Round 3 vs Crowbots: the Good, the Bad & the Fugly

To be fair... you guys have some real talent coming through... trengove is so instinctive, rarely hesitates... which is such a great attribute to have. Grimes, very good. Last year we would have still beaten you with 18 men... this year you managed to expose our bench... though it did take until the last few minutes. We were so on the ropes it was sad.

The Good:

Trengove = Hird
The passion of the crowd
Improved effort from Bater and good signs from Dunn barring a few errors
Beamers near brilliant goal
The captains game
Bennells performance
Frawley = Scarlett

The Bad:
One goal in a half
Adelaides injuries (Yes I do sympathise, when you consider the injuries we have put up with)
Wasteful inside 50

The Ugly:
Who cares when you win :)

Comrades, hopefully there will be more material in the first category than the latter two today.

Good

We won
Our backline
Our tackling
Our pressure
Our run
Our supporters
Brad Green, thanks for giving my Daughter a footy after the game.

Bad

Injury to Crow player, unfortunate
Umpiring
Thompson you Judas

Ugly

Love Garland but had his pants pulled down by Burton, very under done.

Michael Newton. He is not up to scratch. It's time for him to be dropped. That dropped mark in the last quarter was dreadful. Could have stood up and won the game.

Famous last words.....

I'm not particularly confident about today. Have an eerie feeling that we're going to get smashed. :thumbsdown:
Humble pie has never tasted so good.

Good

That indescribable feeling of winning a match of football.
The crowd were amazing today. Really got behind the boys.
Grimes, Trengove, Green, Bate and even Juice wasn't half bad.

Bad - Our finishing was awful today. Really thought we cooked our goose with our wastefulness in the last quarter. My heart sank when Dunn made that mistake.

Fugly - The little ****s behind me who would not shut the **** up about their school, parties, friends, ex-friends, boyfriends etc. Had to shift very, very far away at half time.

Dangerfields injury. I like this kid a lot so I hope he's ok.

Frawley & Grimes - unbelievable. I go to the footy to watch these two. Grimes just backs himself to mark the ball and does so 90%+ of the time. Also very composed. Always has time and uses it wisely. Chippa Frawley is super competitive. In particular an awesome spoil right in the pocket against Burton. He was way out of position, a good kick to Burton and still got a fist in there. Kicking technique looks ordinary, but is damn effective - we even have him kicking out!!

We need to hit up the lead up forwards more often - like in the last quarter. Bate, Dunn, Petterd, Green are all good targets capable of kicking a goal, just need to drop the eyes for the 20m pass.

Awesome crowd noise!

Have to say the biggest good for me today is:

The amount of times Melbourne have been the best team on the ground and never got the win, finally today when everything was put in too place for us too win we did. Adelaide will moan and complain that they lost 4 players and i sympathise but over the years we've had so many opportunities on a platter and found ways to lose.
Today i hope changes that, we've taught players today how to close out a game.

Demon Dynasty begins

Cormades:

THE GOOD
  • Not many West Horsham bogans were in the crowd.
  • The backline clicked together. They set up this win. In the last quarter, they were a veritable Rock of Gibraltar. Hate to say it, but Rivers was almost superfluous today.
  • Great to see Garland back. Don't care if he had his colours slightly lowered by Burton (who has plagued us for years).
  • How many Blueys will Grimes win by the end of his career?
  • I always love it when the Master goes the pump after a goal.
  • Bennell - not the best kick in front of goal but gees he more than redeemed himself after last week.
  • Will someone please put another contract in front of the Russian?
  • Scully and Trengove. Richmond can keep Martin, good as he is.
  • Macca, it has to be said, was terrific today.
THE BAD
  • Our forward line was mediocre at best today. How often did we bring the ball out of defence, only to find there was no focal point? It would be easy to mention Newton at this point, but it was not a day for C-grade forwards, what with the swirly conditions.
THE FUGLY
  • The injury to Dangerfield. I really hope he gets better soon, with a speedy return to football. Unmalicious though it was, god it looked bad.
  • Neil Craig's yellow teeth. I saw him up close today. Surely no-name toothpaste is a common enough commodity in West Horsham?

THE GOOD:
Jonesy boy kicked the sealer

The Bad:
Brent moloney missing what would have been goal of the year.

The Fugly:
L.Dunn, C.Bruce, Joel.Macdonald. M.Bate (First half)

THE GOOD:
Jonesy boy kicked the sealer

The Bad:
Brent moloney missing what would have been goal of the year.

The Fugly:
L.Dunn, C.Bruce, Joel.Macdonald. M.Bate (First half)

Surely you kid? Bruce and JM were part of an outstanding backline today, Dunn burnt in the 2nd half and Bate will be in trouble when Jurruh, Watts, Tappscott and Miller are in the side.

Joel Macdonald is very overated, yer he took some good marks but his decision making skill are of a junior standard. Cameron Bruce wasnt good. Missed crucial goals that were needed to be kicked agian decision making is not very good. I eould argue he hasnt improved since his 1st and 2nd season. L.Dunn, gee he played terrible, needs to learn to run back after he takes a mark before he kicks the ball. If we want to win a premiership anytime soon there is no way he can be in our side.

All class :)

OK hang on... "0 sympathy" meant towards Adelaide as a whole, not the specific players - as in, i don't care if we only won because you had no bench, we still won. Sounds like Danger's injury was nasty (hence under the 'Ugly' column and not 'Good'). I feel for the bloke (and the others), hope it's not too bad... looks a top-class player, and he's in my dream team.

Joel Macdonald is very overated, yer he took some good marks but his decision making skill are of a junior standard. Cameron Bruce wasnt good. Missed crucial goals that were needed to be kicked agian decision making is not very good. I eould argue he hasnt improved since his 1st and 2nd season. L.Dunn, gee he played terrible, needs to learn to run back after he takes a mark before he kicks the ball. If we want to win a premiership anytime soon there is no way he can be in our side.
The thing is though, we aren't going to win a premiership any time soon. We need more scrappy, hard wins as a team like today so that the side can build a winning culture. Rome wasn't built in a day. :thumbsu:

This post is just so far wrong. Bruce and MacDonald both struggled on Burton, they weren't the first and won't be the last. Luckily we have adept shut down defenders in Frawley and Garland. After that the only thing Bruce did wrong was a missed tackle on T. Walker and a missed goal. He has a high ball drop, it sucks, play him in windy conditions and he'll miss goals, but it's been there for 10 years, get over it. MacDonald took the game on and thought was very decent for us.

Dunn had that brain fade of monumental proportions, but really he presented all day (as witnessed by his 10 marks) and chased well. I too will be surprised if he plays in a premiership but he is doing his job well in the side, to label him fugly is down right ignorant.

The Good

- Winning for Jim
- 4 points
- A mix of old and new standing up
- Our use of the #1 Pre-season draft pick
- Dean Bailey, has got the teams tackling and intensity where it needs to be and should be applauded for that

The Bad

- The windy conditions not being enough to fully explain our kicking for goal

The Fugly

- Lynden Dunn not being able to think through that situation

- Let's hope Dangerfield is alright

The Good:

The defence. Grimes. Grimes? Grimes!
Trengove's goal.
Junior, Green and Davey all played like they've been around for a while. The young'ns need this.
Pia Miller.
Milne vs Malthouse: let's hope no one wins!

The Bad:

The forward line's kicking.
Bate; he's hecka slow.

Good:
- Bennell's run and carry, and overhead marking, played with great confidence and was great to see him get amongst it
- Davey's boundary line save and give to Bennell to set up Junior's goal
- Grimes Grimes Grimes
- Chip Chip Chip

Bad:
- Someone appears to have shaken Scully's confidence in his kicking, I can't believe he would second guess himself so often as to end up with his often terrifying handball decisions.

Ugly:

-Mercado said it best - gotta feel for the young fellas when they look up and their forward line is next to them instead of fifty metres ahead...
- I like that we move the ball well out of defence but so often there were no targets in the forward line - this has to be something that will get better in the future, we'll get found out horribly by a team with a good defense (I am terrified of the Saints in this regard)

ripper game though, ecstatic when we won. My dad even bought a membership.

Am I the only one who noticed the horrid howling winds at the ground today? Granted the kicking for goal was rubbish, but you could see the wind catching the ball for most shots today, for both teams.

I disagree with Joel Mac, he played well and showed some great leadership in the final term, taking the game on through the centre after JG and chip owned the Adelaide forwards. Dunn needs to be better with his decision making but i like his intensity. Always has a crack.

Am I the only one who noticed the horrid howling winds at the ground today? Granted the kicking for goal was rubbish, but you could see the wind catching the ball for most shots today, for both teams.

I disagree with Joel Mac, he played well and showed some great leadership in the final term, taking the game on through the centre after JG and chip owned the Adelaide forwards. Dunn needs to be better with his decision making but i like his intensity. Always has a crack.

Joel Mac, Grimes, Warnock and Frawley were sensational in the last quarter, not just spoiling and killing the contest but taking marks and launching the rebound

The Ugly: The Melbourne player handling the back of Dangers neck as he gets drilled into the ground, gang tackled by 3 players and rushed to hospital.

You do realise that we play a contact sport and that we didn't do anything dirty, eh? I feel sorry that the Mouse got hurt and am glad he is OK but if you want to have a sook that the big bad Melbourne boys play the game too rough for you then you had better find a place to post. One where somebody cares maybe because as far as I am concerned the silly bugger had no right touching our ball and we were just trying to right the wrong by getting it back.

.... One where somebody cares maybe because as far as I am concerned the silly bugger had no right touching our ball and we were just trying to right the wrong by getting it back.

:thumbsu:

The Good
Frawley
The fact that we're the number one tackling team in the comp
J Mac for making the above possible
The fact we did this without Sylvia, Jurrah and Morton
The Russian
The fact that we didnt do the expected and let Adelaide kick a goal in the last 3 minutes after we'd kicked 15,000 points in a row

The Bad
That weather
That I had to pay $6 to watch after failing to find a live stream. Demetriou's a money grabber.

Michael Newton. He is not up to scratch. It's time for him to be dropped. That dropped mark in the last quarter was dreadful. Could have stood up and won the game.

We all know you hate Newton, and in fact that hate is now getting in the way of your judgement of his pefromance. I would of given him best on in the 1st quarter and yesterday was one of his best games for the club.

The game was two halves yesterday, the first half we didn;t keep our forwad line structure, probably give Adeliade credit here for pushing numbers up the ground. This lead to a lot of heated contests and a rediculous amount of handballs as when our players won the footy we had no one to kick it to, so we had to handball round and round to maintain possession.

In the second half, we managed to keep a forward line in place and our mid fielders and defenders had someone to kick to. If we have a players leading directly at the kicker we will win more games than we lose. As soon as we lose our fwd structure our game plan falls to bits.

The good;
Frawley, mentioned on the radio his direct opponents only had 4 possesion on him.
Grimes, so composed, loves a defensive mark!
Great effort from the back 6 again.
Bartram showed good composure and good efficiency by hand and foot.
Bennell's last quarter and good comeback from last week.
Bail back up last weeks effort.
and i could go on...

The bad;
Our first half, no fwd line = to many handballs.

The ugly;
Dangerfields injury.

Now for as for Bruce and Joel Mac, they did have pretty ordinary first half. However they fought back and played a great 2nd half, and were reliable in that last quarter when the game was still in the balance.

One passage in the last quarter from Joel Mac when adeliade player kicked the ball deep to the goal line macdonal ran flat out to make the contest his eyes didnt waver off the ball and he clashed heavily with Tippet who came of second best!

Round 3 vs Crowbots: the Good, the Bad & the Fugly