Rookie draft

• Thread starter Thread starter mojo31

mojo31 said:
I see that you Cypher have been baiting "Sammy Sheldons best friend" in Jonhson_26.
You should be ashamed of yourself. Picking on a kid who can hardly hold a crayon let alone form words and whole sentences.

Keep up the good work. :thumbsu:
He deserves it. An absolute goose is that kid.
According to some goss Sammy is approx. 2 inches taller than his height of 180 cms but you probably knew that.:D

Guess who shot me down and said he wasn't that height?:cool:

bmaurizio said:
Great stuff Mojo, best insight to young Marc yet.
Do you think he will have ability to turn a game around off his own boot?
Thanks
:)

I concur BM - having Mojo provide this information at hand and with such quick response is fantastic - I reckon with his knowledge we should lobby the club to get him on the recruiting team.... Maybe we should have a chat to Wayne Hughes!

wd mojo for the great stuff. Hope we get someone decent in the rookie draft, we'll know some stuff about the guy aswell so thx again moho great stuff ;)

Good work Mojo.

Im stuck over here in England, so cant get in to see training.....

It was good to hear abot walker beefing up So could you let me know, how is simpson looking, really like this kid. Also was wondering if Wiggins had put on any muscle. Also how is fish looking, any extra weight on him.

Thanks in advance.

audas said:
Good work Mojo.

Im stuck over here in England, so cant get in to see training.....

It was good to hear abot walker beefing up So could you let me know, how is simpson looking, really like this kid. Also was wondering if Wiggins had put on any muscle. Also how is fish looking, any extra weight on him.

Thanks in advance.

Sorry to everyone who pmed me. I have been offline for a few days and had some work to do. Not really used to that sort of thing. Usually delegating to others and doing nothing myself. I think perhaps I share similar characteristics regarding work ethic as a certain premiership player who sees fit to leave us. :D

Have pmed all people back. Sorry I was a bit brief with a few replies.

Regarding the Carlton list.

Teague, Stevens, Smith and Scotland all will be playing at a lower weight next year. All will be fitter and fined down there skinfolds and be looking for any extra pace they can get.

Scotland has really responded to being dropped in the middle of the year. Out of contract. Things looked bad for him. Then instead of being a sook he took it like a bloke with some character. Came back in and had a very good finish to the year. Signed a new 2 year deal.
Now looking even better at training now. Looking faster and really slimmed down. Coaching staff are very happy with him.
Might push him up into the leadership group.

Jesse Smith is in the same boat. Quicker and lighter this year. Good endurance and will play midfield in the VFL and not off the bench.
Coaches seem to think he will make it.

Teague built up to much last year to pinch hit against the talls and was exploited with lack of speed and agility. Has addressed that in the pre season and will hopefully play like he did in 2004.

Russell is a different bloke this year. Much bigger and a lot more confident with how he is handling himself out on thr track. Gives everything he has got but also encourages everyone and is not a boy anymore.
Hughes would be happy with how he is progressing. Very likely to be in the senior team in round 1 and stay there.

Simpson and Fisher are moving well. A little bigger but still need more. These blokes will never be hulks but would be 2kgs heavier each.

As I have said a few times Hartlett is a lot fitter this year. Bigger and still needs more work but is a prospect. Really clean above his head and has a good leap and a very strong kick. Needs his body to hold together so he can get fitter. Looks much better at training this year compared to last.
Uses his body well and is very strong, especially through the legs where he is able to hold his ground in 1 on 1 contests. Naturally powerful player.

Murphy is all class. Smooth and hardly looks like he is trying as he is able to keep up with all but a few at training already. Very agile and has 'dancing feet' which means he is able to move around people easily.

Bentick has been on the spinach and is bigger again this year. Really powerful in the arms and smashes into the bags. Quicker than last season and looks more agile. Real presence about him. Feels he is a footballer now.

Our 2 recruits from last year in Chambers and Longmuir look much fitter. Might be able to get something out of them.
Chambers leads most of the running and Longmuir is finally moving like a footballer after his body seems better now.

Aisake has the biggest leap at the club. At least midtable in the running drills and improving all the time.

Setanta has had some groin soreness. Mild case of OP and has been working on his running technique.

Thats about it for now.

Heard at training today that Jackson and White are Carltons two preferred choices for the rookie spots tomorrow. Chance Jackson will go in the pre-season or at least one will go by pick 17 so who would u like as your next choice Mojo?

mojo31 said:
Simpson and Fisher are moving well. A little bigger but still need more. These blokes will never be hulks but would be 2kgs heavier each.

As I have said a few times Hartlett is a lot fitter this year. Bigger and still needs more work but is a prospect. Really clean above his head and has a good leap and a very strong kick. Needs his body to hold together so he can get fitter. Looks much better at training this year compared to last.
Uses his body well and is very strong, especially through the legs where he is able to hold his ground in 1 on 1 contests. Naturally powerful player.

Murphy is all class. Smooth and hardly looks like he is trying as he is able to keep up with all but a few at training already. Very agile and has 'dancing feet' which means he is able to move around people easily.

Bentick has been on the spinach and is bigger again this year. Really powerful in the arms and smashes into the bags. Quicker than last season and looks more agile. Real presence about him. Feels he is a footballer now.

Our 2 recruits from last year in Chambers and Longmuir look much fitter. Might be able to get something out of them.
Chambers leads most of the running and Longmuir is finally moving like a footballer after his body seems better now.

Aisake has the biggest leap at the club. At least midtable in the running drills and improving all the time.

Setanta has had some groin soreness. Mild case of OP and has been working on his running technique.

Thats about it for now.

Mojo, great work once again.

Anything to report on Raso? He seems to be flying under the radar a bit with all the attention on Murphy, Bower and Edwards.

WTTF said:

Anything to report on Raso? He seems to be flying under the radar a bit with all the attention on Murphy, Bower and Edwards.

Add Walker to that list. I'd be interested to know if he has put a bit of muscle on?

WTTF said:

Raso is 192cms now. 81 kgs at the end of last year. Might be 1 or 2 more now. Very graceful player. Good kick on either side and is quick. Lacks the bulk he needs and needs better endurance.
Will be on a big program to bulk up.

Not sure if he is KPP. Does not really play like it. More of a tall flanker. Still very young and finished school football and hopefully will develop more.
Really smooth mover.

Similar to Edwards in how he moves and same size. Versatile players and we wont know there position for a while. They will both play all over the place to develop them and then settle in there best position after that in a few years.

I'd be interested to know if Aisake is going to be playing ruck in the VFL seniors this year, based on the vibe down there at the moment Mojo. Maybe playing in a back pocket and rotating with DeLuca and Bryan.

Da Shag On Fire said:
Add Walker to that list. I'd be interested to know if he has put a bit of muscle on?

Sorry Shag.

I thought I had written something on AW but guess I missed him.

Well 189cms seems like it is 190 at least now.

85 kgs looks like it is 88/9. Much bigger in the thighs and arms and still not finished yet but is a lot bigger. Moves like a jet because he is a jet.
Needs to take his time before kicking the ball and steady himself.
Stop running to the left and bouncing the ball and kicking on his left. Straighten up and kick on his right.
A bit confused about what to do. Nobody blocks for him and he tries to hard to take players on sometimes.
Hopefully with Campo no longer there to ignore him he will be given the ball when he works hard to make space.

A more accountable midfield will mean he is able to play his game a bit more often and not have to cover for others.

Murphy to Walker. Get used to it. :p

OZBomb said:
I'd be interested to know if Aisake is going to be playing ruck in the VFL seniors this year, based on the vibe down there at the moment Mojo. Maybe playing in a back pocket and rotating with DeLuca and Bryan.

Dempsey is certainally working Aisake in the ruck duels. Superb leap on Aisake and is well over 2m tall now.
Like I said he has improved his endurance and is a good kick of the ball.

Bryan is an interesting one. Finished 2nd last in the time trial. Much bigger this year and might be 5kgs heavier. So where does that leave him?
Has not got a very good leap and struggles to get his hand to the ruck contest last year. So heavier this year wont help in that aspect.
Might be better in the boundary throw ins and smashing into blokes but that is not really his game.

Lacks the pace to play down back also.
Can take a good mark and is a beautiful long kick.

Deluca has a 2 year deal so they feel he has something to offer.

Aisake might play everywhere to continue his development. But for me he is a long term ruck prospect. Exactly why they got Dempsey and he and Batson hopefully will be nurtured and can develop for a few years while we use these pinch hitters like Bryan and McLaren who are undersized.

The way the ruck is going it seems to be dominated by the giants again with the new rules. Cox and Spider who are 203cms each both were clear standouts this year.
Batson and Aisake are that size.

Barnaby French is also looking superbly fit.

cfc05 said:
Heard at training today that Jackson and White are Carltons two preferred choices for the rookie spots tomorrow. Chance Jackson will go in the pre-season or at least one will go by pick 17 so who would u like as your next choice Mojo?

Matt White was a likely target of Richmond with there PSD pick but now they are not participating in that draft he might slip through to the rookie draft.

Like him and like the way he plays. Been injured and with a good pre season and a bit of time could see him developing into a pacy midfielder.

Saints are also on there limit with salary cap (surprise surprise , glad we made them pay a lot more for Kossy than they wanted) and are also out of the PSD.
So looks like only a few kids will be taken. Jackson is a chance of going before ther rookie draft. Might be 50/50.
A lot of clubs draft players who dont train with them from the rookie draft.

There is no clear standout with rookie pick 1.

Richmond take Matt White.

Bloody hell !!!! :mad:

I thought they were not particpating in the PSD.

Matt Thomas to Port.

More bloody hell. :mad:

PSD picks

1 Carlton Dylan McLaren Brisbane Lions
2 Collingwood Sam Iles Tassie Mariners
3 Hawthorn Brent Guerra St Kilda
4 Essendon Scott Camporeale Carlton
5 Richmond Matthew White Calder Cannons :thumbsd: :thumbsd:
6 Brisbane Lions Ben Fixter Sydney
7 Kangaroos Cameron Thurley Geelong
8 Port Adelaide Matt Thomas Sandringham Dragons :thumbsd:
9 Adelaide Jason Porplyzia West Adelaide

Round Two
10 Essendon Chris Heffernan Melbourne

cfc05 said:

Right on the money. I nearly spat my coffee all over the keyboard when I read your post yesterday.

Hoping that Richmond would not be in the PSD and we had the choice out of White and Jackson. I guess Richmond realised that they either took White in the PSD and were not gpoing to be avle to wait for him in the rookie draft as either us or Hawks would take him in the rookie draft if he was still available.

Thats why I was trying to be very careful about my comments in reply to you.

Rookie draft

1. Carlton Ryan Jackson Northern Knights
2. Collingwood Alan Toovey Claremont
3. Hawthorn Luke McEntee North Adelaide
4. Essendon Lachlan McKinnon Coburg
5. Richmond Angus Graham Calder Cannons
6. Brisbane Lions Jason Roe North Adelaide
7. Fremantle Paul Duffield Fremantle
8. Western Bulldogs Tom Davidson Collingwood
9. Melbourne Jace Bode Sturt
10. Kangaroos Ed Lower Norwood
11. Pt Adelaide Thomas Rischbieth Sturt
12. Geelong Todd Grima Tassie Mariners
13. Adelaide Brad Sugars Glenelg
14. St Kilda Cathal Corr Northern Knights
15. West Coast Steven Armstrong Melbourne
16. Sydney Jonathan Simpkin Geelong Falcons :thumbsd: why could you not last 1 more pick !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

mojo31 said:
Rookie draft

1. Carlton Ryan Jackson Northern Knights
2. Collingwood Alan Toovey Claremont
3. Hawthorn Luke McEntee North Adelaide
4. Essendon Lachlan McKinnon Coburg
5. Richmond Angus Graham Calder Cannons
6. Brisbane Lions Jason Roe North Adelaide
7. Fremantle Paul Duffield Fremantle
8. Western Bulldogs Tom Davidson Collingwood
9. Melbourne Jace Bode Sturt
10. Kangaroos Ed Lower Norwood
11. Pt Adelaide Thomas Rischbieth Sturt
12. Geelong Todd Grima Tassie Mariners
13. Adelaide Brad Sugars Glenelg
14. St Kilda Cathal Corr Northern Knights
15. West Coast Steven Armstrong Melbourne
16. Sydney Jonathan Simpkin Geelong Falcons :thumbsd: why could you not last 1 more pick !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

here is what Footy Draft said about Jackson............they had him at 42.

Ryan Jackson
Details:
Club: Greensborough/Northern
DOB: 4 April 1987 Hgt: 188cm Wgt: 80kg
Position: Onballer/Forward
Natural Foot: Right

Honours:
Vic Metro U16 2003
AIS/AFL Academy 2003
AFL Draft Camp 2004 Northern Knights Captain 2005
Vic Metro U18 2005
TAC Cup Team of the Year 2005 - interchange
AFL Draft Camp 2005

Articles:
Jackson dreams of 'doing a Blighty' - Herald Sun August 13th 2005

Statistics:
2003 TAC Cup: 6 games, 5 goals, 6.7 PPG
2004 TAC Cup: 6 games, 9 goals, 14.3 PPG
2005 TAC Cup: 19 games, 14 goals, average 22.6 PPG, 12 times in best
2005 U18 Championships: 3 games, 1 goal, average 13.0 PPG

Awards:
TAC Cup Morrish Medal: 17 votes (equal 4th)
TAC Cup Coaches Award: 19 votes

Background:
Vic Metro U16 rep in 2003 who also played some under-18 footy at the Knights as a 16 year old. However, he missed much of the 2004 TAC Cup season with a broken ankle sustained while playing in the U17 International Rules series against Ireland. He came back late in the ‘04 season for the last half a dozen matches. Despite that setback he was still asked to the 2004 draft camp. Having missed being drafted last year, he backed up again for the Knights as a top age player and was given the honour of captaining the Knights. From all reports his attitude while out injured last season was terrific and it came as no surprise to see him get the captaincy this year. Showed terrific versatility, being used mainly as a half forward or as an on baller. When he went back it tended to be playing as a loose man in defence. Is very courageous and has very good endurance.

Strengths:
- Courage
- Tackling
- Endurance
- Versatile: good up forward, back or in the midfield
- Leadership

Tuppaman said:
Mojo

Any comment on Jackson (especially as you emphasied his lack of pace) and Flint's selection.

Here is what I wrote about Jackson

Ryan Jackson

Flanker size at 188cms. Slow. Did I mention he was slow. Not quick. Not fast. But slow...... S L O W.

Okay now I have got that out of the way.

He has good endurance and is pretty agile and has good footwork and change of direction which helps him in close. Pretty good attitude and is nice and hard at the ball and the man and does the team things.
Decent body and would not need to build up much to be AFL ready physically.

However he is not quick enough to be a wing. Not really good enough in the air to be a half back flanker on a tall forward. His leap was not to good at testing. Cant really play on a nippy hff with his lack of straight line speed and would be exposed on a long hard lead (David Teague).

