Jerome

Adelaide Crows, Centrals
I went to see Centrals V Glenelg today. Here is what I thought of the Crows players.

Rowan Andrews (Reserves). Tigers ressies went down by about 90 points.

Andrews was ruckman # 3 in the side, behind Dubieniecki and Chris Anderson. I didnt see Andrews until after half time and he was on and off the bench.

Again a lack of body strength countered against him. He didnt get much of it. A few kicks, won a few tap outs and gave away a free. He was on the wing in the third half for a few minutes before going forward. He's not in the same form I saw him in earlier this year.

Josh Krueger (seniors) named in the side, but did not play. I could not see him out there (unless he'd changed jumpers).

Aidan Parker (Seniors). This is the third time I have seen him this year. He played CHB on Cowan and had him under control from the first.

Parker's strength is that he is a very tight checking defender. He'll stay on his man and not give him much room to move.

For mine, his big negative is his decision making. His use of the ball can be pretty ordinary. he's a good kick and I havent seen him run up the ground much.

It's when he gets the ball and gives off that he gets his team into trouble. He has a habit of going inside and moving the ball sideways after he has marked it. It seems to be instinctive, but the problem is, he ends up pushing his defenders further back.

If he gets the ball in general play, he sometimes tries to be too clever and gives up easy goals. He did this again today on Centrals 50 m line, didnt know which way to go and the Dogs got an easy goal inside 50. Its not the first time I've seen him do it.

I am starting to lose faith in Parker.

Originally posted by Jerome

Aidan Parker (Seniors). This is the third time I have seen him this year. He played CHB on Cowan and had him under control from the first.

Parker's strength is that he is a very tight checking defender. He'll stay on his man and not give him much room to move.

For mine, his big negative is his decision making. His use of the ball can be pretty ordinary. he's a good kick and I havent seen him run up the ground much.

It's when he gets the ball and gives off that he gets his team into trouble. He has a habit of going inside and moving the ball sideways after he has marked it. It seems to be instinctive, but the problem is, he ends up pushing his defenders further back.

If he gets the ball in general play, he sometimes tries to be too clever and gives up easy goals. He did this again today on Centrals 50 m line, didnt know which way to go and the Dogs got an easy goal inside 50. Its not the first time I've seen him do it.

I am starting to lose faith in Parker.

I reckon that's a very fair call on Parker.

The defensive side of his game is excellent.

But the concern you raised is also valid - it's very risky because he's going across the face of goal and every stuff-up usually costs a goal, and he does a few of these. The worse thing is that as you say, it appears to be instinctive.

Re: Re: SANFL Crows Round 19

Originally posted by jc67
1, What was the final score?

2, Dont (not yet)

1. Central 20.12 v Glenelg 12.7

The Bays really came at us in the first half. Centrals did'nt smarten up until the second half.

2. I'll try not too, but I've seen him several times over the past two seasons, and I keep seeing poor decisions from him. It's becoming frustrating. If he could straighten up his game he'd be alright.

Thanks Jerome,
The Bays are at least trying again:o , It will be interesting whether Noble goes with Wallace again or stays at the Bays.

Parker should get at least one AFL game before we write him off.

What happened to Mathew Smith?

Didn't play for Sturt. As far as I know didn't go to Tassie. Is he hurt or @#$#@& off about not getting a game after 3 weeks on the list.

If he is fit I would imagine he would be a cert this week.

Wait for the reports, where they tell us Andrews' strong bodywork and hard leading were instrumental to his team.

And Parker's skills are 'consistently of an AFL standard' where he 'continually makes the right decision'.

Though I suppose, considering how the Crows are playing, his skills probably ARE of an AFL standard...

spindoctor said:
Wait for the reports, where they tell us Andrews' strong bodywork and hard leading were instrumental to his team.

And Parker's skills are 'consistently of an AFL standard' where he 'continually makes the right decision'.

Though I suppose, considering how the Crows are playing, his skills probably ARE of an AFL standard...

Smith pulled a hammy and didn't play yesterday.

Maybe I keep seeing Parker on bad days. He is certainly is a good mark a very tight defender and he can cover any SANFL opponent given to him - which he should be able to do. And he does deserve to be inther best players this week, Cowan did nothing. However I keep seeing bad turnovers and decsions from him. It's a real concern IMO.

I wasn't commenting on whether he actually is those things...I haven't seen him play. I was just pointing out that the reports will say something along those lines.

jc67 said:
Parker should get at least one AFL game before we write him off.
Exactly - let's see whether the guy can play. With McGregor & Hart pulling hamstrings, surely he must play this week.

drakeyv2 said:
What happened to Mathew Smith?

Didn't play for Sturt. As far as I know didn't go to Tassie. Is he hurt or @#$#@& off about not getting a game after 3 weeks on the list.

If he is fit I would imagine he would be a cert this week.

Smithy apparently pulled a hamstring at training on Friday and is likely to miss 2-3 weeks.

Kane McGoodwin said:
Exactly - let's see whether the guy can play. With McGregor & Hart pulling hamstrings, surely he must play this week.

Couldn't they have pulled their hamstrings BEFORE we lost our priority pick??

SANFL Player Reports - Round Nineteen
Andrew Montesi
afc.com.au
12:24:31 PM Mon 9 August, 2004

NORTH ADELAIDE V PORT ADELAIDE

Chris Ladhams (North Adelaide)
A very significant player in North Adelaide’s victory being named best on ground. Chris played on ball, with the occasional rest in the forward line and his effort over the four quarters would have done his chance for a recall no harm at all. He gathered 24 possessions and took seven marks in a performance that showed his class at SANFL level. His disposal by either hand or foot was immaculate and his awareness to wait for the right option to give his teammates the maximum time and space to continue the play was a standout feature of his performance. His work rate for the match was very good and his effort should see his name looked at strongly at the selection table this week.

GLENELG V CENTRAL DISTRICT

Aidan Parker (Glenelg)
With three matches to go until the end of the AFL season, Aidan would be hoping that his chance to make his debut at AFL level would come this weekend. He continued his very good form with the ‘Bays’ last weekend playing centre half back. Aidan’s ability to compete at an above average standard in the one on one contest has been excellent and in this game it was no different. He took seven strong marks and had an absorbing battle with his opponent. He worked hard to create a contest when he was not in a position to mark and back himself to win the footy when it hit the ground. His performance was very encouraging, considering his opponent had little impact on the game in a winning side that kicked 20 goals.

GLENELG V CENTRAL DISTRICT RESERVES

Rowan Andrews (Rookie – Glenelg)
As we have come to expect from Rowan, he played a very competitive match. Whenever he was in a marking situation he always gave a great contest and if he didn’t take the mark he bought the ball to the ground and gave his crumbing players a chance to win the ball. His ruckwork was excellent and he always hit to the team’s advantage. His work rate around the ground was good and his second effort to win the ball at ground level was pleasing. He showed very clean skills for a big man and his attack on the ball and body was aggressive.

WEST ADELAIDE V SOUTH ADELAIDE RESERVES

Brad Dabrowski (Rookie – West Adelaide)
In his first game back from a lengthy lay off due to injury, Brad played at full forward for the first half and really had a crack at the footy. He didn’t win much of the ball, however he was willing to lead hard a give an honest contest. Unfortunately Brad reinjured his groin just before half time and took no further part in the game.

** I can only comment on the reviews of the Bay players - I wish someone would start giving people an honest account of how these guys went on the AFC website. Andrews barely played two quarters and was the # 3 ruckman and Parker made some pretty silly stuff ups. Just tell it how it is.

Jerome said:

** I can only comment on the reviews of the Bay players - I wish someone would start giving people an honest account of how these guys went on the AFC website. Andrews barely played two quarters and was the # 3 ruckman and Parker made some pretty silly stuff ups. Just tell it how it is

Not that I saw the games, but let me do a spindoctor interpretation of these loads of shyte.

