Review Round 14, 2016 - Richmond vs Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against Richmond?

Rocky looks like he is to scared to kick with all the leg injuries he has had. I wouldn't be surprised if he is playing at 60-70%. I agree right now he is doing very little with his disposals.

Mayes was superb today. Never stopped running and looks to have his confidence back. Hipwood showed some great signs and at least gives us a glimpse into what might lay at the end of the tunnel. Might be a chance for the rising star nomination this round? McStay and Schahce did some nice things and have good hands but both still learning how hard you need to work in the big league. Mathieson was good and had a crack and needs to stay in the side for rest of the year. Really liked Jansens game. Cracks in hard and wins contested ball. He to must stay in the side for remainder of the year. Bewick after two terrible turnovers early played a good game. Looks like he has finally figured out his game. Bastinac tried hard but needs to move the ball on faster. Thought Josh Green was good in his first game back.

The negatives aside from our skill level and non game plan is the players non ability to lay a tackle. We must have missed 30 -40 tackles today. This part of our game hasn't improved in years. Next pre season run the players till they drop and then teach them to tackle. Out poor tackling probably costs us 4-5 goals a game sometimes more.

Hanley needs to either get fit or get a better attitude. He has been my fave player in the last 5 years but he was a disgrace today.
Rockcliffe did an individual warm up for 30 mins or so prior to the team warm up on the ground and was constantly feeling his lower back and ribs,groin and hammies.

How is he anyway ?
**** knows. Didnt even get room passes to see him.

Sorry. It's a huge deal to me to see him after a game. Means a lot to me. I come to every Melbourne game and for a football club to not be able to arrange that is so disappointing.

Last season I copped a lot of flack for writing here that we'd never amount to anything like a side while we played Bewick, and that his continued inclusion amounted to a barometer of how bad we're travelling

I stick with this opinion, but now would also add Lester.

Proven logs the both of them. Just how many chances are they entitled to. Always flattering to deceive, never quite closing the deal, just missing the kick/goal/handball etc etc. And neither can or will tackle to save themselves.
Couldn't agree more.They both have the same fatal flaws they arrived with Lester's apalling attempt to switch was the signal for collapse in the first quarter. He can't run so is a total liability. Bewick takes a mark and misses the simplest shot.. .demonstrating yet again his mental weakness.

I want to make a statement. Mitch Robinson is my brother and the best seats I could get was general admin.

Family orientated. Good on you. Couldn't even see the campaigner get knocked out.

Sorry for the first world problem post. But **** this club. It's a ******* disgrace.
Grow up princess youre a players brother. What do you expect a ****ing box to yourself with a bar tab and and as much food as you can handle? I for one am glad to know the club isn't shelving out big bucks for campaigners like you. Hammer had almost 30 tickets supplied by the club for his debut. Not too mention all the other players families that would've come. That's a lot of free tickets they've given out. Be happy you're seeing a free game of footy. I know families who would kill for a free ticket, even if it meant a GA one. You sound like an overentitled brat the way you're going on.cGlad that it's you're brother playing for us and not you princess.

Actually thought Rich has been okay lately. Much better than Hanley or Rockliff.
Remember Hanley was a gun HB. Let's play him there? Rather than playing him mid.
Hanley is nowbere near fit...if that's wrong he should be dropped...10 possessions and sooking,

I want to make a statement. Mitch Robinson is my brother and the best seats I could get was general admin.

Family orientated. Good on you. Couldn't even see the campaigner get knocked out.

Sorry for the first world problem post. But **** this club. It's a ******* disgrace.
There is no problem getting seats ,you or yours obviosly didn't go about it correctly, not that being a relative entitles you to away game seats at the G you bludger.

Hanley is nowbere near fit...if that's wrong he should be dropped...10 possessions and sooking,
Even if he isn't fit he should at least provide some leadership to the young blokes around him. The way he was carrying on today was appalling.

Can we at least communicate with family members of players in a civilised fashion please.

Two wrongs don't make a right, as they say.
Who cares? Just because they are related we should treat the more 'preciously'. He's a players brother blaming the club because the seats weren't what he wanted. they're grown men it shouldn't be up to a football club to arrange a meeting.... My brother lives in another state and I don't rely on his employer to organise for me to see him. A new draftee I can understand but Mitch? Come on MM you have to see how bratish he's coming across.

Think we gave all of the best seats to Schache's family... he is the future you know;).

Surely you can buy a (better) ticket to see your brother play. We are broke FFS!

Took
Some things from todays game:

Didnt see the hanley meltdown so cant comment however in a season where you are second last on the ladder perhaps woudlnt be a bad thing to send him to the reserves for a bit.

Rockliff is by by far the person who I have the most issue with atm . I use to think he was a terrific player in terms of finding the ball but after watching him more closely then ever he could be quite possibly the most ineffective and overrated player in the comp. Constantly handballs to teammates flat footed or under pressure. Last week against west coast he missed a guy who was 1m away which resulted in West Coast kicking a goal. His leadership is pathetic atm. Takes a swipe at young matho a few weeks back over these head high frees then is staging for them last week against freo plus his missed targets

Lester as already noted who kicks sideways when you are streaming forward and have forwards 1 on 1 and then cant hit a target. Absolute Spud. Yeah he tried hard but constantly lacks polish.

Taylor wants 500k haha tell him his dreaming

Rich - Lazy Lazy player. 600k a year for playing a handfull of quality games a year. No wonder he signed up again gets paid a bucket load for not effort or accountability.

Stef martin is the stef martin from melbounre not the stef martin from 18 months ago. He copped a head knock though dont know what hanleys and rockliffs excuse is

Hipwood and Scache - are out future along with keyes, jansen and matho . We can only hope out wonderful leader rockliff doesnt take more swipes at our young players and they decide to pack their bags.

Leppa - 42 points showed effort. Serioulsy in any organistaion or form of employement if you were this bad at your job you would be gone. Poor old vossie must be wishing he was given all this time.
Took the words right out of my mouth.

Geez I love your kids. They are going to be bloody special.

Schache is my favourite. McStay and Andrews are also great to watch develop. Must be hard with so much youth playing...so many injuries and just unable to get consistency.

Thought Mathieson was good today. Rotating in the Rockliff role, and looked like he will be another inside mid to help out.

Hammelmann also moves well and took some decent grabs. Think he will be another good defender. First game was extremely tough but he did well.

**** knows. Didnt even get room passes to see him.

Sorry. It's a huge deal to me to see him after a game. Means a lot to me. I come to every Melbourne game and for a football club to not be able to arrange that is so disappointing.
I think you've seen first hand how the club has changed since Mitch got here.

The arrival of Beams, Robbo, Bundy - things were certainly looking peachy but now the fish head has gotten rotten and it's trickling down.

As fans, it's incredible difficult to witness but know that players like Robbo, who bleed each time he steps out there, isn't taken for granted.

Just to pick out one player that hasn't got much of a mention - I was super disappointed with McStay's efforts today. Was verging on disinterested out there with some absolutely woeful competitive efforts.

He was not alone by any means. But he has no excuse for not being much better than that, which we all know he can be. Piss poor effort after I and others called for him to be brought back into the senior side.

Pritty stark considering they have been our best and most consistent this season. Both should finish in the top 10 in the BnF.
Holy shit!

If Bewick and Lester finish top 10 in the b&f then we are a hell of a lot worse then I thought.

Are you watching the same games I'm watching?

There just list cloggers.

Cannot fathom what people are expecting from Rich. 25 possessions and 7 tackles today but is in the firing line yet again. He is a good midfielder with an excellent left peg, not the 30+ possession line breaking midfielder some seem to e expecting.
Too many Possessions come when the pressure is off.

If they keep what there doing?

They definitely won't because they will be playing 2nds.
Problem is who do you select for them. Bewick hasnt been bad at all. Albeit not setting the world on fire. But definatly his career best.

There is a good reason they are still in the team. There is simply no one to push them out.

Review Round 14, 2016 - Richmond vs Brisbane Lions