Review Round 21, 2025 - Collingwood vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against Collingwood?

I'm a big Hippy supporter. He does frustrate me at times, particularly his random kicking for goals but he is a team player who is worth is weight in gold.. no make that silver. The face book nuffies hate him cos most of them have no real idea about how footy should be played.

Plus they took him not turning into a 60 goal a year forward personally because they are self entitled keyboard warriors

Might also be a bit susceptible below his knees something that Hippy doesn't get much credit for. I think Smith has surpassed Day.
I think Smith was always planned to surpass Day. Day was brought in as a stopgap/fallback while Smith got over his offseason surgery. Then Smith got messed up by the VFL fixture, concussion, then foot injury.

Hopefully he plays well enough to hold his spot over the next 3 games.

Edit: and if he does, hopefully it makes things a bit easier for Oscar to retire - knowing he’s leaving the club at the right time when the anointed successor is able to step into the role.

Smith's problem is his injury issues, however, what if he somehow hits the ground running this year? With us going after Allen and Draper, it would create a bit of a situation. Especially with Hipwood as well. Also, i just don't see how Oscar can come back into this side this year. It's unfortunate to say. You can't drop Fort, because Fort is obviously the better Ruckman, and dropping Smith after the collingwood performance would be unforgivable.

Made some high quality gifs ;) of my favourite defensive moments.

View attachment 2384606
That drag down tackle on Naicos was awesome… but how that wasn’t called out of bounds is unbelievable. The handball was from the first row of the Shane Warne stand. We could see it was out, and we were sitting in the bottom deck on the opposite wing!

It looks like last night's game was the highest H & A attendance for the Brisbane Lions
It should have been a great experience for any BF poster that attended.

Last night the attendance was 82,326 beating the previous best v Tigers in 2019 by 5,331
A great experience for the players that have not played in a finals series with big crowds.

View attachment 2384872

View attachment 2384880
It was awesome waving farewell to the pies fans who started walking up the aisles when Bailey iced the match. It will never make up for our 2023 loss which I attended, but put to bed the ghosts of our 2024 1 point loss.

When the pies got a bit of a run-on in the second, the elevated roar of the crowd after each goal is quite amazing… but not as amazing basking in the glory from about the 20 minute mark of the 4th quarter!

How annoying are the commentators. "Oooh Collingwood's pressure has gone up, Lions can't get it out of their D50, oooh" - yeah maybe because Lester's HIA means we have to adjust? And now half our starting D isn't playing? Maybe??? Idiots. I just watched the GF again and Lester & Answerth (& to a lesser extent Payne) were sooooo good.
This has been entertaining from the SEN Collingwood flogs this morning…
“Nothing to worry about - I’d like to see how any other team copes without their key backs (Howe and Frampton)”.
Take a look at your opponents from Saturday Pies fans - no Payne, no Answerth.

We’ve got depth, and players who can come in and play the role.

I rewatched the game today and read the game day thread while watching and honestly couldn’t believe the Hipoy hate.

Not saying I’ve never criticised him but I don’t understand what people are expecting or importantly if you were dropping him, not saying who for; Brandon Ryan?!?! Someone else. Someone please tell me.

Sure he had a couple of moments he’d like back but I reckon you could’ve said that about every player.

Anyway, I thought he was ok and was valuable in dragging his opponent out of the area that allowed Morris and Smith to flourish. Hippy is also going to be such a handful next year when he’s getting like the 3rd or 4th opponents best defender when OA, Logan and Smith / Draper are resting fwd.
Hippy was really fumbly in the first half, missed his one shot at goal, and his confidence is obviously shot so tried to pass of his second.
All that said, he competed hard, took some telling marks - and as he takes a defender. He did some great work and provides a 2-meter target.

I would love for him to come out in finals and have “one of those games” where he’s just on.

He’s not kicking goals (which everyone expects) but I’m not dropping him.

This has been entertaining from the SEN Collingwood flogs this morning…
“Nothing to worry about - I’d like to see how any other team copes without their key backs (Howe and Frampton)”.
Take a look at your opponents from Saturday Pies fans - no Payne, no Answerth.

We’ve got depth, and players who can come in and play the role.

Not to mention Lester going down mid match. We're also missing Coleman off half back as well. Arguably 4 of our best defensive 7 out.

That drag down tackle on Naicos was awesome… but how that wasn’t called out of bounds is unbelievable. The handball was from the first row of the Shane Warne stand. We could see it was out, and we were sitting in the bottom deck on the opposite wing!
I'm pretty sure he just threw it with his left hand, don think he made any contact with his right.

4 times this year we have been underdogs.

Now 3 wins and an ashes-style 'moral victory' against Adelaide.

THE GOOD

Coaching - superb approach to Daicos. Combination of some stoppage minding and Bez on the wing, plus a team mentality of swarming him. He is a freak of a player but when you close him down he will panic. To limit his influence but not disrupt our midfield was a perfect balance. I think our coaching is at its best level this year. We also seemed to have a perfect level of forward press - players behind their opponents, but close enough to spoil on transition. Fort seemed to do this again and again

Pressure - at one point in the third the Pies were going above 200. And we were 258! A clear whole side mentality. And that Dunkley tackle. I thought it was Usain Bolt! I know Dunks is quicker than he seems but had no idea he could get that pace. And to collar someone going that fast is so hard. He is our most important player. Interesting that in an era of disposal being key a bloke with his balldrop can be so effective.

Resilience - in that second quarter i thought we are going to get swallowed up here. We slowed it down. Didn't panic. Kicked one on the rebound. And then that Elliott goal in the last - other lions sides would have lost. We cooly slotted the next 2 and iced the game

Vic fans - sorry but they are just the best (ex vic so perhaps biased). Was sitting in a mainly collingwood area but whenever we had a big tackle or goal we all just stood up going boonta, turning to each other as strangers, delight on our faces, bringing the energy. Collingwood fans didn't really heckle us as we weren't sledging the pies or complaining about frees - just enjoying the show

Smith - only had 5 touches. But competed well. And when we had the yips early he settled us. That is not to be underestimated with this team. We looked on track for a behind night but ended up with 14.8.

Andrew - just owned them.

Too many other to mention; clugga, Gardiner fought back well, Bruce steadied after looking shaky, Fletcher just a star, Levi doing some good tough work...

THE BAD

Lester out - just hate how many HIA we are getting, hoping he is fine for his own sake and also our defence!

THE UGLY

Payne being out - to me this game highlighted that when a team doesn't have more than one threatening key forward we look excellent (Cats, Pies for example) but with no Payne we are going to struggle to beat Adelaide and GWS. We might be able to dodge GWS given ladder at the moment. Not so the crows.

4 times this year we have been underdogs.

Now 3 wins and an ashes-style 'moral victory' against Adelaide.

THE GOOD

Coaching - superb approach to Daicos. Combination of some stoppage minding and Bez on the wing, plus a team mentality of swarming him. He is a freak of a player but when you close him down he will panic. To limit his influence but not disrupt our midfield was a perfect balance. I think our coaching is at its best level this year. We also seemed to have a perfect level of forward press - players behind their opponents, but close enough to spoil on transition. Fort seemed to do this again and again

Pressure - at one point in the third the Pies were going above 200. And we were 258! A clear whole side mentality. And that Dunkley tackle. I thought it was Usain Bolt! I know Dunks is quicker than he seems but had no idea he could get that pace. And to collar someone going that fast is so hard. He is our most important player. Interesting that in an era of disposal being key a bloke with his balldrop can be so effective.

Resilience - in that second quarter i thought we are going to get swallowed up here. We slowed it down. Didn't panic. Kicked one on the rebound. And then that Elliott goal in the last - other lions sides would have lost. We cooly slotted the next 2 and iced the game

Vic fans - sorry but they are just the best (ex vic so perhaps biased). Was sitting in a mainly collingwood area but whenever we had a big tackle or goal we all just stood up going boonta, turning to each other as strangers, delight on our faces, bringing the energy. Collingwood fans didn't really heckle us as we weren't sledging the pies or complaining about frees - just enjoying the show

Smith - only had 5 touches. But competed well. And when we had the yips early he settled us. That is not to be underestimated with this team. We looked on track for a behind night but ended up with 14.8.

