iscah

5 times champs of europe
I think Cameron Schwab is a problem at the moment.

He was not wanted by his previous two clubs Melbourne and Richmond. I seem to remember the AFL flyng over as we were about to give him the job, just to make sure we had gone through all possible alternatives for the job.

Then he gets over here and appoints one of his best mates, has been involved in a few overpayment controversies with player salaries, takes advance payments on the CUB sponsorship to clear debts (so we have less future sponsorship stream) and benefits from increased income (through higher attendances due to the recruits around before he arrived).

In short at this stage I can't see anything he has really done other than walk into a goldmine and take advantage. He needs to perform better and I do not not think he has it in him.

The decision to close of perth media is understandable (in an environment where it is so pro west coast - the majority of media here are either ex players or supporters given West Coast started first). However that problem will be around for 20 years, so in the meantime Freo need to have a strong, open and honest media presence.

iscah said:
. However that problem will be around for 20 years, so in the meantime Freo need to have a strong, open and honest media presence.

Yep.
Face the music. Cop it sweet. Do the crime do the time. Look em in the eye. All the stuff that makes Fremantle the town, what it was and Fremantle the footy club what it could be.

iscah said:
In short at this stage I can't see anything he has really done other than walk into a goldmine and take advantage.

That's because you are a dead set moron who wouldn't know his *rs*" from his elbow. If you knew anything at all about anything at all I'd be extremely surprised.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
That's because you are a dead set moron who wouldn't know his *rs*" from his elbow. If you knew anything at all about anything at all I'd be extremely surprised.

Thankyou Doc. I was trying to resist the temptation to unload on the guy and was failing.

Doc and Shark

So you disagree with my opinion, that is your choice. But I fail to see how sledging me particularly supports any view that Schwab has done any good.

Which of the points about drafting penalties, taking the sponsorship money up front, looking after a mate in contract negotiations, taking on a pretty good playing list, or closing off the media to the detriment of the club and supporters is not correct ??

If they are all or even most are correct then the conclusion must be that he is not going to get an 8 out of 10 from anyone for his job so far, probably nearer a 3 or 4..

Dr Ralph Dagg said:

Well seeing you're so smart why dont you post something in rebuttal instead of resorting to personal abuse.

Freo Shark said:
Thankyou Doc. I was trying to resist the temptation to unload on the guy and was failing.

What you really mean is that you haven't got enough brains to come with anything positive so you'll just fall into line with Dr Di*khead!

Anyone with an ounce of knowledge about the Freo board would know that they are extremely financially and legally capable. To question their skills in this area wasnt worth a response. But since you want one.

Whats financial decisions that have been made are a credit to the board and management. The CUB decision was a matter of financial logic and achieved what was required at the time. You obviously have chosen to ignore the massive turnaround from a nearly bankrupt club owing millions of dollars to a club now debt free and capble of making investements to enhance the clubs financial position. The club made a record profit last year above their previous years' record profit and increased the membership to record levels from pre-schwab era. The attendances were the result the improved position that the FFC was in on and off the field and the changes they had made. It was hardly the result of Damian Drum and the team performance in 2001 and earlier.

Its one thing to criticise the footballing Department, the management of the team and performance of the team and another to question the financial and operational aspect of FFC as a multi-million dollar business. This just smacks of stupidity and letting your mouth run ahead of your brains ability to process.

I think Schwabb has done a good job and should be given credit for getting us in a comfortable position financially. But by extending his mates contract he has definately tarnished his reputation amongst a lot of Fremantle supporters and he has a big decision to make in 10 weeks time. He is now in a position where he has to either sack his friend and cause the club to lose around $700,000 (assuming there's no out-clause), or alienate the supporters by allowing Connolly to continue in 2006. The situation means that if CC goes at seasons end then Schwabb has to go with him.

Cam has overseen the formation of the current Football dept of FFC.
as such must take most of the accounability.

