Rookie Draft pick 8: Lee Spurr

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

I'm hearing you on that one Cam. Spot on !
And I know there will be plenty who'll jump down my throat on this one, but I simply cannot believe that Leon Davis didn't find a new home. The guy is a current All-Australian with two or three years left in him. I just don't get how he is just "gonna take up the place of a new young player". Going on that theory, some of our most integral players like Pav and Sandi should be delisted surely ?
For chrissakes.... clubs can't go on "building the list" forever. The strong word at Freo was that they believed that 2011/2012/2013 were the years they believed were a real top four/premiership chance window. Has that theory vanished so much ? Or are the footy department once again retreating under the belief that we need another few years of mediocrity first because they don't believe any of their own rhetoric.
Got that off my chest at least anyway !

I really think your(and alot of other peoples) opinion of Leon is clouded by the AA jumper. He's notrious for going missing when it matters. We also don't need a player who looks good when things are going his way, we have enough of those.

He got a gig in the AA side, so what. He was playing as a defender in the best side of the past two years, he's been living a holiday in that side.

2010-08-27_103134141PK055_AFL_Rd_22_Do_crop_450x500.jpg

:D Gold... pure gold!

A picture can truly say a thousand words.

Rubbishing every decision by the club is a safe option for a troll. By throwing 100 negative darts, you can always say "I told you so" if one or two hit and refuse to acknowledge all the other ones.

2010-08-27_103134141PK055_AFL_Rd_22_Do_crop_450x500.jpg

No-one really rubbishes every decision made by the club.

With mature aged players we generally get it right ... with 17 year old we generally get it wrong.

Why don't we go with what we are good at and play the percentages instead of going for "hail mary's" every year. We should go for young players up to pick 40 and then mature aged after that.

I can almost guarantee that Horsely will play every game for Gold Coast in 2012, depending on fitness. It was dumb not to pick him up in the main draft.

With mature aged players we generally get it right ... with 17 year old we generally get it wrong.

Why don't we go with what we are good at and play the percentages instead of going for "hail mary's" every year. We should go for young players up to pick 40 and then mature aged after that.

I can almost guarantee that Horsely will play every game for Gold Coast in 2012, depending on fitness. It was dumb not to pick him up in the main draft.

i reckon lee spurr will play as much if not more (including finals ;)) than horsley

Should have gone in the main draft, is ready to go in round 1. One of the best players we have had at Central, just love his versatility, his fitness, his marking and his thumping kick...and not to mention his hunger for winning....and to top it off is a champion bloke.

Plays the quarterback role very well, will run the ball out of defence constantly but not stop there, before you know it he is in the forward line marking the work he started. Good skills by hand and especially by foot and a powerful high leaping overhead mark. A good intercepter of the ball coming in, reads the play well. Not quick though, is of average pace but runs the miles, and will easily match AFL players for workrate and fitness. Can rack the ball up across half-back and run through the guts, at times has got around 30 touches and 12 marks in the SANFL but sometimes as low as around 10 when things don't go his way. But a super player and far too good for the SANFL. To me he is very much a cross between Gram and Hodge for an AFL like player, probably closer to Gram but a better mark than Gram and tougher.

Sad to see him leave the kennel but will be watching Freo very closely all season. Is a better footballer than Lower as well, much better.

I hope you are right as Lower goes alright and had a great first year for us.

Lower,Mzungu,Spurr,Barlow ,Silvagni,Faulks,Broughton over the last 2 or 3 years,its not like we hav'nt been picking them up,this coupled with older players from other clubs Anthony,Griffin,McFree and Gilbert...I do think we need a few speculative picks as well,their is no guarentee Horsley will cut it at AFL level any more than Sutcliffe,Pearce,Neil or Menegola

The worst thing about speculartive picks is that they continually end up being a repeat of Justin Bollenhagen.

Of course there are no guarantees ... that's why you play the percentages. You go with players you know can play instead of players you hope can play. I would be very surprised if Horsely isn't a 100 game player. The others you mentioned , I hope they are all 100 game players but history shows they probably won't.

You are right in that we have been very successful in picking mature aged players. We are lucky that the recruiters at other clubs are complete imbeciles and haven't followed our lead. That doesn't mean we shouldn't keep pushing the envelope re: mature aged players. There are heaps more we should have picked up.

You could make up a Premiership team from players overlooked in the draft without any problem.

Please explain this one...I'm sure it will be good

Team made up of players overlooked in various Drafts

S Wellingham - Q Lynch - G Broughton

J Harbrow - N Bock - N Maxwell

C Jones - M Barlow - B Sewell

S Crameri - J Podsiadly - B McGlynn

S Byrnes - S Mumford - D Cox

Ruck

A Sandilands
M Boyd
M Priddis

Interchange

S Jacobs
M Suckling
J Blair
K Jack

+ Plenty of other contenders

That team would out-height, out-possess & out-tag plenty of teams

Out-height, out-possess & out-tag.

What a sound strategy.

It's a hypothetical team. They don't spend much time working on strategy because they don't actually exist as a team. :)

But if they did exist they would have all the bases covered and opposition teams would struggle in every area.