NORTH ADELAIDE V PORT ADELAIDE

Chris Ladhams (North Adelaide)

Chris was really prominent, with his bleached mop of hair standing out like a prostitute on one of the corners of Kings Cross.

Every one of his disposals was memorable as he nancied around the field saying "watch me, watch me"

Those pics he has of Craigy doing odd things in the shower give him a genuine chance of a recall this week.

WEST ADELAIDE V SOUTH ADELAIDE RESERVES

Brad Dabrowski (Rookie – West Adelaide)

Where did this scrubber come from?? Played a half and couldn't touch leather - how the hell did we ever rookie list this dud.

Fortunately Brad copped one in the groin just before half time and while that was the start of the agony for Brad, thankfully it finished for the spectators with his departure.

Just for accuracy, Dabrowski hadn't played for two or three months and was only ever going to play a half. No groin injury, as far as I know.

Did you see the first half of the West Reserves game, macca.

redandblack said:
Just for accuracy, Dabrowski hadn't played for two or three months and was only ever going to play a half. No groin injury, as far as I know.

Did you see the first half of the West Reserves game, macca.

No, I didn't mate.

Don't be offended though because my sarcasm is directed at the ponce that writes those pumped up SANFL reports, not at the actual player.

Jerome said:
Spindoctor
afc.com.au
12:24:31 PM Mon 9 August, 2004

GLENELG V CENTRAL DISTRICT

Aidan Parker (Glenelg)
With three matches to go until the end of the AFL season, Aidan would be hoping that his chance to make his debut at AFL level would come this weekend. He continued his very good form with the ‘Bays’ last weekend playing centre half back. Aidan’s ability to compete at an above average standard in the one on one contest has been excellent and in this game it was no different. He took seven strong marks and had an absorbing battle with his opponent. He worked hard to create a contest when he was not in a position to mark and back himself to win the footy when it hit the ground. His performance was very encouraging, considering his opponent had little impact on the game in a winning side that kicked 20 goals.

GLENELG V CENTRAL DISTRICT RESERVES

Rowan Andrews (Rookie – Glenelg)
As we have come to expect from Rowan, he played a very competitive match. Whenever he was in a marking situation he always gave a great contest and if he didn’t take the mark he bought the ball to the ground and gave his crumbing players a chance to win the ball. His ruckwork was excellent and he always hit to the team’s advantage. His work rate around the ground was good and his second effort to win the ball at ground level was pleasing. He showed very clean skills for a big man and his attack on the ball and body was aggressive.

Well someone's done the other two quite well for me :D

So I'll do Parker and Andrews:

AIDAN PARKER

Playing on the less-than-instrumental Luke Cowan, Parker unsurprisingly mopped him up and would have been sorely embarrassed if he did not. Parker brutally rogered Cowan in the one-on-ones, but needs to learn how to kick the ********ing ball. A genuine chance to make his AFL debut this weekend, but he might need a hit of speed before the game to enhance his decision-making clarity.

ROWAN ANDREWS

Andrews did not get much gametime in the Reserves, but took every opportunity he had to display his raging hormones with some testosterone-fuelled bumps on other players that were, frankly, pointless and contributed to his lack of hitouts. When he actually paid attention to the ball, he found he was tall enough to hit the ball with a hand or fist and make it travel through the air at considerable speed. As for directing that path of travel, well, one step at a time is encouraging.

spindoctor said:
ROWAN ANDREWS

Andrews did not get much gametime in the Reserves, but took every opportunity he had to display his raging hormones with some testosterone-fuelled bumps on other players that were, frankly, pointless and contributed to his lack of hitouts. When he actually paid attention to the ball, he found he was tall enough to hit the ball with a hand or fist and make it travel through the air at considerable speed. As for directing that path of travel, well, one step at a time is encouraging.
Wasn't he named Glenelgs best player on Saturday
:confused: