Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!

Been using the oval for running lately, ditched the treadmill for the time being.

Good to get some fresh air and loving it at the moment. Highly recommend mixing it up for people who do one or the other.

----

Also reckon we should get a BF group together for a fun run or something in the future. Opinions? All ages welcome!

16klm isn't a casual run for me, and I'm trying for a PB, I may not even make it. I run about three times a week, 4klm, 6klm and sometimes 8klm. Being 52yo, its pretty hard work for me :p Isn't 16klm just 4klm short of your HM?
5.1km short :) If you run consistantly, I reckon you'll do it but don't flog yourself at the start, you won't need to taper just do it on a Sat/Sun 2 days after you last run during the week

At the moment I do my 4.2 klm run, four times to get my PB which is 16.8 and I'd like to get my PB to 18klm. Really love to run a HM, that's my aim.

Good luck with the HM. I would've loved to attempt one this year but hip bursitis has foiled my plans.

At the moment I do my 4.2 klm run, four times to get my PB which is 16.8 and I'd like to get my PB to 18klm. Really love to run a HM, that's my aim.
Try getting a couple of the 4km to a 7km as your 'stock' to build a good base. Then get those 4km to 7s and one of the 7s to a 9 and build from there using 7km as your minimum to something like 7-9-7-14. You should really be running 55+km per week in preparation for a HM. Just before the C2S last year I was doing weeks like 7-10-7-12-7-22 or 7-10-7-11-14-14. This training structure isn't 'in the book' though as it really requires some speed work but still helped me to run an 85 min HM and come in the top 35 for the C2S.

Currently running around ~5km five times a week, just getting back into the swing of things after a lazy summer.

5.2km yesterday in 27 minutes, 150m elevation and a big 10-12% hill to climb in the middle.

Geezus, 55+km a week to prepare for a HM. I'm lucky if do half of that at the moment and it's only a month away!

Also would like to get your guys' opinion on energy gels or other mid-race replenishments. What do you use if any, and do you think it's overkill for a HM?

Geezus, 55+km a week to prepare for a HM. I'm lucky if do half of that at the moment and it's only a month away!

Also would like to get your guys' opinion on energy gels or other mid-race replenishments. What do you use if any, and do you think it's overkill for a HM?
Don't forget you are planning to pack just under your weekly run in a morning. I'd be looking to get at least a 17-19 km run in sometime in the next 2 weeks even if its dead slow.

Don't use gels in the race without using them in training on several occasions. They can upset some runners stomachs and need to be taken with water. I've tried them in training and not been sold on them but know a guy that always uses them. I know a guy that pack jelly beans in his pocket but I've found the Gatorade stations to be sufficient… that and pre race No Doz

Don't forget you are planning to pack just under your weekly run in a morning. I'd be looking to get at least a 17-19 km run in sometime in the next 2 weeks even if its dead slow.

Don't use gels in the race without using them in training on several occasions. They can upset some runners stomachs and need to be taken with water. I've tried them in training and not been sold on them but know a guy that always uses them. I know a guy that pack jelly beans in his pocket but I've found the Gatorade stations to be sufficient… that and pre race No Doz
Cheers thanks for the advice. My problem is that I don't get enough runs in in one week. One long run on the weekend and two shorter ones during the week. The runs themselves are pretty long I even trialled a 21.1k run to see how I'd go (no gels :D) only two weeks ago. The training plan provided by the race website actually recommended running beyond the HM distance - do you think that is a good idea?

As for the gels I'm keen to try them out as I've read a lot of runners swearing by it but on my training runs I have no where to get water. I know it's essential but unless I carry a water bottle with me (not keen) not sure what other options I have

Cheers thanks for the advice. My problem is that I don't get enough runs in in one week. One long run on the weekend and two shorter ones during the week. The runs themselves are pretty long I even trialled a 21.1k run to see how I'd go (no gels :D) only two weeks ago. The training plan provided by the race website actually recommended running beyond the HM distance - do you think that is a good idea?

As for the gels I'm keen to try them out as I've read a lot of runners swearing by it but on my training runs I have no where to get water. I know it's essential but unless I carry a water bottle with me (not keen) not sure what other options I have
I've had them without water with no worries except a very sticky mouth. Maybe try jellybeans?
By the time a HM comes around I like to have done at least 2x21km, 3-4x19km and one run around 25km with a whole bunch of runs 14-17km all on a Sat with a Sunday rest… makes for a cheap night on the beers :)

Try getting a couple of the 4km to a 7km as your 'stock' to build a good base. Then get those 4km to 7s and one of the 7s to a 9 and build from there using 7km as your minimum to something like 7-9-7-14. You should really be running 55+km per week in preparation for a HM. Just before the C2S last year I was doing weeks like 7-10-7-12-7-22 or 7-10-7-11-14-14. This training structure isn't 'in the book' though as it really requires some speed work but still helped me to run an 85 min HM and come in the top 35 for the C2S.
So would that be for several weeks before a HM. I haven't got one lined up and don't know any down my way, so I just thought when I'm ready i'll go to Melb or Adele.

Got my Pb today, got 18 k's. Started with 8kl/h, pushed my speed out to 9kl/h for the last few k's, and the last 900 mtrs I went 10.37 klm. So happy with that and know I can go better

I wanna start up running again. Need to lose a few to get back to my footy playing weight so I can put the boots on again.

Any ideas how to go about it? Should I run every morning 5 days a week? I'm thinking maybe just run 3k a day for 2 weeks, then up it to 4k and then 5 after a month? Also can anyone recommend a good android running app to calculate time and distance etc? cheers

Did my first HM a couple of weeks back going just under 1 hour and 30 minutes. Pretty happy because I've mainly been training on the bike over the last year and have done minimal running. I used an energy gel for the final 6 or 7 kms for a bit of a pick-me-up. My advice is don't take it all at once, maybe a little bit every 2 or 3 minutes and stop if you start getting a stitch. Get one with caffeine as well but make sure you don't train using caffeine as it will reduce the race-day benefits.

Any ideas how to go about it? Should I run every morning 5 days a week? I'm thinking maybe just run 3k a day for 2 weeks, then up it to 4k and then 5 after a month? Also can anyone recommend a good android running app to calculate time and distance etc? cheers
I've been using runkeeper on iOs but I think they have a Android version as well

Did my first HM a couple of weeks back going just under 1 hour and 30 minutes. Pretty happy because I've mainly been training on the bike over the last year and have done minimal running. I used an energy gel for the final 6 or 7 kms for a bit of a pick-me-up. My advice is don't take it all at once, maybe a little bit every 2 or 3 minutes and stop if you start getting a stitch. Get one with caffeine as well but make sure you don't train using caffeine as it will reduce the race-day benefits.
Thanks for the tips, will be trying a gel this weekend. Will let you all know how it goes.

Hah the last time I did a beep test I was in high school, chubby and unfit. I was probably one of the first ones to fall out, males and females included.

I can't quite get under 25min for 5km which is disappointing as I've run 19min for a 4km before but the way my circuit works, the last 1km for my 5km is very much uphill.

23.01 for the 5km just now, pretty happy with that for now.

Had a stitch from the 2km mark (that's two days in a row) and wasn't certain about the track and the 5km distance, so theorise I could do it maybe 30 seconds faster without work.

Looking at your other posts I run about the same times as you do, a touch over 5 mins for a km.

I ran a half last year and the most I ran a week (3 runs a week) would have been a touch over 30km, the longest single run being 15km.

I suppose it caught up to me the last couple of kms which blew out over 6 mins for a km but I still finished sub 2 hours. It depends what your goal is but if you are just happy to finish/happy to run something comfortable like sub 2 hours I don't think you need to be running 50+km a week to finish a HM, that would be more for guys looking to beat sub 1.5 hours for mine. As long as you have a solid base of work you will be fine.

As for race replishments I carried some jelly beans in my pocket and had a couple every few km, if you go down the gel route I'd definitely try it out in training first as someone mentioned above, that sort of stuff makes me sick.

Cheers mate. My times are more towards 5:30 per kilometre than 5 mins. I think 2 hours will be a very challenging but achievable target, and it will all depend on how hilly the course is and how hot it is on the day. My times vary greatly from those two variables

I've managed to up my running in the last week, up to 38km across 4 runs with one more big run (~21km) planned for Sunday.

It depends what your goal is but if you are just happy to finish/happy to run something comfortable like sub 2 hours I don't think you need to be running 50+km a week to finish a HM, that would be more for guys looking to beat sub 1.5 hours for mine.
You are right but there's nothing like powering out a 85 min HM :)

Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!

Write your reply...