Foleys Footy
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Richmond
- Other Teams
- Liverpool, Beaumaris
cheers tiv, all the best mate

Reckon it might end up Foley, Cartledge & Connors out with Tivendale, Pattison and Rance coming in.My Predicted Team
B: Chris Newman, Will Thursfield, Kelvin Moore
HB: Jay Schulz, Luke McGuane, Jordan McMahon
C: Matthew Richardson, Shane Tuck, Brett Deledio
HF: Matt White, Joel Bowden, Richard Tambling
F: Shane Edwards, Jack Riewoldt, Trent Cotchin
Foll: Troy Simmonds, Kane Johnson, Nathan Foley
I/C (from): Greg Tivendale, Mitch Morton, Adam Pattison, Daniel Jackson/Connors
Emerg: Dean Polo, Alex Rance, Connors/Jackson
In: Tivendale, Pattison
Out: Tristan Cartledge, Daniel Connors/Jackson but probably Connors...
Edwards has played 6 games this season with Coburg. Magic number to qualify for finals is 7, so he might go around there. Jackson has done enough to stay in. Some reported Foley has been under an injury cloud. Can we do without speed of both Edwards and Foley? Some consideration may be given to Coburg gathering momentum for their Finals charge, which is why I believe Cartledge went back for this week. In summary, In: Tiv, Pattison, Rance. Out: Cartledge, Edwards, FoleyReckon it might end up Foley, Cartledge & Connors out with Tivendale, Pattison and Rance coming in.
I too have been a Tiger supporter a day or two, long enough to have seen 5 premierships albeit from Tassie . Its not so much sentimental but more what clubs are made of. Once you begin to ignore the celebration of milestones and peoples efforts blokes simply lose the will to give for the jumper. Once we have an unlimited salary cap and the funds to match thats great, we will just reward good performance in dollars and outbid for all our talent a la the EPL. But, while there isnt one players will need to be recognised in other ways. Weird as it may seem some actually enjoy that and aspire to it.
I want the young guys like Cotchin, Conners, JR, Foley, Edwards to develop a culture of playing for the jumper and giving that extra bit when its all on the line, regardless of whether or not they arer the most skilled or the best in the league but more because of what it means to them Then hopefully they will be able to come to premiership reunions because of the great memories, not because we paid for their flights and accommodation.
We need to be calculating and critical yes I agree but when we have an opportunity to build a concept of "team" I think we shoudl grasp that with both hands. At the end of the day it will be what seperates winners from losers.
why do we always settle for mediocrity?!?! how many other clubs have farewell games for mediocre players?
It's a nice and respected gesture from our club to give me a farewell game, but really he shouldn't have played for than 100 games for us when it was obvious he would never be able to develop this game any further. Personally, I thought he had the talent to become one of the better players in the afl, but he never really took his game up a notch.
Anyway, congrads tivers.
I love the spirit displayed here, but c'mon, enough misplaced chest beating. If winning this game got us into the eight, there's no way he'd get a run. If we thought he was part of the best 22, he'd have played long before now.
Would love to go back to the posts following the Adelaide game at the MCG. Bet there was almost ZERO defence for the bloke, and probably most of the venom is from the same lot who now want to iron '32' onto the back of the jumper to say farewell.
See it for what it is. A 'nice' sentimental gesture to an OK player in a dead game. Nothing more.
I remember seeing banners displaying "R U T H L E S S T I G E R S" stretched wide across the second level of the old Southern Stand back in the day...seems a lifetime ago.
All this talk about culture, a culture of success is only one that resonates.
A farewell game for Tivendale won't inspire the kids to stay loyal (as an earlier post suggested) anywhere near what a Premiership would.