Rudest/Nicest player you've met?

Best Collingwood payer I've met is a tie between Tarrant and Molloy. Both are funny bastards and always up for a chat.

Can't really say I've met a Collingwood player who's a prick, but I can tell Rocca doesn't like talking much.

Possibly the rudest I've seen are two North players who I'm not going to name. Both were chatting away happily during Bryan Martyn's funeral service.

Nicest Port player: Warren Tredrea, Matthew Primus, Josh Carr. The majority of them are stellar blokes.
Rudest Port player: Francou and Stevens can be a bit moody at times. Darren Mead was a bit of a snob sometimes aswell.

Nicest interstate player: Jarrad Waite.
Rudest interstate player: Ben Cousins.

Originally posted by Kid Dynamite!
Rudest interstate player: Ben Cousins

Whats the story behind that???? When I met him he seemed really nice. When he was here in Tassie I met him and he was really friendly, laughing and joking and such. You had a bad experience huh?

Been plenty of decent blokes to play the game who have been more than happy to have a chat. Too many to list.

Rudest, most arrogant player I've ever encountered would have to be Neil Craig.

Originally posted by Docker_Brat
Been plenty of decent blokes to play the game who have been more than happy to have a chat. Too many to list.

Rudest, most arrogant player I've ever encountered would have to be Neil Craig.

Is he the guy that tried out for the Eagles coaching job? If so, I can back you up here because i heard one of the main reasons that Woosha got the job over him is because the club wernt sold on his communication abilitys.

Nicest players i've met are- Gary Ablett snr (met him as a kid and went out of his way to answer my questions and give tips, sign autographs etc..)

-Brad Sholl- was probrably the funniest guy i met.
-Ben Graham-
-Jarrod Rooke-

Can't say i've many bad experiences with any guys, however Neville Bruns was a snobby prick when i tried talking with him once years ago.

Originally posted by carlyp
Whats the story behind that???? When I met him he seemed really nice. When he was here in Tassie I met him and he was really friendly, laughing and joking and such. You had a bad experience huh?

Not just me. A group of about 10 or so Eagles fans about the age of seven, who obviously idolised him and were nearly in tears when he snobbed them off and kept walking after they had asked for autographs.

Naturally I cut him off, shoved my AFL record under his nose, forced him to sign it and allowed the kids to swamp him. I think I made an enemy! :D

Chris Judd was nice, so was Dean Cox. And I have to agree with dyertribe; Timmy Giniver is a top bloke! Has a nice family, too.

I met David Grant years ago, very nice bloke. No bulldust, nice to the kids asking for autographs, happy to have a chat.

I ran into Pat Cash in the Hawthorn rooms after the 1991 GF, he gave me a very dirty look. I can't blame him, tho, I had my Collingwood scarf on.

Nicest players I've met

Chris Grant
Steve Wallis
Jim Edmond
Fraser Brown, thats right Anger Management Fraser
Shane Crawford
John Barnes
Nigel Lappin

Not so nice,in fact d**kheads

Corey McKernan
Wayne Carey

Originally posted by Kid Dynamite!
Not just me. A group of about 10 or so Eagles fans about the age of seven, who obviously idolised him and were nearly in tears when he snobbed them off and kept walking after they had asked for autographs.

Naturally I cut him off, shoved my AFL record under his nose, forced him to sign it and allowed the kids to swamp him. I think I made an enemy! :D

Really?? When was this. Thats really sad. Oh well I guess players must get sick of all the fans occasionally. Anyway its no excuse, good on you for doing that!

Is he the guy that tried out for the Eagles coaching job? If so, I can back you up here because i heard one of the main reasons that Woosha got the job over him is because the club wernt sold on his communication abilitys.

The very same. He has amazing footy and fitness knowledge but is a right prick of a man.

Originally posted by SCRAY72

Not so nice,in fact d**kheads

Corey McKernan
Wayne Carey

Cant say I blame you. Met him at a nightclub in Melbourne just after I turned 18. He was totally smashed and very sleazy. His wife was in trouble even then imo!

Met some of the brissie boys as i do when they play in Melbourne. Yet to meet any of my beloved magpies exept for Cam cloke. Leppa is one of the funniest,nicest,most down to earth blokes ive ever met.Voss is a good guy,Charman,Mcdonald,Lappin,Hart,Lynchy, they are all great fellas.
On the other end of the scale is Damien Cupido.I met him last year after the Hawks game if memory serves me right.He is his number one fan.This guy thinks the world of himself.Not rude just conceded.We were chatting about his broken collarbone(still in sling at this stage) and i commented what a shame it was and asked if and when he thought he'd be back.He replied that he would be straight back in the side and would kick akka out of the middle.Its not his skill,but his attitude that saw him be drafted.
Cam cloke is ****head!

Ive met allot of Football players in clubs and pubs.
Me being usually off my face usually goes up shakes their hand and says somthing stupid like "Hey Luke (McPharlin), Im expecting All Austrlian from you this year.. Dont let me down buddy".
As usual the next day regret it but o well.

Neway from my experience.

Medhurst: Arogant is the first thing that springs to mind. Cant stand this guy, thinks hes number one. Makes me laugh everytime I watch chicks shut him down.

Kerr: At first he reminded me off Medhurst, still remeber him trying to break up a fight and being laughed at. That said he once walked past a mate of mine and spilt a drink on him, my mate considerably bigger than him was just about to swing. When Kerr shouted him a Jug of the finest. Hes a top bloke now :D

Polak: Extremely shy,softly spoken guy. He hates the attention.

McPharlin:Nice guy, takes a joke, busts a move on the dance floor while the other players sit back. Terrible fashion sense though.

Bell: Inspiring just talking to this guy, takes the time to talk to you and is just a great all round guy.

Gardiner: Always seems to be on somthing,angry guy. I avoid this one.

Cousins: Actually doesnt seem that bad a bloke, walks around with his head down like hes scared or somthing. Really weird.

Farmer: Bit like Polak, quiet.

McManus: Seems a bit stand offish but not a bad guy.

Parker: Shy quitely spoken guy, doesnt go out much.

Hrm thats all I can think of at the moment, there is heaps more I will have to edit this post later.

Kerr: At first he reminded me off Medhurst, still remeber him trying to break up a fight and being laughed at. That said he once walked past a mate of mine and spilt a drink on him, my mate considerably bigger than him was just about to swing. When Kerr shouted him a Jug of the finest. Hes a top bloke now :D

:D:D I like that story! Thats really cool.

Gardiner: Always seems to be on somthing,angry guy. I avoid this one.

He does seem very intense doesnt he??

Cousins: Actually doesnt seem that bad a bloke, walks around with his head down like hes scared or somthing. Really weird.

Ive heard this too. I dont understand this. Maybe he's just shy.

Really?? When was this. Thats really sad. Oh well I guess players must get sick of all the fans occasionally. Anyway its no excuse, good on you for doing that!

Last year when I was in Perth for a holiday. Happened again this year too, at the WCE v Port game. Rude little man he is!

Spent a very pleasant afternoon talking to Gary Lyon.
Dermot Bereton while he is clearly in love with himself can be a lot of fun, just don't go drinking with him.

Rudest/Nicest player you've met?

Write your reply...