Sounds like a daft punk song ...

anyhow - back on topic

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sport/a/-/afl/12372507/just-the-spurr-for-dockers/

New Fremantle rookie Lee Spurr's story is one of genuine persistence.

Spurr was on the verge of leaving SANFL powerhouse Central District four years ago to return home to Brisbane, but opted to stay and work on several key aspects of his game that the coaches had identified as areas needing improvement.

They included increasing his speed and adding intensity to his attack on the ball.

The result was a key role in Central's continued dominance of the SANFL and, eventually, a shot at the big time after Fremantle selected Spurr with pick eight in Tuesday's rookie draft.

"He's just very committed and very focused on what he wants to do," seven-times Central premiership coach Roy Laird said.

"About four years ago he was looking to leave our footy club and go back to Brisbane and at the time we had identified some areas he needed to improve.

"He embraced all of that and went away and worked as hard as anyone in our footy club."

Laird described Spurr as a versatile and courageous defender who is a strong overhead mark for his 185cm.

He said the 24-year-old dual premiership player had been a "critical" part of the Bulldogs team that won four consecutive flags from 2007-10 before losing to Woodville-West Torrens in this year's grand final.

Able to move forward and have an impact on the scoreboard, Spurr has also shone more recently in the midfield at critical times.

"When we've got into trouble, we've been able to move him around and invariably when we've sent him forward, he kicks a goal," Laird said.

Laird said Spurr was more than capable of following in the footsteps of Nick Duigan (Carlton), Paul Puopolo (Hawthorn) and new Fremantle teammate Nick Lower to have an immediate impact at the top level after being plucked from the SANFL as a mature-age player.

"He'd more than hold his own," Laird said. "He's an exceptional mark for his size and that would be his real strength."

·Dockers defender Nick Suban yesterday agreed to a two-year contract extension.

Of course there are no guarantees ... that's why you play the percentages. You go with players you know can play instead of players you hope can play

S Wellingham
J Harbrow
S Byrnes
D Cox

A Sandilands

S Jacobs
K Jack

I haven't gone through the whole list but these players stood out. All of them were drafted in their teens, and I therefore doubt they were considered as players "you know that can play". If anything you shown the value of drafting kids with late picks

Ruck

A Sandilands
M Boyd
M Priddis

Interchange

S Jacobs
M Suckling
J Blair
K Jack

Thats not a bad team assembled there Cam but I thought you were talking mature age,so lets say 20+ ( eg Horsley,Broughton,Barlow types)
quite a few of the players you have mentioned were only 18/19 when selected for main or Rookie list.
The following rushed team consists of rookie listed players who showed raw potential and young players selected in National Draft above selection 50

Harbrow Hooker A.Davey
J.Gibson S.Fisher Lonegan
Suckling Boyd S.Mitchell ?
Kirk C.Petersen Garlett
Milne Porplysia Jamar

211 Riscatelli Foley

bench -Nahas,Mckenzie,Firrito,A.Selwood,Carrazzo,Schofield,L.Thomas,S.Jacobs
De Boer,Picken,Moles,b.Thornton,......D.Cox,Sewell,Knights,Grima,D.Pearce
not a 100% sure on these guys but would say that the majority were either 18 or 19 and not really in the mature age brackett.
I do however concede that very few of these players were selected 50+ in the ND,most were Rookie listed on speculation/hunch/potential

Ruck

A Sandilands
M Boyd
M Priddis

Interchange

S Jacobs
M Suckling
J Blair
K Jack

Pavlich was over looked in the 98 draft, surely there is a spot for him.

Harbrow Hooker A.Davey
J.Gibson S.Fisher Lonegan
Suckling Boyd S.Mitchell ?
Kirk C.Petersen Garlett
Milne Porplysia Jamar

211 Riscatelli Foley

bench -Nahas,Mckenzie,Firrito,A.Selwood,Carrazzo,Schofield,L.Thomas,S.Jacobs
De Boer,Picken,Moles,b.Thornton,......D.Cox,Sewell,Knights,Grima,D.Pearce

I do however concede that very few of these players were selected 50+ in the ND,most were Rookie listed on speculation/hunch/potential

You might have missed a few players taken after 50 in the national draft.

From the 2000-2005 drafts

Daniel Cross
Chris Newman
Graham Johncock
Paul Medhurst
Dane Swan
Adam Schneider
Brian Lake/Harris
Ryan Crowley
Nick Malceski
Brad Fisher
Chris Knights
Matthew Egan
James Gwilt

Ruck

A Sandilands
M Boyd
M Priddis

Interchange

S Jacobs
M Suckling
J Blair
K Jack

That's a competitive team, sure. But that team wouldn't win a premiership, the AFL that is.

Ruck

A Sandilands
M Boyd
M Priddis

Interchange

S Jacobs
M Suckling
J Blair
K Jack

Kerin Jack is a spooner who not have been given a look in if his old man was a not a rugby (poo) league ledgend - in his first 3 years did not get a kick.