Round 22 vs Dees - Tivva's Farewell - merged thread

• Thread starter Thread starter cormick

Re: Round 22 vs Dees - Tivva's Farewell

Playing Tivendale because its his last game, is totally wrong especially when it looks extremely likely that it will be at the expense of a young player who should be around the club for a long time. :thumbsd::thumbsd:

Maybe someone considered it important that the young blokes who are gonna be round the club for quite a few years get to see that the Richmond Football Club respects those who serve it. Particualrly so when the game is a dead rubber against a VFL standard side which would be of little if any benefit to someone starting their career. Tiv was far from my favourite player but he is a life member of my footy club and that deserves a send off. Let the kids strive to play 150 in the hope of getting exactly the same treatment and learn why the word "club" appears at the end of our name.

Congratulations on your career Greg - off the rookie list to become a life member of the club, fine achievement.

Some of the goals you kicked in your prime were rippers. The way you have conducted yourself this season is credit to yourself and is a fine example for the younger players at the club on how to deal with setbacks.

This quote of yours sum it up prefectly.

“I’d like to think that people would think of me as a good servant of the Richmond Football Club and a good quality player that has done his best for Richmond,” Tivendale said.

Maybe a Liston this year - kick ass in the finals for the burgers :thumbsu:

Re: Tivendale Gone...It's Official!

Always loved him. Still love him. Perhaps a bit of left footer bias !!! :D

An era (for me comes to an end).
Do I create myself a new identity now or what ?:confused:

Maybe someone considered it important that the young blokes who are gonna be round the club for quite a few years get to see that the Richmond Football Club respects those who serve it. Particualrly so when the game is a dead rubber against a VFL standard side which would be of little if any benefit to someone starting their career. Tiv was far from my favourite player but he is a life member of my footy club and that deserves a send off. Let the kids strive to play 150 in the hope of getting exactly the same treatment and learn why the word "club" appears at the end of our name.

Ahh TT , a sage old head like yours is what is needed around here at times :thumbsu:

RECORDS and Roostertalk will sobbing in the skinny latte's this morning. Their little lovefest on Tivvo will finally be coming to end.

Although, its not official, but they have quietly been seen "cheating" on Tivvo over the past 12-18 months with another South-Eastern born boy that might be in our leadership group. Goes by the name Chris Newman.

The lovefest will continue boys... they have been courting Newy secretly behind Tivvo's back for a while now.

;)

Congratulations on your career Greg - off the rookie list to become a life member of the club, fine achievement.

Some of the goals you kicked in your prime were rippers. The way you have conducted yourself this season is credit to yourself and is a fine example for the youger players attyhye clunb on how to deal with setbacks.

This quote of yours sum it up prefectly.

“I’d like to think that people would think of me as a good servant of the Richmond Football Club and a good quality player that has done his best for Richmond,” Tivendale said.

Maybe a Liston this year - kick ass in the finals for the burgers :thumbsu:
Thanks Peej :thumbsu: :)
(In all seriousness, good to see a decent comment).

Yea good luck to him in his future, playing players who are retiring for one last game doesn't sit great with me, especially a club which is supposedly in the middle of rebuilding ??

Yeah but don't tell that to the bunch of sentimental old women that populate this board... you'll give the poor dears the vapours...:eek:

Yea good luck to him in his future, playing players who are retiring for one last game doesn't sit great with me, especially a club which is supposedly in the middle of rebuilding ??
Can I ask how playing Tiv's in the final game of the home and away season that means little effects rebuilding? If he replaces a young kid how is that going to hinder his development, this is the last game for 6+ months. Surely you don't believe a young player missing one game is going to ruin the development of the side?

Yea understand the sentimental side of things, but can't really see Tivendale himself feeling great about being given this token gesture. 150 games at senior is a great effort at any standard, but surely we are looking to the future rather than the past, and from someone who has been a supporter for a long time , I hope the younger players, that are likely to be the ones that make way for him this week, are striving for more team success than he has enjoyed !!!

Why not?

