Autopsy Round 16 v North Melbourne Rant Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

I loved the Yarran one when the umpire said he gave away the free because he wasn't looking at the ball...

You mean when the Norf player had his back to the ball and Yazz touched his waist while positioning, all the time looking at the ball. ..

Henderson being mauled when Petrie palmed down to Thomas was a shocker too. .. He also copped some bad ones when he was up forward. ..

The worst ones weren't in their F50 though. .. We had free kicks turned down which were then awarded the other way for softer things or ended in a turn over. .. Joseph's concussion a prime example, Judd handballing and then geting scragged another and so on. ..

That performance was insipid. I don't care, you can blame injuries and umpiring all you want, the fact is they weren't up for the fight. As soon as things don't go their way, they immediately put their heads down and start to give up. That isn't what Carlton is about, we are NOT a bunch of quitters, but we have established that reputation now. Against Adelaide, Hawthorn and Port Adelaide, they outright gave up. Same thing again tonight. We got within 3 goals half way through the third quarter, this was AFTER the shocking umpiring and restructure, yet they decide to throw in the towel when Petrie gets another free kick goal.

I feel sorry for Judd but at the same time I'm pissed off with him. Tonight, he tried desperately to get his team back into it and played probably the best game he ever has for us. BUT he does something as stupid as bending a players arm behind his back while he is on the ground. Now he is going to be rubbed out. Thanks Juddy for another pressure point moment.

This team lacks leadership so bad with Simmo out and now the captain out for an undisciplinary act. We CANNOT lose next couple or finals chance is over. Yep that's right, forget top 4, just making the top 8 isn't going to happen. But with Judd out for probably 2 weeks (due to bad record), our midfield is going to be shot against the Tigers with an under done Murphy, Simpson out and Judd out.

Garlett was hopeless, Mr Gibbs went missing AGAIN and Lucas cannot dispose of the ball properly. These 3 are really starting to give me the shits. We spent our #1 pick on a soft ghost. Has NO leadership qualities whatsoever, has no respect for the club and only plays for a paycheck. He's had no real impact on ANY game this whole season. Enough is enough, we need to shop him around this year either to get him to realise that we're not accepting this crap or to get something decent for him before it's too late and his value plumets. As for Jeff Garlett, I don't believe the rumour that he's homesick, but tbh I don't care if he is. Fumbles continuously, can't take an uncontested chest mark and smiling when he missed a goal in the last quarter, that's it GTFO. Lucas was another wasted DP, has shown NOTHING since we drafted him and the other guys we were supposed to get (either Talia or Jetta) have been doing very well. Talia has taken some serious scalps this year as a KPD (wouldn't we love to have one now) and we all know how good Jetta's been. Another soft pea hearted performance.

Then there's Ratten spouting the same don't write us off shit. I am writing you off. You can't turn up once every 3 months. This was my biggest worry, it took a media pasting for them to show some respect for this club but now that the media backed off for the week, they went back to the same shit. Now watch, we'll probably beat the Dogs and Tigers and Ratts will think all is well again when it isn't.

Duigan was obviously not going to kick another 3 goals this week, so why did Ratts try and keep him forward for so damn long? And when one of our best forwards is out injured, he takes Hendo out of the forward line as well. WE HAD NO ONE to kick to FFS, Hendo was doing good, he took some marks early on and looked lively up there WHY you would move him to defence is beyond me. Says because Petrie kicked 4 goals in the first quarter, lol Watson and Yarran were on him at one stage of course he's gonna kick goals on them, get the defenders to support each other ffs don't take our only lively key forward and put him back.

What a mess this game was, these players are in it for themselves mate trust me, they didn't like getting belted in the media so they responded to that, but once the media went quiet on them a bit, they didn't play with any desire or respect for the jumper or their coach.

this, this, this and this.

One step forward last week. Two steps back this week.
Fair dinkum, the lack of consistency in our squad is killing me. I just don't understand how we can play footy like we did v the pies twice this year, then come out the next week in a seemingly more winnable game, and be as flat as pancakes.
I looked at our team on paper & thought it doesn't look too bad. Would be better with Simmo, Hammer, Waite, etc....but not too bad. To be smashed the way we were last night, by a team we were level with on the ladder, totally wipes the Collingwood result from the "Save Ratts" campaign.

