Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!

Depends on the shoe. I was getting 400-450 only out of lunarglides, now getting 600-700 out of GT-2000's. It all adds up in the hip pocket

I'm in Germany at the moment - nothing harder than having daylight only between 830-430

Depends on the shoe. I was getting 400-450 only out of lunarglides, now getting 600-700 out of GT-2000's. It all adds up in the hip pocket

I'm in Germany at the moment - nothing harder than having daylight only between 830-430

400kms out of a pair of shoes? Wow. Not cool at all.

I'm based in London, so I feel your pain about the lack of day light. It is getting dark around 15:45 in the afternoon. It makes it hard to get motivated to run home from work!

400kms out of a pair of shoes? Wow. Not cool at all.

I'm based in London, so I feel your pain about the lack of day light. It is getting dark around 15:45 in the afternoon. It makes it hard to get motivated to run home from work!

Yeah nicht so gut.

They would probably last longer, but I found they just got hard AF by then, and with legs as injury prone as mine I wasn't taking chances.

I saw you were in Germany through Strava. Racing, work or holidays?

I was you were in Germany through Strava. Racing, work or holidays?

Christmas with the in-laws. Here for a month though so I'll try get a couple races in depending on fitness. There is a 15km silvesterlauf (NYE) run that I'll do, a Turk won it in 47mins last year... not sure if I'm that fit yet. Maybe an indoor 1500m for something a bit different!

Love when a run just feels easy, wasnt flying by any means, just 5 min 20 pace but felt so nice
Literally just came back from a very similar run. Had a shithouse day at work, had no motivation to run but knew if i just got my running gear on id get out there and push through it. But once i got out there it felt great so easy even though it was humid probably couldve kept going for a while. :thumbsu:

Its awesome feeling after a shit day at work

Love this time of year for running of an evening

Now a beer and the cricket

As an aside did two loops and ran past the same chick twice, she was a cracker, fair bit if bounce

Great to see you all out & about. My 2016 running adventures finished on Monday with an umbilical hernia op. Shithouse recovery, extra night in hosi & a few complications haven't made for a great week. Recovery may be a little longer than I initially had aimed for.
Will spend my down time thinking about some goal setting for 2017 & beyond.
On a positiven note finished the year with almost 2400kms & some good results across some trail races. Will try & up the anti next year chasing a bit more vert & some longer stuff.

Great to see you all out & about. My 2016 running adventures finished on Monday with an umbilical hernia op. Shithouse recovery, extra night in hosi & a few complications haven't made for a great week. Recovery may be a little longer than I initially had aimed for.
Will spend my down time thinking about some goal setting for 2017 & beyond.
On a positiven note finished the year with almost 2400kms & some good results across some trail races. Will try & up the anti next year chasing a bit more vert & some longer stuff.

sucks about the injury mate hope your cheery ripe for 2017

i was thinking 2017 goals the other day picked a couple of races but also like to set a km goal, might try to get more cycling in too

what are you thinking

Hoping by mid Jan l'll be right to go.
At this stage reckon my A race will be the Surf Coast Century 100km after running the 50km this year.
Couple of local Grampians trail races too. Only issue was this year l did the 3 events in 5 weeks. Possibly a bit much. 2 weeks inbetween would be perfect. Need to check the running calender & write a few dates down.
Melb Mara is also on the bucket list. Would like to do a fast 42km too & see what I've got.

Yeah looking at next years goals already after getting my 1500km goal for 2016 today.
Going to be a tricky year running wise with the first baby due in February but would like to crack 2000km for the year but will keep that pretty flexible and see how it goes with the bub.
As for events i wanted to do the Adelaide Marathon. To finish on the adelaide oval my favourite place in the world would be amazing but a wedding that day has scrapped those plans for a second year in a row. So probably Rottnest Island marathon in Oct as a definite and maybe Perth mara in June as a maybe if running with new bub goes alright, if not thats all good.

Bring on 2017!

Yeah looking at next years goals already after getting my 1500km goal for 2016 today.
Going to be a tricky year running wise with the first baby due in February but would like to crack 2000km for the year but will keep that pretty flexible and see how it goes with the bub.
As for events i wanted to do the Adelaide Marathon. To finish on the adelaide oval my favourite place in the world would be amazing but a wedding that day has scrapped those plans for a second year in a row. So probably Rottnest Island marathon in Oct as a definite and maybe Perth mara in June as a maybe if running with new bub goes alright, if not thats all good.

Bring on 2017!

Baby will help you wake for those early runs

I hope Santa brings you all some cool running gear & unlimited race entries for 2017. I've asked for socks. Can never have enough pairs.

I'm still struggling post hernia op. Got fluid drained yesterday after some swelling & hope now it can start to settle down so l can lace up the Mizuno's again in the New Year.

Cheers

Hope your back running soon

I hope Santa brings you all some cool running gear & unlimited race entries for 2017. I've asked for socks. Can never have enough pairs.

I'm still struggling post hernia op. Got fluid drained yesterday after some swelling & hope now it can start to settle down so l can lace up the Mizuno's again in the New Year.

Cheers
You too mate. Hope it gets better soon.

well thats me done for the year.
2621 kilometres in total. the goal was 2016 which i think i hit in mid September and i only managed 41 in December due to knee soreness.

i ran a 3:39 marathon. did this on whim with very little specific training so im really pleased with how it turned out.

i got my 5k time down to 22:18. it was 24:54 at the beginning of the year. the goal was to go sub 22 and im fairly confident i would have done it but then i signed up for the marathon about a week before i was due to have a crack and all my plans went out the window.

my main goal for the year was to stay injury free which i managed to do for 11 months so im claiming that as a win considering 2014 and 2015 only netted me a combined total of 242k. i had my first pain free, post marathon run today so things look like they're back on track after a month of hobbling about.

all told i had bloody good year of running. i hope you all did too and that 2017 is even better.
happy trails :)

well thats me done for the year.
2621 kilometres in total. the goal was 2016 which i think i hit in mid September and i only managed 41 in December due to knee soreness.

i ran a 3:39 marathon. did this on whim with very little specific training so im really pleased with how it turned out.

i got my 5k time down to 22:18. it was 24:54 at the beginning of the year. the goal was to go sub 22 and im fairly confident i would have done it but then i signed up for the marathon about a week before i was due to have a crack and all my plans went out the window.

my main goal for the year was to stay injury free which i managed to do for 11 months so im claiming that as a win considering 2014 and 2015 only netted me a combined total of 242k. i had my first pain free, post marathon run today so things look like they're back on track after a month of hobbling about.

all told i had bloody good year of running. i hope you all did too and that 2017 is even better.
happy trails :)
Great work mate! :thumbsu:

Next Year's Goals (in no particular Order)

- Finish Comrades within the time limit (12 hours)
- Consistency in training routines
- Complete the Canberra Ultra (50km) which I failed to do last year
- Melbourne Marathon #5
- Update the blog more often (link in sig)

Fell a bit short this year - balancing fatherhood and a running career will do that! Have cut the commute to work by 50mims each way next year, so that might make things a lot easier.

A good start and middle of the year, not so much the end, but did my final session of the year in a C12 town in Germany and picked up 4 KOM's along the way, so there's a positive if any!

Next year, 6250km will be the goal, a place at one of the main Australian HM's and a marathon debut. There'll only ever be one more championship in Australia during my time (GC18) - better get working!

Well done to all the BF Strava guys - let's get even more on board, logging regular kms, running park runs regularly and hitting some pb's!

a018cd3d6245174fc67693e2b5907507.jpg

Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!