Can I ask how playing Tiv's in the final game of the home and away season that means little effects rebuilding? If he replaces a young kid how is that going to hinder his development, this is the last game for 6+ months. Surely you don't believe a young player missing one game is going to ruin the development of the side?
Well there may well be a couple of scenario's, Rance comes in gets a taste of it and realises that he needs more time in the gym and therefore works harder over the summer.
For more, watch this board if the result doesn't go as expected and I'm sure there will be plenty that will then speak up, to be honest don't have a great feeling about this week.

Greetings Tigger fans just thought I'd post the Melbourne squad for those that might be curious.

B: Matthew Whelan, Nathan Carroll, Daniel Bell
HB: James Frawley, Matthew Warnock, Colin Garland
C: Cameron Bruce, James McDonald, Brad Green
HF: Ricky Petterd, Brad Miller, Simon Buckley
F: Addam Maric, Colin Sylvia, Adem Yze
Foll: Jeff White, Clint Bartram, Nathan Jones
I/C (from): Jack Grimes, Ben Holland, Stefan Martin, Cale Morton, Matthew Newton, Paul Wheatley, Shane Valenti

In: Frawley, Grimes, Maric, Petterd, Valenti, Holland, Carroll
Out: Mark Jamar, Matthew Bate, Lynden Dunn, Austin Wonaeamirri (hamstring)

New: Jack Grimes (Northern Knights)

Felt better when you've worked hard and achieved something or when you have just been given something because you know someone, it's called pride !!!
Tiv has had 30 odd touches each week for the past month at VFL level IIRC, would hardly call that being handed a game. Tivendale has earnt the right to play one last game because, unlike a certain other flog who was overlooked for a younger player last year and promptly retired, Tiv took his demotion from the senior side on the chin and hung around and helped out the kids at Coburg.

:thumbsu:Post of the Year!

Agree 100%.

Tiv has had 30 odd touches each week for the past month at VFL level IIRC, would hardly call that being handed a game. Tivendale has earnt the right to play one last game because, unlike a certain other flog who was overlooked for a younger player last year and promptly retired, Tiv took his demotion from the senior side on the chin and hung around and helped out the kids at Coburg.

And this one wins the Silver Medal!!!

Cotch got the Rising Star nod last time he played the Dees.. See if he can continue his good run against them. (even tho it was only one game) haha

I'd love it if Tivers went to a decent club next year and played well. Obviously we're rebuilding but with his regular Best On's (and most likely Liston Medal) I'd love it if he went elsewhere. Maybe they should introduce a league between AFL and VFL for blokes like him and Prismall. Well Done Tivers.

I too have been a Tiger supporter a day or two, long enough to have seen 5 premierships albeit from Tassie . Its not so much sentimental but more what clubs are made of. Once you begin to ignore the celebration of milestones and peoples efforts blokes simply lose the will to give for the jumper. Once we have an unlimited salary cap and the funds to match thats great, we will just reward good performance in dollars and outbid for all our talent a la the EPL. But, while there isnt one players will need to be recognised in other ways. Weird as it may seem some actually enjoy that and aspire to it.

I want the young guys like Cotchin, Conners, JR, Foley, Edwards to develop a culture of playing for the jumper and giving that extra bit when its all on the line, regardless of whether or not they arer the most skilled or the best in the league but more because of what it means to them Then hopefully they will be able to come to premiership reunions because of the great memories, not because we paid for their flights and accommodation.

We need to be calculating and critical yes I agree but when we have an opportunity to build a concept of "team" I think we shoudl grasp that with both hands. At the end of the day it will be what seperates winners from losers.

Look at the Roos for example. No one does it better than them and they're perenially at the top (or near) of the ladder with (supposedly) no players, no coin, no facilities.........How do they do it ? Some suggest spirit.

Proud to say Tivers is my fav player.

Will be there to clap him off

Thanks Tivers, proudly Yellow & Black :thumbsu:

Tivers is the best delivery of the ball when on his game. Can hit a 50c piece from 30m. Feel for the guy who has been dominating Coburg this season.

Hope you have a blinder mate.

Hope the Tigers lift for you and carry you off after the game with a win.