List Mgmt. Rookies Eardley and Bathie delisted

• Thread starter Thread starter drbono

A few notes. My mail is that Eards was ready to be a one club player after taking a little time to settle into Geelong in the early days. He is pretty bummed about not staying here but is looking forward to making an impact in the future.

It was a club decision and currently has no other offers.

Additionally, a personal note was made to thank the members of the Cult of Eardley - Pivotonian ,Turbo, myself and a few others. Thanks was offered for many a great laugh and proud moments at the positive plaudits offered. And it is hoped that continues.

Which leads me to add this. We all are here to express our opinions - good and bad - as the Internet warriors we are.
That said, we should also be aware that what is said here is not done so in a bubble. We are a known entity this place and those whom post here are too.

Opinions are great but just remember that once they are out there they are there for everyone to see.
Go Catters

And I'm still scratching my head on this one...

I can fully understand Geelong's decision about his long-term prospects.
It seems fairly clear that they must have a couple of specific draft prospects in mind.
But I genuinely hope he gets his crack at League footy somewhere.

Additionally, a personal note was made to thank the members of the Cult of Eardley - Pivotonian ,Turbo, myself and a few others. Thanks was offered for many a great laugh and proud moments at the positive plaudits offered. And it is hoped that continues.
We were a known quantity within the ranks??

Ya know, that actually makes me smile. If Eardley was reading (or had caught wind of "The Cult") and was getting a chuckle out of some of the stuff then, in a small way, it all seems worthwhile.

But for future reference Daz, if ya gonna tag me, don't be shy of the "The"...this Pivotonian dude is starting to cramp my (limited) style.

We were a known quantity within the ranks??

Ya know, that actually makes me smile. If Eardley was reading (or had caught wind of "The Cult") and was getting a chuckle out of some of the stuff then, in a small way, it all seems worthwhile.

But for future reference Daz, if ya gonna tag me, don't be shy of the "The"...this Pivotonian dude is starting to cramp my (limited) style.

Sorry mate - was on the phone at work at the Voice... took me 3 attempts to get it right... but duly noted....

And yes, whilst not giving too much away - our existence was noted and appreciated.

Go Catters

Sorry mate - was on the phone at work at the Voice... took me 3 attempts to get it right... but duly noted....
Just going the wind up...as I'm sure you know.

And yes, whilst not giving too much away - our existence was noted and appreciated.
Well, in that case I hope we made him chuckle and he remembers that he was liked and appreciated when he was here if he ever gets a bit down.

I can fully understand Geelong's decision about his long-term prospects.
It seems fairly clear that they must have a couple of specific draft prospects in mind.
But I genuinely hope he gets his crack at League footy somewhere.

At pick 65+ in the rookie draft? Wouldn't have thought so.

Just going the wind up...as I'm sure you know.

Well, in that case I hope we made him chuckle and he remembers that he was liked and appreciated when he was here if he ever gets a bit down.

Click away mate, click away...

Go Catters

Probably not the most fluid mover I've seen but had heaps of courage and played very well in his last.

Sharing your pain Daz: found Eardley's attack on the footy inspirational, the kind of play that lifts a team. Only got to see him live a few times but was really really hoping he would be part of the Cats' future. Smart, tough, committed players are hard to find. We seem to have spent a bit more time thinking about the middle of the ground than our defence, at least as far as the national draft goes, over the last three or four years. I suspect we will miss him next year, Shaw or no Shaw. Very sorry to see him go.

Agreed, yes and yes.

Great 1st post btw...

Go Catters

Ok I know I have to move on, but pretty weird seeing crashing Eardley tackles featured in the VFL highlights package played at the Carji tonight. Footywire stats make it clear at tackling is much more highly regarded in the last few years - most of the Cats' best are current players - and Eardley was superb. :(

Damn you Johnny Cattery, I was hoping this would have just slid off the front page.

And now you bring it all flooding back.

Why? Why? Why? :(

It's alright.

I think of the good times.

The slamming tackles, the running with the flight...

stabbing pain in my heart... this is gonna take a lot to get over...

GO Catters

Just goes to show how hard it is to get a read on who GFC rates.

From what I read for sure he would get a third year as Rookie - and what happened Sherringham got the gig. So hard to rate players from the outside until they become an acknowledged contributor or star.

*Crosses year of the cat off the Xmas Card list*

Wow you are taking it hard. Look, it's like when your dog dies - devastating at first - then you buy a new one - you still have fond memories of the old dog - but the new dog is just great and just as good as the old one. You need to find a new dog. Quickly.

But this dog went harder and dug deeper than any other models...

Go Catters

Stop trying to help. :eek:

There is a small paragraph in today's Weekend West on our Cam, who is mentioned along with various others who might be joining WAFL teams:

"Midfielder Cam Eardley, 20, is considering his options after being cut by Geelong but has indicated he will play for East Fremantle if he returns home to WA."