Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!

• Thread starter Thread starter Wetdog

10KM Fun Run later this morning. Haven't run since my ugly 14km last Sunday and barely ran at all past few months. To cap it off, I'm as clogged as shit in the nose and getting a cold.

No time goals for this run then. If I can maintain a steady pace and get through relatively smoothly I'll be happy.

It's about the Royal Childrens and raising some money. Time doesn't matter.

So the run was actually a little short of 10km....9.93km to be exact. A bit annoying but ah well....people everywhere so wasn't even really an option to push the crowd and do another 70m beyond the finish line.

Planned to go out at about 4.50-5.00 min pace and if all going well come home a bit quicker. As it turned out I ran with some running friends who were doing the HM and we did the first 5km a bit quicker than planned as we settled in to a rhythm so when I turned for home at 5km and did the last section on my own I couldn't quite maintain the pace on the uphill return leg. Basically did the opposite to the plan. 4.35-4.50 pace first 5km and 4.50-5.00 on the return leg.

Still, considering the lack of running and the groin/hip issues it was nice to get through the run sub 5.00 pace and pull up without any stiffness through the core at all.

I'm treating this as the start of working my way right back in to running form now.

So the run was actually a little short of 10km....9.93km to be exact. A bit annoying but ah well....people everywhere so wasn't even really an option to push the crowd and do another 70m beyond the finish line.

Planned to go out at about 4.50-5.00 min pace and if all going well come home a bit quicker. As it turned out I ran with some running friends who were doing the HM and we did the first 5km a bit quicker than planned as we settled in to a rhythm so when I turned for home at 5km and did the last section on my own I couldn't quite maintain the pace on the uphill return leg. Basically did the opposite to the plan. 4.35-4.50 pace first 5km and 4.50-5.00 on the return leg.

Still, considering the lack of running and the groin/hip issues it was nice to get through the run sub 5.00 pace and pull up without any stiffness through the core at all.

I'm treating this as the start of working my way right back in to running form now.
Good work mate. With cricket over for the year you'll be able to get back into it hey?

Bit quite again Guys. What's everyone's next event or goal at the moment?
I've got the Geelong HM this weekend. Will interesting to see what time l can punch out.

Just trying to get fit again and pick up the mileage. Wanted to do more over Easter so still not quite 'in the groove' yet. Did enjoy getting out for the 10km fun run though.

I'll do the local 5km Mothers Day Classic in May and the weekly parkruns in the meantime. Beyond that there's obviously Wonderland but I might try for the Run Melbourne 10km or HM in the lead up.

Good luck down at G-town mate. Stupid Geelong, lol.

Been sick for the last week so haven't been running. I can't see myself getting up for the 50k at end of April so thinking I might do the 30 or the 42 at Maroondah Dam. Would love to do the Buller SkyRun but thats in 2 weeks and don't think i'm in shape for that.

I did register for the Mornington half which is in September. Well my wife registered herself and put me in too. I've never actually trained specifically for a half before, so think I might do some speed training in the lead up to that and see what I can do over the shorter distance. Not a great course for PB's as it's a bit hilly. It's a weird course, it's 5k out, 5k back x 2.

Just struggling for time at the moment. Got two jobs now so working 7 days most weeks which doesn't leave much left over and then my car broke down last week so it's not good timing at the moment. Have run to/from work a few times which was alright but running with a back pack on sucks and there's no showers or anything like that a work either. Forced myself to have a break after my HM two or so weeks ago but now I'm struggling to get back into it. :oops:

Definitely stepped up a gear from a 'running with feeling' POV after the hill work recently. Just feel pretty fantastic throughout the run, with pretty controlled pace throughout. Not super fast but I'm comfortably knocking off PBs with a 23.11 5km, which was over a minute better than my previous.

Comfortably able to run more often too, my downtime between runs the most obvious change with hardly any issues the next day other than long runs.

Did a 1000m climb through the nearby trails on Sunday across 25kms, first time fueling and had a weird homemade banana smoothie lemon thing rather than a gel. Accidentally stopped my watch after 10kms, then had to walk the last five. Had nothing left after the climb.

Pretty chuffed for having been running for about 3-4 months now.

Tough week this week - was away on school camp down at Cottermouth, just west of Stromlo in Canberra, so could only get out early (see 6am) and get a run in - no workouts from monday till friday which was a pain. Had a good trail run on the Tuesday, day off Weds after a whole day of MTB, but managed to haul myself up the road for a 21k to Stromlo, around the XC course and back to camp. Friday morning was a bit painful, those early starts really get to ya when you have to be up till 10 putting kids to sleep.

Saturday workout was good - 20min fartlek averaging 3.07min/km, and then 5 x 30secs hard/30 float after a 5minute rest. 31k long run to cap off a 130km week - time to increase the load by 20% in the next few weeks and really get stuck into this marathon training.

Tried getting out Saturday morning, having borrowed a friends pair of trail runners (Pretty much unused), got about a KM down the road before I called it quits. Way too hard and narrow, felt it reverberating through my legs and knees were already iffy, so figured it wasn't worth pushing it. I needed a week off anyway from big work. The shoes probably would have been fine if I had driven to the start of a track, but having to run 5kms to the start was always the issue.

Felt shit all day for it, consoled myself when I found a pair of shoes on special.

Shoes.jpg

Merrell Bare Access. Zero drops, so will have to get used to them, but it's a transition I wanted to make. More than half the weight of my last pair. 90 bucks down from 170.

Tried getting out Saturday morning, having borrowed a friends pair of trail runners (Pretty much unused), got about a KM down the road before I called it quits. Way too hard and narrow, felt it reverberating through my legs and knees were already iffy, so figured it wasn't worth pushing it. I needed a week off anyway from big work. The shoes probably would have been fine if I had driven to the start of a track, but having to run 5kms to the start was always the issue.

Felt shit all day for it, consoled myself when I found a pair of shoes on special.

View attachment 231644

Merrell Bare Access. Zero drops, so will have to get used to them, but it's a transition I wanted to make. More than half the weight of my last pair. 90 bucks down from 170.
Be super careful with those - I would only do about 10% of your weekly mileage with them to start. We have been conditioned to get used to positive drop shoes for so long - lots of people get really bad Achilles and plantar problems from jumping on too quick.

I would much rather see you buy a pair of racing flats and get used to those first - either some asics ds racers or Nike lunar racers. Even then, you need to be careful. The asics ds trainer and the Mizuno wave rider are good 8mm drop shoes. I think the saucony kinvara's may be 6mm too

Be super careful with those - I would only do about 10% of your weekly mileage with them to start. We have been conditioned to get used to positive drop shoes for so long - lots of people get really bad Achilles and plantar problems from jumping on too quick.

I would much rather see you buy a pair of racing flats and get used to those first - either some asics ds racers or Nike lunar racers. Even then, you need to be careful. The asics ds trainer and the Mizuno wave rider are good 8mm drop shoes. I think the saucony kinvara's may be 6mm too
Oh yeah, no intention into rushing into them. Just knew they would go flying if I didn't grab them.

Starting to get a rotation going with my shoes rather than wear the same pair ad nauseam.

My problem tends to go the other way though I believe, I'm a pretty aggressive forefoot striker, which I probably have to pare back a bit.
Either way, 80% of my runs will still be in trails, which limits the BA's usefulness.

Geelong HM today. Really happy with my time of 1:32. 11 minutes faster than my debut to running last year.
Learnt a little from last year's run & did a bit of work early to beat the bottleneck crush of runners. Felt really comfortable throughout with my splits pretty consistent. Didn't have a heap left in the tank for the final 3 kms only managing to push the last km out to the line.
Bit stiff after a 3 hour drive home but nothing a spa & beer won't fix.
5km Group TT on Tuesday morning. Might have a rest day tomorrow.

Oh yeah, no intention into rushing into them. Just knew they would go flying if I didn't grab them.

Starting to get a rotation going with my shoes rather than wear the same pair ad nauseam.

My problem tends to go the other way though I believe, I'm a pretty aggressive forefoot striker, which I probably have to pare back a bit.
Either way, 80% of my runs will still be in trails, which limits the BA's usefulness.

Completely agree here....i'm not surprised you struggled with these shoes on trails! It's one thing going minimal on smooth roads, on trails is completely different. In addition to what has already been said, I would also say you need to do some serious ROM (range of motion) exercises plus foot strengthening exercises. You need some SERIOUS ankle mobility and achilliees length to go barefoot, especially on trails. Google foot strength exercises, there's heaps and you can actually do most, if not all, sitting on your ass at work, or on the couch in front of the footy. Finally, a spiky ball (or tennis ball/golf ball). Get one, and use it HEAPS on your sole or you will end up with plantar.

