Rookie draft

• Thread starter Thread starter mojo31

Alright Mojo, you caught my little posting idiosyncrasy, regardless; there have been examples of recruiting show-ponies getting it wrong before.

It is funny how your opinion of players changes after we have picked them up.

Not so slow after all - convenient. At least I stick to my guns. Watch Grima pull a few tricks (yes, tricks) for Geelong in the next few years. I doubt if Jackson has any.

Pafloyul said:
Alright Mojo, you caught my little posting idiosyncrasy, regardless; there have been examples of recruiting show-ponies getting it wrong before.

It is funny how your opinion of players changes after we have picked them up.

Not so slow after all - convenient. At least I stick to my guns. Watch Grima pull a few tricks (yes, tricks) for Geelong in the next few years. I doubt if Jackson has any.

Hmm Paf. I said in some pms that Jackson was fine. Not sure about Flint though. Would have taken White with pick 1 but he was gone like I said in the PSD.
Jackson was best available. Would have take Nicholls or another mid with pick 17.

Jackson impressed at training. Same with Flint. Just dont see the need for another tall defender down at the club and would have gone with somebody with run.

I tried to explain myself as best as I could.

Maybe you should go and argue with Cazzesman some more ? :eek:

Pivot said:
...and Grima could be nothing. Jackson is not one tier up from a recycled player as he shows class, leadership, poise, skills, endurance, determination and improvement - not bad qualities IMO and all at the age of 18!

Some are traits that can't all be taught but are in the make-up of the player himself. I think he is a great pick, his pace is a not as bad as some say and is not an issue as he can play footy! Simple as that for the Blues at this stage. Flint sounds like a good honest defender with versatility and grunt - again a good pick-up as we need ALL TYPES at this stage.

Hi Paddy. How you been mate? Long time without some posts on here.

Thanks Mojo for the info on all these young blokes ...us interstate supporters have no way of keeping track of the available talent out there ...your in depth player analysis and other news about what is going on down at PP is a godsend for us outsiders ...keep up the good work it is much appreciated :thumbsu:

Blues_Man said:
Thanks Mojo for the info on all these young blokes ...us interstate supporters have no way of keeping track of the available talent out there ...your in depth player analysis and other news about what is going on down at PP is a godsend for us outsiders ...keep up the good work it is much appreciated :thumbsu:

Agreed. Excellent work mojo. We all appreciate it.

Out

Bowyer- back pocket
Camporeale- midfielder/back pocket
Morrell - tall forward
Norman - tall back
Johnson - pure in an under midfielder
Clarke - half back flanker/wing
rookies Becker/Pleming a mid and a tall

In

Murphy - pure mid. In an under but also quick and skillful. Takes Johnsons spot and is a huge improvement with speed, and skill.
Kennedy - takes Morrels spot. Much taller and more athletic. Huge improvement.
Edwards - Tall back. Takes Normans spot. Similar size. Both quick. Norman a better kick but Edwards is bigger and likely to fill out more. Both can play tall and also on quick opponents. Huge improvement when consider attitude.
Jackson - Midfielder/versatile. Beckers replacement. Taller and bigger. Both very hard at it. Jackson has more leadership. Improvement.
Flint- Tall defender. Replaces Pleming. Better character. Marginal improvement.

Camporeale, Clarke and Bowyer were not really replaced in this batch of drafts. All playing as small defenders. Not midfielders anymore.

McLaren and Bower are not really replacing anyone.

Looking forward they might well be replacing Bryan and Livingston who will have this year to justify a spot on the list for the future.

Russell to take Campos spot in the backline for the seniors.

Looking forward

Livo 1 year deal
Bryan 1 year deal
Bannister 1 year to run.
Wiggo 1 year to run
Sporn 1 year to run
Davies 1 year to run
Kouta 1 year to run
Houlihan 1 year to run
Thornton 1 year to run
McGrath 1 year to run

Lance 2 years
Scotland 2 years
Deluca 2 years
Teague 2 years
Lappin 2 years
Carrazzo 2 years
Stevens 2 years
Bentick 2 years
Walker 2 years

Might have a couple of these wrong off the top of my head.

Aisake gets 2 more years as an international rookie to prove himself.
Batson and Smith dont. They have to be promoted or cut at the end of this year (can re draft them though).

Based on our tight finances it is very unlikely anyone other than player out of contract will be cut.
Would consider it likely that both Batson and Smith will be promoted at the end of the year.

At least 5 picks in the draft to be used and not 4 like this year.

So that is 7 players to be cut to make way at least.
No salary cap issues with Koutas deal running out.

The only major re-signing will be Brett Thornton. Lets sign him up before Melbourne start sniffing around him again. Had a disappointing year but shown enough to suggest he is a very good player when fit.

Not sure what the purpose of this post was. But filled in a bit of time at work. :D

Understand Jackson, really disappointed with Flint.

Would've preferred Grima, having seen him play numerous games of footy at various positions.

If we wanted someone Flint's size, I'm not sure why we didn't take the better player in Toovey with the number one pick.

My theory is they're picking VIC boys because they are almost certainly going to delist them at the ned of the year in order to pick up rookies in the much stronger draft next year. They'll need to play very good VFL seniors like Smith did.

OZBomb said:
Understand Jackson, really disappointed with Flint.

Would've preferred Grima, having seen him play numerous games of footy at various positions.

If we wanted someone Flint's size, I'm not sure why we didn't take the better player in Toovey with the number one pick.

My theory is they're picking VIC boys because they are almost certainly going to delist them at the ned of the year in order to pick up rookies in the much stronger draft next year. They'll need to play very good VFL seniors like Smith did.

You a Tassie boy Oz?

How are some of the kids going down there?

You up north or in Hobart?

Seen Riewoldt, Thorp play much?

Gilly1972 said:
Mojo, i think the point of the post is that you need a new job :p

You think?

Getting paid to talk football on forums?

Pretty happy with my job to be honest. :thumbsu:

2 or 3 hours work a day and the rest whatever I want.

Ahhh the joy of delegating. Maybe Essendon should have drafted me instead of Campo. I am at least as soft and unaccountable as him. :D

mojo31 said:
You a Tassie boy Oz?

How are some of the kids going down there?

You up north or in Hobart?

Seen Riewoldt, Thorp play much?

Yeah mate I live in Hobart but was born in Burnie and travel up there a lot so I get to see both leagues a bit. Saw Riewoldt and Thorp play a few senior games for Clarence and they are already playing key position pretty well. CHB and CHF respectively. Will be ready to go from Round 1 2007. Riewoldt maybe slightly ahead of Thorp, but it's easier to play CHB than it is CHF.

Birchall struggled for Devonport in the seniors according to a couple of mates of mine who play up there, so it'll be interesting to see if he plays AFL in his first year.

OZBomb said:
Yeah mate I live in Hobart but was born in Burnie and travel up there a lot so I get to see both leagues a bit. Saw Riewoldt and Thorp play a few senior games for Clarence and they are already playing key position pretty well. CHB and CHF respectively. Will be ready to go from Round 1 2007. Riewoldt maybe slightly ahead of Thorp, but it's easier to play CHB than it is CHF.

Birchall struggled for Devonport in the seniors according to a couple of mates of mine who play up there, so it'll be interesting to see if he plays AFL in his first year.

You think Ian Callinan deserved a shot?

mojo31 said:
You think Ian Callinan deserved a shot?

It's always hard to tell based on playing in the VFL, but I'd say every attribute he has besides his height would qualify him as a quality AFL mid-fielder.

As a Devils fan I'm glad he's not going because I'm not sure he'd ever get a genuine shot.

OZBomb said:
It's always hard to tell based on playing in the VFL, but I'd say every attribute he has besides his height would qualify him as a quality AFL mid-fielder.

As a Devils fan I'm glad he's not going because I'm not sure he'd ever get a genuine shot.

Only 38 spots on a list makes it hard. Doubt we could take the risk on him but surprised he was overlooked. Has skill and pace.

Is Trent Bartlett coming out of retirement to give the Devils a marking forward?

Go to the AFL games Oz in Tassie?

mojo31 said:
Only 38 spots on a list makes it hard. Doubt we could take the risk on him but surprised he was overlooked. Has skill and pace.

Is Trent Bartlett coming out of retirement to give the Devils a marking forward?

Go to the AFL games Oz in Tassie?

Yep Bart is coming out of retirement. Looks in good shape. We'll probably have a lot of talls this year as we selected Kangaroos first 18 players and talls like Hamish McIntosh in the North Ballarat/Tasmania draft for Kangaroos players.

I went and saw St.Kilda's games but couldn't bring myself to watch Hawthorn play without a pillow handy. Wizard Cup game against the Bulldogs was the best of them.

OZBomb said:
Yep Bart is coming out of retirement. Looks in good shape. We'll probably have a lot of talls this year as we selected Kangaroos first 18 players and talls like Hamish McIntosh in the North Ballarat/Tasmania draft for Kangaroos players.

I went and saw St.Kilda's games but couldn't bring myself to watch Hawthorn play without a pillow handy. Wizard Cup game against the Bulldogs was the best of them.

Hamish McIntosh = "The Statue"

How do you think that will work with the Kangaroos?

Tassie have problems keeping there guns. Doering left 2 years ago and they seem to have problems keeping everyone.
Matthew Armstrong (former Lions assistant) does a great job though. Especially this year without marking talls

The 'go home factor' mostly.

In the case of some of them, they'd already slept with the good looking women in Hobart and their job was done.

There's pretty massive expectations on the Devils and it'll take them winning a few premierships before the state accepts them. They're considered a mostly Southern team and Northerners and Southerners have a massive rivalry going.

They're making a play for Billy Morrison and I've heard some people suggest they'll try and get Ben Harrison.

They had Heatley then Bartlett and they really struggled without that key forward this year even though Plapp played above his height.

I saw Luke Shackleton the other day and he looked like he did when I played with him back in high school which means he's kept the weight off over summer.

Pafloyul said:
Yes but Grima could be anything. Ryan Jackson is just another example of our 'safe picks' policy. That is only one tier up from recycling.
Still complaining about our recruiting because we didn't pick up Grima. Good to see.

I think it is Pafloyul's lot in life to complain about the CFC board and football department and the decisions we make. If he could not do this he would probably only exist by aimlessly walking around the streets in a fugue like state wearing a very vacant expression on his face.

Mojo - I think Jackson should be good for you guys as he gives that bigger body around the ball to help out your small guys. I have never subsribed to him being slow being a huge negative, he is slowish but agile and strong enough to compensate.
Missing out on simpkin could haunt as a carlton side in two years may be looking for a camporeale of 5 years ago in that he can hurt the opposition from minimal touches if kept forward of centre.

Jackson's a rock solid rookie pick if you ask me. Was reasonably rated going into the national draft (well, as well as someone can be without actually being drafted!) and does have some class about him. We needed to pick up another midfielder (only Murphy so far) and he looked the best available.

Don't know enough about Flint to comment there - hopefully he gives us something in defence.

Can't believe Swans picked up 8 rookies - how's that work? Wonder if there's another Vogels amongst that lot.

missionpossible said:
Mojo - I think Jackson should be good for you guys as he gives that bigger body around the ball to help out your small guys. I have never subsribed to him being slow being a huge negative, he is slowish but agile and strong enough to compensate.
Missing out on simpkin could haunt as a carlton side in two years may be looking for a camporeale of 5 years ago in that he can hurt the opposition from minimal touches if kept forward of centre.

Not unhappy with Jackson but would have prefered Matt White but he was already gone. Same with Matt Thomas who went in to the PSD.
Flint I really have trouble with his selection. If they wanted a HBF at 189cms then where is Russell and Edwards going to play? Why re-sign Teague for 2 more years?

Not like Flint has shown that he can tag and be a run with player. Undersized full back who is pretty skinny.

Bentley or Nicholls would have been better. Give more run.

Jackson trained well and does look better than I thought.

Looby or Flint it seemed it was going to be. Looby struggled at training and they went with Flint. Similar types and seems to show we wanted a 'type' of player. Cant work it out myself.

Simpkin we were unlucky with but these things happen I suppose.

We are not playing on the small Optus ground anymore. Its the bigger grounds which require more run. :confused:

Hindsight - it's a beautiful thing.

If people are unhappy or unsure with our 2 rookie selections and our PSD selection who should we have gone for?

In the PSD maybe we should have gone after another runner in Thomas, White or Simpkin? I know we need ruck depth so McLaren was a logical choice there I guess.

In the rookie draft if we didn't want Jackson then maybe someone with pace first up like Simpkin, Nicholls or even a Steven Armstrong?

Then at pick 17 if we didn't want Flint then maybe someone like Markovic - a talented tall defender, or Looby - a big-bodied back-flanker with a huge kick, or Matt Priddis - a ball magnet in the midfield ready to play seniors.

All of this is hindsight, but I would like to know which players supporters here would have gone for with our 3 picks yesterday if not happy with who we got.