Andrew - just owned them.

Too many other to mention; clugga, Gardiner fought back well, Bruce steadied after looking shaky, Fletcher just a star, Levi doing some good tough work...

THE BAD

Lester out - just hate how many HIA we are getting, hoping he is fine for his own sake and also our defence!

THE UGLY

Payne being out - to me this game highlighted that when a team doesn't have more than one threatening key forward we look excellent (Cats, Pies for example) but with no Payne we are going to struggle to beat Adelaide and GWS. We might be able to dodge GWS given ladder at the moment. Not so the crows.
No Payne or Answerth against the Crows looks a bit of a scary proposition but it all gets back to our midfield doing what they were able to do on Saturday.

And kicking straight. Unlike the last time we played them.

No Payne or Answerth against the Crows looks a bit of a scary proposition but it all gets back to our midfield doing what they were able to do on Saturday.

We can beat them.

And their weakness is probably still their midfield.

But if it's a close game and the midfield battle is even, i would be worried their attack would be more potent.

Adelaide might be a team we can only beat when we have a clear advantage in inside 50s?

If henry's game this week was his base level i'd consider swinging eric back if the crows or gws forwards get a hold on us.

tough call but he went ok when he went back last year, does a good job of spoiling a contest so the smalls can compete.

And Charlie has been mentoring the kids so we still have an older head able to direct play. Plus can parked Cam in the forward line. And morris is already tactically smart.

We can beat them.

And their weakness is probably still their midfield.

But if it's a close game and the midfield battle is even, i would be worried their attack would be more potent.

Adelaide might be a team we can only beat when we have a clear advantage in inside 50s?
A big advantage Adelaide have is that their 3 key forwards are all great kicks. And Fogarty is lethal. So if they get the ball in there more often or at least as much as the opposition they very likely win.

If henry's game this week was his base level i'd consider swinging eric back if the crows or gws forwards get a hold on us.

tough call but he went ok when he went back last year, does a good job of spoiling a contest so the smalls can compete.

And Charlie has been mentoring the kids so we still have an older head able to direct play. Plus can parked Cam in the forward line. And morris is already tactically smart.

Henry had a real nice game but he had 5 disposals.

The Crows missing ingredient come finals will be their lack of finals experience, very rare for a team to win a GF off the back of almost no finals experience.

They look like finishing in the top 2, could definitely see them winning 2 home finals and getting to the GF then getting stage fright similar to the infamous Power Range stance game... leading to another 10 goal GF win to the Lions.

Henry had a real nice game but he had 5 disposals.
Can I say this without getting a crapload back. If he hadn't kicked straight we'd be having a whole different conversation. And he got very tired in the back half of the game. It's understandable given his prep.

But I didn't think his game was any great shakes except he kicked 3 times as many goals as Day has ever kicked.

Can I say this without getting a crapload back. If he hadn't kicked straight we'd be having a whole different conversation. And he got very tired in the back half of the game. It's understandable given his prep.

But I didn't think his game was any great shakes except he kicked 3 times as many goals as Day has ever kicked.

I hope not

He finished well and popped up in the right spot but it wasnt like he was taking big marks or anything

My biggest concern was his rucking was terrible. I was hoping he was developing into a potential number 1 ruck but his rucking looked a long way off. Would almost prefer Day for rucking

Rapt for him to kick 3 but I was a little disappointed with his overall performance

I hope not

He finished well and popped up in the right spot but it wasnt like he was taking big marks or anything

My biggest concern was his rucking was terrible. I was hoping he was developing into a potential number 1 ruck but his rucking looked a long way off. Would almost prefer Day for rucking

Rapt for him to kick 3 but I was a little disappointed with his overall performance

He was good at contesting up the line which is what I want from that role. The goals are a bonus. we know he can find the footy in the VFL and it is worth persisting with him for a few weeks to see if he can improve his fitness at AFL intensity.

Day was offering the occassional mark on lead from 50-65m out which helped - but has that wrist injury now.

Review Round 21, 2025 - Collingwood vs. Brisbane Lions