Autopsy Round 3 Carlton v Geelong Post Mortem

This bloke just clocked up 200 pretty serviceable games with the WB. Played 10 in his first 3 years. No height, no speed, couldn't kick. He made it but not with any help from peanuts like you who sook when young players don't give you a permanent case of the happy pants. Your inability for patience in player development is matched only by your general footy ignorance.

350000-166180980.jpg

Loading up on too many of these type players might just cost them a Premiership one day.......
Would want to make sure that you added some outside spread and finesse to your core of grunts

bet you he could lay a tackle in those first 3 years and he's smaller than Lucas, he should hang around Ellard a bit and learn a thing or too about being able to lay a tackle no matter what size you are

You've just proven my point, you don't need to have any special skills to do the basics and Lucas, at this point in time, stuggles to do the basics. If you have a deficiency in your game that is hurting your team then you should go back to the 2's to work on it. This is the exact reason Duigan and Laidler aren't in the side at the moment is because they need to work on some things (I read Laidler saying that exact thing about himself). Curnow could come into the team and get just as many disposals as Lucas with the same effectiveness and still lay a tackle
Ok so out this week out will be the following players until they work on their deficiencies:

Lucas - Tackling and turnovers
Judd - Kicking skills and defensive skills
Murphy - Defensive skills
Simpson - Kicking, tackling and shaving skills
Robinson - Kicking skills and decision making
Yarran - Set shot skills and hardness
Garlett - Poor over head mark and tackling
Armfield - Kicking skills and decision making
Carrazzo - Tags well but cant run off and create like he used to
Hampson - Kicking, marking, poor ground level ability, tap work and body use
Tuohy - Decision making, doesn't understand the game as well as others
Walker - Kicking skills and flies too often
Gibbs - Tackiling, hardness and not carrying his knee injury too well
Joseph - fumbles too much and poor decision maker
McLean - Too slow and poor defensive skills
Henderson - Defends ok but doesn't take enough marks or runs and creates from behind.
Jamison - Same as Hendo and turns it over at times

Thats quite a few changes, we will just replace them with guys with more or worse issues though.

Judd - Kicking skills
Main board...

Didn't see what the haters were referring to after watching the replay and looking for Judd's infamous turnovers. Only questionable kick was Judd kicking a grubber because he had two opponents right on him and another 10 to 15 metres in front of him. Fanbois turn a blind eye to Ablett running free and kicking straight to two Saints players.

Main board...

Didn't see what the haters were referring to after watching the replay and looking for Judd's infamous turnovers. Only questionable kick was Judd kicking a grubber because he had two opponents right on him and another 10 to 15 metres in front of him. Fanbois turn a blind eye to Ablett running free and kicking straight to two Saints players.
They may be also referring to his shot for goal on the run early in the game which was ordinary also.

They're tosspots if they think there's a perfect player or a player who has perfect games. They ignore Mclean fending off Pendlebury like he was a 100 pound weakling before he got away the handpass. Essendon supporters are the funniest ones. They fap over Heppell, Carlisle, Zaharakis, Dempsey, Crameri and Ryder whilst talking down players they'd love in their side. They deserve to be coached by that idiot Hird.

Laidler is out because he's lacking touch, fitness and confidence.

Duigan is out because he's depth.

Do they play the same positions?

Curnow is super fit like Lucas and a ball magnet, but he doesn't give us any run and carry.

Perhaps we should hear more about Armfield who hasn't been pulling his weight as a role player.

You certainly do like the pretty ones TG - would Armfield be any better if had a shave do you reckon?

But I agree, Lucas is doing ok - he has to get rid of his occasional 'shortstep-itis' a 'skill' which is all too prone to come to the fore under defensive pressure situations - for an outside player, he gets the ball well enough, runs it well enough and is a good set shot - when he doesn't shank them at 45 degrees...if he learns to do a better impersonation of accurate field kicking, and tackle with more conviction - he would wrap up a starting 22 spot in quick time. Lucas needs more time and certainly doesn't need to be compared to players who have different roles and btw - do them better.

Curnow needs to improve disposal by hand and kicking - he has everything else - a huge tank, an ability to play inside and heart to go in hard every time it is required. Duigan is badly out of form for some reason - same with Laidler - do they lack the long kick to boundary capability that Mick insists on from defenders I wonder? Interesting to read that Laidler was put up front for Northern Blues as a forward on Mick's orders.

On that subject, I've heard Menzel performed well in the VFL on the weekend (4 goals). Any chance he'll get a senior call up? Would be terrific to get him to play at Subi on Sat.

We need some class with some decent height in our forward 50. Particularly as the move of Walker behind the ball I think is actually working for us - though I know it was done before 2011 - but his run and ball retention is actually pretty good. He was operating well into the 80 per cent range for disposal efficiency against Geelong which was excellent.

Its been well documented that our fundamental challenge is to reduce how many Inside 50s we concede a game. Our defence at the current is only got 4 players - Jamison, Henderson, Walker and Touhy (then Simo and Scotto playing the rolling back wingman role). I think these four have been good for us.

Our midfield needs to lift defensively. There will be no excuses on Saturday. There will be far more time to get our structures in place at Subi than at Ethiad. Our midfield has been running our of sync for 3 weeks now. When Murphy, Judd and Gibbs fired together during the first half against the Pies we looked really dangerous. We need to get those 3 in particular to play strong football togther. If we can get that to happen, we will start getting the 4 points on a far more regular basis.

Loading up on too many of these type players might just cost them a Premiership one day.......
Would want to make sure that you added some outside spread and finesse to your core of grunts
Sydney do alright with Kennedy, Jack, O'Keefe, McVeigh, Hannebery, Bolton and Parker with only Jetta and Malceski as strictly outside types. It's all about contested ball in the finals.

Laidler is out because he's lacking touch, fitness and confidence.

Duigan is out because he's depth.

Do they play the same positions?

Curnow is super fit like Lucas and a ball magnet, but he doesn't give us any run and carry.

Perhaps we should hear more about Armfield who hasn't been pulling his weight as a role player.
Yeah is Armfield doing that negating role on speedsters this year?

Haven't noticed him doing it much and certainly not effectively. Doesn't offer enough offensively to play as a wing/half forward so if we're not using him in the shut down role (Malthouse doesn't play many negating roles) he probably should return to the back pocket and bring in another midfielder

Sydney do alright with Kennedy, Jack, O'Keefe, McVeigh, Hannebery, Bolton and Parker with only Jetta and Malceski as strictly outside types. It's all about contested ball in the finals.
Did I hear on the weekend Josh Kennedy (SS) is roughly the same size and weight as Big Nick was? Can that be?

Yeah is Armfield doing that negating role on speedsters this year?

Haven't noticed him doing it much and certainly not effectively. Doesn't offer enough offensively to play as a wing/half forward so if we're not using him in the shut down role (Malthouse doesn't play many negating roles) he probably should return to the back pocket and bring in another midfielder
Made a couple of decent tackles in NAB Cup game I seem to recall ..