Ask yourselves this where has cam been over the last 6 weeks? He has gone to ground. Has he come out and suported the coach as has Mr Hart?

Also Mr Hart has gone on leave>

Have you noticed the Caoch is the one getting trotted out to face the cameras>

I'm wasnt commenting on the football side\playing performance. But I agree there has been a few footballing issues that could cause his reputation to be tarnished when his financial achievements of himself and the board should have been his and their legacy.

I dare say that unless performances improve he will be in an unenviable position come seasons end. There does seem to be some distancing occuring from various parties and CC. I will await seasons end before I cast my vote on CC.

But passion you need to be balanced and give due where its due or your no better than certain posters on here who are no worse than weevil trolls disguised as freo fans.

Typical Fremantle response,bag someone who dares to ask questions on how we can become the great club we all want.We all know what Shcwab has done,but the question being asked is has he achieved anything that you or i couldnt have.......The answer is clearly no,what he has done is got a sweet little 3 year deal for his mate,and made us totally seperated from a very powerfull WA media,when they do finally go,and this is the only way foward,i would hate to be the new guy trying to get us a sponsor,who would want to sponor a club that speaks to no body????

Freo pom said:
Typical Fremantle response,bag someone who dares to ask questions on how we can become the great club we all want.We all know what Shcwab has done,but the question being asked is has he achieved anything that you or i couldnt have.......The answer is clearly no,what he has done is got a sweet little 3 year deal for his mate,and made us totally seperated from a very powerfull WA media,when they do finally go,and this is the only way foward,i would hate to be the new guy trying to get us a sponsor,who would want to sponor a club that speaks to no body????

I wasnt bagging someone for asking questions - I was bagging someone for making blatantly stupid comments about financial\operational decisions that have been made. I have already made comments about the football aspect.

Some people are getting overly emotional and confusing the financial and operational mananagement of Freo the business with the Football side and are lumping it all together and criticising everything thats ever been done.

Freo Shark point taken but the POM has a point also. The FFC is on the nose with the media which is just dumb.

Thru Cam the FFC has become inward looking and downright paranoid about any criticism.

We have no major sponsor for 2006 and with out current on field woes will have difficulty in attractin gone who is prepared to pay $2.5M like Bankwest did over a couple of yrs.

Passion you have a point with the sponsorship partly because of the Force and most significantly by the Freo's inept performances.

I wasnt intending to be a Schwab apologist. I aint but I think he and the Board and have achieved alot that was criticised illogically. That what I was arguing over. He has a difficult time ahead where he may have to prove what hes made of.

Schwab will come under immese pressure now, althought alot not his own fault. Obvioulsy he is the bean counter and at the end of the day bums on seats dictates the financial viability of a club. Is Cuddles a financial asset? Scwabbie will have to make that decision, and up to date he has been good.

I do though have a few probs with our 36,000 members, there was a couple of thousand Roos supporters there today plus your normal non members that pay, yet we didnt get to 36,000 in attendance!!!!

Just on the financial point and aside from the other areas where he may not have done so well ..

Nothing said so far changes my opinion that Schwab has fallen into a goldmine when he joined the club. They had a young talented playing list that was going to improve, the crowds were going to go up in response, the sponsors were then going to be more interested in pumping money into the club. So that gives him a great head start financially.

Combine this with the decision to take money up front from CUB is robbing Peter to pay Paul. We can pay off debt now and the books look much better, but we then don't get that income for the next 3-5 years (however long the contract was) so our books will not look as good for him or the next person who takes that role.

To just look at the present financial situation and give ourselves a pat on the back is a very narrow view. Maybe it was a good decision, maybe it was a bad decision to take all the money up front but to suggest that he has pulled a rabbit out of the hat is naive.

My point is that this combined with the others I raised mean at best he is 3 or 4 out of 10. He has avoided media scrutiny so far but maybe he has to shoulder some of the blame and not have others take it all.

That is what leaders do.