So really a 6 foot 2 onballer who has a pretty complete game but lacks the speed to breakway from the stoppages. Kicking is okay without being outstanding.
Played all over the place in the TAC and showed he is a versatile bloke with a great attitude after breaking his ankle in 2004 and missing being drafted. Then given the captaincy of his TAC team and not letting the disappointment get to him and had a good year in 2005.

Top aged and will be 19 in April.

Definite rookie consideration. Like his attitude and leadership abilities and versatility. Not the 'jet' we need but can play and passes the character test in my book. Also good height with some of our 'short people' on the list.

and

Craig Flint

Craig Flint from Gippsland Power. Played mostly full back for the TAC champions. Is pretty top aged and turned 18 in August.

Is listed at 189cms and is reasonable well built without being big. Is about Marcus Drum size without having the extra long arms that Drum has.

I would have liked to see him play some other positions more often. Occasingly moved out to the HBF but with Xavier Ellis playing there when not playing school football and future gun in Lachlan Hansen absolutely dominating at CHB his job was made pretty easy.

He is however like Drum a very good organiser of the backline. Is constantly yelling out and telling defenders where to move to.
Nothing particularly special about his skills or athleticism. Just a very good orgainser and reader of the play. Would struggle to play HBF in the AFL and to have the size and strength to play full back.
Is a team player who can get out and make some play and will back himself in with a bounce and run. Some chance there to develop as a third tall defender. Doubt he would have the motor to be able to be a run with player.
Another in between size and it would seem with selecting Edwards that he would have that spot taken.

That is what I wrote a few weeks ago on both.

Ryan Jackson impressed at training. Is a bit quicker than reported and has very good endurance and was able to keep up with seasoned AFL players at training. Is the type who runs all day and they really like his character to make it.
Think Jesse Smith/Bentick in his application to improve himself.

Flint also passes the strong character test. Has a real presence about him and fits right in. Might be taller than the 189 listed.

My picks would have been Matt White if available and if not then Jackson with pick 1 and either Daniel Nicholls with pick 17 or Greg Bentley.

Believe it was out of White/Jackson with pick 1 and once White went in the PSD (suprisingly !!!) to Richmond who again pull a swifty like last year with Knobel.
Talk about dodgy. :mad:

No sanctions for having 30 at training. Pulling out of the PSD then mysteriously being back in it.
Zantuck last year delisted at the last minute to allow Knobel.
President "leaves" with his real estate deals for players hanging over his head.

Disgraceful.

Jackson is better than I wrote up. Apologies to anyone who took the emphasized slow bit to much to heart. Its a lot easier when you are told a few things about the players to make comment after the draft than before.
Otherwise I am not going to be told anything ever again.
Which is not what I want at all.

Yes but Grima could be anything. Ryan Jackson is just another example of our 'safe picks' policy. That is only one tier up from recycling.

Pafloyul said:
Yes but Grima could be anything. Ryan Jackson is just another example of our 'safe picks' policy. That is only one tier up from recycling.

Yes to what Pafloyul?

A lot of clubs in need of a tall passed on Grima. WB and Melb in particular who need talls and passed on them in there first pick in the National draft also passed on Grima in the rookie draft.

Apart from his 10 goals versus the pygmies in the Championships he did not show a lot. Pretty agile but not very quick and does not have a lot of tricks to his game. Good kick but lacks that ability to take a really good contested mark and not quick enough to get on his own on the lead. Not suited to down back and maybe a leading FF type who is a bit limited in where he will be able to play.

Pafloyul said:

...and Grima could be nothing. Jackson is not one tier up from a recycled player as he shows class, leadership, poise, skills, endurance, determination and improvement - not bad qualities IMO and all at the age of 18!

Some are traits that can't all be taught but are in the make-up of the player himself. I think he is a great pick, his pace is a not as bad as some say and is not an issue as he can play footy! Simple as that for the Blues at this stage. Flint sounds like a good honest defender with versatility and grunt - again a good pick-up as we need ALL TYPES at this stage.