I love Jeffy Garlett, but he does need to be dropped. So many quiet games this year, so many errors each week. OUCH, but he does not DESERVE a game.
GOALS
Carlton: Judd 3, Armfield 2, Betts 2, Carrazzo, McLean, Yarran, Garlett, Murphy, Robinson, Duigan - North Petrie 7 Hansen 4​
Ummm, where are our taller players? Judd, at 189cms, our tallest goalkicker. My mate said to me, during the first quarter, that North look so much bigger and stronger than us. I fobbed him off, but wow, it became quite evident as the game went on. Hendo, Watto & MK all went forward at stages, not a cracker between them.
If Ratts wants to save his job and/or have a dip at the 8, Thornton has to come in. Has been doing the job at the NB's, as has Luke Mitchell since he started a few weeks back. We need some size in the team, bring these 2 blokes in.
Lose to the WB this week (and it IS quite possible on current form) and we may well see streaks of grey in Ratts' hair.

Well i turned off the game off in the 2nd qtr after Gibbs was clearly pushed in the back 10 meters out from goal and was out-marked with an easy goal to north. If I had of continued to watch the game the remote would have ended up 2 inches buried into the tv screen.

I invite anyone to watch the replay and then say that the umps did not make it impossible for us while it was still game on. Norths smashed us in th clearances, especially the centre bounces, and deserved to win but we were not aloowed to breath near them let alone contest for a mark.

My favourite one was the Yarran one, the ump actuallytold him that he wasn't watching the ball when it was the North player with his back to the ball. Such a bad call I am guessing that ump will be in the 2s next week.

Oops yeah, forgot to mention - congrats to North, they outplayed us & deserved the win. BUT, how many goals did they get from frees and 50m penalties? I'm sure I was up to 7 with my count. Then the hands in the back not paid to Bryce....and a North player who was tackled & just dropped the ball to the ground with his free hand, play on......wtf? Noticed twice, the same ump went to blow his whistle for a free to us, then called play on. I must check to find out who that umpy is. EDIT. So THAT'S who Justin Schmitt is? Poor performance last night.

That performance was insipid. I don't care, you can blame injuries and umpiring all you want, the fact is they weren't up for the fight. As soon as things don't go their way, they immediately put their heads down and start to give up. That isn't what Carlton is about, we are NOT a bunch of quitters, but we have established that reputation now. Against Adelaide, Hawthorn and Port Adelaide, they outright gave up. Same thing again tonight. We got within 3 goals half way through the third quarter, this was AFTER the shocking umpiring and restructure, yet they decide to throw in the towel when Petrie gets another free kick goal.

I feel sorry for Judd but at the same time I'm pissed off with him. Tonight, he tried desperately to get his team back into it and played probably the best game he ever has for us. BUT he does something as stupid as bending a players arm behind his back while he is on the ground. Now he is going to be rubbed out. Thanks Juddy for another pressure point moment.

This team lacks leadership so bad with Simmo out and now the captain out for an undisciplinary act. We CANNOT lose next couple or finals chance is over. Yep that's right, forget top 4, just making the top 8 isn't going to happen. But with Judd out for probably 2 weeks (due to bad record), our midfield is going to be shot against the Tigers with an under done Murphy, Simpson out and Judd out.

Garlett was hopeless, Mr Gibbs went missing AGAIN and Lucas cannot dispose of the ball properly. These 3 are really starting to give me the shits. We spent our #1 pick on a soft ghost. Has NO leadership qualities whatsoever, has no respect for the club and only plays for a paycheck. He's had no real impact on ANY game this whole season. Enough is enough, we need to shop him around this year either to get him to realise that we're not accepting this crap or to get something decent for him before it's too late and his value plumets. As for Jeff Garlett, I don't believe the rumour that he's homesick, but tbh I don't care if he is. Fumbles continuously, can't take an uncontested chest mark and smiling when he missed a goal in the last quarter, that's it GTFO. Lucas was another wasted DP, has shown NOTHING since we drafted him and the other guys we were supposed to get (either Talia or Jetta) have been doing very well. Talia has taken some serious scalps this year as a KPD (wouldn't we love to have one now) and we all know how good Jetta's been. Another soft pea hearted performance.

Then there's Ratten spouting the same don't write us off shit. I am writing you off. You can't turn up once every 3 months. This was my biggest worry, it took a media pasting for them to show some respect for this club but now that the media backed off for the week, they went back to the same shit. Now watch, we'll probably beat the Dogs and Tigers and Ratts will think all is well again when it isn't.

Duigan was obviously not going to kick another 3 goals this week, so why did Ratts try and keep him forward for so damn long? And when one of our best forwards is out injured, he takes Hendo out of the forward line as well. WE HAD NO ONE to kick to FFS, Hendo was doing good, he took some marks early on and looked lively up there WHY you would move him to defence is beyond me. Says because Petrie kicked 4 goals in the first quarter, lol Watson and Yarran were on him at one stage of course he's gonna kick goals on them, get the defenders to support each other ffs don't take our only lively key forward and put him back.

What a mess this game was, these players are in it for themselves mate trust me, they didn't like getting belted in the media so they responded to that, but once the media went quiet on them a bit, they didn't play with any desire or respect for the jumper or their coach.

Hmm, check, check, check......congrats for a great post that is 100% accurate.

Excellent post, sez it all.:thumbsu:

:thumbsdown: Stopped reading when I got to here. Holy cow he grabbed a guys arm and called for holding the ball - would seem our board has as many pansies as the Main board has talll poppy haters. You guys might be better off attending the -

atdw_landscape__tvic_bergonia.jpg

Genuinely surprised a fight didn't break out where I was standing behind the Carlton cheer squad. For a team that was 60 points up, Norf supporters really cannot take any criticism or banter :confused:.

Kills me to see Judd try his heart out to get the team over the line like he did last night and no one stand up and support him. When he kicked that third goal and we were only 18 points down, EVERYONE should have gotten around him. EVERY player should have lifted. Regardless of the umpiring we should be a good enough team to overcome it. This is the same team that just last year lost in a semi-final in Perth by 3 points, with key players out, and down 7 free kicks.

This and the majority of your post is just emotional ranting and crap that you're making up to vent.

What makes Jetta and Talia the players we were supposed to get?

I believe Rendell was interested in Lucas with Phil Davis slotted in as a 200 game KPD beside Bock and Rutten.

Pathetic to rant that we wasted a pick on Lucas "who has shown nothing". How quickly we forget. Kane had a very promising start to 2010 before he was struck down by two hamstring tears. IIRC, Ratten said just a week or two ago that Kane had done well to get up for a VFL game after a hamstring injury. Lucas will be a fine player once he clicks again. Showed poise under pressure after he fended off a defender in a pack and released it to a teammate.

Norf were good, but not the world beaters that the flogs on triple MMM reckon. On the flip side we weren't that bad either. Take away half the umpire gifts to them and we would have been right in it.

What a perfect post. Completely agree. Well said Tank.

My god, the 'bad' turnover really hurts us sometimes. The umpiring was certainly rubbish, but nothing deflates the whole side like skill error when we're all on the spread.

Last night was the final nail in our 2012 coffin. If our season was not already done then it is now. I know mathematically we can still make it but we won't. Our confidence is completely shot. Judd was superb (apart from the obvious brain fade), Joseph and Robbo tried hard but otherwise not too many positives.

Things could get real ugly now. I'm not going to rant and rave and hurl abuse - its just not worth it. I eagerly await our end of season review and hope like hell that wide spread changes follow.

For those that think sacking the coach will solve all our problems watch a replay of last nights performance. Not suggesting Ratts is the man for 2013 but aside from our coaching we also need to address the playing list, overall attitude and professionalism. It pains me to say it but we are arguably the softest team in the AFL - both physically and mentally.

We need to take a good long hard look at ourselves. I'm a realist. Been watching footy and supporting our club for years and I know how fickle footy can be. I'm not necessarily disappointed that we are not playing finals. But what I am disappointed about is our spiritless effort - injuries or none it doesn't matter.

I think it was G Healy in 2002 that said that our salary cap breaches and subsequent issues would haunt us for 10 years. Fast forward to 2012 and it seems like he may have been right.

We've got too many injuries to be anywhere near our best, and we're spread far too thinly in critical areas. Further, the players we do have, haven't had any continuity. We get two players back this fortnight, and lose four others. Each week our side is a patch-work of players who hardly know each other's names let alone how to knit tightly as a unit. This is how it is, and Ratten or McHale, the result would be the same.

North and Hawthorn were red hot when we met them - it's no insult to be smashed by sides like that when you're struggling.

Certainly the one to Petrie against Henderson in the second quarter. The 50 paid against McInnes in the last was also extremely touchy.

But it's not so much that they weren't there, it's that the interpretations of frees to North's forwards were not paid the same way to everyone else eg the clear push in the back to Gibbs in the goal square for Hansen's (?) mark, Judd held well after he handballed running inside 50
Fair enough. If the 2Q one to Petrie is the one I thought it was, Petrie did seem to exaggerate the interference, plus while the arm did seem to be held, it may have been called 'above the shoulders', although the arm was actually lower. I can't recall the last quarter stuff; too busy enjoying it, sorry. :p

But seriously, thanks for the clarification.

Everything that's been said - but also their accuracy and our lack of - opened up the gap quite a bit too.

I've noticed a few players when taking set shots from pretty much in front seem to run out to the right and hook the ball back a bit instead of running straight in. Murphy did it twice last night that I saw, think Robbo did it last week. Our inability to capitalise/convert is crippling.

I was unsure as to which thread to post this in as the Judd one was locked, and feel free to delete this post mods, but I was watching over the Judd incident, and as stupid as it was, I felt that Judd lifted his arm up and was holding it, therefore Leigh couldn't make an attempt to get the ball out, and when the North players came in and pushed Judd back, that was when Leigh's arm was pulled out, Judd didn't seem to pull it out of the socket. That was just my interpretation.
It was a stupid thing to do, yes, but I didn't think Judd pulled it up out of the socket until he was pushed out of the contest.
I know this is the rant thread, but I just wanted to know what people's thoughts were on how the incident actually played out.

ok i was there last night and watson is not the answer mcarthy must be really bad if he cant get a game,watson cant read the game just lumbers aroung aimless and way too slow jamison is shadow of early last year garlett is a shadow as well

Sadly have to agree re Watson. Too slow. Won't make it at AFL level. Jamo's shoulders are cactus. We can't be relying on him to hold up the backline. On a positive note Hendo is getting better at both ends of the ground. Forwards backs midfielders we have gaping holes everywhere so it's imperative we daft the best available talent.

Last night was the final nail in our 2012 coffin. If our season was not already done then it is now. I know mathematically we can still make it but we won't. Our confidence is completely shot. Judd was superb (apart from the obvious brain fade), Joseph and Robbo tried hard but otherwise not too many positives.

Things could get real ugly now. I'm not going to rant and rave and hurl abuse - its just not worth it. I eagerly await our end of season review and hope like hell that wide spread changes follow.

For those that think sacking the coach will solve all our problems watch a replay of last nights performance. Not suggesting Ratts is the man for 2013 but aside from our coaching we also need to address the playing list, overall attitude and professionalism. It pains me to say it but we are arguably the softest team in the AFL - both physically and mentally.

We need to take a good long hard look at ourselves. I'm a realist. Been watching footy and supporting our club for years and I know how fickle footy can be. I'm not necessarily disappointed that we are not playing finals. But what I am disappointed about is our spiritless effort - injuries or none it doesn't matter.

I think it was G Healy in 2002 that said that our salary cap breaches and subsequent issues would haunt us for 10 years. Fast forward to 2012 and it seems like he may have been right.
Healy (and Robbo) picked us to be Premiers :(

Umpiring was bad and their accuracy and efficiency inside 50 was freakish and we were down a crucial player inside 5 mins as usual but it was our skill errors that killed us. At best insipid and at worst appalling.

I've avoided facing this fact: we are not a very good side at the moment. What we thought was development on the way to bigger things last year in most players was actually a form peak. And there is no avoiding that we have about a dozen "worst four" players in our best 22.

Finals chance has gone. So, I am sorry to say, is Ratts.

Sadly have to agree re Watson. Too slow. Won't make it at AFL level. quote]

Harsh on a second year 196cm KPP who has played a handful of games and only just turned 20. I think Watson has looked pretty good since he came in, makes a few mistakes but often looks remarkable calm under pressure and some of his long kicking has been a joy to watch. He's not the quickest but if I remember right, his pre-draft sprint results were pretty quick.

Don't get me wrong, he has plenty to work on, particularly his one on one body work but so do most young KPPs. When analysing his form keep in mind the form and setup of our backline - Jamieson out of form, no Laidler or Henderson (past couple of games) and the ball being pumped in quick and often.

Magdalena said: Sadly have to agree re Watson. Too slow. Won't make it at AFL level. quote]

Harsh on a second year 196cm KPP who has played a handful of games and only just turned 20. I think Watson has looked pretty good since he came in, makes a few mistakes but often looks remarkable calm under pressure and some of his long kicking has been a joy to watch. He's not the quickest but if I remember right, his pre-draft sprint results were pretty quick.

Don't get me wrong, he has plenty to work on, particularly his one on one body work but so do most young KPPs. When analysing his form keep in mind the form and setup of our backline - Jamieson out of form, no Laidler or Henderson (past couple of games) and the ball being pumped in quick and often.

I haven't read this entire thread so I'm sure I am covering old ground but my biggest annoyance on the night was leaving Duigan in the forward line when our backline had already lost Zac and was being sliced and diced. He had less than no influence all night, in fact they exposed him and ran off him, yet the switch never came. Why the hell not????? You can not tell me that he was not needed in defence, or that he wouldn't have done a lot of good. Dumb dumb dumb and dumber. A coaching masterstroke last week but a blunder of monumental proportions this week.

Last vent is regarding Kreuzer. Six disposals no marks no tackles. People have been saying that he is a ruck and rover. Last night he was neither.