The issue is not whether the CUB decision was right. Thats purely down to a matter of financial calculations whether it was the right decision. The board is eminently able to do that !!

The question is the footballing side and what is going to be done or will need to be done in order to get the performance up to scratch that isnt a direct financial issue. Although efforts like yesterday will impact on the ability to financially manage effectively.

Focus on the problem - The football side not on past financial decisions that are what was required.

The problems at the club can be overcome. But to suggest that they are JUST on the field would find disagreement from most supporters.

Decisions about selection policy, fitness/ senior coaches, closing off from the media (by far the worst now), coach not addressing supporters after games, drafting and salary cap indiscretions, financial juggling etc is greatly influenced by the CEO.

If the person in that position is not performing as well as expected then it deserves scrutiny by everyone wanting the club to improve.

iscah said:
The problems at the club can be overcome. But to suggest that they are JUST on the field would find disagreement from most supporters.

Decisions about selection policy, fitness/ senior coaches, closing off from the media (by far the worst now), coach not addressing supporters after games, drafting and salary cap indiscretions, financial juggling etc is greatly influenced by the CEO.

If the person in that position is not performing as well as expected then it deserves scrutiny by everyone wanting the club to improve.

I could not disagree more. Compared to previous groups the current club executive group has been fantastic.

Keep the witch hunt going though, we'll find someone to burn soon!

To suggest that Schwab walked into a gold mine is just plain crazy - we were a car crash of the worst kind. Schwab and the Board have turned that around in pretty smart fashion.

Unfortunately, we all make mistakes and Schwab has made his fair share. Signing Connolly up for 3 more may well cost him his job, destroy the board stability that we've recently enjoyed, and bring the club again to its knees. It was a gutless, soft and self-interested decision.

Slacker - it is not a witch hunt, scrutiny goes with all CEO jobs of major organisations and that is what the Dockers are. The 'gold mine' point was in relation to financial performance (which is not the worst of what he has done, but is nowhere near as good as it is painted).

It looks 'good' now because we had a very poor standard to compare ourselves to (agree we were poor financially 4 years ago). Also in his favour was increased attendances, they came through the playing list. The next is to have companies wishing to get on board in sponsoring sport which has taken off through the last 5 years, he got that. And finally by taking future income streams up front makes the books look rosier than they are. He had all these four in his favour so he needs to be assessed with that in mind.

My garden would look the neatest in the neighbourhood if I won lotto, doesn't mean I am a good greenkeeper.

iscah said:
Doc and Shark

So you disagree with my opinion, that is your choice. But I fail to see how sledging me particularly supports any view that Schwab has done any good.

Which of the points about drafting penalties, taking the sponsorship money up front, looking after a mate in contract negotiations, taking on a pretty good playing list, or closing off the media to the detriment of the club and supporters is not correct ??

If they are all or even most are correct then the conclusion must be that he is not going to get an 8 out of 10 from anyone for his job so far, probably nearer a 3 or 4..

Its not about whether Schwab has done any good. Its about an informed debate. I reckon I've resorted to serious personal sledging about twice in the four years I've been posting here and at Dockerland so you are right up there. I diagree with your opinions because they are stupid, and I'm sick of stupid morons putting forward such a one-sided view. I could debate each one of your points but I want to make a different point.

The point I want to make is that I think you are stupid because YOU can't see which of your points is ill founded, speculative and not factual. When you and your buddies get yourselves into a frenzy and start slinging mud every which way I reckon you look stupid because you don't understand what went before but it doesn't stop you thinking that you do.

Perhoas I'm harsh because you are the latest in a long line of mud slingers. To come up with the opinions you have you need to take a very selective view of what has happened in the preceeding 4 years, and taking such a selective view does no credit to your intelligence. Its pretty clear you have made up your mind based on selective perception and that's the way it will stay.

The question you need to ask youself is what good does it do to nit-pick every decision years after the decision has been made, and when you have the benefit of 20-20 hindsight?