Rumour File #8.

• Thread starter Thread starter Chism

actually got to hand it to Bower, he is one of the hardest working players we have got, the only problem was his body and the match committee not having the confidence in it toward the latter part of the year. If we get him fit, some may not like this, but he would be ahead of Duigan.

Could not agree more, we should try and keep him. Duigan could only of had the one good season in him who knows, we have all seen Emu can be a top line player when his body is right to go.

Yes he wanted out in his 2nd year, he is clearly a cut and run type of fella. **** him off if he does not want to work hard for his job then he is no good to us.

Could not agree more, we should try and keep him. Duigan could only of had the one good season in him who knows, we have all seen Emu can be a top line player when his body is right to go.

Wait.... I'm confused :D

actually got to hand it to Bower, he is one of the hardest working players we have got, the only problem was his body and the match committee not having the confidence in it toward the latter part of the year. If we get him fit, some may not like this, but he would be ahead of Duigan.

100% with you on that

Excellent post mate. Bower is a talented defender with an attacking, running style that is perfect for the modern game and complements the rest of our backline. Please get yourself injury free and stay, Paul. We would get massive unders if we traded him now.
Why don't we turn him into a CHF, all he needs is to bulk up. He is rather tall and runs. I think he is a little upset his defense job was taken after his injury. I don't think will find a CHF in the trade, maybe he could play that position as we need someone to cement that spot.

Nothing excellent about posts that use hindsight with drafting.

Laidler's taken Bower's spot, but lets turn this into another bash Marcus Davies for an incident in the first half thread. :rolleyes:

Jordan Russell's bashers have moved onto Davies.

White is more versatile than Bower, but I'd rather keep the latter and try to get him right again.

Holding onto pick one is paying unders.

Every Geelong would have snapped up Masten before Taylor.
Marcus Davies is ok, he just did a terrible decision in that Eagles game. I read on the AFL site he got rated 8 out of 10, nearly in the best. I thought he did ok in the game, but not that great.

Why don't we turn him into a CHF, all he needs is to bulk up. He is rather tall and runs. I think he is a little upset his defense job was taken after his injury. I don't think will find a CHF in the trade, maybe he could play that position as we need someone to cement that spot.

What about a tallish, mobile run-with player.

There is one certainty with Bower, and that is that he is not a forward.

Am a big fan of Bower circa 2009. Love the way he took the game on that year. Unfortunately his body hasn't been right since. Lots of quad injuries.

If we can hang onto him and get him back to anywhere near his 2009 form in a much improved backline, we'd see the best of Emu.

One of my favourite players.

There is one certainty with Bower, and that is that he is not a forward.
Why is that is it his Kicking most likely or his body failing? He can take marks and create play, likes to run with the ball and attack. I guess if it's his body his no good back or forward, so why keep him. I reckon he could do it, just needs to have a shot at it.

You can't be serious. Bower had to play on Bradshaw after Jamo was out. That guy used to beat anyone in the one on one contests more often than not, he was a huge gorilla type forward. And about his attack, at least he's creative, at least he's willing to have a go, Yarran does the same thing, he gets himself into trouble too, but more often than not it pays off and Yaz's attack off the backline has been a highlight of our season and our team evolving.

Anyone except Jamison :)

I like him as a player but think he is will cut and run at first chance, if he dont wanna be here nik him off.

Pick a side and stick to it dude. Your posts are crap.

There is no value in trading Bower. Next year maybe because Watson and Mccarthy will be up and running. But not this year.

Bower's potential 2012 upside is greater than any pick 35-50 that we will get in the draft. Bower's upside is greater than any KPP player we will secure with pick 35-50.

Pick a side and stick to it dude. Your posts are crap.

There is no value in trading Bower. Next year maybe because Watson and Mccarthy will be up and running. But not this year.

Bower's potential 2012 upside is greater than any pick 35-50 that we will get in the draft. Bower's upside is greater than any KPP player we will secure with pick 35-50.

pick a side and stick to it, who the **** are you to tell me whats what. if Emu does not want to work hard enough for a spot **** him off now. i dont give a flying **** how good he is the fact is if wants out then get him out. If not then lay down the law and say you work for this compnay work harder and do whats needs to be done. simple and to the ****ing point i think.

Why is that is it his Kicking most likely or his body failing? He can take marks and create play, likes to run with the ball and attack. I guess if it's his body his no good back or forward, so why keep him. I reckon he could do it, just needs to have a shot at it.
Doesn't win to many body on body contests and doesn't come across as the type to bust a pack open with his attack on the ball.

Again technique, co-ordination and skill level is lacking to be a decent forward, I believe we are hoping for a "blue chip" forward, sadly he is not the answer.

I met Paul on a trip to Melbourne from Darwin in the first year he was drafted. He told me then that he played most of his junior footy as a CHF. He said the reason Carlton drafted him was due to his game against Josh Kennedy in thge U18 GF where he kept JK pretty quiet. He said that other than that game he hadn't played nuch at CHB.
I have wondered since then why we have not tried him out in other positions. Do we just classify players in c ertain possies and be blinkered to any other possibilities?

I met Paul on a trip to Melbourne from Darwin in the first year he was drafted. He told me then that he played most of his junior footy as a CHF. He said the reason Carlton drafted him was due to his game against Josh Kennedy in thge U18 GF where he kept JK pretty quiet. He said that other than that game he hadn't played nuch at CHB.
I have wondered since then why we have not tried him out in other positions. Do we just classify players in c ertain possies and be blinkered to any other possibilities?

That is not true at all hence his selection as the under 18's All Australian CHB.

He played most of his junior years at chb from memory.

see link.

http://www.afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=12911

Paul Bower (Western Australia) - 17 years, 192cm, 87kg, Peel Thunder/North Mandurah
Tall defender who is extremely mobile and provided great run from defence during the championships. Leading possession winner for his team in win against South Australia and again among Western Australia's best in impressive victory over Vic Country.

http://www.afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=12911

Ain't that easy I'm afraid. His history of soft tissue problems suggests that any significant muscle gain would only cause more problems.

Equally robust???? **** off!

Hahahahaha...I noticed that too. Wouldn't begrudge King any kudos though, he's done alright with his VERY limited AFL potential, has more ticker than a lot of other pea-hearts running around. Just a shame it's wrapped up in that annoying little s**t of a package.

We all know Mitch would snap him in half if it came down to it.

I:heart:MITCH

Hahahahaha...I noticed that too. Wouldn't begrudge King any kudos though, he's done alright with his VERY limited AFL potential, has more ticker than a lot of other pea-hearts running around. Just a shame it's wrapped up in that annoying little s**t of a package.

We all know Mitch would snap him in half if it came down to it.

I:heart:MITCH

But Jake can do 300 pushups! :confused: