Toast Sauce appreciation thread

It's kind of ironic. Before Jacobs ever looked likely at being promoted (and apparently it was touch and go for a while) I e-mailed Jeff Kennett and the former Hawk recruitment manager (forget his name, it's almost 7:00am here, forgive me) back in about August of 2009 after I had heard that Carlton wasn't going to retain Jacobs and having had my mother's cousin formerly on Hawthorn's board to look into Jacobs. Told them that he was going to become a ripper of a ruckman, was a great club man, genuinely nice (funny and smart) guy and that he thoroughly deserved an opportunity on a list. With their dearth of ruck (Bailey had been injured with another knee injury) I figured the Hawks would fancy him. Within a day or so both had responded to my communication essentially stating "Thanks but the guy's a spud. Better luck next time, schmuck." -- Got an e-mail from the Hawks a year later (after Carlton had promoted him and he had shown as much as he had) if I knew any other players who had escaped the radar.

I'm glad he's playing well. He deserves it. Go Sauce!
Pelchin.

Got massive wraps on himself and that's why you got that email. Kennett speaks for himself......and everyone else he can.

I watched a fair bit of Sauce at the Ants before we got him and his tap work was sublime. Had serious 'tricks' as a ruck, both hands, directions, flicks and a footy brain. My only knock on him was his lack of natural athleticism and his aerobic capacity holding him back from exerting himself. He'd start quarters well and give big efforts, but lacks the second efforts or repeat leads when forward,

He's looked like he's stamped that out and now the only things holding him back aren't things he can change (natural athleticism). He's still lacking a smidgen of confidence and belief that's he's that good, when that comes we'll see more sauce on the field in more categories, especially goal kicking.

Thanks for your input bro. Pelchin is a dick......now at the Saints and I can't wait until Lyon has him trade away all his picks for old players, that way he can't hold the bloody draft up for an hour each pick he has.

Always liked the Big Sauce, glad he's doing so well. Was pretty filthy about losing him but I guess it was inevitable he would always be behind the other 3. Will be a solid ruckman for years to come:thumbsu:

We had interest in him for a while and it was great to see Sauce end up at the club.

Even then though, his performances this year have still surprised me. I just didn't think he would perform so well straight away - even some of the best players take some time to adjust to a new club, new system, new teammates, new coach, etc.

Sauce came out firing and hasn't really dropped off since.

Scott Thompson had that thing wrapped up before the season began. Missing the first month as he did is going to hurt him. Then they have Van Berlo, Johncock, Patty Dangerfield - those are the guarantees to finish top four with Thompson. Then you've got Brent Reilly and Ben Rutten who have played a couple more games than has Sauce so they'll likely finish ahead of him. So you're looking at seventh. Very impressive.

How would he go for BnF gents? Top 5?
Definitely top 10 and wouldn't be surprised if he ends up in top 5. Missing games at the start of the year won't do him any favours.

Thompson should win it comfortably. Rutten, Johncock would be top 5 and players like Doughty and van Berlo have had some good games and some quiet patches.

Dangerfield has been really up and down and Sloane has had a slowish start but should poll better as the season has gone on.

Jacobs is a chance for top 5 but no certainty. Personally, he is in my top 5 especially considering the soft spot I have for quality ruckman.

A good pie and Sauce is brilliant, Snags too. Even the humble hamburger would suck without a bit of Sauc....

Oh your talking abou..

Never Mind.

Top 5 easy if you rate him on value to the team. My top 5 would be:

Thommo
Stiffy
Rutten
Sauce
VB

To all the carlton fans just a quick note. You got fair compensation for big sauce. He had shown nothing close to what he is putting out now when he was at the blues. There is only so much blue sky you can place on a players value, especially with big men who are so hit and miss.
Yes you put some time and development into him, but you also hindered it by not playing him at AFL level enough. The crows were very keen on sauce at the draft table a few years ago but because of our picks could never get him.
As for not being properly rewarded, how did you guys feel about getting Nick Stevens for nothing...... didn't mind then. You also were rewarded with our father son pick for finishing last in Bryce Gibbs. It's all swings and round abouts, we just finally got the end of the positive side of things.

Kreuzer will be better than the lot of them if he can stay healthy. Naitanui is overrated. Shows some highlights but there is no meat and potatoes to his game. You can't just rely on highlight reel plays all the time. He's the Brett Rainbow of the AFL (any 1990s NBL fans out there?). Type of guy who looks amazing on a mix tape but when you watch him live you see the weaknesses. Strictly my opinion.
I :heart: Naitanui who is a jet and a great mate of Yarran's. I'd take him ahead of Kreuzer because he has x factor, intensity and incredible athleticism. People are so quick to rush to judgement on big blokes. If forums were around in 1994, Carlton supporters probably would have put Matt Allan up for trade.
As far as Warnock goes, I don't rate him as much as I rate Hampson. Warnock is too easily pushed under and out of position. Hampson creates a contest and crashes packs. If Warnock weren't 206cm he'd not be in the AFL whereas a guy like Hampson does more than just centre bounce ruck work.

Warnock is great against teams that don't have rucks (Vs Melbourne he dominated Stefan Martin and a kid in Max Gawn) or against teams that rely on one ruck when they wear down (Goldstein destroyed him in the first half but when he tired Warnock thanks to Kreuzer sharing the load was able to become a match winner). Otherwise, he simply doesn't offer enough.
Warnock doesn't have intensity and size, but he played well against Sandilands last year. Is still one of the few rucks around who has the reach and height to get his hand over that monster of a man.
Jacobs, on the other hand, I would have kept him over the other two. I do believe he'd have stayed - was a favorite of most of the players but Carlton simply had invested too much in the other two without even getting to Kreuzer, whose versatility and mobility would have enabled him to play anywhere and with another ruck with ease as he has done since coming back into the side from the knee injury. Sauce coming out of contract with the other investment forced the Blues hand. I almost assure you had Warnock and/or Hampson come out of contract rather than simply Sauce then he'd have stayed. Great get - was worth a first round pick but when you have no real hand to bluff with the Blues did what they could lest they allow Jacobs to play the Luke Ball game and none of the three parties (Adelaide, Carlton and Jacobs) wanted it to come to that.
With the new sub rule, I can't for the life of me see how Jacobs could play the number two role behind the established Kreuzer. Hampson doesn't have a footy brain like Jacobs, but his ruckwork and versatility suits our structure more than Jacobs.

The only reason we would have asked for pick 14 is that we didn't expect Watson to get through to 18. You wouldn't rate Jacobs as a first round pick ahead of the likes of Watson, Darling, Smith and Lycett. Trading for Sauce would address a need, yet just these four alone would have a higher ceiling than Sauce. Lycett a manchild with impressive mobility and skill for a big man. Once Watson strips all that puppy fat off, he will be a ball of muscle like Josh Kennedy and Kreuzer.

Jacobs has been aweseome this year. In the midst of all the crap football, my husband and I have still been able to watch a game, share a smile and say "gee isn't it nice to have a decent ruckman again"

Will be in my dream team next year I reckon. How many tons has he got in the last month or so and will only get better as he gets older..

And only 25 years old, yet to enter Prime years as a Ruckman.

Good news. We will get even more Sauce for our money. I believe Sauce's date of birth is 10/04/88 which, if my maths are correct, makes him only a tad over 23. We may well have plenty of Sauce for a good decade, and watch him only get better and better:):thumbsu: