Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!

Lots of people seem to want to do something longer than 50km for their first ultra and then using a 50km race as part of their training.
The one i kind of have my eye on 100km but that would atleast 2-3 years away.
217km?! Wow. Im guessing that its not flat either haha.
Youll be back out there in no time mate.

Whats the longest race anyone here has ever done? Last few months all i can think about running-wise is doing an ultra. Luckily weve got a good selection of races here in WA to pick from but would love to hear how anyone else went from running marathons to ultras.
Longest I've done is still a half mara ... looking to do my first full this year

Doing pretty well at the moment, finding running with the new bub pretty good and getting really close to a sub 20min 5k now (20:16). Struggle to get motivated at times but still getting a good 40-45km a week.
Need to register for a race to get myself going though i think.

Do you use a normal pram for running with your bub? I recently became a father (3 weeks old now) and am wondering if I should use the normal pram for running. I am thinking I should be right to take her for a run from 2 or 3 months of age?

Do you carry baby supplies? Or just do quite short runs?

Also re the Garmin. I have the 630 and love it. I have not had any other running watch before so can't compare it to anything though.

Do you use a normal pram for running with your bub? I recently became a father (3 weeks old now) and am wondering if I should use the normal pram for running. I am thinking I should be right to take her for a run from 2 or 3 months of age?

Also re the Garmin. I have the 630 and love it. I have not had any other running watch before so can't compare it to anything though.
the only thing that annoys me with that one is the touch screen. apart from that, its great

I think the general rule is you wait til six months to take them out for a run due to their neck strength and possible brain damage if its too bumpy.
Ive got a proper running pram (for free luckily) so thatll help with running. Id definitely carry at least some basic supplies just in case.

I think the general rule is you wait til six months to take them out for a run due to their neck strength and possible brain damage if its too bumpy.
Ive got a proper running pram (for free luckily) so thatll help with running. Id definitely carry at least some basic supplies just in case.

After my post I went and did some reading. Seeming 6 months and its a green light.

Anyone know solutions for the bridge/thinnest part of your foot (the bit where the bottom and sides meet) hurting a lot during runs over about 20 minutes? Seems to impact me in any shoes except, weirdly, footy boots.

Great finish to the London Marathon!

Yeah only watched the last 25 minutes....really enjoyed it.

Glad the young bloke hung on but wanted the other guy to close a bit more just to see who could find that extra in the push for the line.

'That other guy' is pretty famous for closing out 5000m and 10000m records with 51 second last laps... and for holding both of those world records ;)

Yeah I heard them mention that......but I still don't know his name :D

Yeah was a good watch, i saw on my facebook feed at london festival they had a treadmill and if you could run at world record pace for 400m you win a prize (a hat or something pissy)

so Nikes "Breaking 2" project is scheduled for this weekend.
any one know when and where i can watch it?

our very own Collis Birmingham will be one of the pacers (the only white guy?)
apparently this list is not complete :eek:
B2 pacers.JPG

...and i think they'll be running in the same shoe that gave Bekele a blister and made him change his running style in London but i could be wrong.
its hard to find info, they dont even have a website as far as i can tell.

found the answer on letsrun.

start time will be 5:45am Saturday, Monza time (GMT+2)
east coast Australia is GMT+10 so that makes it 1:45pm Sat if im working this out properly.
it will be lived streamed on youtube i believe. i dont have a link yet but im sure it will appear on letsrun sooner or later.

im expecting a stupidly fast first half (59:40) with the inevitable implosion in the second.
Kipchoge will run a high 2:02 and the others will DNF.

http://www.letsrun.com/news/2017/05...-nikes-sub-2-attempt-starring-eliud-kipchoge/

Running Thread - Join our Strava Club!