Preview Saints v Port @ AO, Sunday 3:20pm

Against Richmond
I think we lost clearances, right? We definitely lost centre clearances . Got smashed in hit-outs, beaten in contested marks.

I think it was intercepts that was where we cleaned up.

I heard (FoX?) that 15 of our 20 goals were from intercepts!

I don't believe for a second Port Adelaide are a basket case or as bad as everyone is saying.
Remember us after R1? We weren't goi g to win a game according to some.
Adelaide at home after a belting with their stars stung will be a tough nut to crack.

Sent from my SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

I think they are in a world of hurt. Their forward line is non existent and back line is struggling. That being said… Danger game

Port will start favourites and rightly so.

Bring the pressure, play the run and gun off half back and we’re right up to this and could snatch the 4 points.

Anybody who has the thought Port are gettable and having a rough season cast your mind back to last year when we played them at Marvel. The week before Brisbane had just pumped them at AO everybody wanted Hinkley sacked the wolves where coming for them and they still beat us in atrocious match.

Desperately hoping we can take the 4 points here.

One of Ken’s super powers over his long coaching Journey has been his ability to galvanise his players in the face of adversity, however this week has a different feel about it, with all the speculation about the players being confused about who is the coach and them just being in a holding pattern for this season.

If we beat Port this week, us being Port’s bitches; we KiLL Kenny!
Geezus didn’t we get “backs to the wall” Ken last year?
Just beat these scumbags ffs

“Saints owe us a win. If they weren’t so shit and did it last year we’d be rid of Ken already.”

Never seen a board where so many are barracking for the opposition to win.
They really don’t like Ken 🤣

Steele's, our midfield looked more dynamic and attacking than it has in YEARS last weekend, and there's a reason for it
Let’s not ignore Steele impact on clearance differential. Whilst he isn’t always a high clearance player he halves a lot of them through is defensive pressure at stoppage. Our new game style isn’t conducive to numerous 30+ touch mids.

Ideally he finds his forward game again and plays a bit more like Luke Parker spending some small spurts forwards

Windy to go to JHF right? Rozee feels far less damaging if he and Butters aren't feeding it to him.
And JHF seems the type to tear us apart (again)
Will be interesting to see if Port switch up JHF’s role seeing as he’s been sputtering along. Only 62% CBA’s this year (compared to a Steele or Macrae at 83%). Seems in a mood that a tight Windy tag could see him spit the dummy!

Let’s not ignore Steele impact on clearance differential. Whilst he isn’t always a high clearance player he halves a lot of them through is defensive pressure at stoppage. Our new game style isn’t conducive to numerous 30+ touch mids.

Ideally he finds his forward game again and plays a bit more like Luke Parker spending some small spurts forwards
exluding his sub game, garcia is averaging as many clearances this year (a touch more in fact), with far less TOG. He's 19 and played 12 games... Windhager is averaging 1 less clearance than Steele while doing a tagging job. Just saying Steele needs to lift if he wants to be a walk up centre bounce player

Against Richmond
I think we lost clearances, right? We definitely lost centre clearances . Got smashed in hit-outs, beaten in contested marks.

I think it was intercepts that was where we cleaned up.

I heard (FoX?) that 15 of our 20 goals were from intercepts!
We lost centre clearance by 2
We won stoppage clearances by 7

Yes right now he is. By year end let's see.

Very underrated.

If you watch all the work he does for his team mates it's clear why he's in the team.

He's not sexy but he's a solid AFL player.
I reckon if Ronnie is considered our bottom of the 22, we are doing pretty well. He is a real soldier who does very little wrong. Underrated.

Too many unforced errors. People are quick to point to his disposal efficiency being better than Cripps/Bont etc but inside mids will always have lower efficiency because so many disposals are under intense pressure. Byrnes gets the ball wide open in space and flubs it. He occasionally nails a low pass but more often he'll kick the ball straight to an opposition player under no pressure. He's also a defensive liability - his opponent almost won the game for Geelong in the last quarter a couple of weeks ago.

For so long we've held onto flawed players because "they're solid citizens" but we need to aim higher than that if we want to get out of the 6th-14th ranked team purgatory that we've been stuck in for years. You don't see small outside players with poor skills and mediocre production in top teams.

. You don't see small outside players with poor skills and mediocre production in top teams.
Probably a very comparable player to recent premiership players
Oleg markov
Ed Langdon
Brandon Ellis, maybe Kane lambert too.

It’s a pipe dream to think we can build a team with 23 A grade players.

Oleg markov
Ed Langdon

I reckon the expansion teams struggled for a long time because their talent to workmen was out of whack. Good sides need a decent layer of solid workhorse types. For all of your Fyfes you need a few Matt DeBoers.

I'd go windy to rozee and Garcia to JHF. Rozee looks gettable and I like the idea of Garcia harassing that flog all day.
Half a Horne-Francis nancy pants is a sook when things don't go his way. If Garcia gets under his skin he'll do his biscuit. I wanna see that.

Oleg markov
Ed Langdon

Markov the only one out of those that can be comparable. Others were high-quality players who didn't get the applause they deserved

I think if we are serious about contending, Byrnes should be outside the best 23 but still in our best 25-30 imo. Good depth player that can come in when required but ultimately we shouldn't be relying on him

Preview Saints v Port @ AO, Sunday 3:20pm