Scarlett

catempire said:
From today's Herald Sun:

So they'll interview Harding and he'll say there was nothing in it and that'll be the end of it. Either that or he'll squeel and he'll have heaps more to worry about than a love tap next time the two teams play.

So, you're saying that fair ball players should be encouraged to lie in order to protect snipers, otherwise they will get sniped again?

;)
chapmanmagic35 said:
Gold!

I mean, we all know that Hamill doesn't take people off the square, don't we? :rolleyes:
By bringing Hamill into the thread and not challenging me on what I said about Scarlett you are virtually admitting Scarlett is a sniper, here we have an honest Geelong supporter.

PS this a thread on Scarlett , if you would like to start one on Hamill feel free.

Flag Man said:
So, you're saying that fair ball players should be encouraged to lie in order to protect snipers, otherwise they will get sniped again?

Well, it's been an unwritten, unspoken code since the games inception. So yes, I think he should keep quiet.

And for the record, Scarlett the 'sniper' has been suspended how many times?

All very well of you all to try and taint him but I bet North and St Kilda would give anything to have him in their sides.

catempire said:
All very well of you all to try and taint him but I bet North and St Kilda would give anything to have him in their sides.

Oh yes, I would have him no worries.

Hopefully our coaching staff could succeed where Bomber has failed and get the boy to concentrate on the football.

I don't think anything Harding says will have any bearing on the matter.

Scarlett will go on circumstantial, or absolute, evidence.

JUBJUB said:
Do you mean overrated like Glenn Archer ?

It must be time for Archer to drag out another Eithopian kid for a feel good story.Make him seem gentle,yet we know he's just a grumpy old thug.
Atleast he didnt kill a girl.

Flag Man said:

Squealers are loathed and despised and rightly so. And while I don't condone sniping, you would be amazed what Cameron Mooney or Jarad Rooke can do with a legal hip and shoulder. Ouch.

he wont need to squeal, the evidence is all over his face. he certainly wont be doing scarlett any favour like saying " walked into a door", he'll say "i dont recall how i got the shiner" which will be good enough to put him away

Flag Man said:
Harding wont have to.

The tape looks bad enough.

Gee, what a weak gutted act by Scarlett.

4 weeks.

Your like an annoying chiwawa, saying the same thing over and over. Your making all the other Gold Coa.. I mean Kangaroo fans look bad with your stupidity.

If he gets suspended he gets suspended.

I've just seen the footage again and I think the nice old shiner under Harding's eye came from when he dragged Scarlett off Thompson and you'll see a clash of heads.

I'm not saying he didn't hit him, just that the shiner did not come from the alleged punch because that punch had very little force behind it.

My friend got two black eyes when he was punched in the back of the head so if it can be medically proven you dont need to be hit in the socket to recieve a black eye and there is no sufficient video evidence or umpire evidence our main man will be taking on the one with the head thats rough :D

you people have issues - NOTHING IN IT??? FOR CRYING OUT LOUD!!!

You geelong supporters have got to be joking - its all good and well dishing it out to sides because you have a strong team now but pinning a bloke down then your teammate coming across and hitting him with a full blown punch is an absolute disgrace - if he doesnt get 2 weeks the tribunal party should be sacked -

THATS NOT TOUGH FOOTBALL - THATS COWARDLY FOOTBALL - GET HIM WITH A GOOD BUMP SCARLETT YOU WEAK DOGGGG

silkykanga said:
you people have issues - NOTHING IN IT??? FOR CRYING OUT LOUD!!!

You geelong supporters have got to be joking - its all good and well dishing it out to sides because you have a strong team now but pinning a bloke down then your teammate coming across and hitting him with a full blown punch is an absolute disgrace - if he doesnt get 2 weeks the tribunal party should be sacked -

THATS NOT TOUGH FOOTBALL - THATS COWARDLY FOOTBALL - GET HIM WITH A GOOD BUMP SCARLETT YOU WEAK DOGGGG

Why didn't the umpire report him?

silkykanga said:

Full blown punch? Gee some of you Roo fans are drama queens.

Why are you idiots having a go at eachother?

The incident didn't look good, it will go through the match review panel and if there is enough evidence he will be slugged otherwise he wont. It is as simple as that.

If he goes for eye gouging then he will have a lengthy break as the AFL does not like that and it can cause serious permanent damage.

I couldn't tell from the incident as there were two players on him but it didn't look good and is already being shown on TV so I would expect them to look at it closely.

I don't really care if anyone gets suspended or not, it just seems like a pretty stupid thing to do.

Tas said:
If he goes for eye gouging then he will have a lengthy break as the AFL does not like that and it can cause serious permanent damage.

How did it get from two punches to eye gouging?

Are you sure there was not a kick in there as well?

I have not seen what happened but if there is no video footage of the contact and because the umpire saw it and only called it a free kick I don’t see how he can be charged with anything because they can not prove he made contact.

A black eye means nothing unless you can prove how it happened because it could have come from anywhere. Slade was knocked out a few years ago and even though Yze was the player next to him they could not prove he hit him as the was no evidence except that Slade was in La La Land and that at the time Yze was next to him.

Catman said:
It's getting that way. Soon they'll have him up facing every possible charge.

His eye didn't get that way from shaking hands mate.

The blokes a gutless coward, simple.

You never see him pull that crap on Barry Hall, Gehrig or Brown do you?

Nah, its Didak, Reiwoldt and little Harding.

Real tough guy.

Flag Man said:
His eye didn't get that way from shaking hands mate.

The blokes a gutless coward, simple.

You never see him pull that crap on Barry Hall, Gehrig or Brown do you?

Nah, its Didak, Reiwoldt and little Harding.

Real tough guy.

If you are going to react this way every time a player throws a punch you are going to have a very long lists of players to hate.

As Catman has said he saw a head clash that occurred are you 100% sure the shiner came from a hit or is it possible he got it from getting hit by someone’s head?

Does anyone know how Mooney ended up with blood on his face in the first quarter? I heard about it on K-Rock.

new_begining said:
How did it get from two punches to eye gouging?

Are you sure there was not a kick in there as well?

I have not seen what happened but if there is no video footage of the contact and because the umpire saw it and only called it a free kick I don’t see how he can be charged with anything because they can not prove he made contact.

A black eye means nothing unless you can prove how it happened because it could have come from anywhere. Slade was knocked out a few years ago and even though Yze was the player next to him they could not prove he hit him as the was no evidence except that Slade was in La La Land and that at the time Yze was next to him.

As I said, I dont know what happened. They will look at the video. If he had no red eye before going into the contest and if he came out of it with one then they will see if the video was a punching action or if there was no swing they will go with gouging.

The things working against Scarlett is that there IS enough video evidence to suggest he did something and it did look gutless given he already had someone else on him and there was nothing in the footage to suggest Harding had done anything during that piece of play to provoke an attack.

If he didn't do anything then he wont be charged, if there is not enough evidence to suggest he did something wrong then he wont be charged, what people say here is not going to have much of a bearing on it.

P.S. He would prefer a punching charge to a gouging charge. I just didn't see a big swing that would cause that kind of damage. Who knows, maybe the grass leaped out and punched him in the face. ;)

Tas said:
As I said, I dont know what happened. They will look at the video. If he had no red eye before going into the contest and if he came out of it with one then they will see if the video was a punching action or if there was no swing they will go with gouging.

The things working against Scarlett is that there IS enough video evidence to suggest he did something and it did look gutless given he already had someone else on him and there was nothing in the footage to suggest Harding had done anything during that piece of play to provoke an attack.

If he didn't do anything then he wont be charged, if there is not enough evidence to suggest he did something wrong then he wont be charged, what people say here is not going to have much of a bearing on it.

P.S. He would prefer a punching charge to a gouging charge. I just didn't see a big swing that would cause that kind of damage. Who knows, maybe the grass leaped out and punched him in the face. ;)

So there's no footage of eye gouging but they'll go with it if they can't see a punch? :confused:

Scarlett