Autopsy Round 1, 2024: Positives and Negatives vs Port Adelaide

I thought effort was mostly good especially the younger players. Clearance work was a marginal improvement on last year but kick ins and defending of kick ins were concerning.
If we are serious about leaning into a proper rebuild then thats Gaffs last game of AFL.
Loved Harley. Enough green shoots there for me to enjoy Sunday arvo.

It’s obvious WC has set clear and defined KPI’s rather than winning the game. Case in point was benching HR when his spark was what was keeping us in the game. Although it is enjoyable watching HR, Chesser, and Long coming along, it will generally be a boring season with significant losses albeit not the thumpings we saw last season.

Positives +

• Harley Reid is a gun and will be a superstar. He was clean with his ball handling and made great decisions. He also looked quick as well. He should NOT be playing forward since the ball won't be there a lot, he should be in the middle and down back. Can see future captain material from him.
  • Jamo looked decent down back and provided decent ruck support. Has a potential to be a gun KPD since he has the pace and the reach to play against those gorilla forwards and those tall 200cm King types. Should've been switched onto Dixon once Dixon got on top of Barrass.
  • Petch hit the scoreboard and actually chased and gave effort. Was our best forward of the day.
  • Gaff subbed out.
  • Chesser providing pace and run. Looked great at senior level when he's actually ready. Has to be cemented in the 22. We looked soo much better once we subbed off Gaff and bought him in.
  • Kelly and Yeo both tried and were pretty good.
  • Gov was good with his intercepting and used the ball MOSTLY well except for that turnover.
  • Hunt tried with his rebounding and looked to take the game on even though he coughed it up at times.
  • Some passages of play were great.
  • B.Williams is a clearance beast. Was good in the middle.

Meh =

=
Long showed something but was pretty quiet.
= Brockman used his pace well but didn't do much.
= Waterman worked hard but didn't get much of it.
= Cole was ok without being spectacular.
= Allen must of been impacted from his gastro as he looked lethargic. Still had 3 shots at goal against a strong Port defence.

Negatives -

• Darling was horrible and looked cooked, failed to bring the ball to ground and as a result, Ratugolea was able to rebound it out at will. I don't think he fully built up from his pre season injury similarly to Richmond's Tom Lynch. We'll see if he improves in the coming weeks as he starts to build more.
  • Gaff, just non existent and looked very slow. It's clear that he's well and truly cooked now. Chesser looked miles better than him. I think he needs a long spell in the WAFL to help mentor the young kids coz he's a liability in the senior team atm with his lack of pace and poor decision making.
  • Barrass, well beaten by Dixon and was lucky he didn't kick 6. Just not halving enough contests atm and allowing opposition forwards to mark or crumb. His back injury must be playing a role in his potential decline and we may have made a mistake in hindsight to not trade him to Sydney.
  • Duggan just not captain material. Didn't seem to show leadership and used the ball poorly.
  • L.Edwards another player who's too slow and isn't able to make good decisions due to his lack of pace.
  • Team is way too slow atm. Too many times we weren't able to even touch the ball to stop Port's possession chains.
  • Forward pressure was trash. Too many times they waltzed it out with ease and it led to coast to coast scores.
  • Tackles failed to stick and our tackles were too easily broken. This is an indication that our S&C did NOT focus on core strength, it seems that they focused more on aerobic capacity which the team failed to stop Port's transitions.
  • Failure to halve ruck contests. Port were able to get easy clearances.
  • We were very lucky that Port can't kick straight and should've been an 80+ point loss.

Final thoughts.

The club is way too slow to defend any transitions and is unable to rebound on half back. With the forwards going back to help on defence, there is no one forward of the ball once the team wins it and as a result play has to be stopped while our players have to trek back which makes the forwards tired. It seems to me that Simmo doesn't trust the defenders and the mids to win the ball so he gets the forwards to help which makes it harder to score once the ball is won, it reminds me of Simmo the batsmen treating a solid number 8 batsmen who can actually bat (think of Stobo and Paris), like a genuine number 11 as in they don't trust them with the strike.

Replacing Gaff with Chesser, Witherden with Burgiel (provided that he's ready and fit), L.Edwards with Hewitt (once he's fit again) and our forwards showing more desperation in defence will go a long way to help with our forward pressure and help defend the opposition transitions and also open up more scoring lanes with a faster team. Hopefully we draft a speedy balanced mid in the future.

Keeping forwards deeper and backing the defenders and mids to win the ball will go a long way in opening up more scoring opportunities and reduce the amount of times it comes back in. Jamo has to take the best forward and body him up so Barrass can be free to be a spare and intercept since Barrass is struggling to defend the 1v1s.

If we are really serious with the rebuild, there needs to be a message to Gaff and underperfoming senior players that if they looked cooked, then they must spend a while in the WAFL.

The team will likely finish bottom 4 again and I'm guessing we'll have about 4-6 wins which is fine since we still need more draft picks as our senior players are cooked and passed their used by dates.

It’s obvious WC has set clear and defined KPI’s rather than winning the game. Case in point was benching HR when his spark was what was keeping us in the game. Although it is enjoyable watching HR, Chesser, and Long coming along, it will generally be a boring season with significant losses albeit not the thumpings we saw last season.
Realistically WC won’t be competing seriously for at least 5 years (and that is very optimistic) as they will be having to develop rucks and replace KPP’s which of course take significantly longer to perform consistently.

Might as well back Chess and now and take the good with the bad. Recently he’s started a lot better than his early days. Gaff needs to go back to WAFL and be that “break in case of emergency” player when the injuries start piling on.

Darling and TB were quite poor but TB ended up being ok after a disgraceful start. Jack stunk but also the delivery and ball movement hurt him like it did to Allen.

Yeo and TK just got a pass mark but can’t have have our two best mids getting 20 or less touches every weekend

Duggan also had a what if game. Did some nice things but his shitty kicking hurt us a lot more

BBW is an interesting one. Ordinary ruckman, gives our mids no advantage at all, and has zero marking presence around the ground. But is an awesome clearance player, has an elite vertical leap, and will always bob up for a few handy score involvements and seems to be a good set shot.

Hoping that Barnett can be a rucking option next year as I think BBW could be more than handy as a twin tower set up with OA in the forward line with Darling gone, but mobile enough to also offer a bit at ground level as well as defensively.

how do we struggle so badly to get the footy? Other teams have young mids that’ll reliably get ~10 touches a quarter. We’re lucky if ours get that by 3/4 time. Absolutely bizarre.
Because our coach still thinks he has the best tall contested marking players in Australia and a 6'10 125km Jonah Lomu clone at all the stoppages.

how do we struggle so badly to get the footy? Other teams have young mids that’ll reliably get ~10 touches a quarter. We’re lucky if ours get that by 3/4 time. Absolutely bizarre.

Most of those other club players getting accumulations like that are doing so under little pressure well behind general play.

West Coast doesn't have that option as it is currently so very low on quality midfielders.

Likewise, as soon one of those mids is up, they get tagged - and then get cooked trying to break it with so little help around them.

Reid and Kelly had 8 disposals each in the first quarter. Reid was tagged by Drew in the second quarter and similarly Wines moved to Kelly.

Reid had 1 touch in the second quarter; Kelly had just 8 disposals after quarter time.

As the available depth improves, the ability to accumulate will improve with it.

Firstly Port were a top 4 side last year and we just played them on there home deck, let’s keep expectations in check.

Rozee and Butters cut us to bits.

Positives

Fat smiley kid played a good first game.

Chesser continues to show improvement

Yeo got through a game as a midfielder without breaking down

No injuries is something foreign from the last few years.

Bailey Williams played well

Jamo did some okay things

Petch was alright

Simmo mentioned a focus this year on contest and playing the game in our forward half. We had moments where this was pretty good.

Some pressure from our WAFL crew. A few put there names up for consideration. Mainly Hall, Trew and Burgiel for me.

Negatives

Our leaders were poor. Allen maybe sick or injured but we need to be a club that makes less excuses. TB soundly beaten early and Duggin made a number of poor errors. That’s our leadership group.

Gaff looks finished, I thought we may get a bit more out of him this year but realistically he needs to make way for the kids.

Darling poor. Would rather see Maric in his spot. It would be a statement if Gaff and Darling went back to the WAFL next week.

No improvement in our kick ins. It’s just not working and hasn’t for some time.

Not being able to defend quick transition from the opposition. We are definitely pressing up hard but we looked really exposed at times.

Our tackling whilst better than last year still wasn’t good enough.

Forward line defensive pressure and presence. Not able to bring the ball to ground and a lack of run and chase.

BBW is decent in aspect except his tap work..

I just don't want our mids especially young kids learning off his tap work.

It will sting in short run but our mids need a conventional Ruckman to learn off and read tap work. So Barnett sooner rather then later. We saw the Barnett and Reid connection

All Williams does it tap it far into space to nobody and runs onto it himself. Blocks space. Our mids must hate the guy. However this game it did pay off.

He plays like a tall midfielder. But a solid game today

Been plenty of examples of crap teams in the past where 1-2 midfielders still at least rack up heaps of possessions. We are basically allergic
We are worse than crap, the coaches know it and have a built a game plan with this in mind imo.

Simmo consistently mentions contest and front half footy, which is try to win it and pump it forward so we can set up properly behind the ball.

I'm certain each individual would look better and win much more ball in a team like Sydney, Collingwood or the Giants

BBW is decent in aspect except his tap work..

I just don't want our mids especially young kids learning off his tap work.

It will sting in short run but our mids need a conventional Ruckman to learn off and read tap work. So Barnett sooner rather then later. We saw the Barnett and Reid connection

All Williams does it tap it far into space to nobody and runs onto it himself. Blocks space. Our mids must hate the guy. However this game it did pay off.
Also doesn't help that our mids are probably in a defensive mindset because we lose the tap so often. Our mids are always stationary, waiting to see where the ball goes as opposed to hitting it at pace from a deliberate tap.

I really didn't like the sight of Simpson running out on the ground 2 seconds after the game finished to do some back slapping and yukking it up with Rioli with a massive grin and smile on his face. This guy's head just is not where it needs to be.

Rioli stabbed the club in the back and walked out on us after all the bending over backwards we did for him. On top of that we just lost another game by 9 goals and it could have been another 100 point belting if Port had been even moderately efficient. I am not saying he should never speak to Rioli again or should hurl abuse at him. No need to carry hate in your heart or be immature. But he should be at least as disappointed in the performance as the average supporter is and should not be smiling and laughing about anything with anyone 2 seconds after the siren goes on a performance like that. And if he isn't as disappointed as the average supporter he should have enough common sense not to show it on camera. He should have 100 other things closer to the top of his mind regarding doing his actual job and driving improvement at the club he is being paid $1 million a year to coach as opposed to the number 1 priority being to run out there and backslap with Rioli.