I went from Asics Kayano (i think they were 12mm drop) to Brooks PureCadence (3mm drop) and Salomon something or other, also 3mm, trail shoes. I reckon this is the perfect balance. Anything under 4mm is considered "minimal", but you still get cushioning. I tried VivoBarefoot for a few months and just ended up too sore.

Approaching 2 weeks off running now with this nasty cold/chest infection, not cool...

But, while laid up on the couch I've done a bit of reading about training methods. I've found recently I've completely stagnated. I'm not going faster and I'm not going further.

I've considered it before, but never gone through with it cos I think it will be boring as batshit training, but....the Maffetone Method has me intrigued yet again. In basic terms...take 180 - age, and you perform ALL runs at a heartrate between that figure and that figure - 5. So, for me, all runs need to be at between 143-148 bpm.

The theory is it builds your aerobic engine by never going over your aerobic threshold. I've read some reports of people I know who, in the space of 6 months have shaved minutes off their easy pace. For example, one fellow runner (a very strong runner who consistently placed in age group races) started these MAF runs at a pace of 5:55/km pace. His pace is now down to 4:35/km at a HR of 142. Pretty impressive results.

The difficulty lies in having the patience and being able to leave the ego at the door in teh first few months. Backing off from on average a 4:40/km pace over 10km, to something more like 6:00/km will be very hard.

I do believe you still need some other training stimulus. This is where Matt Fitzgeralds 80/20 rule comes into play. Do 80% of training at the MAF threshold, and the other 20% are hard intervals/hill repeats etc....runs.

I'm pretty keen to give this a go...Anyone here ever used this? Results?

Completely agree here....i'm not surprised you struggled with these shoes on trails! It's one thing going minimal on smooth roads, on trails is completely different. In addition to what has already been said, I would also say you need to do some serious ROM (range of motion) exercises plus foot strengthening exercises. You need some SERIOUS ankle mobility and achilliees length to go barefoot, especially on trails. Google foot strength exercises, there's heaps and you can actually do most, if not all, sitting on your ass at work, or on the couch in front of the footy. Finally, a spiky ball (or tennis ball/golf ball). Get one, and use it HEAPS on your sole or you will end up with plantar.

I went from Asics Kayano (i think they were 12mm drop) to Brooks PureCadence (3mm drop) and Salomon something or other, also 3mm, trail shoes. I reckon this is the perfect balance. Anything under 4mm is considered "minimal", but you still get cushioning. I tried VivoBarefoot for a few months and just ended up too sore.
The shoes I went out in that day were other trail shoes fwiw, but agree in general.

Was feeling pretty celebratory last night after a long work week (44 hours over four days) so I just decided to go out and kick some (relative) arse.

Went out with a 10km distance target, in the dark and wasn't watch checking. About 7kms in, I check the watch and I was maybe 40 seconds behind breaking a 50minute 10km, which is big for me, so decided, screw it, I'm legging this. Started dragging it back with negative splits and managed to get through the barrier and got to 10kms on the dot I thought. Checked later and I had actually dragged back another 20 seconds I the last few KMs for a 49.40 10km. 6 minutes better than my previous best (not generally a distance I dig, either aim for shorter 5kers or crack 15-25 on a longer day)

Pretty chuffed!

Was feeling pretty celebratory last night after a long work week (44 hours over four days) so I just decided to go out and kick some (relative) arse.

Went out with a 10km distance target, in the dark and wasn't watch checking. About 7kms in, I check the watch and I was maybe 40 seconds behind breaking a 50minute 10km, which is big for me, so decided, screw it, I'm legging this. Started dragging it back with negative splits and managed to get through the barrier and got to 10kms on the dot I thought. Checked later and I had actually dragged back another 20 seconds I the last few KMs for a 49.40 10km. 6 minutes better than my previous best (not generally a distance I dig, either aim for shorter 5kers or crack 15-25 on a longer day)

Pretty chuffed!
Huge!

Now recover for a couple days before hitting it again... Enjoy it!