Rumour File #8.

• Thread starter Thread starter Chism

So they are role players?

Your term is misleading if you meant the above. Top quality implies firstly supremacy when neither Armfield or Ellard are the best at what they do either on our list or in the competition. Secondly it suggests they are of a deep value to the side, which they aren't. They are role players. Good ones, flexible, hard-working and dedicated, but role players.

They are expendable and you know it. They should of been on the table to give us more flexibility IMO. It is inconsequential of course, there really isn't anything worth chasing right now, but I believe we should of left it open
Ellard 2nd leading tackler
either he works his ass off or the others are lazy hollywood overpayed tools
make your choice

Duigan was a 4th round selection last year. Do we keep Setanta on for limited opportunities or fill a need with a late pick?

If a deal can be done for Setanta, in his interest, do it. I just can't see a spot in our best 22 as a forward behind Waite, a resting ruck and swingman-Thornton. (Henderson a possibility too if we unearth another tall defender)

Hampson, Mitchell, Levi, Setanta, McCarthy, Watson - All 195cm+ and lining up for the Bullants round 1, 2012? Something's gotta give...

And once upon a time James Hird was pick 79 but I wouldn't trade Setanta for that. It's fanciful to think we'll be able to pick up another Duigan with such a late pick. Or even go close to filling a need with a consistent performer. If we do, Hughes should get a medal and I'll dance naked down Lygon Street.
He's not in our best 22 but he is valuable depth. None of those players you metioned will be as good as him in 2012 IMO. Hampson the only one who could prove me wrong. And I think we can win a flag. So keep him.
Next year this so called super draft comes up. Chop him next year and load up on picks. All the experts reckon this draft is a shocker.

I think I'm going to be sick.

Both are incredibly valuable for the team, especially Ellard, who is as hard as they come. Being a superstar player doesn't always require you to rack up 30 disposals and 4 goals each week. While neither are disposal-gethering superstars, they do what they need to do in order to help the team win.

Sounds like Terry Wallace's list management skills are superior to yours, to be honest. :o

So for you neither can be replaced in the side?

I am not denying their value, but I accept their limits. IMO it would of been good to have the option of trading these two fringe players.

Stop trying to bait me BTW. I'm not an immature troll, I have an opinion that differs from yours.

Ellard 2nd leading tackler
either he works his ass off or the others are lazy hollywood overpayed tools
make your choice

I never denied that he works his ass off. I actually specify it. I think he is replaceable, and a fringe player.

If the Saints can't pull off a trade today of a big name player soon then dont be suprised to see Goddard traded. GWS with their picks are obviously in the box seat, but Carlton is still very keen on him, have the cap room and Goddard may have a say in where he goes.

The Saints are screwed in their situation at the moment. No youth, coach, no cap room, the players hate it out at Seaford... I would expect St Kilda to become a wooden spoon side in the next few years. Port Adelaide has more upside.

Salary caps and list numbers are limited ... dontcha know that or still learning the caper?

Oh Kenny Kenny Kenny, fell on your head once too often dintcha.......we have delisted Aussie and need one more spot open on our list to fullful league rules of 3 selections open at draft and you think that this is somehow down to Mclean not being able to break into the team and the wisdom of that selection at the time? WOW. Just wow.

One of Bower or Setanta will get traded for a pick upgrade so that some good comes from losing one of them. Probably Bower because as others have pointed out, as much as we love Irish he does not offer much upside to another club. If neither had come forward requesting we look for a trade then I suspect we would have just cut Aussie and Kerr and that would have been that. But the fact that one or other of the 2 would like out, which in turn helps us secure a better selection has some upside for us and gives Kerr a lifeline of another year in the system to break in. We have also cleared a number of rookies so Kerr and Aussie may get another shot via rookie listing.

We are finally in a position where pretty much everyone already on our list offers something we would prefer to keep and you find that to be someones FAULT????

How about burying your hate of certain players and seeing the world as it is rather than your sad jaundiced view of it.

I never denied that he works his ass off. I actually specify it. I think he is replaceable, and a fringe player.

I disagree. .. Ellard is that important meat and potatoes mid that every team needs. .. He applies the pressure, gets his hands dirty and then floats forward for the 1-2goals that all mids should be aiming to achieve. .. We miss him when he is out of the side. .. Can only think of Curnow, Armfield, Russell (if he gets fit enough) and possibly Carrots having a chance to dislodge his role in our 22 unless one of our fwd/def steps up into a regular midfield role or we draft/trade for an accountable mid. ..

Edit: I said 'possibly' Carrots because he generally plays a different role but could squeeze him out if the other mids step up their tackling and pressure. ..

Edit2: If Ellard steps up his ability to block and extract then I can only see the superior pace of Army (if he gets the rest right) knocking him out of the side. ..

Someone on the D&T board claims that we are into Jason Gram.

Don't know how credible it is - but it's better than the other crap we've heard so far this TW (or lack of).

Nah won't have it, davey is in our best 22 have no doubt there mate, has worked his arse off and deserves everything good that comes his way :)

Someone on the D&T board claims that we are into Jason Gram.

Don't know how credible it is - but it's better than the other crap we've heard so far this TW (or lack of).
Vomit.

I'd rather make a late dash at recruiting Jordan Lisle on the cheap.

Carlton might need the picks though.#BlueandSilver

Heard a rumour which may have already been posted in all this Goddard mess, but here goes..

St Kilda is set to announce their new coach tomorrow, with Alan Richardson winning the role (which wouldn't be a great surprise). However they are also said to be announcing a new assistant coach, which is believed to be Gavin Brown (as requested by Richardson).

Anyone else heard anything similar? Is it even possible (contracts, etc..)?

Oh Kenny Kenny Kenny, fell on your head once too often dintcha.......we have delisted Aussie and need one more spot open on our list to fullful league rules of 3 selections open at draft and you think that this is somehow down to Mclean not being able to break into the team and the wisdom of that selection at the time? WOW. Just wow.

One of Bower or Setanta will get traded for a pick upgrade so that some good comes from losing one of them. Probably Bower because as others have pointed out, as much as we love Irish he does not offer much upside to another club. If neither had come forward requesting we look for a trade then I suspect we would have just cut Aussie and Kerr and that would have been that. But the fact that one or other of the 2 would like out, which in turn helps us secure a better selection has some upside for us and gives Kerr a lifeline of another year in the system to break in. We have also cleared a number of rookies so Kerr and Aussie may get another shot via rookie listing.

We are finally in a position where pretty much everyone already on our list offers something we would prefer to keep and you find that to be someones FAULT????

How about burying your hate of certain players and seeing the world as it is rather than your sad jaundiced view of it.

Gosh... how can I make this more simpler for you.

If Setanta or Bower is on our list next year they may well get senior game time. Brock will not. Hence having him on the list and choosing him over one of Bower and Setanta is bad list management. Dontchagetit?

The Kerr also has more upside than Maclean.

Doesn't sound like a lot of player hate there really. In fact if you go back over by history of posts relating to Brock I have given him nothing but the benefit of any doubt ... always backed him in. But the club has decided he's not going to be part of a premiership tilt so it's real pity that a player like Bower (who could still be in our best 22) and Setanta (who provides valuable big man back up) will be traded instead of him. It's called bad list management - and it comes at a price of 400K a year. So call it very bad list management.

We've got ourselves into a mess with the trade of Maclean for 1.2M and a first rounder - and now it looks like affecting our flexibility this trade week. Yeah, it's not good. No point sticking your head in the sand.

Gosh... how can I make this more simpler for you.

If Setanta or Bower is on our list next year they may well get senior game time. Brock will not. Hence having him on the list and choosing him over one of Bower and Setanta is bad list management. Dontchagetit?

The Kerr also has more upside than Maclean.

Doesn't sound like a lot of player hate there really. In fact if you go back over by history of posts relating to Brock I have given him nothing but the benefit of any doubt ... always backed him in. But the club has decided he's not going to be part of a premiership tilt so it's real pity that a player like Bower (who could still be in our best 22) and Setanta (who provides valuable big man back up) will be traded instead of him. It's called bad list management - and it comes at a price of 400K a year. So call it very bad list management.

We've got ourselves into a mess with the trade of Maclean for 1.2M and a first rounder - and now it looks like affecting our flexibility this trade week. Yeah, it's not good. No point sticking your head in the sand.

Just so I have it absolutely straight, because I am slow at picking this up. Bower wants to leave why again is that......cos he cant get a regular game and that would be why again......cos Brock is on the list? Ditto with Irish....again Brock an in and under type, playing in the magoos is stopping Irish a tallish ruck type from getting a regular run in the seniors?

And if Brock wasnt on the list they miraculously would be getting more of a senior run?

Thats your argument?

You see the fact is we would prefer they both stay but they both ASKED for us to look for a trade if possible. Thats the key fact you simply refuse to understand, they asked. We need another spot open on our list. Had they not asked perhaps you would have a point, but they did Kenny they did ask.

OH and any chance you can scan and post the document or other evidential stuff you have that says under no circumstances will Brock get a game next year if still on our list....regardless of form......really, you have stuff like that? Share it with us wont you.

Yep same ol same ol. See this place is still as chockers as it has always been with the same type of posters pretending to know what is going on but in reality being clueless loudmouths.

BTW its McLean not Maclean. But about on par with the standard of the rest of your post so my bad for expecting otherwise.

His management saying that they were "suprised". Surely not

May well be BS to try to get some buzz going and then some real interest.

If its true I would say the Bulldogs seem most likely with Bazza gone.

Just so I have it absolutely straight, because I am slow at picking this up. Bower wants to leave why again is that......cos he cant get a regular game and that would be why again......cos Brock is on the list? Ditto with Irish....again Brock an in and under type, playing in the magoos is stopping Irish a tallish ruck type from getting a regular run in the seniors?

And if Brock wasnt on the list they miraculously would be getting more of a senior run?

Thats your argument?

You see the fact is we would prefer they both stay but they both ASKED for us to look for a trade if possible. Thats the key fact you simply refuse to understand, they asked. We need another spot open on our list. Had they not asked perhaps you would have a point, but they did Kenny they did ask.

OH and any chance you can scan and post the document or other evidential stuff you have that says under no circumstances will Brock get a game next year if still on our list....regardless of form......really, you have stuff like that? Share it with us wont you.

Yep same ol same ol. See this place is still as chockers as it has always been with the same type of posters pretending to know what is going on but in reality being clueless loudmouths.

BTW its McLean not Maclean. But about on par with the standard of the rest of your post so my bad for expecting otherwise.

i was pretty sure he was saying we have to trade one of those players, rather than brock who is even less likely to get a game. in terms of 'evidential stuff', this year is a pretty good example. not set in stone obviously. curnow touted as taking mclean's spot.

not sure in what universe brock sitting in the VFL earning his contract for pick 11 has been a good outcome. we need to chop a player, but we're stuck with someone who in all likelihood isn't going to play many games (injury prone, 'game has gone past him'). i wouldn't say trading him in is the cause of our perceived inflexibility, but his continued existence on our list while we crap on about how list spots are so valuable, he starts to look a lot like dead weight.

i was pretty sure he was saying we have to trade one of those players, rather than brock who is even less likely to get a game. in terms of 'evidential stuff', this year is a pretty good example. not set in stone obviously. curnow touted as taking mclean's spot.

not sure in what universe brock sitting in the VFL earning his contract for pick 11 has been a good outcome. we need to chop a player, but we're stuck with someone who in all likelihood isn't going to play many games (injury prone, 'game has gone past him'). i wouldn't say trading him in is the cause of our perceived inflexibility, but his continued existence on our list while we crap on about how list spots are so valuable, he starts to look a lot like dead weight.

exactly :thumbsu: