Unofficial Preview Round 20, 2025 v Suns @ Carrara, July 26th 1.20pm.

• Thread starter Thread starter M Malice

Brisbane Lions
Valleys. Chelsea.
Huge Q Clash, top 4-2 spot could be on the line.

The Big O showed enough in his 2nd game back to get a full game as the prime ruck with Sam Day as back up.

Would love to give Sam Marshall a full game but there is just no one to take out for him, I would have said Levi but he looks to have improved his output since the bye.

Outs- Darcy Fort, Bruce Reville.

Ins- Sam Day, Zac Bailey. Sub- Sam Marshall.

If by any chance Zorko's foot is worse than first thought I would bring in Luke Beecken... unless Kiddy has a really good game and is running on top of the ground in todays VFL v the Bulldogs at BHA.

If Zorko can't play, he could be a joint boundary rider with Touk.
I reckon post career Zork's and Touk would be great mates, similar characters.

They could take over from Mark Ricciuto and Matthew Lloyd in the footy media:D.

In: Bailey, Doedee
Out: Marshall, Gardiner
Sub: Reville

If Doedee is as good as people say, now is the time to play him. Five important games before Finals to really get him tuned up.

We know what we are getting with Gardiner, so it is worth rolling the dice now.

I’d consider resting Zorko and giving Kiddy a game. I don’t think anyone should be dropped, I think we need to give Gardiner another game and let the backline sync with each other, they are really our biggest question mark after losing two key players for the year there. I also realise that is contrary to resting Zorko but he is so important for us, we need him right for finals.

I would keep Marshall in and drop Reville.
Fort is more use than Day but that is faint praise. Hopefully Oscar continues to improve. He could have kicked two.
What would be great is a packed house. The Suns and the Giants have to start to generate some income. The worst thing that happened last year was the dismal crowd at our final against the Giants.
I an starting to doubt the Giants financially

Zorks definitely could do with a rest I think. I do think they’ll err a bit more with Kiddy this time, although if he plays well today and gets through they might consider it. Ideally I’m giving those two the last month of the season together to try and bed down how that’ll all work.

Other than that it’s probably just Bailey in and Bruce/Marshall out. Personally I’d like to see Marshall get a run, but it makes the sub call hard to make and Bruce has shown he is a good sub so they might just stick with that.

Oh and if Day is right I’m bringing him back in against the old mob too. Oscar was better last night, so if he pulls up ok I’m leaving Fort out.

I would keep Marshall in and drop Reville.
Fort is more use than Day but that is faint praise. Hopefully Oscar continues to improve. He could have kicked two.
What would be great is a packed house. The Suns and the Giants have to start to generate some income. The worst thing that happened last year was the dismal crowd at our final against the Giants.
I an starting to doubt the Giants financially
IMO on this seasons showings Sam Day is far better than Darcy Fort at halving aerial contests thus bringing other players into the game, plus he does a serviceable job in the 20% ruck role.

Zorks definitely could do with a rest I think. I do think they’ll err a bit more with Kiddy this time, although if he plays well today and gets through they might consider it. Ideally I’m giving those two the last month of the season together to try and bed down how that’ll all work.

Other than that it’s probably just Bailey in and Bruce/Marshall out. Personally I’d like to see Marshall get a run, but it makes the sub call hard to make and Bruce has shown he is a good sub so they might just stick with that.

Oh and if Day is right I’m bringing him back in against the old mob too. Oscar was better last night, so if he pulls up ok I’m leaving Fort out.

Kiddy was 60% tog last week. He looks weeks away from being considered.

Putting to one side how critical he is for our style. Zorks is trying to get to 300, which he will get so unless there is a reason I doubt he gets rested.

Yep that diving spoil from Gardiner was great just needs to work on the brain fades

If Doedee is as good as people say, now is the time to play him. Five important games before Finals to really get him tuned up.

Doedee not ready. In fact, cant really see Tom play senior footy this year. Gardner is the man 100%.

We should all be cheering for Gardiner to get the chance at a flag. He was there when we were defending 70+ entries a game. He will be different to what Payne gave us but we are lucky to have someone of his experience to turn to.

Huge Q Clash, top 4-2 spot could be on the line.

The Big O showed enough in his 2nd game back to get a full game as the prime ruck with Sam Day as back up.

Would love to give Sam Marshall a full game but there is just no one to take out for him, I would have said Levi but he looks to have improved his output since the bye.

Outs- Darcy Fort, Bruce Reville.

Ins- Sam Day, Zac Bailey. Sub- Sam Marshall.

If by any chance Zorko's foot is worse than first thought I would bring in Luke Beecken... unless Kiddy has a really good game and is running on top of the ground in todays VFL v the Bulldogs at BHA.
Agree with Reville despite all the hype he is only averaging 10 possessions as a 24 year oldmid which really shouldn’t be putting him above other guys like Robertson etc. Also they may want to revisit the Bruuuce chant as it sounds like boos to those don’t know on TV which is not a great look

I think that’s kind of the point

We should all be cheering for Gardiner to get the chance at a flag. He was there when we were defending 70+ entries a game. He will be different to what Payne gave us but we are lucky to have someone of his experience to turn to.
100% agree. To quote 3KZ’z hero last night, “he has been our battering ram from the day he was drafted.” He deserves every bit of success coming his way…hopefully thats a premiership. Any bagging of Dizzy is just wrong and comes from some that know little about the game in my opinion.

If you re-sign Hinkley we will be agreeable to all of the above

Nah disagree. Please leave Gardiner alone so he can find some form in defense. We drop him again and muck around with him sending him forward etc we'll get to finals without a proper second tall defender.

On Crunchtime today Adam Simpson was talking about what playing a rebuilding team was like (in the context of Essendon's issues), and he referenced a game where the eagles played a team that celebrated scoring 100 points... when the eagles scored 160.

He said "I won't say which team it was" but I KNEW STRAIGHT AWAY SIMMO:

1752893063845.png

Anyway Harris and Dizzy are the only 2 players left who played in that game (assume Zork was injured and froggy was in the NEAFL team).

On Crunchtime today Adam Simpson was talking about what playing a rebuilding team was like (in the context of Essendon's issues), and he referenced a game where the eagles played a team that celebrated scoring 100 points... when the eagles scored 160.

He said "I won't say which team it was" but I KNEW STRAIGHT AWAY SIMMO:

View attachment 2371654

Anyway Harris and Dizzy are the only 2 players left who played in that game (assume Zork was injured and froggy was in the NEAFL team).

Never forget

We averaged 130 points against per game that season. We deserve every rort we've ever got just for that alone.

Live at games you could see 4 or 5 possessions ahead that we would be about to turn it over and the oppo were setup for a quick kick over the back of the defence and a goal lol

Hard to think of a worse fit than that list and Leppa's approach to man management, lol.