse they were such an arrogant bunch of f*cks about it. Felt like they were Rubbing it in. We weren’t happy:mad:. But we amused ourselves with making fun of the boys & bagging them out on the way home.

Im sure that sounds lovely. I attend that all boys school =] it was awesome to see the looks on your faces when you LOST, i repeat LOST.

Shoulda heard what we were saying about your school on the way home =] must be bad to lose to guys. I mean talented guys, but we're still guys LOL.

As for being arrogant yeahhh its what we do. Maybe when you step up to our standards you might have a choice to being arrogant. Congratulations on embarassing yourself and your school competing in the competition, and posting here like you deserved to win.

Way to fail at life LOSER

Im sure that sounds lovely. I attend that all boys school =] it was awesome to see the looks on your faces when you LOST, i repeat LOST.

Shoulda heard what we were saying about your school on the way home =] must be bad to lose to guys. I mean talented guys, but we're still guys LOL.

As for being arrogant yeahhh its what we do. Maybe when you step up to our standards you might have a choice to being arrogant. Congratulations on embarassing yourself and your school competing in the competition, and posting here like you deserved to win.

Either someone has been watching too many simple-minded American teen movies, and is having a spot of fun, or this tosser is serious and wins Tool of the Year.

....and what's more - it's painfully evident that they don't teach spelling or grammar at your school.

I'd say tracking down your opposition on here and unloading would certainly point you in that direction. Be gracious as a winner and gracious in defeat - there's no glory in petty recrimination big guy.

Well done Magpie Girl - there's no easy way to judge creativity so 2nd could as easily have been 1st or 5th. I sound like a stoopid parent here, but it's true - if you had fun then you're the winner anyway.

well done Mg dont listen to that other dick.

its a boy school thing he doesnt actually know how to talk to girls so he just attacks.