Autopsy Round 15: Brisbane 42-34 Collingwood

I know what I saw. He fought tenaciously to keep us in it and provide rebound. Don't care what you say - he was good. And I am not going to force myself to rewatch the game just to confirm your assertion about Crisp's easy possessions.
Can you explain
67% disposal efficiency

Seeing he had 8 marks. And a heap uncontested

Lots of switch kicks
He ain't Lachie Whitfieldwe lost due to turnovers
Opposition know he's 1 sided
But still he's one of our best

Says a lot about our expectations
The state of the game

Can you explain
67% disposal efficiency

Seeing he had 8 marks. And a heap uncontested

Lots of switch kicks
He ain't Lachie Whitfieldwe lost due to turnovers
Opposition know he's 1 sided
But still he's one of our best

Says a lot about our expectations
The state of the game
You should collect your posts together and publish them as a book of poems. I rather enjoy reading them even when I don't agree with them. I don't know what inspires your particular formatting, but don't change your style. Certainly better than having my eyes wade through a big chunk of prose.

Your assumption that all my analysis is based on stats because I'm young is pretty insulting
Well obviously
You pick and choose stats when it suits
You're aware he Crisp went at 67%
really 50% when you look at the big picture
Still think he's on fire?

You're accusations of me assuming anything about you is ludricos
I watch each game twice it's a great idea
Before commencing comments

Once upon a time
You got smashed if you filled a hole
Once upon a time, forwards got away with smashing blokes who sat in the hole. Gary Ablett Snr and Tony Lockett would be suspended every second week if they played that way today.

67% disposal efficiency
8 marks
7 switch possession s marked ( no pressure)
30 disposals so 1 in 3 as turnover
Defender

We lost because of turnovers

So give me a break
I don't measure a player's output solely with statistics. His heart and effort was inspiring. He tried to win that game for us with sheer willpower. I think he was magnificent. He did stuff up a few times as did Noble. But both of them rose in my estimation after that game.

I don't know what inspires your particularly formatting
I'll take the credit.
When our friend DP first started, his posting was a bit all over the place.
I suggested he try point form and the rest is history ;)
Someone else I know, posts in a similar vein.
Although not quite as poetic.

Well obviously
You pick and choose stats when it suits
You're aware he Crisp went at 67%
really 50% when you look at the big picture
Still think he's on fire?

You're accusations of me assuming anything about you is ludricos
I watch each game twice it's a great idea
Before commencing comments
Whatever the stats may say, I still think Crisp was in our best 2 or 3 players, if not the best. I agree with Domus's post above, that he played with passion and tried to win the game for us with 'sheer willpower'.

I also don't know how you could watch that game twice. Once was more than enough for me.

67% disposal efficiency

As a backman
Ouch

As I've said crisps performances last 3 weeks have been typical of this stat
Even more obvious if you look closely
8 marks (how many switch kicks)
Not much pressure on those
11 intercepts
So Fair to assume the 19 uncontested disposals were including intercepts

67%
22 possessions less marks
That means10 we're turnivers

Hard to understand how hot potato noble went at 87%
Those stats are alarming as a senior player

Now if you rewatch the second quarter

I'm not saying he's a dud
I'm saying he's down on form dramatically

Oh and guess what
He's not Bambi
Let's hope the comp doesn't realise we don't like pressure ,panic and turn it over

A game lasts more than a QTR - so your point about pressure in the 2nd is moot, because it was our pressure that kept them to 1.3 after halftime, and goaless in 2QTRS.

In the last 3 second halves played we’ve conceded 1 goal.
That’s ONE goal in 6 QTRs at the business end of games - I think it shows that we can sustain pressure for much longer than our opponents.

Whatever the stats may say, I still think Crisp was in our best 2 or 3 players, if not the best. I agree with Domus's post above, that he played with passion and tried to win the game for us with 'sheer willpower'.

I also don't know how you could watch that game twice. Once was more than enough for me.
Certainly helps to watch more than once
Just like a movie

It's very much all in the detail
Gee I hope I haven't shot Bambi

You should collect your posts together and publish them as a book of poems. I rather enjoy reading them even when I don't agree with them. I don't know what inspires your particular formatting, but don't change your style. Certainly better than having my eyes wade through a big chunk of prose.
I work of a phone
So I have tried to make my posts user friendly
Your right not everyone agrees bit a few more robust discussions
Are not a bad thing
He's a champ crispy bit it is what it is
I've been trying to point out the devil's in the detail
Obvious to me
Must be really obvious to opposition coaches
A pattern emerges and it ain't the forward line
Opposition now know you sit on crisp and Maynard
Stop Maynard getting it
Pressure noble and crisp

Well coached by Fagan

Oh my best we're
Pendels
Maynard
Magden
Noble

A game lasts more than a QTR - so your point about pressure in the 2nd is moot, because it was our pressure that kept them to 1.3 after halftime, and goaless in 2QTRS.

In the last 3 second halves played we’ve conceded 1 goal.
That’s ONE goal in 6 QTRs at the business end of games - I think it shows that we can sustain pressure for much longer than our opponents.
Really mate
With all respect
Lions ramped it up and exposed our hot potato handball game in the second
No te can play that way for 4 quarters

They then changed structure in the 3 Rd due to them leading and losing rotations
In the last quarter
They held up very very well
Undermanned and fighting to save the game
Funny our backline played so well
They were missing their best back and another big
Held on
We lost

So explain your logic

I don't measure a player's output solely with statistics. His heart and effort was inspiring. He tried to win that game for us with sheer willpower. I think he was magnificent. He did stuff up a few times as did Noble. But both of them rose in my estimation after that game.
Hang on
Who's saying he and noble didn't bust their rings
So did Maynard on one leg
So did magden
So did Moore
Callum brown

I mentioned he played and has been down on his
Drive
Burst running
Disposal
Then it comes out what his disposal efficiency was
67%
Heaps of switch possession receivednin that 30 possession s as well
I'd point out on this board for years

Adams
Mayne
Phillips
treleor
Amonst a host of others fhave been heavily criticised for their efficiency with the pill

So let's not be hypocritical

Hang on
Who's saying he and noble didn't bust their rings
So did Maynard on one leg
So did magden
So did Moore
Callum brown

I mentioned he played and has been down on his
Drive
Burst running
Disposal
Then it comes out what his disposal efficiency was
67%
Heaps of switch possession receivednin that 30 possession s as well
I'd point out on this board for years

Adams
Mayne
Phillips
treleor
Amonst a host of others fhave been heavily criticised for their efficiency with the pill

So let's not be hypocritical
I am not sure that Callum Brown was a good inclusion in that first list. He may have 'busted his ring' but he was dreadful. Comparing him with Crisp is a stretch too far for me.

Really mate
With all respect

They then changed structure in the 3 Rd due to them leading and losing rotations
In the last quarter
Held on
We lost

So explain your logic

I think you have missed the point entirely - we’ve held 3 teams in the second half ie the business end of 3 games to a combined 1 goal- so we can sustain “team” defence and pressure Very well.
Pressure is not the Achilles heal you’re suggesting.
Fagan is NOT walking around satisfied with a midfield or forward line that went home after half time.
And being down on rotations is not the reason they kicked 1.3 after half time.

I am not sure that Callum Brown was a good inclusion in that first list. He may have 'busted his ring' but he was dreadful. Comparing him with Crisp is a stretch too far for me.
Mate I never said Callum played well
In fact I think Brisbane are very well coached,do their home work

Took away our fat side release kick
Swarmed forward and forced us back into corners

Look it certainly didn't assist us with Maynard having a corky with our run and rebound

I think you have missed the point entirely - we’ve held 3 teams in the second half ie the business end of 3 games to a combined 1 goal- so we can sustain “team” defence and pressure Very well.
Fagan is NOT walking around satisfied with a midfield or forward line that went home after half time.
Lot to do with the midfield defensive efforts and the quality of ball going in too

Really mate
With all respect

In the last quarter
Held on
We lost

So explain your logic
They lost a key defender,but their midfield and forward line was still intact.How do you explain them not being able to get the ball on their forward line in the last quarter?Were they fatigued after a 13 day break?

With five quality players coming in and the likes of Phillips out,yes i absolutely think we can beat them.Basically they only won one quarter mainly through our mistakes,and struggled to score for the rest of the game.In fact outside that second quarter they only kicked one goal for the rest of the match..I just don’t think they’re that good and we could easily beat them with a better team on the field.Richmond and West Coast are a different matter however,as I believe they are a class above The Lions and Port Adelaide for that matter.

I think you're right, we make mistakes and if we had our cavalry back we could beat bris, and I think you're also right in that we aren't a match for wc or rich.

So if the club is aligned with you're thinking (which they aren't) then why don't they just pack up and go home?

Teams seem to have perfected the process of getting a defender between a forward and the incoming footy allowing a team mate to take what all too often ends up being an uncontested mark. Not just against Cox, it’s league wide. I’m not sure why forwards aren’t shoving the defender with force into their team mate. If it’s going to be a turnover anyway then at least send the message to the defender what will happen whenever he does that.

Bang on there Jack, it's league wide. Yet somehow other teams aside from us are scoring still, we aren't. :think:

I think you may have missed DPs point. When the opposition apply really intense pressure on us, our handballs don't release players and it's a matter of time before we cough up one of these backwards handballs. And when we do, it's usually a goal because the ball, players and momentum is heading towards the opposition goals, due to us going backwards. Playing the ball backwards through a quarter back isn't effective when the opposition are really switched on.

I didn’t miss the point - you can’t ignore our pressure for the WHOLE game was far more important than their surge in the 2nd QTR.
We were NOT vulnerable to their pressure for the whole game, as DP was implying. The game goes for 4 QTRS, and over that period we were superior on every stat and should have won.
I doubt Fagan is thinking they’ve got our measure - he knows we shot ourselves in the foot.

Autopsy Round 15: Brisbane 42-34 Collingwood