AFL Autopsy Round 13 vs Fremantle

• Thread starter Thread starter Kong

I just watched the replay of thatgame and that was one of the most disgusting Biased umpiring efforts i have ever ******* seen. Totally different set of rules for both teams. How Bannister didnt see Jetta get hit in the face when he was looking straight at it hass me screwed. Interesting to see if JEtta gets done by MRP for hurting Mc****wits fist with his head

He quite clearly didn't pay a free solely because it was Jetta. I wonder if the AFL will release a written apology to Jetta and the club for their umpires taking pre conceived bias into the game?

Hurley-what a beast, where are all the "Jack Watts has gone past Hurley" Flogs now
Watson-Was beaten pretty much all game but showed great resilience to come out and play a cracking final term, oh and is there a better bloke in the AFL
Carlisle- If he keeps playing like this Pears won't get back in
Myers-Played just about his best game for the club-showing everyone why we drafted him

I backed Freo at the start of the week. Was the best $50 i've lost ever

TAB.jpg

Down the drain... like every other time I've put money on opposition playing us. Will be putting a few pineapples on the Dogs next week as well - do not care as long we keep winning. A trend is developing.

I just watched the replay of thatgame and that was one of the most disgusting Biased umpiring efforts i have ever ******* seen. Totally different set of rules for both teams. How Bannister didnt see Jetta get hit in the face when he was looking straight at it hass me screwed. Interesting to see if JEtta gets done by MRP for hurting Mc****wits fist with his head

Jetta has reaped what he sowed - Hopefully not getting that free will even further reinforce that he cant be a douche in those situations.

On a more positive note - what a fantastic ****ing win, had serious doubts at 3Q time, but again the team powered home, really looking forward to R17/18/19 Geelong/Hawks/Crows - if we can make a mess there, then lookout:)

i thought the Lovett-Murray/ Monfries switch changed the game for us. The game turned on it's head for some reason not unlike Myers into the guts against the Swans..

these game changing moves during games is what has impressed me about us in 2012

Hurlisle. :thumbsu:

I thought the umpiring was quite good.

It wasn't. The third quarter especially was pathetic. Monfries should have got a 50m in front of goal. Thirty seconds later Pavlich got paid the mark despite clear hands in the back. 12 point turnaround.

Hahahahahaha :thumbsu:

These are the games good football sides win, sadly we aren't there yet. Well done to yours boys.

Might make you guys a little chuffed, that was a better turnout than even Carlton or Collingwood fans could muster in Perth.

Cheers mate!

I'm not surprised by the crowd, after all the work Sheeds done promoting the club in the AFL's formative years, reckon we'd be the most followed side aust wide especially in the top end.

The umpiring was not good it was horridly inconsistent. THe number of times freo got free kicks for sticking their head down then throwing it back to fake the high contact and getting rewarded was absolutely gag worthy. Essendon players getting tackled and slung without the ball in contests allowed to go on. Arm chopping, hands in in the back it was all there and consistently allowed to go on for one team only. And as for what was deemed to be play on off the mark only applied to Essendon players. There were some unbelieveable play on calls when players were running around to get back over the mark only to be told they had played on. Bannister was looking straight at Leroy Jetta when he was smashed in the face which is why Jetta was getting so cut about it. All in all if that is good umpiring i dread to see what happens when we get a shit call.

Crameri goal best I have seen in ages. Loved the way he baited Macpharlan running into goal.

That goal from Crameri was just sensational. Most players wouldn't even dare to try running in all that way even if they did have the pace but you just knew that Crameri would back himself in and I love the fact that he did it to Mcpharlin in his 200th. Its nice to see us ruining an opposition players milestone match.

I also noticed the umpires were allowing plenty of cribbing of the mark. Seems to have crept back into the game this year and not sure if Giesch's cronies are aware of it. I would actually say, though, that this year's standard of umpiring isn't as bad as last year's, which was the worst I've ever seen in my footy-watching career.

He quite clearly didn't pay a free solely because it was Jetta. I wonder if the AFL will release a written apology to Jetta and the club for their umpires taking pre conceived bias into the game?

Can we ask for a 'Please Explain' from the AFL

These are the games good football sides win, sadly we aren't there yet. Well done to yours boys.

Might make you guys a little chuffed, that was a better turnout than even Carlton or Collingwood fans could muster in Perth.

Cheers. The away support was great on TV, obviously meant a lot to the players as well.

He might even get another staging letter for that 1, he was totally fine and threw himself to the ground needlessly. Sure he actually got hit this time but it was still quite the performance.
Yeah, you obviously don't understand how the rule works

On a more positive note - what a fantastic ******* win, had serious doubts at 3Q time, but again the team powered home

Up til 5 minutes left in the 3rd quarter I was very worried. Freo really controlled the game in the quarter up to that stage. They got up to 17 points ahead and I said to my cousin that things were not looking too good. But the last 2 late goals, first by Ryder from 55 out, then the shot from Hurley under pressure on his left 40 out, were absolutely crucial and gave us the momentum heading into the last quarter. I felt that it was a real turning point of the match the last 3 minutes of the 3rd quarter.

My observations:

Hurley: the stupid / logical thing is that conversion makes or breaks the performance of a forward. Last night was so far from his best game for the club it isn't funny but, because he kicked straight, it is being lauded as his "break out" game. The pleasing thing is that Hurley got the simple things right: he lead hard and kicked straight. I still only see it as a further, and more graphic, example of the sort of brutality the man is capable of. I was more impressed with his intent, hitting packs and contested marking in the wet against Melbourne.

Hille vs Bellchambers: poor Belly had better be prepared for an extended run in the twos. It isn't just our ability to run Ryder in the ruck that is important. Hille's ability to present hard as a forward is underrated as is his superior ability to be an extra midfielder / link man (in the way John Barnes was in 2000). There seems to be this growing idea that Hille is immobile and that he doesn't chase. I wonder at the extent to which this has been contrived to support TBell's inclusion at Hille's expense.

Jetta: perception is an amazing thing. Fine and Shaw savaged Jetta this morning on SEN as did some callers and as have some posters. Dell'Olio did not even cop a spray, he was asked a question Jetta was more than entitled to ask (it was hardly demonstrative by Jetta). Jetta had 20 possessions, 2 goal assists, a number of selfless acts (taps and bumps) and about 15 pressure acts, and yet, all people want to focus on is him being the smartarse goal sneak that we want him to be? Seriously, **** that and get around Leroy.

The Cook: I thought Reimers tried to do about everything we'd have wanted him to do. He attacked the ball and the man with ferocity but got the execution of a few tackles and a few shots on goal a little wrong. He was clinical with ball in hand and delivered it to our leading forwards well. I genuinely thought that he was better than Dell'Olio and ought to retain his spot in the side when Davey comes back (over Corey Dell).

Myers: momentum is seriously building. He has been the forgotten man of our young midfield group, the group from which we expect the A graders to come from. His size/brute strength, kick, ability to find the ball prolifically and on-field leadership will give Myers every opportunity to make the (A) grade.

Back line chemistry: this is the biggest problem that Pears (for the next 12 months or so) has as far as I'm concerned. Carlisle and Hooker are working beautifully together. In the first half there were multiple occasions when one took a pack mark and then fed the ball to the other with a handball. Hooker and Carlisle are almost my favorite part of our side. Sure, Pavlich got hold of Hooker a few times but Pav is an undisputed champion of the game and he is going to get a hold of anyone at one point or another. The whole backline looks amazing when the foundation is Fletcher, Hooker, Carlisle, Hardingham and Hibberd (who looks significantly lighter or are my eyes deceiving me).

Forward line chemistry: in the first quarter, in particular, there were glimpses of the ridiculousness that is going to occur in the next few years. When Crameri and Hurley lead hard to the flanks and create space in their wake Jetta, Dell'Olio and Monfries all look very dangerous because they are smart players around goal. The first quarter was the best the forward line looked has looked since early in the Richmond game. Kicking straight helps too.

Melksham: I agree with those expressing frustration with Jake's choices to handball but, given his uncertainty, I can only say that he must not have had targets to hit by foot. If he can reverse the 5 kicks and 13 handballs Jake's impact on games will be significant (even though his total possession count will be 5-10 lower than what we want). He is one of those guys I can see developing into one of the best few kicks in the game.